Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
618 reviews
great place to stay

great place and price for this area. the room was really nice and the resort was great. huge pool... See full review

  • Jordan's dad
  • Jul 15, 2014
Very Nice

The rooms were clean and appeared to be very modern, possibly remodeled recently. The staff was... See full review

  • arnoldz1
  • Jun 26, 2014
Family-friendly hotel with outdoor activities on rolling woodland acres
The Historic Powhatan Plantation dates back to 1735 when a leading architect occupied the Manor House of this former plantation. Today, the hotel recognizes that colonial spirit with classic American accommodations and a blissful setting on 250-plus wooded acres. Active travelers make full use of the multiple recreational amenities on site, including pools, basketball and tennis courts.

Highlights
  • Restored 1735 Manor House on site
  • Indoor and four outdoor pools with seasonal Cabana Bar and hot tub
  • Tennis courts, 18-hole mini golf course and bike rental available on site
  • Spacious accommodations with multiple bedrooms, balcony and loft
  • On-site activity center featuring a unique new event calendar weekly
  • Newly renovated fitness center with separate outdoor walk and jog track
  • General store
  • Full kitchens and washers and dryers in most rooms
  • Casual dining at the Powhatan Grill
  • Pavilion rentals available with a maximum occupancy of 120
  • In-house Coffee House coming soon

Rooms
A variety of layouts accommodate even the largest of groups, with some options boasting as many as four bedrooms. Some rooms showcase traditional American style and come furnished with fireplace and full kitchen that allows guests to save on dining expenses. Washers and dryers complete the residential feel.

Recreation

The Historic Powhatan Plantation is set on 256 rolling wooded acres. The resort brims with colonial charm, starting with the Powhatan Plantation's Manor House that was once the home of the area's leading architect Richard Taliaferro. Guests can spend considerable time outside at the tennis, racquetball and basketball courts and the 18-hole mini golf course. Visitors can also enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.9 mi/41.7 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.6 mi/62.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (3.9  mi/6.4 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Water Country USA  (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (51.5 mi/82.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (38.1 mi/61.4 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a major credit card for deposits. No cash or debit cards are allowed. The hotel will authorize a $100 deposit that will be returned when the room has been inspected and no damage has been done or items are missing.
  • The property does not have daily maid service.
  • Pets are not allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (618)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
618 out of 618
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaiian Lounger
Virginia
Feb 19, 2013

Excellent accomodations, very clean and comfortable!

One of the best hotels we have stayed in. I am very particular about cleanliness and this hotel definitely met the mark. We will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glenmont, NY
May 13, 2008

Family friendly

The Historic Powhatan Plantation was a good place to stay with children (or extended stays).The pool is very nice, the grounds are well maintained, and the staff is friendly. The rooms are large, and one bedroom lofts are great for kids. The only drawback was that the air conditioner LEAKED, not just a little, but dripped all night filling up a pot a few times on my last night at the hotel. When I told the management about this, they did not apologize, and just shrugged it off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything in Williamsburg is within a 15 minute drive - Busch Gardens, Water Country and all the outlets.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crmi
Business
Salem, VA
Oct 23, 2013

Williamsburg- SBEA Conference

Hotel is clean and comfortable. There was plenty of room to spread out. Nice home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salisbury MD
Jul 27, 2009

Powhatan Plantation

The rate was great for what we received. We were there for only one night so did not get to use any of the ametities but the location to Colonial Williamsburg was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bjames4911
Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Great secure place for the family

We stayed in a 2 bedroom upstairs condo. It was nicely furnished with attractive carpeting throughout. Had a lot of pans and appliances for the kitchen. Beds and pillows were comfortable. I like how the complex was spread out with an downstairs and upstairs condo which reduced the noise and made it easy to load and unload the car. The grounds were beautiful with lakes and picnic tables containing charcoal grill throughout. I felt secure being in a gated community. However it was a hike to Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg but not too bad. The only things I did not like were the small old TVs and having to say no to the sales pitch after check-in. Overall a real nice affordable place to stay with the family. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steph J.
Baltimore, MD
Jul 15, 2013

Family friendly stay

We stayed at Powhatan Resort for 7 days. We booked online and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The property is beautiful! We stayed in the bottom floor unit. Everything was great in the unit, but we could've used more seating in the living room. Beds were comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals. Everything was very nice, except for the pushy time share sales people. We reluctantly agreed to go to a presentation, only after trying to cancel the initial meeting they set up when we first arrived at the resort. We were guaranteed no pressure sales. It was boarderline high pressure, but we were able to leave after 90 minutes. Otherwise, the vacation was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Busch Gardens/Water Country 7 day park hopper passes are a must, especially for a familly with children!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gurlsweekend
Fredericksburg, VA
Sep 29, 2009

Great girls weekend - safe and beautiful

Room was very clean and quiet. Everything to make your stay enjoyable is included: coffee, laundry detergent, shampoos, etc. The bathroom was dated and had some maintenance issues but overall the room was beautiful and clean. The upstairs unit with two bedrooms has only a tub (no shower)in the master.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tesby
Staunton VA
Sep 22, 2009

Wonderful getaway

We went there for our anniversary and it was very pleasant. My husband loves the outdoors and there was plenty of nice places for him to walk and enjoy.The rooms were clean and comfortable the carpet was old and worn and the hot tub didn't work very well in our rooms but we could have went to the one at the pool if we had wanted.I enjoyed the plantation house that you could tour. We ate at one of the restaurants on sight and it was pretty good. Over all it was a very pleasant stay and I would recomend it. Hope that I will beable to go back there again. Maby next time I will take the kids as they would have enjoyed it. They had plenty of things they could have done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Moosup, CT
Apr 21, 2010

Historic Powhatan Plantation

We really enjoyed ourselves, we were a little taken a-back by the prices at the restaurant for the amount of food we received, it really wasnt worth it. As far as the place itself, we were plesantly surprised, we were expecting a room with a bed and a bathroom, this was an entire suite. Two bedrooms, a living area two full baths and a kitchenette with a built in washer/dryer. The Pool area was really nice, but not as quiet as we would have liked, many families were there enjoying their vacations. It is a great place for families, and nice for couples. It was close to many area attractions, I wish we had had more time to enjoy all the attractions. our vacation was very memorable, thanks so much. Laura Pelletier

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Williamnsburg
Sep 1, 2009

Spacious and family oriented

Great location. Food shopping very convenient. Lots of toom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top