Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
View map of 3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
418 out of 418
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 3, 2008

Space and Location

I was pleasantly surprised when we entered our unit. I thought it was a one bedroom unit, only to find out there was the upstairs unit and a full kitchen (I thought it would be a fridge and microwave.) It has great amenities for the kids - pools, mini-golf, arcades, bikes, and more. It's great for families with kids. Great restaurants, pretty grounds, even a small spa, and it's close to everything you want - within minutes- in Williamsburg, VA. My only dislike of the unit, despite my surprise for the loft/2nd bedroom area, was that that 2nd sleeping area had no door and was VERY HOT. It also did not have adequate shades for privacy and to block out external lighthing (which woke my kids ups up MUCH earlier that normal or prefered while on vacation, especially after being out late for local attractions.) Otherwise, this was a nice place to stay. We'd stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Williamsburg, VA, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, golfing, shopping, banks, groceries, etc.!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikdog
Business
Wash Metro
Aug 7, 2011

Powhatan

We had stayed here before and enjoyed both trips

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gurlsweekend
Business
Fredericksburg, VA
Sep 29, 2009

Great girls weekend - safe and beautiful

Room was very clean and quiet. Everything to make your stay enjoyable is included: coffee, laundry detergent, shampoos, etc. The bathroom was dated and had some maintenance issues but overall the room was beautiful and clean. The upstairs unit with two bedrooms has only a tub (no shower)in the master.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fair Lawn NJ
Oct 2, 2009

Beautiful Getaway!!

I had read mixed reviews, but more towards the good side. I am so happy that I chose this place. I definitely plan on returning here. From the moment I started up the long drive I knew this was exactly what I was looking for. I did go "off seson", so it was quiet and more of an older crowd (very few children). The staff had me registered in a very short time. I went to my unit,walked up the stairs and was more than what I expected. I reserved a one bedroom. The unit was at the end of a cul-de-sac. My unit was upsta the irs, and it had a queen (very comfortable) in the master bedroom. I found the stairs and proceeded to find a light airy room (loft) with two twin beds. It had a small kitchen, completely supplied with everything I would need. A two burner stover, a micro-wave/convection oven. Servings for 4, washer/dryer. The Living room area was a TV with 3 chairs (no sofa) and there was a TV in the bedroom also. Also two baths. One had a shower the other a huge tub. The color schemes were all pastel yellows and greens and colonial style furniture. The carpeting was old but not dirty. All the necessary linens supplied and I found the bed to extremely comfortable. My unit was very quiet. I did not hear the people downstairs except when I first walked into a small foyer area. But as soon as I opened my door and went upstairs you heard nothing. I also felt very secure while there. The grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. I give this place a very big thumbs up if your looking for a more quiet place. Everything is a short distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Also if anybody does go I highly recommend taking the ghost tour. It is a small fee and is held in the manor. The actor who was extremely knowledgable and retains his character so well that you almost feel like your back in the late 1700's!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tesby
Business
Staunton VA
Sep 22, 2009

Wonderful getaway

We went there for our anniversary and it was very pleasant. My husband loves the outdoors and there was plenty of nice places for him to walk and enjoy.The rooms were clean and comfortable the carpet was old and worn and the hot tub didn't work very well in our rooms but we could have went to the one at the pool if we had wanted.I enjoyed the plantation house that you could tour. We ate at one of the restaurants on sight and it was pretty good. Over all it was a very pleasant stay and I would recomend it. Hope that I will beable to go back there again. Maby next time I will take the kids as they would have enjoyed it. They had plenty of things they could have done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Sep 21, 2009

Very accommodating

We had quite a few visitors on one day during our stay and the staff were very accommodating. They allowed for outdoor activities and extra parking during those visiting hours. The units needs upgrading and detail cleaning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katiebird
Business
Greenville, NC
Oct 12, 2009

Huge condos, tiny price!

Very close to Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg. Also close to shopping and restaurants. The price was great and the condo was bigger than our house! We were upgraded for free to a bigger condo. All amenities were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Busch gardens is great in the fall. Buy park tickets and parking passes online for cheaper rates and it makes getting into the park much faster!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Currituck, NC
Jun 30, 2011

Very Nice for the Price

The room and the property was clean and well kept a pretty location. Pool area was pretty, a nice place to take your family. Convenient to shopping and restaurants. We were there for 2 nights, the bed was comfortable and would definitely go back for a longer stay. The front desk clerk was helpful and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Covington, KY
Jul 13, 2011

Nice accomodations, decent service

Tried to check-in early and was told our room wasn't ready so we tried back an hour after check-in time and was told our room still wasn't ready. Nearly an hour and a half after check-in time we were in our room. Felt slightly pressured to attend a time share meeting once we finally received our keycards which I didn't like, I eventually just had to walk away. The room was spacious and in good, clean condition. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed for the few meals we ate in the room. The beds were comfortable. The grounds of the resort were well maintained and beautiful. Had trouble contacting housekeeping and/or maintenance to get some minor issues resolved. It seemed that no one was sure who to direct us to to get our needs met, but everyone we talked to was very courteous. Our room was close to their pool and playground which were both very nice. Overall we enjoyed our stay here very much, it felt alot like being home because of the comfort of the room and its ammenities. I would definitely go back again or reccomend it to others looking for a family friendly place to stay close to everything Williamsburg has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Working vacation couple
Business
New Hampshire
Jun 30, 2014

Spacious home away from home

My wife and I stayed here for a week. The campus is beautiful, private, and well-maintained. Goose dung on the sidewalks is a minor annoyance. The suite (full kitchen, large living room, bedroom, bath, and enclosed sun porch) made up for the slightly-elevated price compared to a typical hotel suite. My wife enjoyed the fitness center and large outdoor pool (they also have an indoor pool). Some minor complaints: 1) On check-in, front desk had no record of our reservation despite a confirmation e-mail from the travel site used to book it. However, after a bit of not-so-competent scrambling, the staff was able to find us an available unit. 2) Many of the drawers, the bathroom window, and the sliding door on the enclosed sun porch did not operate very smoothly -- perhaps low-quality mass-purchase during multi-unit construction. Overall, we had an excellent experience and would probably stay there again -- only hesitation is the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top