Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Casulo Hotel

4 stars
Casulo Hotel, 3017 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78741
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
178 reviews
Great stay

The hotel was cleaner than most hotels I've been to. The room was immaculate. The staff were... See full review

  • Jjohn13
  • Aug 17, 2014
Best room EVER!

Extremely comfy and relaxing with friendly staff. Jacuzzi tub was enjoyable. See full review

  • the roadie
  • Aug 12, 2014
Asian-inspired, chic style at budget prices

High ceilings, wide hallways and an all-around generous attitude toward space make the Casulo Hotel a great choice for families or any travelers looking for a bit more space. The rooms are the true draw at this budget-friendly hotel. Guests enjoy the modern, minimalist, Asian-inspired style throughout the hotel, as well as the extremely comfortable beds covered with Egyptian cotton linens and a decorative throw that complements the room's art and tile work. The extra long bathtubs and rain shower heads give every room an air of luxury and romance.

Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool and hot tub
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Every room has an extended bathtub and rain shower head
  • Room service for breakfast
Location

Casulo Hotel is located just off I-35 between downtown Austin and the Austin-Bergstrom International Airport.

Rooms

The rooms at the Casulo Hotel have character that many hotels lack. Minimalist, Asian-inspired decor adds chic style to the spacious, high-ceiling rooms. A silk throw on each bed complements sophisticated art or tiles on the wall. Guests fall in love with the extended bathtubs and rain showerheads in the oversized bathrooms. Upgrade to one of the more luxurious rooms or suites and enjoy special perks like a three-foot deep Japanese bath or a six-foot French hydro-thermal massage bath. Guests enjoy complimentary wireless Internet. Cribs and roll-away beds are available upon request.

Features

Located between downtown Austin and the Austin-Bergstrom International Airport, the Casulo Hotel affords easy access to dining and shopping at budget-friendly prices. Guests travel less than three miles to most attractions downtown and enjoy an outdoor pool and hot tub area or exercise facility at the hotel. Guests can mingle and enjoy a nightcap at the hotel bar or stop for tasty Asian fare at Casulo Cafe. A simple, complimentary breakfast is served each morning. Complimentary on-site self-parking is available. 

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Lady Bird Lake Trail (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • 6th Street entertainment (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Zilker Park (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Texas State Capitol (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Blanton Museum of Art (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Texas Memorial Stadium (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • LBJ Presidential Library (4.2 mi/6.7 km)

Casulo Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
These rooms exemplify the Zen standard. Sumptuous accommodations give way to luxurious linens and sophisticated style with a modern twist. Allow your nights to be as soothing as your day is exciting.
Superior - Suite
A grand understatement. Your home away from home, these 608 square feet rooms are fit for a king, crown not required.
Petite - Suite
This 510 square feet suite embodies our Zen standard with an extra dose of modern mist amenities include a full reading corner and desk adjacent to the sleeping area.
Jacuzzi - Suite
Live like no other. Featuring a heavenly French-modern air-bath centered in the room or an understated deep Japanese bath, your weekend getaway will be unforgettable. French Bath: The ultimate in comfort, this six-foot hydro-thermal massage for two will even light up your world. Japanese bath: At nearly three feet deep with room for two, this full Jacuzzi is the consummate de-stresser.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casulo Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.2265 -97.7446
Area served
Downtown Austin including Texas State Capital, St. Edwards University, University of Austin, Bob Bullock Historic Museum etc, and the airport
Nearby airports
Austin Bergstrom Airport, 7 miles
Area description
Address: 3017 S. I35, Austin, TX 78741. Casulo Hotel is located in the east side of South Interstate Highway 35 between Oltorf Street to the north and Woodward Street to the south.

Dining

Denny's, Luby's, IHOP, McDonald's, Eddie Vs, Roy's, McCormick & Schmick, the Roaring Forks,
Restaurants within 1 to 2 mile radius: Denny's, Luby's and IHOP.
Restaurants within 5 mile radius: Eddie Vs, Roy's, McCormick & Schmick, the Roaring Forks etc.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (178)

Ratings and reviews for Casulo Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
178 out of 178
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Thrill seaker Person
Houston, TX
Oct 12, 2014

Not worth the pricetag

Upon entering the Casulo Hotel I noticed a strong dingy odor near the welcome desk. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful, but as soon as we entered our room there was a huge cockroach. The walls were all scuffed and the mini fridge leaked water all over the floor. The bed was okay, not the best. It's one of those small hotels that feels unclean compared to the large commercial competitors. I wouldn't recommend this place for the price tag. It's trying to be a classy hotel, but it misses the mark. However, the pool did look nice and the free breakfast was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Texan Traveler Pro
Houston, TX
Sep 22, 2014

Poor Value, Inhospitable staff, itchy blankets

I was initially excited about staying this hotel. It appeared to be a modern, upscale boutique hotel from the photos and from passing it on the highway. Our experience was the opposite. When we arrived, the female front desk staff member was rude and inconsiderate when we asked for an extra bed. Her response was that it was not possible and if we wanted to complain, we should call the online company we booked the reservations with. We asked if there was a fold out couch and she replied that there was not any couch in the room. When we got to the room, there was a couch which we could use for a small child. I called down for an extra blanket. When the same female desk clerk arrived, she provided a brown, rubbery blanket that I wouldn't even give to an animal. I went back down to the front desk and asked for a comforter or some other blanket. She said that's all she had and there was nothing more she could do for me. Take it or leave it. I then asked for more sheets and we made do with a nest of sheets. From a distance, the room and amenities look appealing. When experienced up close, there was a different story. From 2 double size beds (instead of queen size) to poorly constructed desk and night stand, you could tell corners were cut during it's construction. Multiple times during the night we could hear water running in the pipes near our headboard from the floor above. The huge window between the shower and the room, while interesting, proved to be a nightmare in shower logistics for a family. DO NOT TAKE YOUR FAMILY TO THIS HOTEL. Second thought, DO NOT TAKE YOUR SIGNIFICANT OTHER HERE EITHER. It was definitely not worth the $200+ a night rate. You have been warned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meghan the Realtor
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Sep 21, 2014

Peaceful and Close

Casulo was much closer to downtown Austin than I had expected. With not a TON of rooms, they give excellent service. Breakfast was simple but delicious and hot (oatmeal, eggs, bacon, etc.) Beds were clean and comfy. Bathrooms were large and had deep tubs with 2 shower heads. With fridge in the room it would have been nice to have microwave but wasn't too big a deal. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Ichenbauers

Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SteveU
Boynton Beach, Fl
Sep 8, 2014

Awsome boutique style hotel

The hotel has an Asian flair to it. The rooms are nice that they have a coffee maker and small fridge. The bathroom is awesome. There is a rain shower head in addition to the regular head. The whole room is the shower and there is a glass window that looks into the room. Very nice and clean. Staff is great. The location is perfect for everything in Austin. Oh yeah breakfast is served in the hotel that is included in the price. This is the second stay there for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Damaso
Houston, TX
Sep 3, 2014

Cleanliness

The room smelled like hummed, didn't get cleaned even when we took the "Do Not Disturb" tag off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jjohn13
Waco
Aug 17, 2014

Great stay

The hotel was cleaner than most hotels I've been to. The room was immaculate. The staff were friendly and smiling every time I walked through the lobby and very thorough making sure everything was set. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in south Austin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the roadie
TX
Aug 12, 2014

Best room EVER!

Extremely comfy and relaxing with friendly staff. Jacuzzi tub was enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Twicha
Austin tx
Aug 5, 2014

Bartender tipped herself

After giving the bartender a $10.00 cash tip she decided to write in an additional $6. The bar tab didn't have my signature and still the hotel wanted to ask the bartender whether or not she wrote in her own tip. Tip was in her handwriting no less. $9 per crown and coke plus $2 taxes on each drink ?!?!!! Rip off. Immature staff. U can tell they do what they want. It's ran off a few staff performing multiple roles. I can't even remember all the good of my stay because I was given the bar charge at the end. Lasting impression was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BPaschal
Houston
Jul 16, 2014

Good bang for the buck

The staff was friendly. The pool area was not as nice as the picture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Casulo Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SH5588
Allen, TX
Jun 24, 2014

Nice!

Loved our two night stay here! The rooms are amazing, the bed was very comfy and clean, floors were nice and pool area was quaint. I will definitely come back. My biggest complaint would be the lady at the front desk was lazy and not someone I would want at my front desk. But, she won't talk to you unless spoken to anyway, so you could probably just ignore her :) Go here! It was beautiful !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Call a cab, get dressed, and go to FINO. Great tapas, drinks, and cute/fun atmosphere!

Back to menu Return to top