Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

The Inn at St. John's

4 stars
44045 Five Mile Road, Plymouth, MI 48170
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
47 reviews
Very Nice Place

We stayed here for a wedding and the place is WONDERFUL See full review

  • ADahl
  • Jul 14, 2014
very nice location o

Overall very nice.... I think they should offer continental breakfast..or something...... See full review

  • dkvy
  • Apr 12, 2014
A heavenly blend of history and elegance

The Inn at St. John's has been etched in Michigan history and tradition since the 1940s. The inn provides the comfort and convenience of a large hotel, but in an intimate, luxurious setting. Located in the upscale Detroit suburb of Plymouth, this landmark is a premier location for overnight stays, gourmet dining, corporate conferences, executive meetings, and golf outings.

Highlights
  • Luxury accommodations in Detroit's dynamic western suburbs
  • 118 luxury guest rooms and suites, featuring deluxe amenities
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and wired high-speed Internet
  • Spacious ballrooms and meeting rooms, perfect for any business occasion
  • Challenging 27-hole golf course ranked among the finest in Michigan
Rooms

Each of the 118 luxury guest rooms showcases 12-foot ceilings, custom-designed furniture, and sumptuous bedding. Elegant baths feature oversized showers, granite countertops, cosmetic mirrors, European bath amenities, and comfy cotton robes. Amenities include complimentary Wi-Fi and wired Internet access, in-room safe, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, armoire with a flat-screen television, and AM/FM clock radio with CD player.

Features

The historic St. John's Inn features classic Romanesque architecture with lavish details, including polished marble floors, handcrafted woodwork, and majestic stonework. The hotel addition, opened in 2006, welcomes guests into a warmly elegant and relaxing lobby.

 

The hotel boasts a well-equipped fitness center and indoor pool, accentuated by a waterfall, bubble lounge, swim-resistance area, and Jacuzzi. Carl's Golfland offers a year-round heated driving range.

 

5ive Restaurant, serving modern American cuisine, features an outdoor terrace with fire-pit seating, views of picturesque gardens, and weekend entertainment in season.

Transportation
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (21 mi/33.8 km)
  • Amtrak (24 mi/38.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Henry Ford Museum/Greenfield Village (19.6 mi/31.5 km)
  • Comerica Park and Ford Field (22.1 mi/35.6 km)
  • Cobo Convention Center (22.3 mi/35.9 km)
  • Detroit Institute of Arts (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Business
  • Abundant space for meetings and breakout sessions
  • 48,000 square feet of versatile space, including four ballrooms
  • Food and beverage service and audiovisual services

The Inn at St. John's Rooms

Deluxe King
This room offers one king bed with air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, coffee maker, iron and ironing board.
Deluxe Two Queens
This room offers two queen beds with air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, coffee maker, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Inn at St. John's also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.3959 -83.4771
Area served
Plymouth.
Nearby airports
Detroit International Airport.
Area description
The Inn at St. John's has proximity to Detroit – downtown, Detroit Institute of Arts, Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History, Greektown Casino, Matthaei Botanical Gardens, Compuware Ice Arena – Plymouth Whalers Hockey and Walter P. Chrysler Museum.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at St. John's

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at St. John's

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ADahl
Mi
Jul 14, 2014

Very Nice Place

We stayed here for a wedding and the place is WONDERFUL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Inn at St. John's

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dkvy
nc
Apr 12, 2014

very nice location o

Overall very nice.... I think they should offer continental breakfast..or something... complimentary coffee after 9:am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Inn at St. John's

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lulu Suds
Colchester ON
Jun 25, 2013

Another enjoyable stay at The Inn at St. John's

We enjoy this hotel very much. It's a beautiful location just minutes from Plymouth & Canton for shopping but out in the country so the scenery is lovely & the atmosphere peaceful. The resort itself has lots of character with new & old charming buildings - not your typical box building hotel. The staff is very friendly and the rooms clean & comfortable - nice flat screen TV's, free internet and a fridge. We were able to get one of the rooms that have an outdoor balcony overlooking the gardens - very nice! We really like the restaurant too - had a delicious gourmet dinner and breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Inn at St. John's

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JP Senior
Business
Cleveland
Nov 7, 2012

A Nice, Well Maintained Hotel With Just Average Staff

The hotel was well situated for my business trip and was bright, well appointed, and well maintained. The room was nicely furnished with an armoire, desk, and comfortable bed. The bathroom and shower were very nice. The room was quiet, which is important to me. The staff was just okay; it seems like every time I needed something at the front desk or the restaurant, they were busy talking among themselves or on the phone--not always with customers--and at intrusively loud volumes. I guess service standards have slipped across the economy, or maybe I'm old-fashioned, but I don't like the feeling that I'm intruding on the personal lives of staff by bothering them to provide the customer service they're being paid to provide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at St. John's

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
msleeve
Canton, MI, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Select another hotel

Hotel appeared to be understaffed in the restaurant and front desk. Front desk personnel was rude and did not work with online reservation vendor smoothly regarding the reservation. Overall under-delivered against the description provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Inn at St. John's

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John from Ohio
Business
Ohio
Jan 27, 2012

Work trip with the family

This is my fourth time staying at the hotel. Great atmosphere, fantastic hotel staff and room service. My newborn daughter absolutely loved the pool. Very close to all the attractions and shopping places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at St. John's

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Northern transplant
Business
Greenville, SC, USA
Jan 7, 2012

Business Trip

The hotel staff was very accommodating and the hotel was very clean and tidy. The restaurant, 5ive, proved to be a delicious venue for dining. The grouper was particularly good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat in the 5ive bar or restaurant, conveniently located on the first floor of the hotel.

Review of The Inn at St. John's

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CASA gramma
Business
Flint, Michigan
Oct 20, 2011

Work Conference

It is a beautiful hotel in a luxurious setting. Restful and calming. The only issue I had was that I left a pair of earrings on the bathroom sink when I checked out and 2 hours later when I spoke with the gracious lobby staff, they told me that housekeeping reported they could not find them. This was a bit disturbing for me since they were a gift from my granddaughter and I knew exactly when and where I left them. That is a people problem, the hotel is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Inn at St. John's

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LA Mamma
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 13, 2011

Beautiful and Convenient

I stayed at this hotel with my family for a wedding, which was also held at the adjoining chapel and banquet facility. I was traveling with my husband and 2 year old. We really enjoyed ourselves. The grounds are beautiful, including the golf course and a beautiful small koi pond/waterfall in the courtyard that my daughter really enjoyed walking around. I actually got her to hang out there for an entire hour! The restaurant in the hotel has good food (including Mac n Cheese!), was reasonably priced for hotel food (much cheaper than we expected), and had friendly servers. The rooms were clean and large. We had two queen beds, and had plenty of room for the pack-n-play and all our other suitcases and bags. The room also had a mini-fridge and microwave, which is a must for a toddler who needs "hot milky" to get to sleep. There was also free wi-fi and parking, which was pleasantly surprising since nice hotels usually rip you off for those. Check-in and check-out were fast and easy, and the front desk was helpful and friendly. Altogether, if we end up again in the Detroit area, this is definitely where we will stay! The location made it so convenient for our family, since we had the wedding in the same facility. The area is safe and not densely populated, which made it very relaxing. There was also a pretty indoor pool that we never made it to, but it looked nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is also a grocery store less than a block away.

Review of The Inn at St. John's

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LA Mamma
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 13, 2011

Beautiful and Convenient

I stayed at this hotel with my family for a wedding, which was also held at the adjoining chapel and banquet facility. I was traveling with my husband and 2 year old. We really enjoyed ourselves. The grounds are beautiful, including the golf course and a beautiful small koi pond/waterfall in the courtyard that my daughter really enjoyed walking around. I actually got her to hang out there for an entire hour! The restaurant in the hotel has good food (including Mac n Cheese!), was reasonably priced for hotel food (much cheaper than we expected), and had friendly servers. The rooms were clean and large. We had two queen beds, and had plenty of room for the pack-n-play and all our other suitcases and bags. The room also had a mini-fridge and microwave, which is a must for a toddler who needs "hot milky" to get to sleep. There was also free wi-fi and parking, which was pleasantly surprising since nice hotels usually rip you off for those. Check-in and check-out were fast and easy, and the front desk was helpful and friendly. Altogether, if we end up again in the Detroit area, this is definitely where we will stay! The location made it so convenient for our family, since we had the wedding in the same facility. The area is safe and not densely populated, which made it very relaxing. There was also a pretty indoor pool that we never made it to, but it looked nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is also a grocery store less than a block away.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search

Hotel Map