Rate based on Check-in: May 22, 2014 Check-out: May 25, 2014

Casulo Hotel

4 stars
Casulo Hotel, 3017 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78741
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
165 reviews
A+

Awesome room, great place to stay. I will be back. See full review

  • Golfingdan
  • Feb 22, 2014
GREAT, Unique place

Outstanding deal for the superior king suite.. very, very spacious and clean. The window looking... See full review

  • HappyCoupleWeekendGetaway
  • Feb 10, 2014
Asian-inspired, chic style at budget prices

High ceilings, wide hallways and an all-around generous attitude toward space make the Casulo Hotel a great choice for families or any travelers looking for a bit more space. The rooms are the true draw at this budget-friendly hotel. Guests enjoy the modern, minimalist, Asian-inspired style throughout the hotel, as well as the extremely comfortable beds covered with Egyptian cotton linens and a decorative throw that complements the room's art and tile work. The extra long bathtubs and rain shower heads give every room an air of luxury and romance.

Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool and hot tub
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Every room has an extended bathtub and rain showerhead
Location

Casulo Hotel is located just off I-35 between downtown Austin and the Austin-Bergstrom International Airport.

Rooms

The rooms at the Casulo Hotel have character that many hotels lack. Minimalist, Asian-inspired décor adds chic style to the spacious, high-ceiling rooms. A silk throw on each bed complements sophisticated art or tiles on the wall. Guests fall in love with the extended bathtubs and rain showerheads in the oversized bathrooms. Upgrade to one of the more luxurious rooms or suites and enjoy special perks like a three-foot deep Japanese bath or a six-foot French hydro-thermal massage bath. Guests enjoy complimentary wireless Internet. Cribs and roll-away beds are available upon request.

Features

Located between downtown Austin and the Austin-Bergstrom International Airport, the Casulo Hotel affords easy access to dining and shopping at budget-friendly prices. Guests travel less than three miles to most attractions downtown and enjoy an outdoor pool and hot tub area or exercise facility at the hotel. Guests can mingle and enjoy a nightcap at the hotel bar or stop for tasty Asian fare at Casulo Café. A simple, complimentary breakfast is served each morning. Complimentary on-site self-parking is available. 

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Lady Bird Lake Trail (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • 6th Street entertainment (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Zilker Park (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Texas State Capitol (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Blanton Museum of Art (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Texas Memorial Stadium (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • LBJ Presidential Library (4.2 mi/6.7 km)

Casulo Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
These rooms exemplify the Zen standard. Sumptuous accommodations give way to luxurious linens and sophisticated style with a modern twist. Allow your nights to be as soothing as your day is exciting.
Superior - Suite
A grand understatement. Your home away from home, these 608 square feet rooms are fit for a king, crown not required.
Petite - Suite
This 510 square feet suite embodies our Zen standard with an extra dose of modern mist amenities include a full reading corner and desk adjacent to the sleeping area.
Jacuzzi - Suite
Live like no other. Featuring a heavenly French-modern air-bath centered in the room or an understated deep Japanese bath, your weekend getaway will be unforgettable. French Bath: The ultimate in comfort, this six-foot hydro-thermal massage for two will even light up your world. Japanese bath: At nearly three feet deep with room for two, this full Jacuzzi is the consummate de-stresser.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casulo Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.2265 -97.7446
Area served
Downtown Austin including Texas State Capital, St. Edwards University, University of Austin, Bob Bullock Historic Museum etc, and the airport
Nearby airports
Austin Bergstrom Airport, 7 miles
Area description
Address: 3017 S. I35, Austin, TX 78741. Casulo Hotel is located in the east side of South Interstate Highway 35 between Oltorf Street to the north and Woodward Street to the south.

Dining

Denny's, Luby's, IHOP, McDonald's, Eddie Vs, Roy's, McCormick & Schmick, the Roaring Forks,
Restaurants within 1 to 2 mile radius: Denny's, Luby's and IHOP.
Restaurants within 5 mile radius: Eddie Vs, Roy's, McCormick & Schmick, the Roaring Forks etc.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Casulo Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
165 out of 165
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
BugDoc6217
Richmond, VA
Apr 14, 2014

Funky Hotel

Very different than our usual hotel stays in Austin at big chain hotels. The room was quite Zen and the bed extremely comfortable. Remarkably quiet considering the location. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Counselor102
Orlando, Fl
Mar 30, 2014

Lovely boutique hotel

Those is an excellent hotel in a great location. Lovely , unique rooms. Very quaint. I enjoyed my stay very much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Sam The Diva
Business
Homewood, IL
Mar 28, 2014

Love at first night!

I absolutely loved this hotel and the decor. I think that it was definitely a bargain! The bed was beyond comfortable. I never got around to taking a bath, but the shower was heavenly although it should maybe come with some sort of cheat sheet. I really liked the breakfast was real food ie. real eggs, oatmeal, pastries, bagels, smoked sausages, cold cereal, and bacon. I was a little disappoint that there was no fruit, but no biggie. The location is a little off the beaten path, but it is literally 12 minutes exactly from everything I did in the city which being from Chicago is no commute at all. It was a great place to stay and an awesome city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Golfingdan
Business
Houston, TX
Feb 22, 2014

A+

Awesome room, great place to stay. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

3
WillTravelforVegFood
Washington, DC
Feb 20, 2014

Good value but nothing too special

It's hard to find a decently priced hotel in Austin with free parking, free wifi, and free breakfast. The Casulo offers these freebies and the rooms are fairly comfortable. However, the whole hotel had a faint smell of chlorine and/or sulfur and our room was fairly dark- even with all of the lights turned on. The location is right on the highway, which doesn't add great atmosphere but is convenient. Also, the bed was comfortable, the shower was great, and the large mini-fridge was nice to have. Overall, it's a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
My Lovely Trip
Washington, DC
Feb 14, 2014

My Austin Getaway

The hotel was tucked conveniently off of the main highway near downtown Austin. I enjoyed the boutique feel of the hotel. The design was very modern and chic. The rooms were very spacious and livable. I fell in love with the bathroom and would love to have the same design in my home. I would definitely return to this hotel and enjoy the ambiance and privacy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

I enjoyed the chinese delivery food that the hotel recommended. It really was delicious and worth trying if you was to stay in.

Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
HappyCoupleWeekendGetaway
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Feb 10, 2014

GREAT, Unique place

Outstanding deal for the superior king suite.. very, very spacious and clean. The window looking out of the bathroom into the bedroom is awesome, along with the rain head in the shower! We will definitely stay again when we return to Austin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

IKEA!!!

Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Ed Techie
Clear Lake, Texas
Feb 8, 2014

Trendy & Cool, But I Need Food & Light

I love the trendy, cool decor. I was pleasantly impressed when I checked in. One thing I did not like, however, was that the lights in the room were all so dim. I couldn't even see at the mirror to put my make up on. Maybe it was the "green" light bulbs, I don't know. The rainfall shower head was neat, but didn't give much water pressure, and it couldn't be used at the same time as the regular shower head. This was not a big deal. I still thought it was pretty cool. The shower is huge ... big enough for two. :) There is a window between the shower/tub area and the bedroom - but there is a shade you can pull down if you don't want to give a show. My main complaint about this hotel is that after working all day, I wanted to just get back to my hotel, grab something to eat, and go to my room. There is no restaurant, and there isn't even any vending machines to speak of. There is one small machine with hot chocolate and chips. That's it. Oh, and one soda machine. So, if you don't want to eat overpriced (and probably stale) chips and soda for a meal, you're out of luck or you have to get dressed and go out. The hotel is not walking distance to anything. There's also a very cool looking bar at the hotel, but I never once saw it open. I would have like to have had a drink at the bar, and ate some bar food. I don't think they even have a real kitchen. Breakfast is really good, but it's fairly limited. The breakfast area is kept spotless. The "cook" keeps the food fresh and refilled, as well as keeps the tables clean. I stayed here four nights, and breakfast was always the same: choice of toast, bagels, mini muffins, and assorted pastries (cream cheese or fruit), three kinds of dry cereal (no kids cereals) and milk, and your choice of two whole fruits (alternating between bananas, oranges, apples, and grapes). The hot foods consisted of oatmeal, scrambled eggs, bacon, and sliced sausage. I've never seen this kind of sausage served for breakfast, but it was good. The bacon was very delicious, much better than normally found on a "buffet". All the food is set out so you can help yourself, and have as much as you like. Another thing I really appreciated about this hotel was that breakfast was served until 10 am. I am not a morning person and often don't get to take advantage of the free breakfast because I can't get ready in time. This was a nice perk. I found the hotel to be extremely clean, and the housekeeping staff was very nice when I requested extra lotion and shampoo to be delivered to my room. Another great perk is that there was free self parking, and I didn't have to walk a mile. The location was convenient being right on I-35. I was going to the convention center each day, and it was an easy trip down the freeway to Cesar Chavez. Lastly this was the quietest hotel I've ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Concerned Virginia Mom
Virginia
Jan 29, 2014

Staff issues

I booked this room because it was rated one of Austin's 10 best boutique hotels. My husband and I checked in at 10:30 pm. The receptionist had a black eye and informed us he'd had a fight with his roommate. He also shared with us he was on pain meds for the eye. He asked our name, didn't swipe our credit card, but handed us 2 room keys. We asked that he keep a key for our grown daughter, whose plane was arriving later that evening. We wrote her name on the key-card sleeve. Around 1am, I happened to awaken and shortly after heard my daughter in the hallway wispering "Mom"?! Her cellphone had died, and she had arrived at the hotel to find the black-eyed receptionist and another man passed out on the lobby sofa. She was unable, and a bit frightened, to awaken them. No one else was around. She had no idea where the room was, only that it was on the second floor, so she went to the second floor and started whispering my name. How fortunate I had just gotten up! I told the manager the story the next morning, who also informed me I needed to give my credit card for incidentals. They apologized, said because this was not booked with the hotel directly, they couldn't refund any money, but would give us free cocktails that evening! (We actually went to the bar that evening when we returned to the hotel, but had to pay for our drinks.) Making matters worse, when we got back to our room that evening, it hadn't even been cleaned from that day! We called the front desk, they came and retrieved our dirty towels, but didn't leave any clean ones. The next morning, we all 3 shared a hand towel! When checking out, they asked I take the time to "write up" the receptionist incident for his termination file. I did NOT feel this was my obligation. Incidentally, in our haste to leave, we left shirts in the closet. (Granted, our fault.) Over the following week, I called twice to ask if the shirts were found, but the phone wasn't answered after 6-7 rings. I just spoke with the hotel, 9 days after our stay and after 8 rings, and was told by housekeeping they'd get back with me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

1
J. Rodriguez
Austin, Texas
Jan 21, 2014

Second time was not that good.

We arrived 15 minutes after check in time (3:00pm)and they said that our room was not ready yet due to the hotel being 100% full the night before.They mentioned it would be about 15 minutes. An HOUR later the receptionist called out our name as we were waiting in the restaurant area. We walked into the room only to find a rush job was done on the clean-up. There were oil stains on the bed frame, soda rings as well. And not to mention the runner laying over the bed was filthy! We brought the evening manager into the room and she brought a towel to wipe the area. She said she was sorry and asked if we booked through a 3rd party. I indicated that we did and she would see about a rate reduction. Upon checkout, the same receptionist as the day before did not greet us other than taking my room key, and mention that the receipt will be emailed. (which at this time, I still have not recieved.) I mentioned to the receptionist if the evening manager mentioned the rate reduction and she did not know. So I don't know if there was a rate reduction or not. Three things we were not happy with was: The long delay in check-in. The still dirty room after the long delay with check-in. The receptionist who was not friendly, didn't smile, didn't get a manager upon hearing our disatisfaction with room at check out. We will not recommend this hotel to anybody!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search

Hotel Map