Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
619 reviews
great place to stay

great place and price for this area. the room was really nice and the resort was great. huge pool... See full review

  • Jordan's dad
  • Jul 15, 2014
Very Nice

The rooms were clean and appeared to be very modern, possibly remodeled recently. The staff was... See full review

  • arnoldz1
  • Jun 26, 2014
The land called 'Powhatan' is a colonial plantation whose heritage dates to the 18th century. In 1735, Richard Taliaferro, the area's leading architect, constructed Powhatan Plantation's Manor House as his home. Restored with painstaking attention to historical detail, the manor house is the hallmark of our beautiful resort. The resort is located on over 250 acres of land, which includes a natural wildlife setting. Surrounded by a wooded forest, open fields, water foul and 5 small lakes, Powhatan offers a general store and two restaurants for our guests convenience including The Kitchen, an award winning fine dining restaurant. Amenities include a 18-hole mini-golf course, basketball, volleyball, horseshoe pit, racquetball, tennis courts, weight room and a variety of workshops and classes for guests of all ages.
ALL of our resorts will require a Major credit card deposit. No cash or debit cards allowed. The deposit will be $100 US and shall be returned when the rooms have been inspected and no damage has been done or items are not missing. If there is damage or items missing the guest will be charged. Guests must be 21 years of age in order to book online. Check-in time is 4pm EST and Check-out time is 10am EST.
Please note that this property does not have daily maid service
No pets allowed
Resort Fee of $10.00 + tax is due at check in. Resort fee includes;WIFI, Business Center, indoor pool, Raquet ball and Boarding Pass printing

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (619)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 619
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Musicman44
Richmond, VA.
Mar 3, 2014

Quick Weekend Getaway

I always love coming to this property. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. Shopping is close by, and the staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Dated But Worth It

My stay was great! Condos are dated but they are currently making reservations. I only wished that they had put me in a newer condo. This would've definitely impressed me and possibly made me reconsider purchasing. Great value for the dollar from Cheap Tickets; personal jacuzzi was great and location was perfect. Nearby shopping and movie theater. I wish I could've stayed longer; didn't get to visit the indoor pool. Staff was great! I called about my window not locking and someone was there within 10 minutes to fix it, replace screen on sliding glass doors and reverse locks. Kudos to lead carpenter; sorry I forgot his name but I have it somewhere. Will definitely return soon for a Girls Weekend. I really enjoyed my ME TIME!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Movie Tavern at 1430 High Street. They only charge $6 before 6pm and the they bring your food to your very comfortable and spacious seat.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MARK DEE
Buffalo, NY, USA
Jan 11, 2012

great location in the HISTORIC TRIANGLE

from check in to check out i could not of asked for a better location,right in the middle of the triangle..the friendliest staff for the entire stay..convienent to stores restraunts and the grounds were nice..to bad the manor house was closed..hot tub and pool very nice..doors to the units were LOUD..that was my only complaint..thanx again to the staff..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

they have a TRADER JOES..

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Becky Teaches
Danville, VA
Jul 10, 2011

Beautiful resort

My suite was lovely and easy to find. It was an upgrade over what I confirmed with [...], which was a nice surprise. Instead of one bedroom and a loft, I had two nice bedrooms as well as a large living room area. There was also a washer-dryer located in my suite, which I liked very much.The lodging was clean, though the sofa cushions had lost their loft over time. The one problem I had was small, though it was a nuisance. The card locks became desensitized if they came in contact with credit cards, cell phones, etc. I had to get mine refreshed two times during my four day stay. The staff was friendly and very helpful. There was a definite attempt to enroll me for a sales presentation during my stay, but when I firmly, and politely declined the invitation, the matter was dropped. I would stay at this resort again. It was convenient (15 minutes or less) to Busch Gardens and to Colonial Williamsburg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Becky Teaches
Danville, VA
Jul 10, 2011

Beautiful resort

My suite was lovely and easy to find. It was an upgrade over what I confirmed with [...], which was a nice surprise. Instead of one bedroom and a loft, I had two nice bedrooms as well as a large living room area. There was also a washer-dryer located in my suite, which I liked very much.The lodging was clean, though the sofa cushions had lost their loft over time. The one problem I had was small, though it was a nuisance. The card locks became desensitized if they came in contact with credit cards, cell phones, etc. I had to get mine refreshed two times during my four day stay. The staff was friendly and very helpful. There was a definite attempt to enroll me for a sales presentation during my stay, but when I firmly, and politely declined the invitation, the matter was dropped. I would stay at this resort again. It was convenient (15 minutes or less) to Busch Gardens and to Colonial Williamsburg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
hopewell, va
Apr 29, 2011

It was great!!!

had a good time. it was good to relax and get away! the place was very clean and staff was very helpful and nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
hopewell, va
Apr 29, 2011

It was great!!!

had a good time. it was good to relax and get away! the place was very clean and staff was very helpful and nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wdbexpress
va beach, va
Jan 11, 2011

sunny place

quiet nice place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

sunny

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wdbexpress
va beach, va
Jan 11, 2011

sunny place

quiet nice place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

sunny

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
coventry ct
May 30, 2010

what's in a name

was surprised to see I had been set up with a time share sales pitch even before I got there. luckily for me my wife was not with me so I didn't have to go. the official name for this was Hist. Powhatan Resort not Hist Powhatan Plantation. would never have booked it if I knew it was a resort. shame on you for misrepresenting this. will always check things out in the future or use a different company to book my flights, rental cars and hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top