Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
388 reviews
Great resort

We love staying here when we visit Williamsburg. The resort is clean and very comfortable. See full review

  • Landon's mom
  • Aug 21, 2014
Fabulous vacation experience!

We were very impressed and plan on going back next year! The rooms were clean, kitchen was... See full review

  • Mom Who Picked a Winner
  • Aug 10, 2014
Family-friendly hotel with outdoor activities on rolling woodland acres
The Historic Powhatan Plantation dates back to 1735 when a leading architect occupied the Manor House of this former plantation. Today, the hotel recognizes that colonial spirit with classic American accommodations and a blissful setting on 250-plus wooded acres. Active travelers make full use of the multiple recreational amenities on site, including pools, basketball and tennis courts.

Highlights
  • Restored 1735 Manor House on site
  • Indoor and four outdoor pools with seasonal Cabana Bar and hot tub
  • Tennis courts, 18-hole mini golf course and bike rental available on site
  • Spacious accommodations with multiple bedrooms, balcony and loft
  • On-site activity center featuring a unique new event calendar weekly
  • Newly renovated fitness center with separate outdoor walk and jog track
  • General store
  • Full kitchens and washers and dryers in most rooms
  • Casual dining at the Powhatan Grill
  • Pavilion rentals available with a maximum occupancy of 120
  • In-house Coffee House coming soon

Rooms
A variety of layouts accommodate even the largest of groups, with some options boasting as many as four bedrooms. Some rooms showcase traditional American style and come furnished with fireplace and full kitchen that allows guests to save on dining expenses. Washers and dryers complete the residential feel.

Recreation

The Historic Powhatan Plantation is set on 256 rolling wooded acres. The resort brims with colonial charm, starting with the Powhatan Plantation's Manor House that was once the home of the area's leading architect Richard Taliaferro. Guests can spend considerable time outside at the tennis, racquetball and basketball courts and the 18-hole mini golf course. Visitors can also enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.9 mi/41.7 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.6 mi/62.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (3.9  mi/6.4 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Water Country USA  (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (51.5 mi/82.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (38.1 mi/61.4 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a major credit card for deposits. No cash or debit cards are allowed. The hotel will authorize a $100 deposit that will be returned when the room has been inspected and no damage has been done or items are missing.
  • The property does not have daily maid service.
  • Pets are not allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (388)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
388 out of 388
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fairfax, VA
Sep 27, 2009

Pohatan Plantation

We couldn't believe we booked a two bedroom suite for the price we paid. We only stayed one night, and didn't use the facilities, but they seem very complete and we look forward to staying at Pohatan Plantation during future trips to Williamsburg

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Mar 21, 2010

weekend get away

Instead of being closed in a motel room. For about the same price you get a condo with hot tub on lower floor. Was nice to be able to spread out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
teonni
newport news, va
Apr 11, 2012

weekend getaway

I really enjoyed my stay.I had some problems with the out dated tv and when house keeping come she didn't knock she just walked in but other then that everything was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 26, 2010

Nice place for a family reunion.

This condo was close to Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown and Busch Gardens. The rooms were good sized and provided what was needed. The rooms were nice, but not updated. The decks looked like it needed to stained and the garbage disposal did not work. Overall it was a great place to meet for a family vacation with lots of things to do right in the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very convenient to all the local attractions.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Collegeville, PA
Aug 17, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

Rooms were ok. Furniture was a bit uncomfortable. Instruction on what to do if. Or what was your responsibility and what was the hotels responsibility was very unclear. You check in at one desk but then have to go to another desk for your parking pass. There they try and sign you up for a time share seminar and offer you rewards for sitting in on the seminar. We tried to actually attend the seminar but since we only use Visa Debit and don't actually have a regular credit card we weren't eligible. Our hot tub was cold when we arrived. After 24 hours it had only gone up a few degrees. We asked at the desk if this was normal and was told it should have reached temp. with in 4 to 6 hrs. No instruction on this was made available. We had to call Maintenance for service. It took a few hours but they finally came and fixed the problem. With in a few hours it reach the proper temperature. Their restaurants were a bit pricey. There are many store very close to the resort and Bush Gardens is only 7 miles away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Stores are with in a few miles. Most likely you'll pass the shopping ctr. before arriving at the resort including a Shell service station which was about 10 cents a gal cheaper then what gas is being sold for in PA.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dover, PA
Jul 7, 2009

Amenities great! The rooms needed help.

While there, we went to Busch Gardens. We booked a two bedroom, two bathroom with a kitchen, fireplace, and a hot tub. The size of each room was nice. The appliances were outdated. The TV's were old and very small. There was no TV in the second bedroom. The hot tub did not work at all, and when I called to have it fixed they replied that "it takes a while to heat up." I thought that 6 hours would be enough. By the second day the hot tub was at 1/2 the water level and still no repair men showed up. The outside amenities, ie. pool and trails etc were wonderful. More chairs for the pool area would be good, because we were all vying for the same chairs and had to watch for someone to leave for chairs to be available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Do not eat in Germany in Busch Gardens. The food was not good, and the price was too high. One of my girls ended up in the bathroom throwing up before the day was over.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
family trippers
Columbia, MD, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Great location

Just spent a weekend here and the location was great. The room was as described and clean. We had no hot water when we arrived but within 15 min of our phonecall to the front office, the maintenance guys had taken care of it. The only thing we disliked was the sales pitch at the check in. Felt a bit pushy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VAGB
Leesburg, VA
May 30, 2012

Ok value for price, some improvements possible

The staff were very professional and pleasant with a personal touch. Beautiful and safe location. Overall worth the stay. But the checkout time is 10am which is early! Although this was in the printed material given during check-in, the staff could have alerted us when they gave the packet, since it is unusual but they didn't. When I found out next morning, I asked for late checkout at noon and then at 1130am but I was refused both! They would only give me 11am and said they would charge $50 every half hour after that. I didn't appreciate that especially since the resort was not to full capacity and they could have easily shown some flexibility. Also in our case, the bathroom could use some fix-ups - the shower door didn't close properly, the caulking in places looked messy and the fixtures were a bit loose and didn't match (some chrome, some brushed nickel etc.). The refrigerator was old and in general switches / fixtures and the bathroom as a whole can use an upgrade to improve value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Atlantic Beach Dog Lover
Atlantic Beach, FL
Apr 11, 2010

Minor issues

The location was close to Williamsburg, VA, and had a nice exterior. Unfortunately, the water heater died while we were there and we had to call maintenance three different times...each time being told it would be "five more minutes" before someone was there to repair it. After an hour, we called the front desk and asked for a manager. Finally, the maintenance man arrived and fixed the issue. Overall, the place was okay, nothing great. The carpet was dirty and the sink smelled funky. The strangest thing was the lack of a sheet for the sofa bed. We won't be return guests, but the unit sufficed for what we needed. (check-in also took a bit too long, in my opinion)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Busch Gardens and all of the Williamsburg/Jamestown/Yorktown activities were within a 15 minute drive.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nearby Traveller
Easton, MD
Sep 20, 2010

Maintenance Less Than Responsive

This hotel is in an ideal location and the rooms are wonderful. We had a two bedroom with a large jacuzzi tub. We were within walking distance of the 2 outdoor and 1 indoor pool, fitness center and sauna. On day one, though, our icemaker broke. Maintenace didn't fix it until day 4. On day 3 our jacuzzi tub broke and it took them an entire day before they responded to provide a 20 minute fix. Maintenance took way too long to respond and then would only provide 4 hour windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Chophouse Steak Restaurant on Richmond Road, whatever you do!

Back to menu Return to top