Billabong Pro Pipeline Masters 2008

You won’t be surfing Oahu’s Banzai Pipeline like the pros, but that doesn’t mean you can’t get your feet wet. Credit: surfglassy.

UNITED STATES – DECEMBER 09: Tuesday, 9 Decemeber, 2008. Vans Triple Crown of Surfing. Billabong Pipeline Masters, Banzai Pipeline, North Shore, Oahu, Hawaii. Basque surfer Aritz Arinburu (Spain) (pictured) advanced through round 1 of the Billabong Pipeline Masters on the North Shore of Oahu, Hawaii defeating Pipeline specialist Kalani Chapman (Haw) today. Arinburu’s convincing two wave heat total of 15. 00 points (out of a possible 20. 00) was enough to see him sideline the Hawaiian to earn his place in round three. The Billabong Pipeline Masters is the final stop on the ASP Men’s World Tour and includes 64 surfers, 40 of which are ASP World Tour competitors, the rest of the field is comprised of five replacement surfers, three event nominated wildcards, 14 Pipeline specialists, one Tahitian invitee and one Vans Triple Crown contender. The event provides the last opportunity for ASP World Tour surfers to cement their spot on the 2009 ASP World Tour. (Photo by Kirstin Scholtz/ASP/CI via Getty Images)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.