Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
396 reviews
Always a pleasure!

This is the seventh time we've stayed here. I love it and it doesn't get any better for the price!... See full review

  • Darren13
  • Oct 23, 2014
Great resort

We love staying here when we visit Williamsburg. The resort is clean and very comfortable. See full review

  • Landon's mom
  • Aug 21, 2014
Family-friendly hotel with outdoor activities on rolling woodland acres
The Historic Powhatan Plantation dates back to 1735 when a leading architect occupied the Manor House of this former plantation. Today, the hotel recognizes that colonial spirit with classic American accommodations and a blissful setting on 250-plus wooded acres. Active travelers make full use of the multiple recreational amenities on site, including pools, basketball and tennis courts.

Highlights
  • Restored 1735 Manor House on site
  • Indoor and four outdoor pools with seasonal Cabana Bar and hot tub
  • Tennis courts, 18-hole mini golf course and bike rental available on site
  • Spacious accommodations with multiple bedrooms, balcony and loft
  • On-site activity center featuring a unique new event calendar weekly
  • Newly renovated fitness center with separate outdoor walk and jog track
  • General store
  • Full kitchens and washers and dryers in most rooms
  • Casual dining at the Powhatan Grill
  • Pavilion rentals available with a maximum occupancy of 120
  • In-house Coffee House coming soon

Rooms
A variety of layouts accommodate even the largest of groups, with some options boasting as many as four bedrooms. Some rooms showcase traditional American style and come furnished with fireplace and full kitchen that allows guests to save on dining expenses. Washers and dryers complete the residential feel.

Recreation

The Historic Powhatan Plantation is set on 256 rolling wooded acres. The resort brims with colonial charm, starting with the Powhatan Plantation's Manor House that was once the home of the area's leading architect Richard Taliaferro. Guests can spend considerable time outside at the tennis, racquetball and basketball courts and the 18-hole mini golf course. Visitors can also enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.9 mi/41.7 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.6 mi/62.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (3.9  mi/6.4 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Water Country USA  (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (51.5 mi/82.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (38.1 mi/61.4 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a major credit card for deposits. No cash or debit cards are allowed. The hotel will authorize a $100 deposit that will be returned when the room has been inspected and no damage has been done or items are missing.
  • The property does not have daily maid service.
  • Pets are not allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (396)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
396 out of 396
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bristow, VA
Apr 24, 2009

Enjoyed the Historic Williamsburg Area

We visited Historic Williamsburg and Jamestowne again for several years running. Always enjoyable and a learning experience each time. Especially enjoy the professional presenters in Williamsburg representing our historic patriotic fathers. Powhatten resort is one of the best in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The discount malls have great bargains. Check out the coupon books that are available to get special discounts.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DMF in Virginia
Business
Williamsburg, VA
Apr 24, 2009

VERY Pleased!

I booked a "one queen bed in a loft" condo for my parents to stay in on their anniversary weekend. When we arrived to check in, there were a colonial piper and drummer in period costume in front of a nearby brick building playing. It really set the mood for the area! My parents thought the place was just gorgeous and thought we had arrived at the wrong place. After check-in we drove a short distance to their unit and were surprised when we opened the door. We thought they were getting a two-story unit with just a loft for a bedroom. Instead, the door opened to a small foyer and flight of stairs. When we reached the top of the stairs we were in a huge two-bedroom condo with every amenity! They must have upgraded the reservation and just didn't mention it to us. There was one huge bedroom with king bed and adjacent bath that was almost as big as some bedrooms are. The second bedroom had a colonial style queen bed and equally large bathroom attached. The full living room had a small wet bar, flat screen TV, and gas fireplace. Also sliding doors to a balcony with table and four chairs. There was a dining area with large table and chairs (I believe seated six), a breakfast bar with stools facing into the kitchen. The galley-style kitchen was fully equipped with full-sized appliances, dishes, everything you would need. In the hall just at the top of the stairs near the kitchen was a closet with a washer and dryer. You could literally just pack some clothes and a toothbrush and move into this unit to live! My parents have not stopped talking about how fabulous their weekend was and how wonderful the condo was. I booked this on Orbitz.com and got an outstanding rate for the quality of the accommodations - about what I would have paid for a single hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

For families or anyone else visiting the Colonial Williamsburg area, this resort is a short drive for CW and about ten minutes from Busch Gardens Williamsburg and Water Country, as well as many other area attractions. Plenty of nearby shopping and eating, either within a long walk or short drive.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Virginia
Jul 13, 2009

Great Family Trip

This place is pretty good. You can walk around the complex at night and feel safe. The location is great. The rooms are clean and nice. I would definately recommend this place. I am planning on returning to this location in the near future. Won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hendrix family
Business
New Bern, NC
Feb 28, 2010

Great for everyone!!

Clean, quiet, beautiful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 29, 2008

TIMESHARE WITHOUT THE PRESSURE

AS TIMESHARE PROPERTIES GO, THIS ONE WAS REFRESHING IN THE FACT THAT THEY DID NOT OBLIGATE YOU TO ATTEND THE PRESENTATION BY INCREASING THE RATE AS SOME DO. THEY OFFERED INCENTIVES TO ATTEND BUT NO 'PENALTY' IF YOU OPTED NOT TO. THE ROOMS WERE COMFORTABLE AND FUNCTIONAL FOR OUR FAMILY. THE LOCATION WAS NO MORE THAN 5 TO 15 MINUTES FROM ANY MAJOR ATTRACTION OR HISTORIC SITE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western Massachusetts
Nov 19, 2009

Impressed with suite amenities

A short drive from Historic Williamsburg and William & Mary College, this large but quiet spread out complex was the perfect location for a trouble free base of operations. We stayed in a two bedroom, two bath suite that included a dining room, living room and full kitchen. Everything was supplied down to a washer/dryer and laundry soap. The kitchen was fully supplied with pots, pans, dishes silverware and etc. All this at a[...] price that was lower than a tiny single room with a cramped bathroom as found in a major hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a right out of the resort grounds, turn left onto route 5. Look to your right. Nestled in the strip mall is a small eatery called Cities Grill. A limited menu with good food at a good price.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Former Resident, Turned Tourist
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 26, 2009

Great Experience

The location, service, and quality of the experience were all first rate. The rooms were a great size - at a great price. The only drawback was that the bathrooms were dated, but were well maintained, despite the 80s-style decor. Overall, a fantastic Williamsburg experience - I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask about the Colonial Parkway. An entrance is just a few miles away and its a long, beautiful drive between Jamestown, Yorktown, and Williamsburg, complete with incredible sights of the York and James Rivers. It's a hidden treasure in the Williamsburg area that not too many tourists get to see.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tara H
Business
Wantage, NJ
Aug 20, 2011

Wonderful room

The room was large and had plenty of room for 4 people. We had a full kitchen and dining and living room. You couldn't get a regular hotel room for the price we got this beautiful resort room. Would definately recommend this resort to family and friends and if we ever go back to Williamsburg, we would prefer to stay here. It was nicer than the timeshare resort we spent the rest of the week in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 23, 2008

Just Beautiful

The Powhatan Plantation resort was just beautiful. I had a two bedroom suite and it was like a home away from a home. We had a separate living room as well as a dining room. The bedrooms were also separated from each other. The weather was bad during my stay, so we at least lucked out on having such remarkable accommadations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Historic Williamsburg, and Bush Gardens.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blueeyebaby
Business
Richmond, VA
May 31, 2009

Our Date Weekend

My fiance and I wanted to get away for a weekend and we could not have gotten luckier when I found a great deal on this hotel. We would no have beenable t afford it otherwise as we are recent graduates but the scenery was gorgeous and we loved fishing in their ponds. We were quite upset to hear the hiking trails had been shut off because trees had fallen during some storms this year. Our room was very clean and was a lot bigger than we actually needed.We didn't find the bed very comfortable but we are pretty picky when it comes to the comfort of a mattress. Even with a not so great night sleep we loved every minute of our trip. Also, this plantation was MINUTES away from what seems like everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top