Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 4, 2014 Check-out: Nov 7, 2014

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
390 reviews
Always a pleasure!

This is the seventh time we've stayed here. I love it and it doesn't get any better for the price!... See full review

  • Darren13
  • Oct 23, 2014
Great resort

We love staying here when we visit Williamsburg. The resort is clean and very comfortable. See full review

  • Landon's mom
  • Aug 21, 2014
Family-friendly hotel with outdoor activities on rolling woodland acres
The Historic Powhatan Plantation dates back to 1735 when a leading architect occupied the Manor House of this former plantation. Today, the hotel recognizes that colonial spirit with classic American accommodations and a blissful setting on 250-plus wooded acres. Active travelers make full use of the multiple recreational amenities on site, including pools, basketball and tennis courts.

Highlights
  • Restored 1735 Manor House on site
  • Indoor and four outdoor pools with seasonal Cabana Bar and hot tub
  • Tennis courts, 18-hole mini golf course and bike rental available on site
  • Spacious accommodations with multiple bedrooms, balcony and loft
  • On-site activity center featuring a unique new event calendar weekly
  • Newly renovated fitness center with separate outdoor walk and jog track
  • General store
  • Full kitchens and washers and dryers in most rooms
  • Casual dining at the Powhatan Grill
  • Pavilion rentals available with a maximum occupancy of 120
  • In-house Coffee House coming soon

Rooms
A variety of layouts accommodate even the largest of groups, with some options boasting as many as four bedrooms. Some rooms showcase traditional American style and come furnished with fireplace and full kitchen that allows guests to save on dining expenses. Washers and dryers complete the residential feel.

Recreation

The Historic Powhatan Plantation is set on 256 rolling wooded acres. The resort brims with colonial charm, starting with the Powhatan Plantation's Manor House that was once the home of the area's leading architect Richard Taliaferro. Guests can spend considerable time outside at the tennis, racquetball and basketball courts and the 18-hole mini golf course. Visitors can also enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.9 mi/41.7 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.6 mi/62.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (3.9  mi/6.4 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Water Country USA  (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (51.5 mi/82.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (38.1 mi/61.4 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a major credit card for deposits. No cash or debit cards are allowed. The hotel will authorize a $100 deposit that will be returned when the room has been inspected and no damage has been done or items are missing.
  • The property does not have daily maid service.
  • Pets are not allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (390)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
390 out of 390
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Popop Bob
Business
Waldorf, MD
Apr 1, 2014

Best place in Williamsburg!

I always stay at Powhatan resort when we go to Williamsburg (at least 3 times/year)! The rooms are big, we have all the amenities and activities right on site and we are right in the middle of the Patriot's triangle (Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown) as well as Busch Gardens and Water Country just minutes away! The huge apartment-like accommodations beat staying at any hotel. The staff is friendly and very happy to help you with anything. Have fun and relax!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss out at the Peking Restaurant, just minutes away. The BEST Chinese/Japanese/Mongolian buffet ever! VERY reasonable priced and they DO have EVERYTHING!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roby1111
Business
North carolina
May 5, 2014

Nice place to stay

Stayed in hotel for 1 day. Room was so good and they upgraded .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
va mom
Business
va
May 4, 2009

Wow, what a place!

Very private, calm, enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Girlfriend
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jun 22, 2009

Super duper, thanks for asking...

This resort exceeded all of our expectations! The property is beautiful with ponds, gardens, and the Manor House, which gives the property an interesting historical perspective. It's a serene setting that's conveniently close to the historic areas in Williamsburg as well as the entertainment parks. Visitors also have access to a wide variety of activities with which to amuse themselves, including a great outdoor pool, tennis courts, mini-golf, lovely gardens, and even table hockey (sweet!). Powhatan's Kitchen Restaurant is wonderful both in atmosphere and cuisine. The townhouse layout of the property makes it feel like you're staying in a vacation home rather than in a crowded hotel complex where you can hear your neighbor's TV at night. One of the qualities we enjoyed most was that the resort provides privacy without the feeling of total seclusion. You have privacy when you want it, but you can walk to any of the common areas like the pool to enjoy the company of the other visitors. We definitely feel like we got more than we paid for! The only way we were able to tear ourselves away from the place was by promising each other that we would return soon. We highly recommended this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wild, Wonderful Woman & Family
Business
Willow, Alaska
Jan 29, 2010

JUST PLAIN PERFECT!

We were attending a reunion in Williamsburg and the hotel was our home base. The staff was delightful, our accommodations were tasteful and very comfortable. We felt like we were returning "home" each night, instead of returning to a hotel. We received a fantastic rate, which just added icing to the cake. It was just plain perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Fiancee
Business
Richmond,VA
Mar 21, 2010

Ms. Kiya

I brought my fiance for his birthday. The room could have been a little updated. The other times we stayed we were in an updated room. I guess being by the lake was a good thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
buzz422
Business
maryland
Oct 3, 2011

perfect getaway

I would recommend this resort to all my family and friends I love the location and all amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rkims
Business
VA
Oct 11, 2011

Heading back next year!

We really enjoyed our stay! Loved the condo style accommodations, pools were lovely, grounds very nice, room was comfy. Not the Four Seasons, but an amazing value & perfect for our 4 day fall getaway with friends. We ate in 2 nights, went to Colonial Wiiliamsburg for dinner once, & purchased a Busch Gardens fall fun pass to visit theme park twice with our small children. As I said, planning to do it again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Busch Gardens Fall Fun Pass, for same price as a one day ticket, go every day they are open until October 31!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JR DOT
Business
Madison Heights Va
Jan 30, 2012

Perfect place to stay when in Williamsburg

I had come seperately from my family and did not have a car. I was going to walk to my room but the girl behind the counter called security and they gave me a ride to my place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
teepeetours
Business
Binghamton, NY, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Top Notch

I expected a motel room and got a wonderful 2 bedroom condo. It was so impressive with all the extras.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top