Rate based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

The Eliot Hotel

4 stars
370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
54 reviews
Best place to stay in Back Bay

We stayed here for MIT's Family Weekend. Convenient to campus AND Boston, AND the... See full review

  • MIT parents
  • Oct 27, 2014
Excellent hotel in superb location

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and we're not disappointed. The staff are very efficient and... See full review

  • Maggie1
  • Sep 16, 2014
Downtown Boston romantic boutique hotel in Back Bay
Hushed hallways lead to European-inspired suites at The Eliot Hotel in fashionable Back Bay. Steps from the boutiques and restaurants of Newbury Street, bask in the warmth and comfort found in every nook of this traditionally elegant and romantic hotel. Two award-winning restaurants fueled by an acclaimed chef attract locals to this graceful retreat. Guests also enjoy 24-hour room service and a complimentary overnight shoeshine. Walk to Fenway Park, pubs and lobster houses, shopping, mass transit, museums and galleries.
Highlights

  • Top French restaurant and scene-making sashimi bar
  • Complimentary access to Boston Sports Club, a full-scale health club with exercise programs and modern equipment
  • Steps from Newbury Street shopping, Copley Square and the best in Boston art
  • Most rooms are one-bedroom suites

Rooms
Designer touches fill 79 spacious luxury suites and 16 deluxe guest rooms at The Eliot Hotel. Step into a contemporary European atmosphere and a swirl of rich schemes that vary by room, from cream and brown toiles in crisp linen to soft silks with pops of cool blue. Glamorous yet refined, all beautifully appointed interiors include down comforters, designer throws, mini bars and marble baths with bathrobes and slippers. Fax machines and Wi-Fi (fees apply) please business travelers. In the suites, French doors join the living room to the bedroom with a television in both rooms. Indulge in 24-hour room service after the nightly turn down.
Features
Overlooking tree-lined Commonwealth Avenue, The Eliot Hotel sits on what some have called "one of the most beautiful boulevards in America." Among the amenities, find in-room umbrellas, complimentary newspapers and a free pass to Boston Sports Club. Pet sitting, baby sitting and valet parking are available at this boutique Boston hotel. 
Dining
The hip and hot sashimi bar Uni at The Eliot Hotel has made a name for itself with inventive Japanese fusion cuisine. Exotic Far East dishes and artful plates of raw fish pair with an exciting sake list. The Eliot Hotel's other dining gem, Clio takes French food and service to an exquisite level in an atmosphere reminiscent of a 1920s Parisian supper club. Heralded chef Ken Oringer heads up both Boston restaurant venues.
Transportation

  • Boston Logan International Airport (16.8 mi/27 km)
  • T.F. Green Airport (53.8 mi/86.5 km)
  • Manchester-Boston Regional Airport (59.7 mi/96 km)
  • Walk to nearby MBTA station serving downtown Boston

Attractions

  • Fenway Park (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Boston Public Gardens (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Boston Convention Center (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Harvard Square (2.9 mi/4.7 km)

Business

  • In-room Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Business center with printer
  • Two elegant meeting rooms host up to 22 people, plus a large private dining room

The Eliot Hotel Rooms

Non-refubdable Deluxe Guestroom
Non-refubdable rate/room-Deluxe guestroom with one queen or two double beds. All of our beautifully appointed guestrooms have marble baths, dual line cordless phones, fax machines, high speed internet, mini bars, plush terry bathrobes and slippers
Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe guestrooms with one queen or two double beds. All of our beautifully appointed guestrooms have marble baths, television, dual line cordless phones, wireless internet, plush terry robes, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, umbrellas and a fully stocked minibar.
Luxurious One Bedroom Suite
Luxury one bedroom suite with one queen or two double beds with a sleeper sofa in the living room. The living room is separated from the bedroom by French doors. All of our beautifully appointed one-bedroom suites are decorated in a sophisticated, contemporary style and have marble bathrooms. Each suites contains two televisions, dual line cordless phones, wireless internet, plush terry robes, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, umbrellas and a fully stocked minibar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Eliot Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.3486 -71.0887
Area served
Boston, MA Back Bay
Nearby airports
Boston Logan International
Area description
Newbury Street, Hynes Convention Center, Museum of Fine Arts, Museum of Science, Colleges and Universities, Longwood Medical Area, Fenway Park, Symphony Hall, Copley Square Shopping

Dining

Uni Sashimi Bar
Best Seafood, Boston Magazine. Our sleek, stylish Uni Sashimi Bar offers innovative Japanese dishes in a hip, casual neighborhood setting.
Clio Restaurant
Clio Restaurant has been named "One of America's 50 Best Hotel Restaurants" by Food and Wine and has received the highest food rating by Zagat's Guide for Boston. James Beard award-winning Chef Ken Oringer creates sophisticated, creative French cuisine using the freshest ingredients available each day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for The Eliot Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MIT parents
Chicago, IL
Oct 27, 2014

Best place to stay in Back Bay

We stayed here for MIT's Family Weekend. Convenient to campus AND Boston, AND the fraternity/sorority area for MIT. I love that the Eliot is a stone's throw from the Hyne's T stop, or just a quick walk to the Kenmore area, Newbury, or MIT. The room was a cozy suite with a King bed in one room, and a full sitting room in the other. There are thoughtful touches such as two blanket throws to wrap over your shoulders or place across your lap. There were two luggage racks--a touch often missed by hotels. There was a Keurig coffee maker in the mini-bar area, complete with bar sink. There was a closet safe, plenty of towels, bathrobes, two tv's, free and easy to use internet... Everything was perfect. Our bed was quite comfortable, the shower very strong--always a plus. The only amenities I personally could have wished for would have been a weekend local paper or NYT delivered, and more coffee pods (regular please!). The front desk (Alexy) was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The doorman and bellhops were also always welcoming. We were lucky to happen upon a good price for the weekend, and usually this hotel is out of our budget. We have stayed at many area hotels over the years, and this was among the top two. With Boston and now Cambridge hotels suddenly surging in price, we were so happy we splurged on the Eliot. You won't go wrong with a stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maggie1
England
Sep 16, 2014

Excellent hotel in superb location

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and we're not disappointed. The staff are very efficient and friendly and go out of their way to help you. We were upgraded to a suite and the rooms were spotless. Great location and would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is ideally situated for shopping, dining and nightlife. Could not be in a better location. This is also a short distance away from Fenway park

Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
huju
Eliot Hotel, Boston, Mass
Aug 25, 2014

Great location and walking areas

8 out of 10 for location, value for money and small enough for some personal service. Location is key and it was right on

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If going to Fenway Park to see the Red Sox, this is a must place to say Also close to Cambridge etc.

Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoannV
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 25, 2014

Great Experience!

I travel to Boston a couple times a year. This was my first time at this hotel and I absolutely will return! Great staff, breakfast at restaurant was fantastic, love the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rayrhy
Seattle
Aug 25, 2014

Belated birthday present

I planned this trip as a belated birthday present for my nephew and wanted a hotel that was safe and close to Fenway. The Eliot Hotel far exceeded my expectations and made me look like Aunt of the year. We loved the room, the people who worked there, and the location. A huge hit was the cookies and chocolates that they left for us, as well as the upgrade to the suite! I cannot thank the hotel staff enough for making it a memorable trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It was a 10-15 minute walk to Fenway from the hotel!

Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wantok11
Suffolk, UK
Aug 16, 2014

Fantastic Hotel

If you want a bit of character in a hotel then try the Eliot. The room was great, staff were very friendly and incredibly helpful - everything we asked for provided very quickly and efficiently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you use the tube (T) it is worth getting a Charlie card /daily travel pass.

Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BUBCmom
Asheville, NC
Aug 4, 2014

Sweet Suite experience

Very nice and accommodating staff. Clean and comfortable suite style room. Convenient to shopping, BU and Fenway. Unfortunately the a/c is old , noisy and does not cool well. All in all we enjoyed our stay but had to wear ear plugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tarasdad
So. Hadley, MA
Jul 3, 2014

Anniversary get-away

Terrific location made for a memorable wedding anniversary get-away. Terrific restaurants are all around and in the hotel. Staff is first class and very accomadating. Suites are comfortable and very clean. We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across Commonwealth Ave. is one of Boston's finest restaurants.

Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron16
Las Vegas
May 28, 2014

Perfect five night stay

Arrived in Boston on red eye, tired and in need of sleep. The Eliot had a room ready for us to check in at 10:30 a.m. We were upgraded from a basic room to a lovely suite. Location perfect for our Hynes convention center 4 day meeting, just a few minutes walk away. Room very pretty, bed ultra comfortable. Everything in room was is perfect working order, very clean, dust free, etc. Doormen and staff very helpful as far as restaurant suggestions, directions, maps, etc. Did not get to eat in their restaurants, which I heard were very good. Will definitely stay again on my next trip to Boston. A perfect stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Well traveled Executive
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Feb 3, 2014

A Hotel to Remember

The Eliot Hotel is a piece of heaven. A visit to our adult daughter is always made even more special when we come "home" to the Eliot at night. Sophistication and timeless style. Gourmet breakfast with fresh, healthful food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top