The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
391 reviews
Always a pleasure!

This is the seventh time we've stayed here. I love it and it doesn't get any better for the price!... See full review

  • Darren13
  • Oct 23, 2014
Great resort

We love staying here when we visit Williamsburg. The resort is clean and very comfortable. See full review

  • Landon's mom
  • Aug 21, 2014
Family-friendly hotel with outdoor activities on rolling woodland acres
The Historic Powhatan Plantation dates back to 1735 when a leading architect occupied the Manor House of this former plantation. Today, the hotel recognizes that colonial spirit with classic American accommodations and a blissful setting on 250-plus wooded acres. Active travelers make full use of the multiple recreational amenities on site, including pools, basketball and tennis courts.

Highlights
  • Restored 1735 Manor House on site
  • Indoor and four outdoor pools with seasonal Cabana Bar and hot tub
  • Tennis courts, 18-hole mini golf course and bike rental available on site
  • Spacious accommodations with multiple bedrooms, balcony and loft
  • On-site activity center featuring a unique new event calendar weekly
  • Newly renovated fitness center with separate outdoor walk and jog track
  • General store
  • Full kitchens and washers and dryers in most rooms
  • Casual dining at the Powhatan Grill
  • Pavilion rentals available with a maximum occupancy of 120
  • In-house Coffee House coming soon

Rooms
A variety of layouts accommodate even the largest of groups, with some options boasting as many as four bedrooms. Some rooms showcase traditional American style and come furnished with fireplace and full kitchen that allows guests to save on dining expenses. Washers and dryers complete the residential feel.

Recreation

The Historic Powhatan Plantation is set on 256 rolling wooded acres. The resort brims with colonial charm, starting with the Powhatan Plantation's Manor House that was once the home of the area's leading architect Richard Taliaferro. Guests can spend considerable time outside at the tennis, racquetball and basketball courts and the 18-hole mini golf course. Visitors can also enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.9 mi/41.7 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.6 mi/62.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (3.9  mi/6.4 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Water Country USA  (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (51.5 mi/82.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (38.1 mi/61.4 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a major credit card for deposits. No cash or debit cards are allowed. The hotel will authorize a $100 deposit that will be returned when the room has been inspected and no damage has been done or items are missing.
  • The property does not have daily maid service.
  • Pets are not allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (391)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
391 out of 391
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Winky
Business
Virginia Beach, Va
Aug 2, 2014

shopping outlets and dining favorite restaurants

Good....Have stayed at the Powhatan many times, but this is the first time we had to pay a resort fee, even though we did not use the Wi-Fi, the pools, just wanted to shop and dine. We enjoy the location . Also, wondered about the swan was not there this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tlday13
Business
Columbia, Maryland
Aug 24, 2014

Family fun

Check-in is at 4pm and was quick, the staff courteous and welcoming. Our children enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pools while mom and dad enjoyed the hot tub/spa. The fitness center was small, but well equipped (3 treadmills, 1 arc trainer, 1 elliptical, and one recumbant stationary bike, as well as free weights. Reasonable driving distance from Busch Gardens and other Williamsburg attractions. Checkout was by 10 am and was quick. We attended the timeshare sell/seminar and they did go a bit over the promised 90 min timeframe, but they also did accept our "no" when it was given (on the second refusal).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denise Couples Escape
Business
Williamsburg, Virginia
Sep 8, 2014

Quick Couples Getaway

The overall experience was very positive. The room was clean and the staff was extremely friendly. There were a few ants in the kitchen...nothing major. This is a timeshare place, so we were asked twice if we were interested in the infamous timeshare tour. They were not pushy at all. We stayed in a 2 BR 2 Bath townhouse. It was an excellent value...cheaper than most regular hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Great outlets...Premium outlets

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Itchala
Business
Williamsburg, Va
Sep 29, 2014

Weekend getaway

Wanted to upgrade was told would be Additional charge for changing accomodation and canceling reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sethers
Business
Harrisonburg, VA
Oct 18, 2014

great getaway for me and a buddy

Have stayed here a number of times, always enjoy it. I booked a 2 bedroom groundfloor and ended up with a 3 bedroom that was way more than my friend and I needed, I'll look for these units again when I go with my family. For the money, can't beat it. Timeshare pitch didn't even get alluded to, although the phone did ring in the morning and I expect that's what was happening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JamieM
Business
Indialantic, FL
Feb 11, 2014

Timeshare Property

This property is such a mixed bag I'm relaly going to have to break this down. Some things about them are AWFUL, some things are great! First off, the hotel has great activities (tours and crafting for fee, multiple things going on a day) and amenities (dvd rentals, also for a fee, huge tv in room), good location, very spacious accommodations (love the full size kitchen), decent wifi (also for a fee). The downside is that the property is under renovations and it is a timeshare. The property is also probably more fun in the summer when the outdoor sports are available. Renovations: Our "sunroom" had no furniture or heating, just an empty room with a sign on the door saying "under renovations", our deck was missing patio furniture when we arrived, there were no handles on the inside of the shower doors, the shower doors hardly worked, there were cracks around the tub, etc. The property looks worn. I'm sure it will be better after renovations, but right now it's a bit of a mess. Timeshare: First off, timeshares mean no housekeeping. Seconly, they mean being harassed by salespeople nonstop. Do yourself a favor and tell the "concierge" to put you on their Do Not Call list the FIRST time they try to call and sell you something, otherwise they'll call you over and over, multiple times a day, day after day, trying to get you to go to tours and presentations. We finally gave in and agreed to a tour, which we probably should not have done, though it did mean a free three nights in the future, which we will use. Anyway, these folks are PUSHY! Congierge: These folks are not actual concierges, they are the marketing people for the timeshare. When I asked them if I could charge activities to the room, they said yes. When I showed up at the activity center, they wanted payment there. This should have meant a half hour walk to my unit and back to get my wallet, thankfully, the girl on duty there understood that the concierges are awful and let me check out dvd's to pay for later. An actual concierge would know how the most basic activities at the resort work, these SALES PEOPLE do not. Overall: I enjoyed the crafts and the cheap price makes up for the unfinished units. (We paid $65 a night after resort fees- which are charged at the hotel- for five nights.) Having a kitchen is great and allowed us to eat in at night, saving on time and hassle. We stayed here while our RV was in the shop, and my husband works from home, so having an actual apartment was really helpful. Because of all this, we will probably go back if we need temporary housing in the area again, and definitely to use our timeshare tour 3 night freebie. But in the future, I will let them know at checkin not to call us or try to sell us anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenn B.
Business
R.F., Ga
Apr 2, 2014

Room for a family gathering

Powhatan offered great space for a family from two states to come together to visit their Mom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Outlet

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T. Tucker
Business
Virginia
Apr 21, 2014

Holiday Getaway

My family with two 11 year old stayed in this resort over Easter weekend. The resort amenties are plentiful with indoor and outdoor pools, tennis courts etc. We did have to wait in a long line at check which may have been because it was a holiday weekend. I love the fact that you can get two separate BRs and a separate living space to accodate a larger group without feeling cramped. Overall a good trip, but I really wish they wouldn't try to sell you on purchasing a timeshare. They don't take "No" very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, Ohio
Aug 2, 2009

Great time!

Had a great time. Buy your tickets online before you go to the theme parks. Got a bounce ticket online for 20% less then at the ticket counter. (Water Park, Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FIRST TIME TRAVELER TO VIRGINIA
Business
FT.LAUDERDALE,FL
Jan 22, 2010

Nice Place, Awful Service!!!

The place was nice inside until the water heater pipe burst into the room and water was everywhere!! Had to pack up EVERYTHING AND GO TO THE FRONT DESK TO BE PLACED IN ANOTHER UNIT BUT [...]THE FRONT DESK COULDN'T GIVE US A FIRST FLOOR ROOM. I ASKED FOR ONE DUE TO ALL THE LUGGAGE AGAGIN AND TRAVELING WITH A 4YR OLD. THE STAFF WAS NOT VERY COOPERATIVE TO THE SITUTATION AND I WAS VERY UPSET!!! NOT VERY PROFESSIONAL AT ALL!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top