Rate based on Check-in: Oct 9, 2014 Check-out: Oct 11, 2014

Tulip Inn Copacabana

2 stars
Av Atlantica, 2554, Copacabana, Rio De Janeiro, RJ 22041-001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
13 reviews
Great location and excellent staff!

Terrific location across from the beach.Situated in close proximity to many restaurants and... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 3, 2009
Small rooms, good location. Breakfast

Small rooms, good location. Breakfast was good, service pretty average. Expensive for what you get... See full review

  • Timothy
  • May 31, 2011
Upgraded rooms, modern amenities overlooking lively Copacabana Beach
Renovated in 2010, the Tulip Inn Copacabana has modern, updated accommodations overlooking the beach in Copacabana. Ideally located for exploring the city, the property sits near attractions like Sugar Loaf Mountain, or the Christ the Redeemer statue, and guests can walk to restaurants, nightlife and shopping. From the property, it is about 10 miles to downtown Rio and a 30-minute drive to the international airport. The Tulip Inn Copacabana offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi access (fees apply).
Highlights
  • Located on Copacabana Beach
  • On-site fitness center
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply) in public areas and guest rooms
Rooms
The Tulip Inn Copacabana offers 117 standard and deluxe guest rooms, all of which underwent renovation in 2010 and now boast modern upgrades. Deluxe guest rooms feature ocean views and balconies, and all guest rooms come furnished with either double beds or pairs of twins. In-room amenities include air conditioning, cable televisions, safes, telephones and minibars. Accommodations also feature work desks with lamps, and in-room Wi-Fi access is available (fees apply).
Features
The updated Tulip Inn Copacabana offers an ideal beachfront location in Copacabana, and the property has all the basic amenities travelers need for a comfortable stay. Guests can find an on-site fitness center and sauna. The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning, and the on-site restaurant serves meals and 24-hour room service. Travelers who need to stay connected can find a business center with computers and print, copy and fax services, and there is also Wi-Fi access (fees apply) available throughout the Tulip Inn Copacabana. Event groups can find a small meeting room that accommodates up to 30 people.
Transportation
  • Santos Dumont Airport (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Galeao International Airport (16 mi/25.6 km)
Attractions
  • Copacabana Fort (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Copacabana Beach (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Sugar Loaf Mountain (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Christ the Redeemer statue (8.3 mi/13.3 km)
Business
  • Small meeting rooms
  • Business center with computers
  • Print, copy and fax services
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Tulip Inn Copacabana Rooms

STANDARD ROOM
1 Double Bed
STANDARD ROOM
2 Single Beds

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tulip Inn Copacabana also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

-22.9728 -43.1858
Area served
Rio de Janeiro
Nearby airports
Aeroporto Internacional Galeao, (GIG), 29.00, KM, NW; Aeroporto Santos Dumont, (SDU), 10.00, KM, N;
Area description
Located in front of the famous beach of Copacabana, near excellent shoppings, restaurants, nightclubs, drugstores and all attractions.

Dining

Branche
Branche is a comfortable restaurant, bar and lounge, all incorporated in the same area. Beautifully designed and offering good quality food and drinks at competitive prices. Enjoy the informal and relaxed atmosphere whilst light jazz and lounge music plays in the background.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Tulip Inn Copacabana

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.2

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tulip Inn Copacabana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ESMJB
LA
Nov 7, 2011

showed up and they sent me away

I made a reservation for one night at this hotel. I show up and the front desk staff told me their was a problem at the hotel and they did not have a room for me and they were sending me to their sister hotel "much nicer, 4 stars, better room, we pay for your taxi". Whatever, I just rocked a 14 hour flight to get there, what else am I supposed to do? So I go to the other hotel and its in a way worse location and it certainly isnt 4 stars and my room was far from sweet and instead of being able to walk everywhere i wanted to go I had to take a 15 reais taxi ride. bogus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Tulip Inn Copacabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Timothy
Not Provided
May 31, 2011

Small rooms, good location. Breakfast

Small rooms, good location. Breakfast was good, service pretty average. Expensive for what you get but then this is Copacabana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Tulip Inn Copacabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cambridge
Dec 26, 2010

Now I understand the mixed reviews

The Tulip Inn Copacabana is a great hotel for the location and price. As others have stated, the exterior and lobby are beautiful, modern and clean. The rooms, however, are very mixed. As I was traveling with a large group I saw many of the rooms - some of them larger and updated than others for the same price. Our first room was great - side view of the ocean, large enough, clean. However, when the a/c malfunctioned we moved to another room, which was smaller, but more importantly, shabbier and not clean. The staff were great in terms of providing assistance with room service, taxis and tourist info. Bottom line: If you stay and find your room to be shabby and unclean, request another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't stay on the main strip for dining where the restaurants are expensive and the food not great. If you walk around the neighborhoods of Copacabana and Ipanema you can find many lovely cafes and restaurants on side street.

Review of Tulip Inn Copacabana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Jun 11, 2010

Perfect location

My stay at Tulip Inn was okay. The location of the hotel is right across from the beach. The free breakfast was okay (its free). I would recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I was able to have a guest, plus the night door man let me pass with two guest for a fee which was okay (for the single guys)

Review of Tulip Inn Copacabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portales, N M
Jan 20, 2010

Clean, Next to a 5 Star

The beach is directly across the hotel. The hotel provides towels and umbrellas for customer use. The staff was pleasant enough, but suspect if they had someone who spoke English it would more pleasant. The hotel room was clean;they are currently remodeling. It didn't bother us though because we were always gone, so for us it was perfect. It can be likened to a Days Inn. There is reasonable and they have a breakfast buffet that was reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Plataforma-Samba Show. Mauario's for an excellent dinner-expensive but worth it.

Review of Tulip Inn Copacabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Moscow, Russia
Jan 15, 2010

Copacabana is the best location

Unfortunately Tulip Inn Copacabana was still being renovated when we arrived. But they were very helpful about transferring us to Tulip Inn Continental very close by and the rest of our stay was pleasant and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be very careful in Rio. On Day 1 both my husband and I were literally attacked on a busy street among a crowd of people because we were wearing jewelry and youngsters on bicycles tried to grab our gold chains and my earrings. Fortunately for us they failed. We later saw similar attacks on foreign tourists.

Review of Tulip Inn Copacabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 3, 2010

Great Value and Location

It was 4 days during New Years and we were in the middle of the action for only $100 or so per night. They finished very nice renovations during our stay. I bet next year this hotel will be double that price. They even bought us a nice dinner for our troubles even though we never hinted at any problem with it. Very nice. They have free towels and umbrellas to use on the beach. It's clean, safe, basic, and practical. No sizzle here, but that's fine w/ us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You can take a cab to Suger Loaf and buy a ticket, no tour required. You can probably do the same for Corcovado and even though the cab would be spendy, you'd spare some time and $$. It took us 5 hours in a tour bus to get that done and we could have done it in 2 w/ a cab. The city tour doesn't have much more in store than those two places.

Review of Tulip Inn Copacabana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
DFW
Nov 29, 2009

Watch them like a hawk

The hotel information neglected to include that they were under renovation. You must enter on the side and there is no real lobby. The staff was not helpful. They had a hard time matching me up to the tours advertised at their desk.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Tulip Inn Copacabana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
CA
Nov 7, 2009

Below Par

Was charged per person, 2nd person did not arrive first night, but was told no refund or credit. Entire front of hotel has been demolished for remodeling, advertisements for hotel do not reflect this. Hotel is old and needs demoloshing not remodeling. Rooms were old and dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Tulip Inn Copacabana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston Ma.
May 3, 2009

Great location and excellent staff!

Terrific location across from the beach.Situated in close proximity to many restaurants and shopping. The hotel staff was exceptional.The front desk was very helpful to us by giving suggestions on which sites to visit. We had switched rooms after the first night and had left a substantial amount of money in the first room.It was returned to us immediately when found by the staff. This was my first visit to Rio and when I return I would definately stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many restaurants within one block of this hotel that are located off the Atlantico Blvd.one of the best was "Rians" restaurant.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search

Hotel Map