Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 22, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Kendall Hotel

3 stars
350 Main St, Cambridge, MA 02142
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
29 reviews
Unique and lovely

This hotel has a décor that's unique, but not cheesy. I loved the feel of the place. The breakfast... See full review

  • Amanda6037
  • Jun 9, 2014
Perfect location and charm

This boutique historic hotel is a quaint refurbishment of an old fire station. Breakfast was a... See full review

  • LJB89
  • Jun 5, 2014
The Kendall Hotel in Boston offers 73 guest rooms and 4 luxury one-bedroom suites decorated in a classic American decor with reproduction furniture and luxurious bedding and bath amenities. Our rooms are inviting, spacious and decorated to bring comfort to our guests. Each guest room is unique in design but all have a bathroom with separate shower and tub, individual climate control for heat and air conditioning and windows that open. The entire hotel is designated non-smoking. Included in all room rates are some of the most comfortable beds in Boston, and a lavish breakfast buffet, featuring homemade scones, muffins, bagels, homemade granola, yogurt, as well as hot breakfast items including scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon as well as items that change regularly. Coffee, Decaffeinated Coffee, Hot Tea, and Assorted Juices are also included. High speed Internet access included with all room rates and is available in all rooms and lobby. Free use of near-by health club. Join us from 5:00pm to 6:00pm in our Rooftop Retreat for a hosted wine tasting Monday through Thursday. All rooms rates include a full American Breakfast buffet, high speed internet access; wired & Wi-Fi, complimentary pass to FITCORP & the hosted wine hour. Standard queen and deluxe king rooms allow a max of 2 adults; a roll away bed can be added to a king room at additional fees for extra person and bedding will be charged at check in. Standard queen rooms cannot accommodate roll away beds and no more than 2 adults can be accommodated in the queen room type.

Kendall Hotel Rooms

Two Queen NonSmoking
2 queen beds non-smoking room will hold up to 4, reproduction antique furnishings, ceiling fans
one King Bed NonSmoking
1 kinq bed deluxe oversized non-smoking room. tiled bathroom with a shower and tub, hairdryer, reproduction antique furnishings, quilts, 250 thread-count sheets
One King Bed Suite Non-Sm
2 Room suite with separate living room and bedroom. HDTV, fireplace, Jacuzzi
One Queen Bed Non-Smoking
1 queen bed non-smoking room will hold up to 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kendall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.3622 -71.0873
Area served
Kendall Square is the Gateway to Boston and Cambridge.
Nearby airports
BOS - Logan International 4 miles
Area description
The elegant Kendall Hotel, located where Cambridge meets Boston; steps from the Kendall/MIT Redline T stop, offers everything the weekend and business traveler could need, including a touch of history.

Dining

Black Sheep Restaurant & Bar
Situated in the lobby of the historic Kendall Hotel, the Black Sheep Restaurant is dedicated to the buildings past as a Victorian firehouse and to fine dining in Cambridge, Mass. The menu offers daily selections created by our chef using organic and locally grown produce. Our cozy dining room creates a welcoming atmosphere, with a menu offering both classic and innovative American home-style cooking. Our philosophy is simple: purchase the finest and freshest ingredients and let the food absorb them. We offer a full bar and specialize in a selection of locally brewed beers and selected wines from wineries around the United States. The Black Sheep is open daily for breakfast. We are open for lunch and dinner Monday through Friday. Saturday the Black Sheep is open for breakfast and dinner only. Both meat-eaters and vegetarians will find plenty to enjoy.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Kendall Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kendall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hotlips
Naperville, IL
Jul 28, 2014

Kendall is great

This was a wonderful boutique hotel in a great location. It's right by public transportation so getting to Boston is easy, and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

East Side Grille in Cambridge for great Italian food.

Review of Kendall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rednecker
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 4, 2014

nice boutique hotel

Located next to MIT and close to my business location. I was impressed by the owner's effort in making it boutique. Free parking, high speed WiFi internet and a nice breakfast are a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kendall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amanda6037
Minneapolis
Jun 9, 2014

Unique and lovely

This hotel has a décor that's unique, but not cheesy. I loved the feel of the place. The breakfast was one of the best I've ever had in a hotel, and I especially enjoyed the wine reception up in the hotel's solarium. Weeknights from 5-6. The hotel is steps from the Kendall/MIT T-stop, so it's super convenient. I'd highly recommend this hotel, especially for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Kendall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LJB89
Los Angeles, California
Jun 5, 2014

Perfect location and charm

This boutique historic hotel is a quaint refurbishment of an old fire station. Breakfast was a wonderful value. Very personalized service. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful seafood restaurant across the street

Review of Kendall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LJB89
Los Angeles, California
Jun 3, 2014

Cambridge charm

Had a great stay at this wonderful find over Reunion week. The breakfast is an amazing deal. Rooms are darling and could not have been any cuter. It's right across from the COOP if you need anything. I worked out at the gym on Technology Square, which was included with the stay. They did everything possible to make this a pleasant stay. I will stay here next time for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Gym affiilated with the hotel has fantastic classes.

Review of Kendall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Radnitt
Epsom. UK
Apr 23, 2014

Very Good Hotel in Great Location

Lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful. Perfect location next to Kendall Subway and walking distance from Charles Street and the Common. Recommended. Perfect value location if you are doing the marathon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Kendall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TampaFloridaTraveler
Business
Tampa, Florida
Mar 15, 2014

Kendall Hotel - March 2014

I found this boutique hotel delightful. The staff were very pleasant and the rooms were well appointed and very quiet, which made the stay really enjoyable. I found the food in the restaurant was excellent and the breakfast very filling and tasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I chose this hotel because it was close to MIT and Draper Laboratory. Business was the reason for the trip and it was very close to my meetings. The restaurant was excellent and the entire venue was terrific. I would come back again!

Review of Kendall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom 0
Business
New Jersey
Mar 13, 2014

Nice Hotel

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times. It is nice to pay a bit less than you would for the Mariott's a block away. The room is still very clean - which is great considering the age of the hotel. Also, unlike other historic hotels in the area, the rooms are generally a good size. Sometimes I'll get stuck in a room that is tiny but for the most part they generally feel spacious. Breakfast is always good in the morning. Pretty basic with Eggs, pancakes, toast, bacon, etc... Overall, a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kendall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappytravelerK
California
Dec 30, 2013

I love this hotel!

I can't speak highly enough of this hotel - we absolutely loved it. We stayed there over Christmas and it was all decorated for the holiday - they even had a gingerbread house in their breakfast room. My fiance loved it too - it's adorable, but not frilly or overly feminine. It was spotless, the bed was extremely comfortable, and our room even had a little sitting area. If you know Cambridge well, then you know there isn't a ton to do in Kendall Square, but it's easy to walk to other parts of Cambridge and the hotel is right next to a T stop. (The only minor drawback is that you can feel a very distant rumble from the T, but it's not enough to bother anyone and we loved how close public transportation was.) The staff was lovely, breakfast was delicious, and the hotel itself was awesome. Best of all, it's not generic. It was decorated with china dalmations, toy firetrucks, and cool old prints, but in a way that seemed really quirky and fun (old firehouse) rather than hokey. It's a hard line to walk, but they did it perfectly. (The photos online don't do it justice.) I think this is my favorite hotel - I'm definitely going to stay there every time I'm in Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kendall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MIT Alum2010
Washington, DC
Aug 19, 2013

Cambridge gem

Most charming building in Kendall Square. 10 steps from the T.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top