Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2016 Check-out: Mar 4, 2016

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
View map of 3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
19 reviews
Fun family time

Enjoyed the nice landscaping. Pool was well maintained and staffed. Rooms are a little dated. Could... See full review

  • Ed C.
  • Jul 31, 2015
Ms. Kiya

I brought my fiance for his birthday. The room could have been a little updated. The other times we... See full review

  • Super Fiancee
  • Mar 21, 2010
The land called 'Powhatan' is a colonial plantation whose heritage dates to the 18th century. In 1735, Richard Taliaferro, the area's leading architect, constructed Powhatan Plantation's Manor House as his home. Restored with painstaking attention to historical detail, the manor house is the hallmark of our beautiful resort. The resort is located on over 250 acres of land, which includes a natural wildlife setting. Surrounded by a wooded forest, open fields, water foul and 5 small lakes, Powhatan offers a general store and two restaurants for our guests convenience including The Kitchen, an award winning fine dining restaurant. Amenities include a 18-hole mini-golf course, basketball, volleyball, horseshoe pit, racquetball, tennis courts, weight room and a variety of workshops and classes for guests of all ages.
ALL of our resorts will require a Major credit card deposit. No cash or debit cards allowed. The deposit will be $100 US and shall be returned when the rooms have been inspected and no damage has been done or items are not missing. If there is damage or items missing the guest will be charged. Guests must be 21 years of age in order to book online. Check-in time is 4pm EST and Check-out time is 10am EST.
Please note that this property does not have daily maid service
No pets allowed
Resort Fee of $10.00 + tax is due at check in. Resort fee includes;WIFI, Business Center, indoor pool, Raquet ball and Boarding Pass printing
POOL CLOSURE FOR RENOVATION; Our Indoor Pool will be closed from September 8, 2014 thru October 1, 2014. The outdoor pools will remain open.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 19
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed C.
Family
N/A
Jul 31, 2015

Fun family time

Enjoyed the nice landscaping. Pool was well maintained and staffed. Rooms are a little dated. Could use some new bathrooms. Had a good time and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Duke Girl
Family
WAKE FOREST
Jul 13, 2015

Lots of space but that's not enough.

Old, rundown and bug infested space,but there was lots of it in three story, three bedroom unit we rented for our Busch Gardens vacation. Ventilation was bad so third floor loft bedroom was almost too hot to be used and the paper covering on one of its skylights was torn so the sunlight made the space even hotter. Cobwebs and spiders,bug traps and hairs in bathrooms and kitchens. Sofa and chair cushions saggy and uncomfortable. Not a nice space. Grounds are lovely but we weren't sleeping on the grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marylander20876
Family
MD
May 28, 2013

average stay

units are old. check-in experience is not great because of a concierge service which tries to book sales pitch (time share) right after check-in. they ignore the fact that you came over after long travel. Kids enjoyed pools and mini golf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaiian Lounger
Family
Virginia
Feb 19, 2013

Excellent accomodations, very clean and comfortable!

One of the best hotels we have stayed in. I am very particular about cleanliness and this hotel definitely met the mark. We will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The TP Family
Family
Northern Virginia
Sep 10, 2012

A night away

The estate is really pretty. The pools (there are several) were great. Very clean. Our rooms were really well laid out. They need to be updated. There was a flat screen TV in the main room with a dvd player but the bathrooms are very dingy (due to age - very clean). For the price it was a great two bedroom. If I had paid full price I might have been disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nancymvy
Family
Amherst NH
Nov 13, 2011

Great, with some bumps

The resort area is great, the condo was pretty good. Both toilets in the bathrooms needed work - one didn't refill for 45 minutes after being flushed, the other had handle that was broken. Upstairs loft area had literally a broken dresser drawer on the floor and one of the twin beds was so squeaky we took the mattress off the floor for our sanity. That being said, the setup was great for a family of 2 adults and 2 older teens, the location was great - very close to William & Mary and lots of things to do. Only other item -we left a piece of clothing in the dryer, called within 16 hours of checking out, nobody else had checked in to the unit so obviously a staff member took the item for their own. We know it was our fault that we left it but with nobody else having gone into the unit we were surprised it was no longer in the dryer. Would stay again for sure, would just check room over thoroughly first and make sure everything was in working order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barbie K
Family
Bloomfield, NJ
Jun 1, 2010

Fantastic Family Getaway location

Excellent spot close to Williamsburg. Great rooms with plenty of room to socialize with family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make reservations ahead of time if possible

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wild, Wonderful Woman & Family
Family
Willow, Alaska
Jan 29, 2010

JUST PLAIN PERFECT!

We were attending a reunion in Williamsburg and the hotel was our home base. The staff was delightful, our accommodations were tasteful and very comfortable. We felt like we were returning "home" each night, instead of returning to a hotel. We received a fantastic rate, which just added icing to the cake. It was just plain perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FIRST TIME TRAVELER TO VIRGINIA
Family
FT.LAUDERDALE,FL
Jan 22, 2010

Nice Place, Awful Service!!!

The place was nice inside until the water heater pipe burst into the room and water was everywhere!! Had to pack up EVERYTHING AND GO TO THE FRONT DESK TO BE PLACED IN ANOTHER UNIT BUT [...]THE FRONT DESK COULDN'T GIVE US A FIRST FLOOR ROOM. I ASKED FOR ONE DUE TO ALL THE LUGGAGE AGAGIN AND TRAVELING WITH A 4YR OLD. THE STAFF WAS NOT VERY COOPERATIVE TO THE SITUTATION AND I WAS VERY UPSET!!! NOT VERY PROFESSIONAL AT ALL!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lonesome Traveler
Family
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Aug 16, 2009

Nicely refurbished

Great location for all Williamsburg activities - Busch Gardens, Williamsburg, Jamestown. Plenty of activities on site although indoor pool was still in process of being refurbished. When staying at Powhattan one should request refurbished room as those not yet done are in poor shape. Declined sales pitch but still got excellent coupons for a local steakhouse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If activities in Williamsburg are on the agenda, go first to the Williamsburg Visitor Center for info and tickets.

Back to menu Return to top