Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: Apr 29, 2014

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
369 reviews
Best place in Williamsburg!

I always stay at Powhatan resort when we go to Williamsburg (at least 3 times/year)! The rooms are... See full review

  • Popop Bob
  • Apr 1, 2014
country setting and peaceful accomodations

Condo was spacious and comfortable, with every convenience. Made several meals to enjoy with... See full review

  • psych Bob
  • Jun 30, 2013
Family-friendly hotel with outdoor activities on rolling woodland acres
The Historic Powhatan Plantation dates back to 1735 when a leading architect occupied the Manor House of this former plantation. Today, the hotel recognizes that colonial spirit with classic American accommodations and a blissful setting on 250-plus wooded acres. Active travelers make full use of the multiple recreational amenities on site, including pools, basketball and tennis courts.

Highlights
  • Restored 1735 Manor House on site
  • Indoor and four outdoor pools with seasonal Cabana Bar and hot tub
  • Tennis courts, 18-hole mini golf course and bike rental available on site
  • Spacious accommodations with multiple bedrooms, balcony and loft
  • On-site activity center featuring a unique new event calendar weekly
  • Newly renovated fitness center with separate outdoor walk and jog track
  • General store
  • Full kitchens and washers and dryers in most rooms
  • Casual dining at the Powhatan Grill
  • Pavilion rentals available with a maximum occupancy of 120
  • In-house Coffee House coming soon

Rooms
A variety of layouts accommodate even the largest of groups, with some options boasting as many as four bedrooms. Some rooms showcase traditional American style and come furnished with fireplace and full kitchen that allows guests to save on dining expenses. Washers and dryers complete the residential feel.

Recreation

The Historic Powhatan Plantation is set on 256 rolling wooded acres. The resort brims with colonial charm, starting with the Powhatan Plantation's Manor House that was once the home of the area's leading architect Richard Taliaferro. Guests can spend considerable time outside at the tennis, racquetball and basketball courts and the 18-hole mini golf course. Visitors can also enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.9 mi/41.7 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.6 mi/62.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (3.9  mi/6.4 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Water Country USA  (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (51.5 mi/82.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (38.1 mi/61.4 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a major credit card for deposits. No cash or debit cards are allowed. The hotel will authorize a $100 deposit that will be returned when the room has been inspected and no damage has been done or items are missing.
  • The property does not have daily maid service.
  • Pets are not allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (369)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
369 out of 369
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Randleman, NC
Jul 11, 2011

Satisfactory

Spent most of our time visiting attractions but with only 1 shower it made is difficult to take showers since no one was interested in taking a bath in the 2nd bathroom. There was alot of remodeling going on in the units around us. Clean towels were not delivered one day but for some reason left out in the yard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Vacation Loving Dad
DC Area
Aug 13, 2010

Great Family Getaway

had not visited here in over 8 years so i wasn't quite sure what to expect. Rooms were nice including bathroom and kitchen. Very spacious. Great location, near all the attractions as well as a convenient shopping location including grocery shopping fast food and a Target.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Atlantic Beach Dog Lover
Atlantic Beach, FL
Apr 11, 2010

Minor issues

The location was close to Williamsburg, VA, and had a nice exterior. Unfortunately, the water heater died while we were there and we had to call maintenance three different times...each time being told it would be "five more minutes" before someone was there to repair it. After an hour, we called the front desk and asked for a manager. Finally, the maintenance man arrived and fixed the issue. Overall, the place was okay, nothing great. The carpet was dirty and the sink smelled funky. The strangest thing was the lack of a sheet for the sofa bed. We won't be return guests, but the unit sufficed for what we needed. (check-in also took a bit too long, in my opinion)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Busch Gardens and all of the Williamsburg/Jamestown/Yorktown activities were within a 15 minute drive.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
trol410
St Paul,MN
Mar 25, 2013

Magnetic keys were terrible

Our keys would not work more than 1x in the door. We had to make three trips back to the main office (1/2 mile) one snowy nite because even after resetting them they still did not work. They blamed it on putting the keys in my wallet next to other credit cards. I have stayed at probably 300+ hotels all over the world, and never had any problems like the ones I did at this place. They had my wife in tears, saying it was her fault the keys did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Nicole loves cake
Long Island, New York
Dec 3, 2013

Annoying sales pitch - but a great value

Arrived at 12am after a long drive with two young kids and they still tried to sign us up for their ownership seminar - didn't appreciate that. First room we were given had water leak and was freezing because the back slider was open - also smelled of mildew (probably why back door was open). Went back to front desk and they had a new unit for us in 20minutes - 2nd unit was very nice had a great stay. Indoor pool was nice, grounds were well maintained. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
The TP Family
Northern Virginia
Sep 10, 2012

A night away

The estate is really pretty. The pools (there are several) were great. Very clean. Our rooms were really well laid out. They need to be updated. There was a flat screen TV in the main room with a dvd player but the bathrooms are very dingy (due to age - very clean). For the price it was a great two bedroom. If I had paid full price I might have been disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
rocket 3 traveler
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 17, 2010

Great for the Rate

The unit I was in was pretty much what I had stayed in before. If you are wanting to cook a lot, the kitchen is electric and there is not an oven. Do not plan on making some large dinner, it is fine for small meals. For the business traveler it is nice for a change of pace of hotel rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Good grocery store and wine store one mile from resort. Starbucks even closer.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
summer vacation getaway
New Jersey
Aug 8, 2011

Historic Powhatan stuck in the past.

My family and I came down to visit the parks and wanted to stay at a place with a little more comfort. The beds were VERY good and looked like they had been recently purchased. We had booked a bedroom with a loft and it was comfortable. The bathrooms were very small (cruise size small) and only one of them had a shower. The master bath had a large Jacuzzi tub but NO jets and no shower; USELESS. The small appliances were also new but the large appliances need to be replaced. The dishwasher rattled and had to be slammed shut to work, the dryer only had one setting that worked,the fridge froze everything inside and the air conditioning unit was so loud that we had to raise the volume on the TVs to drown out the hum. By the end of the three day we got tired of calling the front desk for work orders to be done so we didn't even tell them that the unit was starting to leak. What a mess! The grounds were well maintained and the pool area was nice. There are three outdoor pools (2 family and 1 adult) in one area but with so many rooms I really think it would be time to build another pool area. We didn't see the indoor pool. The entertainment around the pool area was lacking so if your going to bring your kids make sure they bring their own toys, books, games etc. I met a few owners around the poolside and they were not happy about their stay either. I guess Diamond Resort is going to get a "few" unhappy letters this coming week. Beware: Its a pretty wrapped gift with smelly fish inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

parks are a short drive away, Bush Gardens in the late afternoon was the best time to go.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
black barbie
Waldorf, MD
Jun 21, 2010

The Historic Powhatan Plantation

We ate and rested. The facility could use some more modern fixtures like a flat screen television. The wood decking needs to be repainted or changed to a maintenance free etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
chester,virginia
Oct 12, 2009

we liked the open grounds and the staff.

enjoyed the grounds and the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top