Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
View map of 3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
404 out of 404
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 27, 2010

Excellent stay

The hotel/resort was very easy to find. It was in a great location. Accessible to everything within a few miles. The staff was very nice and knowledgable. A little disappointed that I didn't have a jacuzzi in my room, but made the best out of my stay. The rooms were spacious, clean,and it had all the comforts of home without the noise. I would definately stay there again and refer my friends there as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The outlets are awesome. You will find everything and then some. The dining was also excellent. Customer Service at its greatest everywhere we dined.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pineville Wv
May 6, 2011

Beautiful

The landscaping is so beautiful and well maintained. The front desk attendant was helpful and polite the room was emaculate and so cozy great stay for little money we liked it so much we booked an extra nights stay. Would recommend for long stays or short relaxing getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Busch gardens, colonial Williamsburg and jamestown. The williamsburg Premier Mall was fantastic

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mt. Airy
Nov 4, 2008

Great everything

The powhatan resort was amazing. Very friendly people, also family friendly. Very clean room, inexpensive but delicious food at the resorts kitchen. Indoor pool was great, views were great, I plan on going again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It's near the coldstone ice cream.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 12, 2008

Great Place

We really enjoyed our stay. Our only concerns were the check in. After getting your room assignment, one must go across the large reception hall to get a parking pass. Why not do this all at once. We were not really happy with having to put down a $100.00 security deposit. Other than that, the resort is lush, beautiful and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat in the business district of Williamsburg, rather than in the historic area for more selection and better prices.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wandra
Business
Richmond, VA
Feb 27, 2008

Awesome

This is a wonderful place to get away to. I have stayed 2 times & I think it is just a wonderful place. I love the hot tub & fireplace. It's close to shopping & lots of restaurants. I'm looking forward to my next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

close to Colonial Williamsburg & shopping strip malls.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Windsor
Aug 23, 2008

Too family friendly?

The suite we had was perfect for us - two separate bedrooms and a pull-out couch in the living room - which served me and my two young adult children well. The jacuzzi was nice, there was entry to it from the master bedroom, the living room, and the back porch. The kitchen was fully equipped - full fridge, dishes, dishwasher, and apt. sized washer/dryer. It was larger than my first apartment! But, our upstairs neighbors were ridiculously noisy, spoke little English, and did little to be quiet after we politely asked them to. What we didn't realize until the end was that they were two whole families sharing a suite the same size as ours! Except for them, the vacation would have been perfect! We were minutes away from everything - Busch Gardens, Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Outlet shopping, great restaurants, etc. If we do it again, though, I think I'll ask for an upstairs unit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a small restaurant on the grounds.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Apr 17, 2010

trip

The accommodations were wonderful. I will book this place again:o)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Towne Center is a wonderful shopping option that includes a great movie theater.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 14, 2008

Ideal for all, especially lg families

We are a family of 7 and found the 2 bdrm deluxe suite to be very clean, spacious and comfortable. In room washer and dryer is very convenient with a large family and infant in tow. If we needed anything the staff was very prompt in fulfilling out requests. Although we did not have time to visit all the activities available, we were able to take a quick cruise around the property and found everything very inviting and well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We liked our suite so much we requested an extended stay. After staff members verified that the suite was available, the staff resort worked with us in getting a price that worked for all of us. Check out was quick and easy. We would definately stay here again and have recommended this resort to all of our friends. When we checked in, we were asked if we would like a tour of the property which was for their timeshare program. We nicely declined and was never bothered again about it. All in all this hotel/resort is ideal for all, especially large famlies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby park outside entrance is absolutely wonderful. Stores and dining are nearby and easy to find. Just minutes from all major attractions.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wdbexpress
Business
va beach, va
Jan 11, 2011

sunny place

quiet nice place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

sunny

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jun 7, 2010

Memorial Day

We've always stayed at the Powhatan and each time is as good as the last (knock on wood). Our rooms are very clean, the place is guarded and safe, really don't have anything to complain about except there seems to be a lot of geese droppings on the premises, rather difficult to enjoy a walk at night. We all had to wash our shoes outside before entering our rooms. But besides that, all was well. We'll go back in July.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Powhatan Plantation is far enough from the loud, busy sections of Richmond Road and Colonial area, but only about a 5-min drive to it all.

Back to menu Return to top