Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 18, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
391 reviews
Always a pleasure!

This is the seventh time we've stayed here. I love it and it doesn't get any better for the price!... See full review

  • Darren13
  • Oct 23, 2014
Great resort

We love staying here when we visit Williamsburg. The resort is clean and very comfortable. See full review

  • Landon's mom
  • Aug 21, 2014
Family-friendly hotel with outdoor activities on rolling woodland acres
The Historic Powhatan Plantation dates back to 1735 when a leading architect occupied the Manor House of this former plantation. Today, the hotel recognizes that colonial spirit with classic American accommodations and a blissful setting on 250-plus wooded acres. Active travelers make full use of the multiple recreational amenities on site, including pools, basketball and tennis courts.

Highlights
  • Restored 1735 Manor House on site
  • Indoor and four outdoor pools with seasonal Cabana Bar and hot tub
  • Tennis courts, 18-hole mini golf course and bike rental available on site
  • Spacious accommodations with multiple bedrooms, balcony and loft
  • On-site activity center featuring a unique new event calendar weekly
  • Newly renovated fitness center with separate outdoor walk and jog track
  • General store
  • Full kitchens and washers and dryers in most rooms
  • Casual dining at the Powhatan Grill
  • Pavilion rentals available with a maximum occupancy of 120
  • In-house Coffee House coming soon

Rooms
A variety of layouts accommodate even the largest of groups, with some options boasting as many as four bedrooms. Some rooms showcase traditional American style and come furnished with fireplace and full kitchen that allows guests to save on dining expenses. Washers and dryers complete the residential feel.

Recreation

The Historic Powhatan Plantation is set on 256 rolling wooded acres. The resort brims with colonial charm, starting with the Powhatan Plantation's Manor House that was once the home of the area's leading architect Richard Taliaferro. Guests can spend considerable time outside at the tennis, racquetball and basketball courts and the 18-hole mini golf course. Visitors can also enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.9 mi/41.7 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.6 mi/62.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (3.9  mi/6.4 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Water Country USA  (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (51.5 mi/82.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (38.1 mi/61.4 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a major credit card for deposits. No cash or debit cards are allowed. The hotel will authorize a $100 deposit that will be returned when the room has been inspected and no damage has been done or items are missing.
  • The property does not have daily maid service.
  • Pets are not allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (391)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
391 out of 391
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 27, 2010

Excellent stay

The hotel/resort was very easy to find. It was in a great location. Accessible to everything within a few miles. The staff was very nice and knowledgable. A little disappointed that I didn't have a jacuzzi in my room, but made the best out of my stay. The rooms were spacious, clean,and it had all the comforts of home without the noise. I would definately stay there again and refer my friends there as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The outlets are awesome. You will find everything and then some. The dining was also excellent. Customer Service at its greatest everywhere we dined.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pineville Wv
May 6, 2011

Beautiful

The landscaping is so beautiful and well maintained. The front desk attendant was helpful and polite the room was emaculate and so cozy great stay for little money we liked it so much we booked an extra nights stay. Would recommend for long stays or short relaxing getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Busch gardens, colonial Williamsburg and jamestown. The williamsburg Premier Mall was fantastic

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mt. Airy
Nov 4, 2008

Great everything

The powhatan resort was amazing. Very friendly people, also family friendly. Very clean room, inexpensive but delicious food at the resorts kitchen. Indoor pool was great, views were great, I plan on going again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It's near the coldstone ice cream.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 12, 2008

Great Place

We really enjoyed our stay. Our only concerns were the check in. After getting your room assignment, one must go across the large reception hall to get a parking pass. Why not do this all at once. We were not really happy with having to put down a $100.00 security deposit. Other than that, the resort is lush, beautiful and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat in the business district of Williamsburg, rather than in the historic area for more selection and better prices.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wandra
Business
Richmond, VA
Feb 27, 2008

Awesome

This is a wonderful place to get away to. I have stayed 2 times & I think it is just a wonderful place. I love the hot tub & fireplace. It's close to shopping & lots of restaurants. I'm looking forward to my next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

close to Colonial Williamsburg & shopping strip malls.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Windsor
Aug 23, 2008

Too family friendly?

The suite we had was perfect for us - two separate bedrooms and a pull-out couch in the living room - which served me and my two young adult children well. The jacuzzi was nice, there was entry to it from the master bedroom, the living room, and the back porch. The kitchen was fully equipped - full fridge, dishes, dishwasher, and apt. sized washer/dryer. It was larger than my first apartment! But, our upstairs neighbors were ridiculously noisy, spoke little English, and did little to be quiet after we politely asked them to. What we didn't realize until the end was that they were two whole families sharing a suite the same size as ours! Except for them, the vacation would have been perfect! We were minutes away from everything - Busch Gardens, Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Outlet shopping, great restaurants, etc. If we do it again, though, I think I'll ask for an upstairs unit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a small restaurant on the grounds.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Apr 17, 2010

trip

The accommodations were wonderful. I will book this place again:o)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Towne Center is a wonderful shopping option that includes a great movie theater.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 14, 2008

Ideal for all, especially lg families

We are a family of 7 and found the 2 bdrm deluxe suite to be very clean, spacious and comfortable. In room washer and dryer is very convenient with a large family and infant in tow. If we needed anything the staff was very prompt in fulfilling out requests. Although we did not have time to visit all the activities available, we were able to take a quick cruise around the property and found everything very inviting and well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We liked our suite so much we requested an extended stay. After staff members verified that the suite was available, the staff resort worked with us in getting a price that worked for all of us. Check out was quick and easy. We would definately stay here again and have recommended this resort to all of our friends. When we checked in, we were asked if we would like a tour of the property which was for their timeshare program. We nicely declined and was never bothered again about it. All in all this hotel/resort is ideal for all, especially large famlies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby park outside entrance is absolutely wonderful. Stores and dining are nearby and easy to find. Just minutes from all major attractions.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wdbexpress
Business
va beach, va
Jan 11, 2011

sunny place

quiet nice place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

sunny

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jun 7, 2010

Memorial Day

We've always stayed at the Powhatan and each time is as good as the last (knock on wood). Our rooms are very clean, the place is guarded and safe, really don't have anything to complain about except there seems to be a lot of geese droppings on the premises, rather difficult to enjoy a walk at night. We all had to wash our shoes outside before entering our rooms. But besides that, all was well. We'll go back in July.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Powhatan Plantation is far enough from the loud, busy sections of Richmond Road and Colonial area, but only about a 5-min drive to it all.

Back to menu Return to top