Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
369 reviews
Best place in Williamsburg!

I always stay at Powhatan resort when we go to Williamsburg (at least 3 times/year)! The rooms are... See full review

  • Popop Bob
  • Apr 1, 2014
country setting and peaceful accomodations

Condo was spacious and comfortable, with every convenience. Made several meals to enjoy with... See full review

  • psych Bob
  • Jun 30, 2013
Family-friendly hotel with outdoor activities on rolling woodland acres
The Historic Powhatan Plantation dates back to 1735 when a leading architect occupied the Manor House of this former plantation. Today, the hotel recognizes that colonial spirit with classic American accommodations and a blissful setting on 250-plus wooded acres. Active travelers make full use of the multiple recreational amenities on site, including pools, basketball and tennis courts.

Highlights
  • Restored 1735 Manor House on site
  • Indoor and four outdoor pools with seasonal Cabana Bar and hot tub
  • Tennis courts, 18-hole mini golf course and bike rental available on site
  • Spacious accommodations with multiple bedrooms, balcony and loft
  • On-site activity center featuring a unique new event calendar weekly
  • Newly renovated fitness center with separate outdoor walk and jog track
  • General store
  • Full kitchens and washers and dryers in most rooms
  • Casual dining at the Powhatan Grill
  • Pavilion rentals available with a maximum occupancy of 120
  • In-house Coffee House coming soon

Rooms
A variety of layouts accommodate even the largest of groups, with some options boasting as many as four bedrooms. Some rooms showcase traditional American style and come furnished with fireplace and full kitchen that allows guests to save on dining expenses. Washers and dryers complete the residential feel.

Recreation

The Historic Powhatan Plantation is set on 256 rolling wooded acres. The resort brims with colonial charm, starting with the Powhatan Plantation's Manor House that was once the home of the area's leading architect Richard Taliaferro. Guests can spend considerable time outside at the tennis, racquetball and basketball courts and the 18-hole mini golf course. Visitors can also enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.9 mi/41.7 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.6 mi/62.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (3.9  mi/6.4 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Water Country USA  (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (51.5 mi/82.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (38.1 mi/61.4 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a major credit card for deposits. No cash or debit cards are allowed. The hotel will authorize a $100 deposit that will be returned when the room has been inspected and no damage has been done or items are missing.
  • The property does not have daily maid service.
  • Pets are not allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (369)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
369 out of 369
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Colonial Heights, VA
Nov 3, 2010

Absolutely beautiful

The grounds are beautiful, expecially in the early morning hours when there was a bit of fog and crisp clean air (we went the end of Oct). We had several choices of places to eat. We also visited Bush Gardens which was very close by. Our rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. We will make plans to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Mar 29, 2008

TIMESHARE WITHOUT THE PRESSURE

AS TIMESHARE PROPERTIES GO, THIS ONE WAS REFRESHING IN THE FACT THAT THEY DID NOT OBLIGATE YOU TO ATTEND THE PRESENTATION BY INCREASING THE RATE AS SOME DO. THEY OFFERED INCENTIVES TO ATTEND BUT NO 'PENALTY' IF YOU OPTED NOT TO. THE ROOMS WERE COMFORTABLE AND FUNCTIONAL FOR OUR FAMILY. THE LOCATION WAS NO MORE THAN 5 TO 15 MINUTES FROM ANY MAJOR ATTRACTION OR HISTORIC SITE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Frugal Value Shopper
Clayton, NC (Peoria, IL transplant)
Jun 29, 2009

Classy yet Comfortable

We planned a weekend mini-family reunion visiting Water Country USA and Busch Gardens with my grown niece and her family. We checked in after the parks closed. Not far from the parks and easy to get to. The front desk was quick and friendly. The 2BR suite (slept 6) was clean, luxury, and spacious just as any upscale condo. Asked for a set of sheets for the sofa sleeper and, quality sheets were brought to our door within 10 minutes. Full kitchen with all of the necessities equipment. Had a bathroom off of each bedroom, one with a shower and the other with a tub. Very economical way for two couples with children to stay together while still having privacy. Reserved parking spot. Exceeded expectations completely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Pre-purchase meal deals on-line for Water Country. Each comes with 4 vouchers which includes 2 meals (entree, side or desert, and fountain beverage)and 2 additional fountain beverages. At the Catalina Grill, each meal was enough to feed us both so we split a meal each time and had our own beverage for each meal. Busch Gardens had these meal deals too.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Feb 23, 2008

Just Beautiful

The Powhatan Plantation resort was just beautiful. I had a two bedroom suite and it was like a home away from a home. We had a separate living room as well as a dining room. The bedrooms were also separated from each other. The weather was bad during my stay, so we at least lucked out on having such remarkable accommadations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Historic Williamsburg, and Bush Gardens.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Family outings
Baltimore, Maryland
Sep 18, 2012

Perfect getaway

Excellent place, location and budget. Staff well prepared

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Hendrix family
New Bern, NC
Feb 28, 2010

Great for everyone!!

Clean, quiet, beautiful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Virginia Beach, VA
Jun 26, 2008

Great Place to Stay

Whether you are searching for a place to stay for a family vacation or for a romantic getaway that is beautiful and affordable, this place has it all. It is located close to fine dining and lots to do. The whole resort is just stunning, we especially enjoyed the geese and the ducks, they were so beautiful. The resort is quiet but has many things to do for all ages. Plenty to do for kids as well. There are so many places to take beautiful pictures! The staff was very friendly and catered to our needs quickly. We also took advantage of the internet in the business center. We will be returning shortly. We loved our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Rkims
VA
Oct 11, 2011

Heading back next year!

We really enjoyed our stay! Loved the condo style accommodations, pools were lovely, grounds very nice, room was comfy. Not the Four Seasons, but an amazing value & perfect for our 4 day fall getaway with friends. We ate in 2 nights, went to Colonial Wiiliamsburg for dinner once, & purchased a Busch Gardens fall fun pass to visit theme park twice with our small children. As I said, planning to do it again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Busch Gardens Fall Fun Pass, for same price as a one day ticket, go every day they are open until October 31!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Vball traveler 2
North Carolina
May 3, 2012

WOW

Wow! A 2 bedroom condo for $109. Beautiful resort with very clean and nice condos. We stayed in a new unit and everything was so nice. 2 huge bathrooms, bedrooms, a kitchen, and main room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
New Port
Oct 19, 2008

Beautiful place to stay

The Historic Powhatan Plantation, Williamsburg, Virginia was beautiful. The rooms were lovely. Each having their own bath and flat screen TV. Full kitchen, living room was large with a fire place..great for our chilly evening after Busch Gardens. Lovely view from our patio also. We only had one complaint..Maid came at 8:15 on Sunday morning ringing door bell till we answered. Not a nice way to wake on a vacation. All and all, I would recommend this place highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice and quite , not a big cold hotel. Grocery store and Burger King very close.

Back to menu Return to top