Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Painted Buffalo Inn

2 stars
400 West Broadway, JACKSON HOLE, Jackson Hole, WY 83001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
20 reviews
good, but can be better

we have a good time in painted buffalo. However, there are some problems. small parking lot and the... See full review

  • Hanabifan
  • Jul 26, 2013
Very comfortable

We were able to walk into town rather than driving and The Snake River Brew Pub is less than 2... See full review

  • beads28
  • Sep 4, 2012
Pets are welcome at mid-town hotel near Grand Tetons

Painted Buffalo Inn is an independently owned 137-room hotel that captures the spirit of Wyoming in its friendly service standard. Located in downtown Jackson on West Broadway near a shuttle stop, guests enjoy a relaxed and hassle-free accommodation where the sights and attractions of the Grand Teton region are within easy reach. Free perks such as parking, breakfast, an indoor pool and Wi-Fi make Painted Buffalo Inn a good value for National Park road trips and Jackson Hole adventure vacations.

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast plus tea and coffee throughout the day
  • Walk to Betty Rock Café and many other downtown restaurants within 3-4 blocks
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
  • Indoor swimming pool and sauna
Rooms

Painted Buffalo Inn is a two-story hotel with a large second floor shared sundeck for pleasant sunny days. Standard motel accommodations include air conditioning, cable TV, free Wi-Fi Internet access, coffee-makers and hair-dryers. Larger family suites have sofa sleepers. Refrigerators and microwaves can be requested.

Features

Guests who spend their time in Jackson Hole hiking, mountain biking or skiing will look forward to returning to the large heated indoor swimming pool and dry sauna at the end of an eventful day. Additional features at Painted Buffalo Inn include a gift shop, on-site beautician, luggage hold, dry cleaning services and babysitting services (fees apply).

 

Restaurants, art galleries and a movie theater are nearby. Start with the nearest lunchtime eatery, Betty Rock Café, for soups, salads, sandwiches and popular milkshakes.

Transportation
  • Jackson Hole Airport (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • START shuttle route (1 Block)
Attractions
  • Jackson Town Square (4 blocks)
  • Snow King Ski & Summer Resort (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • National Elk Refuge Road (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Grand Teton National Park south entrance (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Jackson Hole Mountain Resort (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Grand Targhee Resort (44.6 mi/71.8 km)
  • Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park (96.9 mi/156 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet
  • Guest computer in lobby
  • Secretarial services
  • Free faxing and photocopying

Painted Buffalo Inn Rooms

Standard Room
We want to provide our guests with rooms that fit their needs and provide only the best customer service. With a wide range of rooms, we offer more choices and features to better serve you. Amenities include air conditioning, cable TV, complementary WIFI, mini fridge, coffee maker and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Painted Buffalo Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.4794 -110.7681
Area served
Jackson Hole
Nearby airports
Jackson Hole Airport (JAC)
Area description
Within walking distance of the hotel, the rustic western charm of the town square hosts a variety of restaurants and eateries, quaint shops and boutiques, art galleries, museums, an exciting nightlife, and the famous Jackson Hole Playhouse.

Dining

Bar T-5
Horse-drawn covered wagon rides, Dutch oven dinner, live stage cowboy shows and hand clapping music.
Teton Steakhouse
"West" atmosphere with famous soup and salad bar. Jackson's only all-you-can-eat Cowboy Breakfast Buffet.
The Blue Lion
Features a full service bar & reservations are strongly recommended. Only 1 1/2 blocks away from the Painted Buffalo Inn.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Painted Buffalo Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 20
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.1

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Love Grand Teton
Cordova, IL
Aug 17, 2014

I guess you get what you pay for

Our bedsheets kept falling off because they were so old and worn. everything was a little worn. The breakfast was a cold one. donuts, muffins, cereal... You could here your neighbors very well in the rooms. Location was great. that was it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Jackson Hole has tons of shopping.

Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bluk07
Grand junction, co
Sep 25, 2013

It was ok

Hotels in this area are pricey but at $120/night I expected a little more. The room was ok, the parking was horrible (we had to park on the street), and the free breakfast was no more than toast and bagels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
knickerbocker
Fresno, CA
Aug 30, 2013

Rude desk clerk, otherwise fairly nice

This motel was just a few blocks off the main hub of activity - well within walking distance. Average, (fairly) quiet room with an okay breakfast at the café next door. What set our teeth on edge was when we arrived after a very long drive and were told rather abruptly that we were too early (to check in) and that our room was "dirty". Yuck, we wondered. How dirty are we talking?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Million Dollar Cowboy Bar is worth a look, at least. We had dinner off the bar menu which was really, really good and a LOT cheaper than their dinner menu.

Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hanabifan
Houston
Jul 26, 2013

good, but can be better

we have a good time in painted buffalo. However, there are some problems. small parking lot and the breakfast could be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beads28
Salt Lake City, Utah
Sep 4, 2012

Very comfortable

We were able to walk into town rather than driving and The Snake River Brew Pub is less than 2 blocks away. Fun place & close enough to walk. Hotel is clean & very comfortable. Will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Bunnery was great for breakfast & The Merry Piglets had really good mexican food & margaritas.

Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mickey Finn
Arizona
Jul 12, 2012

Our Stay

The Location of this hotel is very good. Walking distance to the shops and restaurants of Jackson. Rooms were good, but do need some updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gail Queenmum
Pembroke, MA
Jul 2, 2012

Convenient location

Staff was very friendly. Location was convenient to walk downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JK56
Worcester, MA, USA
Sep 10, 2011

Great location

Great location within walking distance to downtown. Had a pool and sauna. We left really early in the morning so didn't have breakfast but nice enough for what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
idaho
Nov 27, 2010

good choice

Close to downtown. Staff was friendly & helpful. Takes pets! It may be an average hotel but was very clean, large enough & a nice walk to town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Supertaster
El Cerrito, CA
Sep 25, 2009

convenient location

Actually I stayed there at the beginning of the trip with my husband and then at the end by myself. During the first stay I arrived late and parking was difficult. That time the sheets and towels smelled a little like clorox. Not so the second stay. The room was clean and the staff was helpful. It was a short walk to the historic center of town. The breakfast was not worth eating. I went across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is an organic cafe that serves breakfast and lunch.

Back to menu Return to top