Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: Apr 29, 2014

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
369 reviews
Best place in Williamsburg!

I always stay at Powhatan resort when we go to Williamsburg (at least 3 times/year)! The rooms are... See full review

  • Popop Bob
  • Apr 1, 2014
country setting and peaceful accomodations

Condo was spacious and comfortable, with every convenience. Made several meals to enjoy with... See full review

  • psych Bob
  • Jun 30, 2013
Family-friendly hotel with outdoor activities on rolling woodland acres
The Historic Powhatan Plantation dates back to 1735 when a leading architect occupied the Manor House of this former plantation. Today, the hotel recognizes that colonial spirit with classic American accommodations and a blissful setting on 250-plus wooded acres. Active travelers make full use of the multiple recreational amenities on site, including pools, basketball and tennis courts.

Highlights
  • Restored 1735 Manor House on site
  • Indoor and four outdoor pools with seasonal Cabana Bar and hot tub
  • Tennis courts, 18-hole mini golf course and bike rental available on site
  • Spacious accommodations with multiple bedrooms, balcony and loft
  • On-site activity center featuring a unique new event calendar weekly
  • Newly renovated fitness center with separate outdoor walk and jog track
  • General store
  • Full kitchens and washers and dryers in most rooms
  • Casual dining at the Powhatan Grill
  • Pavilion rentals available with a maximum occupancy of 120
  • In-house Coffee House coming soon

Rooms
A variety of layouts accommodate even the largest of groups, with some options boasting as many as four bedrooms. Some rooms showcase traditional American style and come furnished with fireplace and full kitchen that allows guests to save on dining expenses. Washers and dryers complete the residential feel.

Recreation

The Historic Powhatan Plantation is set on 256 rolling wooded acres. The resort brims with colonial charm, starting with the Powhatan Plantation's Manor House that was once the home of the area's leading architect Richard Taliaferro. Guests can spend considerable time outside at the tennis, racquetball and basketball courts and the 18-hole mini golf course. Visitors can also enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.9 mi/41.7 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.6 mi/62.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (3.9  mi/6.4 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Water Country USA  (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (51.5 mi/82.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (38.1 mi/61.4 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a major credit card for deposits. No cash or debit cards are allowed. The hotel will authorize a $100 deposit that will be returned when the room has been inspected and no damage has been done or items are missing.
  • The property does not have daily maid service.
  • Pets are not allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (369)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
369 out of 369
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Dec 31, 2008

great getaway

The Historic Powhatan Plantation gave my wife and I just what we needed... a getaway, relatively close to home that was reasonably priced. We really enjoyed the hot tub and found the furnishings of the condo to be very good, the bedding extremely nice. I was a bit disappointed in that the room was not cleaned during the day... but that was done I suppose because it was a condo and not a hotel... For the price, free wi-fi should be available in each unit and the tv's should be upgraded to flat panel/LCD. The worst part of the trip was enduring a time share presentation, even though we agreed to it and it wasn't forced on us... We may return again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
bobvania
Elizabethton, TN, USA
Feb 18, 2013

Fantastic for family

This was a great place for a family to stay. The amenities were wonderful and only a short drive from Downtown Williamsburg. The experience exceeded all of our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Colonial Williamsburg

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
History Buff Family
Eastview, Ky
Oct 8, 2010

Great getaway!!!

Great Resort! Activities on site for kids and close to anything in the historic triangle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the Ghost walk tour of Colonial Williamsburg. Tickets are on sale at the Genereal Store on Richmond Road.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Amack91397
Huntersville, NC
May 30, 2013

Amazing Williamsburg gem!

We have been to Williamsburg many times over the past 10 years or so and haven't found another place to stay quite as great as this. The location was great, the unit was spacious, and the amenities were great as well. We will definitely not look any further for our Williamsburg lodging in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Cove restaurant was great and it's very close to the resort. Don't leave without tasting the corn muffins!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
My hotel for baltimore visits.
Richmond Virginia
Apr 19, 2010

Great location, very nice hotel.

Hotel was very nice and clean. Grounds were very well kept. Staff was very friendly. Room was large and romantic. We enjoyed the privacy. However, we could hear the people above us walking around, very loud. Otherwise would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two dinning areas on the property. One was formal and cozy. Also had a store on the property.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Alexandria, VA
Jan 18, 2010

perfect for the price

The price of a motel but with hot tub, full kitchen, two bedrooms and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Virginia
Apr 17, 2010

trip

The accommodations were wonderful. I will book this place again:o)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Towne Center is a wonderful shopping option that includes a great movie theater.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Former Resident, Turned Tourist
Washington, DC
Oct 26, 2009

Great Experience

The location, service, and quality of the experience were all first rate. The rooms were a great size - at a great price. The only drawback was that the bathrooms were dated, but were well maintained, despite the 80s-style decor. Overall, a fantastic Williamsburg experience - I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask about the Colonial Parkway. An entrance is just a few miles away and its a long, beautiful drive between Jamestown, Yorktown, and Williamsburg, complete with incredible sights of the York and James Rivers. It's a hidden treasure in the Williamsburg area that not too many tourists get to see.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
NJ Visitors
NJ
Apr 22, 2009

Very Good

We have taken a 2BR, 2 Bath upstairs room and we liked it very much. It felt like home. All the rooms are well equipped. We thought that for our next vacation we should be looking for reserving this kind of rooms instead of regular hotels. We had a nice time just walking around and at the play area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Northern Virginia
Jul 13, 2009

Great Family Trip

This place is pretty good. You can walk around the complex at night and feel safe. The location is great. The rooms are clean and nice. I would definately recommend this place. I am planning on returning to this location in the near future. Won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top