Ratings based on 1,540 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
CheapTickets Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bugs bites

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Orbitz
woke up in the Morning, found lots of bed bugs bites on my neck, upper body, arms. Hotel switched me to other room next day, I got bitten by another group of bugs. Lucky me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
Kept having to run down 3 stories to the office everytime I wanted to enter my room. The room key would not work my whole time here. Some how the office couldn't fix it either.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get why you pay for

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
The selling point of this hotel was the jacuzzi, but unfortunately it was out of commission, and looked like it had been that way for awhile. The room smelled like my grandma's house. Breakfast was scheduled for 5am, but wasn't set up until 5:30am, causing a delay in our scheduled day. Will not be staying at this location again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't recommend.

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Even though they state on their website they have cribs and confirmed so on the phone they refused to give us cribs for our two babies. The continental breakfast was sub par and we had to ask for it to be replenished. Customer service was sub par.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Shame on you Howard Johnson

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything!
Location: The only plus is that the hotel is located very close to Sea World and the Zoo.
I'm shocked Howard Johnson would put their name on such an awful hotel. For the money we paid, we could have stayed at such a nice beachside townhome or condo rental. What slumlords. All the bathroom fixtures were rusty; upon checking in, our toilet wasn't functioning properly so I called the front desk and nobody answered. Unacceptable! The beds were the most uncomfortable and mine actually felt like it was broken because it dipped way down on one side. The Jacuzzi was GREEN!!! The pool was actually clean but it was too cold for swimming..would have really liked to use the Jacuzzi. And the "free breakfast": what a complete joke! Two kinds of cold cereal and some hard pastries. All I wanted was coffee and it was always empty when I went to get some. I will NEVER stay here again. Very disappointing. You would expect a little more especially in San Diego beach area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
For an older hotel it was clean, quiet, and close to the highway.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Death trap hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
They put us in a room that had a fire hazard. The microwave was not use able and found out they rigged it to try to have guests use. Then my daughter fell 5 times in the elevator on cleaning solution without a wet floor sign subsequently injuring herself and my husband. We had prepaid cash for a 4 day stay and they refunded a whole $50! The walkways did not look safe. It is a death trap!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from la

Nice place for the price

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Pool, microwave, fridge, iron, blow dryer
Cons: Free breakfast but wifi isn't the best
Cheap and clean for the price good location and service from cleaning people lobby people are ok but guy in the morning lied to me about what time breakfast started he wanted to sleep more they had a sign that said 5am and I was 10 mins early he told me it doesn't start till 5:30 so I didn't get to eat because I had to leave to work that jerk
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
The worst hotel I ever stayed in. I had my girlfriend and grandchildren there. Left after the first night. Run down. Stale cereal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Located near tourist attractions

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is great for one or two nights. Decent and simple.