Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Columbia Marriott

3 stars
1200 Hampton Street, 1200 Hampton Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
9 reviews
Hub parents

Great location for our visit with child who resides at the Hub. See full review

  • Hub Mom
  • Oct 13, 2014
very pleased....

overall, things were great. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The hotel is located... See full review

  • The Nightcrawler
  • Jul 18, 2013
Visit the Columbia Marriott hotel, located in the vibrant downtown Columbia area near the University of South Carolina. Our hotel offers some of the finest accommodations in Columbia, SC. To meet our guests needs, the Columbia Marriott hotel has remodeled guest rooms, the lobby, meeting space, and the restaurant and bar. Stay with us and youll enjoy generous amenities such as pillow-top mattresses, 42" flat panel televisions and wireless Internet access for plenty of entertainment. The 28,000 square feet of space makes our downtown hotel a favorite choice for businesses and social functions in Columbia, SC. Just minutes from popular destinations, including Columbia Museum of Art, Riverbanks Zoo, the state capitol, Colonial Life Arena and Williams Brice Stadium, our downtown hotel is close to popular attractions. Guests are welcome to take advantage of our indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Reserve a room today.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Columbia Marriott also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0053 -81.0353
Area served
Columbia State Capital
Nearby airports
Columbia Metropolitan Airport, (CAE), 8.00, MI, NE; Charlotte Douglas International Airport, (CLT), 95.00, MI, N; Greenville-Spartanburg International Airport, (GSP), 110.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Dining

Midlands’ Modern Southern Food Arts
Taste the many flavors of Midlands' Food Arts. As one of the best restaurants in downtown Columbia, we feature new southern cuisine. The menu uses the farm-to-table concept with various local products. Enjoy the award-winning shrimp and grits for dinner!
Cafe at Midlands'
Wake up with Starbucks® gourmet coffee drinks and teas in downtown Columbia! Also enjoy fresh baked pastries, fruit and other grab-and-go items. Fuel up at one of our communal tables with power for all of your devices before your busy work day in SC.
Rocks at Midlands' Lounge
Power up and wind down with a signature cocktail or craft beer while collaborating with colleagues after a business meeting in downtown Columbia, SC. Relax while enjoying our best wine or local beer at one of our plush sofas or chairs. Fun times await.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for Columbia Marriott

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hub Mom
Bluffton, SC
Oct 13, 2014

Hub parents

Great location for our visit with child who resides at the Hub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moande
Business
Elgin, SC
Jan 6, 2014

Undergoing renovation

We were not aware that the hotel was undergoing renovation at the time we booked the hotel. The renovations made it sort of dusty and not what you would expect from a Marriott. The staff however was friendly and it should be nice when they fix everything up and get it going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dave Moore
Kingsport, TN
Aug 11, 2013

Renovation

Hotel is being renovated so not fair to judge until complete. However 3 of us went to the Hampton St. address and all 3 of us got lost because the entrance is no longer on Hampton St. and there was no sign saying the entrance has moved to Main St. Not good for a Marriott not to give instructions on where to go to check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Nightcrawler
Orangeburg, SC
Jul 18, 2013

very pleased....

overall, things were great. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The hotel is located downtown... Near everything! I head to Columbia a few times a month to bar-hop and socialize a bit. The only drawback is that the lobby is currently under construction, but I'm sure it it will improve the overall aesthetic and make future visits that much more enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

everything you'd want to do in the evening is a short walk... And parking is FREE on the weekends!

Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seneca South Carolina
Apr 18, 2010

Great stay

Stayed at Marriott to attend Dietitian conference. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was a bit small, but clean and comfortable. We are always satisfied when we stay Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, Florida
Mar 28, 2010

OK Hotel but not for us.

Came to Columbia to see our grandson graduate from boot camp at Ft. Jackson. Columbia Marriott was ok but the maids were terrible. We had a 3 day stay and I had to call 2 of those days to get linens. No wash clothes, 1 hand towel. I asked if they had a shortage on linens!! One evening the restaurant just decided to close. No warning. This place was not for us. We will not stay here again. The only thing going for this is that they have a great location. We went to the Museum of Art across the street..great. Places to grab a bite right across the street. The front desk people and valet service were very friendly but don't expect much for your room. They put us right where the elevator opened and listened to that all night. There was some convention with a million teenagers all yelling in the lobby all the time. I don't think we will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenniemae's mom
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Nov 4, 2009

Lived Up to "Southern Hospitality"

From the moment when the hotel van picked me up Thursday - till it dropped me off on Sunday, the staff was spectacular in their care. Polite, knowledgeable folks - the Marriott should be proud of this staff. the room was a lovely size, well-maintained. The restaurants were well-staffed, food was fine; room service was also fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 26, 2008

My review of Columbia Marriott

I was very dissapointed with the customer service displayed at the Marriott downtown Columbia. The room that I checked into had a dirty tub, with hair particles in it. I called to room service to get the dilema handled and to my surprise no one responded. After placing the second call the problem was corrected. The following day I headed out to a business meeting. I invited a few business associates back to my room. When I arrived I found the room unclean and in the condition I left it. It was @ 7pm and there wasn't a do not disturb sign on the door. Therefore I don't understand the confusion. When you check into a hotel bearing the name Marriott on it you expect a higher lever of service and customer care associated with it. I was less than pleased with what I received

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Apr 21, 2008

Friendly-best location

We loved our stay at Columbia Mariott. Location is excellent - next door to museum- nice walking distance to Vista etc. Bed were so very comfortable, bath room was nice size, with all the necessary creams, shampoos etc and coffee maker for coffee lovers who need a fresh cup of coffee to start their day. Your staff was very kind and friedly. We would be delighted to stay with you again on our next trip to Columbia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Museum - right acros the street

Back to menu Return to top