Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
619 reviews
Great vacation!!!

Great place for a family vacation, we all had a great time and we're planing to go back next year. See full review

  • Kerls
  • Jul 26, 2014
great place to stay

great place and price for this area. the room was really nice and the resort was great. huge pool... See full review

  • Jordan's dad
  • Jul 15, 2014
Family-friendly hotel with outdoor activities on rolling woodland acres
The Historic Powhatan Plantation dates back to 1735 when a leading architect occupied the Manor House of this former plantation. Today, the hotel recognizes that colonial spirit with classic American accommodations and a blissful setting on 250-plus wooded acres. Active travelers make full use of the multiple recreational amenities on site, including pools, basketball and tennis courts.

Highlights
  • Restored 1735 Manor House on site
  • Indoor and four outdoor pools with seasonal Cabana Bar and hot tub
  • Tennis courts, 18-hole mini golf course and bike rental available on site
  • Spacious accommodations with multiple bedrooms, balcony and loft
  • On-site activity center featuring a unique new event calendar weekly
  • Newly renovated fitness center with separate outdoor walk and jog track
  • General store
  • Full kitchens and washers and dryers in most rooms
  • Casual dining at the Powhatan Grill
  • Pavilion rentals available with a maximum occupancy of 120
  • In-house Coffee House coming soon

Rooms
A variety of layouts accommodate even the largest of groups, with some options boasting as many as four bedrooms. Some rooms showcase traditional American style and come furnished with fireplace and full kitchen that allows guests to save on dining expenses. Washers and dryers complete the residential feel.

Recreation

The Historic Powhatan Plantation is set on 256 rolling wooded acres. The resort brims with colonial charm, starting with the Powhatan Plantation's Manor House that was once the home of the area's leading architect Richard Taliaferro. Guests can spend considerable time outside at the tennis, racquetball and basketball courts and the 18-hole mini golf course. Visitors can also enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.9 mi/41.7 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.6 mi/62.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (3.9  mi/6.4 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Water Country USA  (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (51.5 mi/82.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (38.1 mi/61.4 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a major credit card for deposits. No cash or debit cards are allowed. The hotel will authorize a $100 deposit that will be returned when the room has been inspected and no damage has been done or items are missing.
  • The property does not have daily maid service.
  • Pets are not allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (619)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
619 out of 619
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Crazy grandma Carol
Brooksville, Florida
Aug 3, 2009

Wonderful time

I was skeptical after reading other reviews about high pressure sales, run down, ants, etc. but found it to be very nice. The grounds were beautiful, the units very nice, we enjoyed all the ducks, and all in all it was great - very close to historic Williamsburg, Jamestown, the Winery, shopping, etc. We were asked at sign in if we wanted to tour the facilities and we said we weren't interested in purchasing a timeshare and that was it - no one ever asked again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Beautiful new town center shopping area in New Town, restaurants, Barnes & Noble, a large movie theatre.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mt. Airy
Nov 4, 2008

Great everything

The powhatan resort was amazing. Very friendly people, also family friendly. Very clean room, inexpensive but delicious food at the resorts kitchen. Indoor pool was great, views were great, I plan on going again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It's near the coldstone ice cream.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Apr 17, 2010

trip

The accommodations were wonderful. I will book this place again:o)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Towne Center is a wonderful shopping option that includes a great movie theater.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jabster
Williamsburg, VA
Jul 28, 2012

great place

I enjoyed the stay here. The rooms are very comfortable and plenty of activities to do within the resort. My kids really enjoyed it and I. Would stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I would buy the quick queue pass for the parks to avoid the long lines at the rides.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dougy knows best
p.f.maryland
Sep 25, 2010

exsalent place to stay

unexspected exsalance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kerls
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 26, 2014

Great vacation!!!

Great place for a family vacation, we all had a great time and we're planing to go back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Williamsburg outlet mall...

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
ky
Jun 7, 2010

great price, nice accomodations

Very nice. Disappointed, did not realize it was a condo and there was a sales pitch involved. Condo was super nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
virginia beach, va
May 12, 2009

Beautiful and heavenly!

The Historic Powhatan was beautiful and heavenly. There is plenty to do right at the resort that you would never need to leave. The place was clean and the staff was very friendly. Would highly recommend for any couple or family. The location was perfect! Close to Busch Gardens, Colonial Williamsburg, the outlets, shopping and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The hot tub takes 4 to 5 hours to warm up completely. Turn it on when you first arrive before leaving to do anything else. Heavenly!!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tara H
Wantage, NJ
Aug 20, 2011

Wonderful room

The room was large and had plenty of room for 4 people. We had a full kitchen and dining and living room. You couldn't get a regular hotel room for the price we got this beautiful resort room. Would definately recommend this resort to family and friends and if we ever go back to Williamsburg, we would prefer to stay here. It was nicer than the timeshare resort we spent the rest of the week in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam1956
Northeast TN
Apr 16, 2012

Wow!

We had an excellent experience at this resort. We booked an upper level deluxe condo and were so pleasantly surprised, especially after reading other reviews. Our condo looked and smelled clean and fresh, the carpet looked new as did the paint. It was very large and was just perfect for our stay. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone, it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Colonial Williamsburg is about a 10 minute drive away. Great location!

Back to menu Return to top