Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
View map of 3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bristow, VA
Apr 24, 2009

Enjoyed the Historic Williamsburg Area

We visited Historic Williamsburg and Jamestowne again for several years running. Always enjoyable and a learning experience each time. Especially enjoy the professional presenters in Williamsburg representing our historic patriotic fathers. Powhatten resort is one of the best in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The discount malls have great bargains. Check out the coupon books that are available to get special discounts.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DMF in Virginia
Business
Williamsburg, VA
Apr 24, 2009

VERY Pleased!

I booked a "one queen bed in a loft" condo for my parents to stay in on their anniversary weekend. When we arrived to check in, there were a colonial piper and drummer in period costume in front of a nearby brick building playing. It really set the mood for the area! My parents thought the place was just gorgeous and thought we had arrived at the wrong place. After check-in we drove a short distance to their unit and were surprised when we opened the door. We thought they were getting a two-story unit with just a loft for a bedroom. Instead, the door opened to a small foyer and flight of stairs. When we reached the top of the stairs we were in a huge two-bedroom condo with every amenity! They must have upgraded the reservation and just didn't mention it to us. There was one huge bedroom with king bed and adjacent bath that was almost as big as some bedrooms are. The second bedroom had a colonial style queen bed and equally large bathroom attached. The full living room had a small wet bar, flat screen TV, and gas fireplace. Also sliding doors to a balcony with table and four chairs. There was a dining area with large table and chairs (I believe seated six), a breakfast bar with stools facing into the kitchen. The galley-style kitchen was fully equipped with full-sized appliances, dishes, everything you would need. In the hall just at the top of the stairs near the kitchen was a closet with a washer and dryer. You could literally just pack some clothes and a toothbrush and move into this unit to live! My parents have not stopped talking about how fabulous their weekend was and how wonderful the condo was. I booked this on Orbitz.com and got an outstanding rate for the quality of the accommodations - about what I would have paid for a single hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

For families or anyone else visiting the Colonial Williamsburg area, this resort is a short drive for CW and about ten minutes from Busch Gardens Williamsburg and Water Country, as well as many other area attractions. Plenty of nearby shopping and eating, either within a long walk or short drive.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Virginia
Jul 13, 2009

Great Family Trip

This place is pretty good. You can walk around the complex at night and feel safe. The location is great. The rooms are clean and nice. I would definately recommend this place. I am planning on returning to this location in the near future. Won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hendrix family
Business
New Bern, NC
Feb 28, 2010

Great for everyone!!

Clean, quiet, beautiful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 29, 2008

TIMESHARE WITHOUT THE PRESSURE

AS TIMESHARE PROPERTIES GO, THIS ONE WAS REFRESHING IN THE FACT THAT THEY DID NOT OBLIGATE YOU TO ATTEND THE PRESENTATION BY INCREASING THE RATE AS SOME DO. THEY OFFERED INCENTIVES TO ATTEND BUT NO 'PENALTY' IF YOU OPTED NOT TO. THE ROOMS WERE COMFORTABLE AND FUNCTIONAL FOR OUR FAMILY. THE LOCATION WAS NO MORE THAN 5 TO 15 MINUTES FROM ANY MAJOR ATTRACTION OR HISTORIC SITE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western Massachusetts
Nov 19, 2009

Impressed with suite amenities

A short drive from Historic Williamsburg and William & Mary College, this large but quiet spread out complex was the perfect location for a trouble free base of operations. We stayed in a two bedroom, two bath suite that included a dining room, living room and full kitchen. Everything was supplied down to a washer/dryer and laundry soap. The kitchen was fully supplied with pots, pans, dishes silverware and etc. All this at a[...] price that was lower than a tiny single room with a cramped bathroom as found in a major hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a right out of the resort grounds, turn left onto route 5. Look to your right. Nestled in the strip mall is a small eatery called Cities Grill. A limited menu with good food at a good price.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Former Resident, Turned Tourist
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 26, 2009

Great Experience

The location, service, and quality of the experience were all first rate. The rooms were a great size - at a great price. The only drawback was that the bathrooms were dated, but were well maintained, despite the 80s-style decor. Overall, a fantastic Williamsburg experience - I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask about the Colonial Parkway. An entrance is just a few miles away and its a long, beautiful drive between Jamestown, Yorktown, and Williamsburg, complete with incredible sights of the York and James Rivers. It's a hidden treasure in the Williamsburg area that not too many tourists get to see.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tara H
Business
Wantage, NJ
Aug 20, 2011

Wonderful room

The room was large and had plenty of room for 4 people. We had a full kitchen and dining and living room. You couldn't get a regular hotel room for the price we got this beautiful resort room. Would definately recommend this resort to family and friends and if we ever go back to Williamsburg, we would prefer to stay here. It was nicer than the timeshare resort we spent the rest of the week in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 23, 2008

Just Beautiful

The Powhatan Plantation resort was just beautiful. I had a two bedroom suite and it was like a home away from a home. We had a separate living room as well as a dining room. The bedrooms were also separated from each other. The weather was bad during my stay, so we at least lucked out on having such remarkable accommadations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Historic Williamsburg, and Bush Gardens.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blueeyebaby
Business
Richmond, VA
May 31, 2009

Our Date Weekend

My fiance and I wanted to get away for a weekend and we could not have gotten luckier when I found a great deal on this hotel. We would no have beenable t afford it otherwise as we are recent graduates but the scenery was gorgeous and we loved fishing in their ponds. We were quite upset to hear the hiking trails had been shut off because trees had fallen during some storms this year. Our room was very clean and was a lot bigger than we actually needed.We didn't find the bed very comfortable but we are pretty picky when it comes to the comfort of a mattress. Even with a not so great night sleep we loved every minute of our trip. Also, this plantation was MINUTES away from what seems like everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top