Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
388 reviews
Great resort

We love staying here when we visit Williamsburg. The resort is clean and very comfortable. See full review

  • Landon's mom
  • Aug 21, 2014
Fabulous vacation experience!

We were very impressed and plan on going back next year! The rooms were clean, kitchen was... See full review

  • Mom Who Picked a Winner
  • Aug 10, 2014
Family-friendly hotel with outdoor activities on rolling woodland acres
The Historic Powhatan Plantation dates back to 1735 when a leading architect occupied the Manor House of this former plantation. Today, the hotel recognizes that colonial spirit with classic American accommodations and a blissful setting on 250-plus wooded acres. Active travelers make full use of the multiple recreational amenities on site, including pools, basketball and tennis courts.

Highlights
  • Restored 1735 Manor House on site
  • Indoor and four outdoor pools with seasonal Cabana Bar and hot tub
  • Tennis courts, 18-hole mini golf course and bike rental available on site
  • Spacious accommodations with multiple bedrooms, balcony and loft
  • On-site activity center featuring a unique new event calendar weekly
  • Newly renovated fitness center with separate outdoor walk and jog track
  • General store
  • Full kitchens and washers and dryers in most rooms
  • Casual dining at the Powhatan Grill
  • Pavilion rentals available with a maximum occupancy of 120
  • In-house Coffee House coming soon

Rooms
A variety of layouts accommodate even the largest of groups, with some options boasting as many as four bedrooms. Some rooms showcase traditional American style and come furnished with fireplace and full kitchen that allows guests to save on dining expenses. Washers and dryers complete the residential feel.

Recreation

The Historic Powhatan Plantation is set on 256 rolling wooded acres. The resort brims with colonial charm, starting with the Powhatan Plantation's Manor House that was once the home of the area's leading architect Richard Taliaferro. Guests can spend considerable time outside at the tennis, racquetball and basketball courts and the 18-hole mini golf course. Visitors can also enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.9 mi/41.7 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.6 mi/62.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (3.9  mi/6.4 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Water Country USA  (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (51.5 mi/82.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (38.1 mi/61.4 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a major credit card for deposits. No cash or debit cards are allowed. The hotel will authorize a $100 deposit that will be returned when the room has been inspected and no damage has been done or items are missing.
  • The property does not have daily maid service.
  • Pets are not allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (388)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
388 out of 388
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frugal Value Shopper
Clayton, NC (Peoria, IL transplant)
Jun 29, 2009

Classy yet Comfortable

We planned a weekend mini-family reunion visiting Water Country USA and Busch Gardens with my grown niece and her family. We checked in after the parks closed. Not far from the parks and easy to get to. The front desk was quick and friendly. The 2BR suite (slept 6) was clean, luxury, and spacious just as any upscale condo. Asked for a set of sheets for the sofa sleeper and, quality sheets were brought to our door within 10 minutes. Full kitchen with all of the necessities equipment. Had a bathroom off of each bedroom, one with a shower and the other with a tub. Very economical way for two couples with children to stay together while still having privacy. Reserved parking spot. Exceeded expectations completely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Pre-purchase meal deals on-line for Water Country. Each comes with 4 vouchers which includes 2 meals (entree, side or desert, and fountain beverage)and 2 additional fountain beverages. At the Catalina Grill, each meal was enough to feed us both so we split a meal each time and had our own beverage for each meal. Busch Gardens had these meal deals too.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bobvania
Elizabethton, TN, USA
Feb 18, 2013

Fantastic for family

This was a great place for a family to stay. The amenities were wonderful and only a short drive from Downtown Williamsburg. The experience exceeded all of our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Colonial Williamsburg

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amack91397
Huntersville, NC
May 30, 2013

Amazing Williamsburg gem!

We have been to Williamsburg many times over the past 10 years or so and haven't found another place to stay quite as great as this. The location was great, the unit was spacious, and the amenities were great as well. We will definitely not look any further for our Williamsburg lodging in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Cove restaurant was great and it's very close to the resort. Don't leave without tasting the corn muffins!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jordan's dad
Dundalk, Md
Jul 15, 2014

great place to stay

great place and price for this area. the room was really nice and the resort was great. huge pool with different sections for small children, larger children, family and an adult only pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chesapeake, VA
Mar 1, 2011

Home away from home

This was my 5th trip to the Powhatan Resort. I love this resort and it is an incredible value. I always stay in a downstairs deluxe room which has the hot tub. It is romantic and I would recommend to anyone looking to rekindle the romance. The resort is clean, a great value, and the Hot Tub rooms are the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevny
New York
Jun 3, 2012

Great hotel

Beautiful resort with a friendly helpful staff close to all attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Road Warrior 365
Virginia
May 28, 2013

Wonderful night away!

This property was quiet and peaceful and with all the comforts of home. Close to shopping and restaurants but set away from all hustle and bustle, we were even able to sit on the porch and see a small deer not 20 foot away, loved the beautiful natural setting of this great resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
english dancers
High Point, NC, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Elegance

As soon as we entered, the staff was ready to assist & so helpful & friendly. And any other needs were taken care of with great timing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 14, 2008

Ideal for all, especially lg families

We are a family of 7 and found the 2 bdrm deluxe suite to be very clean, spacious and comfortable. In room washer and dryer is very convenient with a large family and infant in tow. If we needed anything the staff was very prompt in fulfilling out requests. Although we did not have time to visit all the activities available, we were able to take a quick cruise around the property and found everything very inviting and well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We liked our suite so much we requested an extended stay. After staff members verified that the suite was available, the staff resort worked with us in getting a price that worked for all of us. Check out was quick and easy. We would definately stay here again and have recommended this resort to all of our friends. When we checked in, we were asked if we would like a tour of the property which was for their timeshare program. We nicely declined and was never bothered again about it. All in all this hotel/resort is ideal for all, especially large famlies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby park outside entrance is absolutely wonderful. Stores and dining are nearby and easy to find. Just minutes from all major attractions.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Port
Oct 19, 2008

Beautiful place to stay

The Historic Powhatan Plantation, Williamsburg, Virginia was beautiful. The rooms were lovely. Each having their own bath and flat screen TV. Full kitchen, living room was large with a fire place..great for our chilly evening after Busch Gardens. Lovely view from our patio also. We only had one complaint..Maid came at 8:15 on Sunday morning ringing door bell till we answered. Not a nice way to wake on a vacation. All and all, I would recommend this place highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice and quite , not a big cold hotel. Grocery store and Burger King very close.

Back to menu Return to top