Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
369 reviews
Best place in Williamsburg!

I always stay at Powhatan resort when we go to Williamsburg (at least 3 times/year)! The rooms are... See full review

  • Popop Bob
  • Apr 1, 2014
country setting and peaceful accomodations

Condo was spacious and comfortable, with every convenience. Made several meals to enjoy with... See full review

  • psych Bob
  • Jun 30, 2013
Family-friendly hotel with outdoor activities on rolling woodland acres
The Historic Powhatan Plantation dates back to 1735 when a leading architect occupied the Manor House of this former plantation. Today, the hotel recognizes that colonial spirit with classic American accommodations and a blissful setting on 250-plus wooded acres. Active travelers make full use of the multiple recreational amenities on site, including pools, basketball and tennis courts.

Highlights
  • Restored 1735 Manor House on site
  • Indoor and four outdoor pools with seasonal Cabana Bar and hot tub
  • Tennis courts, 18-hole mini golf course and bike rental available on site
  • Spacious accommodations with multiple bedrooms, balcony and loft
  • On-site activity center featuring a unique new event calendar weekly
  • Newly renovated fitness center with separate outdoor walk and jog track
  • General store
  • Full kitchens and washers and dryers in most rooms
  • Casual dining at the Powhatan Grill
  • Pavilion rentals available with a maximum occupancy of 120
  • In-house Coffee House coming soon

Rooms
A variety of layouts accommodate even the largest of groups, with some options boasting as many as four bedrooms. Some rooms showcase traditional American style and come furnished with fireplace and full kitchen that allows guests to save on dining expenses. Washers and dryers complete the residential feel.

Recreation

The Historic Powhatan Plantation is set on 256 rolling wooded acres. The resort brims with colonial charm, starting with the Powhatan Plantation's Manor House that was once the home of the area's leading architect Richard Taliaferro. Guests can spend considerable time outside at the tennis, racquetball and basketball courts and the 18-hole mini golf course. Visitors can also enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.9 mi/41.7 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.6 mi/62.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (3.9  mi/6.4 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Water Country USA  (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (51.5 mi/82.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (38.1 mi/61.4 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a major credit card for deposits. No cash or debit cards are allowed. The hotel will authorize a $100 deposit that will be returned when the room has been inspected and no damage has been done or items are missing.
  • The property does not have daily maid service.
  • Pets are not allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (369)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
212 out of 369
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Jenn B.
R.F., Ga
Apr 2, 2014

Room for a family gathering

Powhatan offered great space for a family from two states to come together to visit their Mom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Outlet

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Popop Bob
Waldorf, MD
Apr 1, 2014

Best place in Williamsburg!

I always stay at Powhatan resort when we go to Williamsburg (at least 3 times/year)! The rooms are big, we have all the amenities and activities right on site and we are right in the middle of the Patriot's triangle (Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown) as well as Busch Gardens and Water Country just minutes away! The huge apartment-like accommodations beat staying at any hotel. The staff is friendly and very happy to help you with anything. Have fun and relax!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss out at the Peking Restaurant, just minutes away. The BEST Chinese/Japanese/Mongolian buffet ever! VERY reasonable priced and they DO have EVERYTHING!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Nicole loves cake
Long Island, New York
Dec 3, 2013

Annoying sales pitch - but a great value

Arrived at 12am after a long drive with two young kids and they still tried to sign us up for their ownership seminar - didn't appreciate that. First room we were given had water leak and was freezing because the back slider was open - also smelled of mildew (probably why back door was open). Went back to front desk and they had a new unit for us in 20minutes - 2nd unit was very nice had a great stay. Indoor pool was nice, grounds were well maintained. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

1
thewayned
alexandria, va
Oct 9, 2013

Spider bites

I thought the place was nice and the staff was friendly. Unfortunately, on the last night of our stay, my wife suffered numerous spider bites and ultimately had to see a doctor. Two of my kids recevied bites too but they did not need medical attention. I emailed the resort proptly and recevied no response. I called them manager the next day and received no response. I called left the manager a 2nd message and recevied no response. Finally, after about a week, resort security called me to test the validity of my story. When a manager finally called me, they made no effort to rectify other than to offer to help me book my next stay. While the resort was nice, I will not return. Not simply because of the infestation, but because of the lack of an appropriate and response that let me know that my business matters and, importantly, which could have protected subsequent guests in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
Brianna's mom
Newark, DE
Oct 7, 2013

Great value for the price

The kids and I had a great 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment with a nicely equipped kitchen. Room was clean and the facilities were nice. Nice playground, tennis courts, and indoor pool. Didn't have time to check out the rest of the facilities but they looked nice, especially the outdoor pool area. Resort area is gated so felt very secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
Mary503
Washington DC
Sep 25, 2013

Great spot for exploring the Historic Triangle

My family rented a two bedroom place for a long weekend to explore Jamestown and Yorktown. Powhatan is so close to Jamestown and just a short drive to Yorktown. Our place was perfect - with a kitchen and dishes for snacks and quick meals. The balcony was also great. We were too busy to check out much of the grounds, but they looked great and well kept up. We also enjoyed the wildlife!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jamestown Pie Company was a great find for dessert and unique take out pizza.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
DC tourist for a day
nj
Aug 7, 2013

Great for families

Roomy condo and nice and clean.. well, minus the handprints on the walls. Check in was tedious and had to wait a long time and they make you think that their info session is mandatory ( it's not.) The sales pitch is alive and well here and it took 3 hours, not the 90 -120 minutes promised. Nice gift though. this resort lacks the professional feeling that they'd like you to buy into. No daily housekeeping or linens :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Colonial Williamsburg if you don't mind the drive

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

1
aprilnboe
delmar, md
Aug 6, 2013

if you went because the rooms have a hottub.... forget it, they are gone and didn't bother to tell p

we always stayed at the powhatan due to the space and the big hottub.... well without notifiying anybody they took them all out... well they said they did, what they really did is lock them all up. our deck had the top laying on it, and the chairs were covered in nasty green and couldn't be used.... we were infested with ants.... we booked the DELUX as usual, because the deluxe means it has the hottub, so to my surprise when we finally got to our room. our SECOND room, having been given a room that was already occupied and we walked into a room with people in it!! we found the situaltion with the hottub. talked to the manager about it, and was offered money off at the bar and grill.... that was it, i tried to get a refund so we could switch to a better hotel, and wouldn't budge on the no refund policy.... for a place that pushes you to take their time share tour, they are a JOKE and seriously lacking in customer service... never will i stay here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
Steph J.
Baltimore, MD
Jul 15, 2013

Family friendly stay

We stayed at Powhatan Resort for 7 days. We booked online and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The property is beautiful! We stayed in the bottom floor unit. Everything was great in the unit, but we could've used more seating in the living room. Beds were comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals. Everything was very nice, except for the pushy time share sales people. We reluctantly agreed to go to a presentation, only after trying to cancel the initial meeting they set up when we first arrived at the resort. We were guaranteed no pressure sales. It was boarderline high pressure, but we were able to leave after 90 minutes. Otherwise, the vacation was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Busch Gardens/Water Country 7 day park hopper passes are a must, especially for a familly with children!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
Josie the Traveler
Long Island, Ny
Jul 1, 2013

Family visiting Family!

Arrived at the Powhatan to find out that they did not reserve a first floor suite that I paid extra for. I had to provide proof that I requested a first floor and then they "bumped" someone else to give me what I paid for.(This was their words). That was not as bad as my adult children, who were in another suite. They woke up at 1:30am to find 2 people in their suite!!!! Seems the front desk thought the room was empty! Quite a surprise!!!! The front desk people were not very sorry for the mix up, but I guess since no one was hurt they were not to concerned. But I have to say the rooms were very clean and the pool area was great!! What a great idea to have a separate pool for the 18 and over crowd. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top