Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
View map of 3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Currituck, NC
Jun 30, 2011

Very Nice for the Price

The room and the property was clean and well kept a pretty location. Pool area was pretty, a nice place to take your family. Convenient to shopping and restaurants. We were there for 2 nights, the bed was comfortable and would definitely go back for a longer stay. The front desk clerk was helpful and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Covington, KY
Jul 13, 2011

Nice accomodations, decent service

Tried to check-in early and was told our room wasn't ready so we tried back an hour after check-in time and was told our room still wasn't ready. Nearly an hour and a half after check-in time we were in our room. Felt slightly pressured to attend a time share meeting once we finally received our keycards which I didn't like, I eventually just had to walk away. The room was spacious and in good, clean condition. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed for the few meals we ate in the room. The beds were comfortable. The grounds of the resort were well maintained and beautiful. Had trouble contacting housekeeping and/or maintenance to get some minor issues resolved. It seemed that no one was sure who to direct us to to get our needs met, but everyone we talked to was very courteous. Our room was close to their pool and playground which were both very nice. Overall we enjoyed our stay here very much, it felt alot like being home because of the comfort of the room and its ammenities. I would definitely go back again or reccomend it to others looking for a family friendly place to stay close to everything Williamsburg has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Working vacation couple
Business
New Hampshire
Jun 30, 2014

Spacious home away from home

My wife and I stayed here for a week. The campus is beautiful, private, and well-maintained. Goose dung on the sidewalks is a minor annoyance. The suite (full kitchen, large living room, bedroom, bath, and enclosed sun porch) made up for the slightly-elevated price compared to a typical hotel suite. My wife enjoyed the fitness center and large outdoor pool (they also have an indoor pool). Some minor complaints: 1) On check-in, front desk had no record of our reservation despite a confirmation e-mail from the travel site used to book it. However, after a bit of not-so-competent scrambling, the staff was able to find us an available unit. 2) Many of the drawers, the bathroom window, and the sliding door on the enclosed sun porch did not operate very smoothly -- perhaps low-quality mass-purchase during multi-unit construction. Overall, we had an excellent experience and would probably stay there again -- only hesitation is the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanfy
Business
Maryland
Jul 19, 2014

really great deal

This hotel was perfect for the money. A really great value. The room was comfortable and the manor house was really cute. Loved the ghost tour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Time321
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Aug 1, 2014

Excellent Value

Rooms are clean, if sometimes outdated (depends on the unit you are put in). Beds are super comfortable, kids love the pools. Not the closest to attractions, but the space you get and amenities make it worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Duck Donuts is just around the corner. Always have to go there when we visit Williamsburg!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Winky
Business
Virginia Beach, Va
Aug 2, 2014

shopping outlets and dining favorite restaurants

Good....Have stayed at the Powhatan many times, but this is the first time we had to pay a resort fee, even though we did not use the Wi-Fi, the pools, just wanted to shop and dine. We enjoy the location . Also, wondered about the swan was not there this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tlday13
Business
Columbia, Maryland
Aug 24, 2014

Family fun

Check-in is at 4pm and was quick, the staff courteous and welcoming. Our children enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pools while mom and dad enjoyed the hot tub/spa. The fitness center was small, but well equipped (3 treadmills, 1 arc trainer, 1 elliptical, and one recumbant stationary bike, as well as free weights. Reasonable driving distance from Busch Gardens and other Williamsburg attractions. Checkout was by 10 am and was quick. We attended the timeshare sell/seminar and they did go a bit over the promised 90 min timeframe, but they also did accept our "no" when it was given (on the second refusal).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denise Couples Escape
Business
Williamsburg, Virginia
Sep 8, 2014

Quick Couples Getaway

The overall experience was very positive. The room was clean and the staff was extremely friendly. There were a few ants in the kitchen...nothing major. This is a timeshare place, so we were asked twice if we were interested in the infamous timeshare tour. They were not pushy at all. We stayed in a 2 BR 2 Bath townhouse. It was an excellent value...cheaper than most regular hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Great outlets...Premium outlets

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Itchala
Business
Williamsburg, Va
Sep 29, 2014

Weekend getaway

Wanted to upgrade was told would be Additional charge for changing accomodation and canceling reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sethers
Business
Harrisonburg, VA
Oct 18, 2014

great getaway for me and a buddy

Have stayed here a number of times, always enjoy it. I booked a 2 bedroom groundfloor and ended up with a 3 bedroom that was way more than my friend and I needed, I'll look for these units again when I go with my family. For the money, can't beat it. Timeshare pitch didn't even get alluded to, although the phone did ring in the morning and I expect that's what was happening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top