Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
388 reviews
Fabulous vacation experience!

We were very impressed and plan on going back next year! The rooms were clean, kitchen was... See full review

  • Mom Who Picked a Winner
  • Aug 10, 2014
great bang for your buck

Best deal in Williamsburg for the money! It requires driving to CW, but when you get back to... See full review

  • W and M Mom
  • Aug 5, 2014
Family-friendly hotel with outdoor activities on rolling woodland acres
The Historic Powhatan Plantation dates back to 1735 when a leading architect occupied the Manor House of this former plantation. Today, the hotel recognizes that colonial spirit with classic American accommodations and a blissful setting on 250-plus wooded acres. Active travelers make full use of the multiple recreational amenities on site, including pools, basketball and tennis courts.

Highlights
  • Restored 1735 Manor House on site
  • Indoor and four outdoor pools with seasonal Cabana Bar and hot tub
  • Tennis courts, 18-hole mini golf course and bike rental available on site
  • Spacious accommodations with multiple bedrooms, balcony and loft
  • On-site activity center featuring a unique new event calendar weekly
  • Newly renovated fitness center with separate outdoor walk and jog track
  • General store
  • Full kitchens and washers and dryers in most rooms
  • Casual dining at the Powhatan Grill
  • Pavilion rentals available with a maximum occupancy of 120
  • In-house Coffee House coming soon

Rooms
A variety of layouts accommodate even the largest of groups, with some options boasting as many as four bedrooms. Some rooms showcase traditional American style and come furnished with fireplace and full kitchen that allows guests to save on dining expenses. Washers and dryers complete the residential feel.

Recreation

The Historic Powhatan Plantation is set on 256 rolling wooded acres. The resort brims with colonial charm, starting with the Powhatan Plantation's Manor House that was once the home of the area's leading architect Richard Taliaferro. Guests can spend considerable time outside at the tennis, racquetball and basketball courts and the 18-hole mini golf course. Visitors can also enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.9 mi/41.7 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.6 mi/62.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (3.9  mi/6.4 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Water Country USA  (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (51.5 mi/82.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (38.1 mi/61.4 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a major credit card for deposits. No cash or debit cards are allowed. The hotel will authorize a $100 deposit that will be returned when the room has been inspected and no damage has been done or items are missing.
  • The property does not have daily maid service.
  • Pets are not allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (388)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 388
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Musicman44
Richmond, VA.
Mar 3, 2014

Quick Weekend Getaway

I always love coming to this property. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. Shopping is close by, and the staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Dated But Worth It

My stay was great! Condos are dated but they are currently making reservations. I only wished that they had put me in a newer condo. This would've definitely impressed me and possibly made me reconsider purchasing. Great value for the dollar from Cheap Tickets; personal jacuzzi was great and location was perfect. Nearby shopping and movie theater. I wish I could've stayed longer; didn't get to visit the indoor pool. Staff was great! I called about my window not locking and someone was there within 10 minutes to fix it, replace screen on sliding glass doors and reverse locks. Kudos to lead carpenter; sorry I forgot his name but I have it somewhere. Will definitely return soon for a Girls Weekend. I really enjoyed my ME TIME!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Movie Tavern at 1430 High Street. They only charge $6 before 6pm and the they bring your food to your very comfortable and spacious seat.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MARK DEE
Buffalo, NY, USA
Jan 11, 2012

great location in the HISTORIC TRIANGLE

from check in to check out i could not of asked for a better location,right in the middle of the triangle..the friendliest staff for the entire stay..convienent to stores restraunts and the grounds were nice..to bad the manor house was closed..hot tub and pool very nice..doors to the units were LOUD..that was my only complaint..thanx again to the staff..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

they have a TRADER JOES..

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Becky Teaches
Danville, VA
Jul 10, 2011

Beautiful resort

My suite was lovely and easy to find. It was an upgrade over what I confirmed with [...], which was a nice surprise. Instead of one bedroom and a loft, I had two nice bedrooms as well as a large living room area. There was also a washer-dryer located in my suite, which I liked very much.The lodging was clean, though the sofa cushions had lost their loft over time. The one problem I had was small, though it was a nuisance. The card locks became desensitized if they came in contact with credit cards, cell phones, etc. I had to get mine refreshed two times during my four day stay. The staff was friendly and very helpful. There was a definite attempt to enroll me for a sales presentation during my stay, but when I firmly, and politely declined the invitation, the matter was dropped. I would stay at this resort again. It was convenient (15 minutes or less) to Busch Gardens and to Colonial Williamsburg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
hopewell, va
Apr 29, 2011

It was great!!!

had a good time. it was good to relax and get away! the place was very clean and staff was very helpful and nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wdbexpress
va beach, va
Jan 11, 2011

sunny place

quiet nice place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

sunny

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
coventry ct
May 30, 2010

what's in a name

was surprised to see I had been set up with a time share sales pitch even before I got there. luckily for me my wife was not with me so I didn't have to go. the official name for this was Hist. Powhatan Resort not Hist Powhatan Plantation. would never have booked it if I knew it was a resort. shame on you for misrepresenting this. will always check things out in the future or use a different company to book my flights, rental cars and hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mknlace
Central Virginia
Oct 8, 2009

Relaxing but short drive to major sites

Nice set up for a getaway. Kitchen, living room, porch, and separate bedrooms allows for many possibilities. I used the time as a jumpstart to a new project. I used the living room/dining area for work and other areas for relaxation. The grounds also allow for leisure breaks-a quiet walk, pool, tennis courts, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to look at the activities offered for the week at Colonial Williamsburg. By looking at the "This week" brochure, I was able to attend a Tuesday evening concert at Bruton Parish Church.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fair Lawn NJ
Oct 2, 2009

Beautiful Getaway!!

I had read mixed reviews, but more towards the good side. I am so happy that I chose this place. I definitely plan on returning here. From the moment I started up the long drive I knew this was exactly what I was looking for. I did go "off seson", so it was quiet and more of an older crowd (very few children). The staff had me registered in a very short time. I went to my unit,walked up the stairs and was more than what I expected. I reserved a one bedroom. The unit was at the end of a cul-de-sac. My unit was upsta the irs, and it had a queen (very comfortable) in the master bedroom. I found the stairs and proceeded to find a light airy room (loft) with two twin beds. It had a small kitchen, completely supplied with everything I would need. A two burner stover, a micro-wave/convection oven. Servings for 4, washer/dryer. The Living room area was a TV with 3 chairs (no sofa) and there was a TV in the bedroom also. Also two baths. One had a shower the other a huge tub. The color schemes were all pastel yellows and greens and colonial style furniture. The carpeting was old but not dirty. All the necessary linens supplied and I found the bed to extremely comfortable. My unit was very quiet. I did not hear the people downstairs except when I first walked into a small foyer area. But as soon as I opened my door and went upstairs you heard nothing. I also felt very secure while there. The grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. I give this place a very big thumbs up if your looking for a more quiet place. Everything is a short distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Also if anybody does go I highly recommend taking the ghost tour. It is a small fee and is held in the manor. The actor who was extremely knowledgable and retains his character so well that you almost feel like your back in the late 1700's!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
East TN
Apr 22, 2009

Great place for family stays

This was huge, very nice for a family and nice areas to be outside. Great vaule with ammenities I didn't take advantage of. Lobby computers weren't really working but understand they were updating their server.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of new business in the area, food, shoppig, gas.

Back to menu Return to top