Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
618 reviews
great place to stay

great place and price for this area. the room was really nice and the resort was great. huge pool... See full review

  • Jordan's dad
  • Jul 15, 2014
Very Nice

The rooms were clean and appeared to be very modern, possibly remodeled recently. The staff was... See full review

  • arnoldz1
  • Jun 26, 2014
The land called 'Powhatan' is a colonial plantation whose heritage dates to the 18th century. In 1735, Richard Taliaferro, the area's leading architect, constructed Powhatan Plantation's Manor House as his home. Restored with painstaking attention to historical detail, the manor house is the hallmark of our beautiful resort. The resort is located on over 250 acres of land, which includes a natural wildlife setting. Surrounded by a wooded forest, open fields, water foul and 5 small lakes, Powhatan offers a general store and two restaurants for our guests convenience including The Kitchen, an award winning fine dining restaurant. Amenities include a 18-hole mini-golf course, basketball, volleyball, horseshoe pit, racquetball, tennis courts, weight room and a variety of workshops and classes for guests of all ages.
ALL of our resorts will require a Major credit card deposit. No cash or debit cards allowed. The deposit will be $100 US and shall be returned when the rooms have been inspected and no damage has been done or items are not missing. If there is damage or items missing the guest will be charged. Guests must be 21 years of age in order to book online. Check-in time is 4pm EST and Check-out time is 10am EST.
Please note that this property does not have daily maid service
No pets allowed
Resort Fee of $10.00 + tax is due at check in. Resort fee includes;WIFI, Business Center, indoor pool, Raquet ball and Boarding Pass printing

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (618)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
618 out of 618
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aturkey
Herndon,VA
Mar 22, 2011

Amazing

The room was large and furnished completely with everything you could need. The bed was super comfortable and the hot tub hit the spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations at the kitchen at the Powhatan resort. It's the best place to eat in town!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aturkey
Herndon,VA
Mar 22, 2011

Amazing

The room was large and furnished completely with everything you could need. The bed was super comfortable and the hot tub hit the spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations at the kitchen at the Powhatan resort. It's the best place to eat in town!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryland
Mar 15, 2011

You get what you pay for

For the price the hotel was fine. However, I am aware that prices double during peak season, which I would not pay for this venue. As others had suggested, what you reserve is not what you may get. We were supposed to get a delux one-bedroom unit, which was an upgraded unit only to get there and be told that there were no units left. They gave us a two-bedroom unit, which we really didn't need, and, as others had indicated, the furniture was dated and mismatched. The overall unit was dated, but clean. The hot tub was AWESOME, it worked perfectly and stayed hot!!! We did not use the fireplace, but if we wanted to we had to purchase our own log. I would say that everything worked in the unit but it was just old. This would be a good economical place for familes, if you want to have a place where you go in and out, can cook food, etc. If you want a true romantic getaway, I would say that you pay a little bit more to get the amenities you want. Regarding the overall location, the venue is sufficient, but dated. This includes the small workout room, the pool area, the playground equipment, and the restaurant. The grounds are not very flattering but, again, based on what you are willing to pay, it may be sufficient. Location to sites was convenient. There is not much to this place and a lot more to be desired. It served our purpose for a low-budget getaway but I wouldn't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The location is great in that it is very close to a lot of good restaurants and shopping, as well as the historic sites.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryland
Mar 15, 2011

You get what you pay for

For the price the hotel was fine. However, I am aware that prices double during peak season, which I would not pay for this venue. As others had suggested, what you reserve is not what you may get. We were supposed to get a delux one-bedroom unit, which was an upgraded unit only to get there and be told that there were no units left. They gave us a two-bedroom unit, which we really didn't need, and, as others had indicated, the furniture was dated and mismatched. The overall unit was dated, but clean. The hot tub was AWESOME, it worked perfectly and stayed hot!!! We did not use the fireplace, but if we wanted to we had to purchase our own log. I would say that everything worked in the unit but it was just old. This would be a good economical place for familes, if you want to have a place where you go in and out, can cook food, etc. If you want a true romantic getaway, I would say that you pay a little bit more to get the amenities you want. Regarding the overall location, the venue is sufficient, but dated. This includes the small workout room, the pool area, the playground equipment, and the restaurant. The grounds are not very flattering but, again, based on what you are willing to pay, it may be sufficient. Location to sites was convenient. There is not much to this place and a lot more to be desired. It served our purpose for a low-budget getaway but I wouldn't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The location is great in that it is very close to a lot of good restaurants and shopping, as well as the historic sites.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rockville, MD
Mar 14, 2011

Nice, but the sales pitch is huge

We stayed in an older unit, overall the accommodations were good. Small issues that didn't bother us very much. The biggest complaint I have is the sale pitch for time-share ownership when you check in. After driving for hours, we just wanted to settle in and I was really beginning to get upset they holding our parking permit hostage until we agreed to a time and day for the Diamond International Sales pitch. Very annoying at that time, we actually found the presentation interesting and something we may consider at our pace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Yorktown Pub - Short drive, great local feel. Crab Dip is excellent !!!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rockville, MD
Mar 14, 2011

Nice, but the sales pitch is huge

We stayed in an older unit, overall the accommodations were good. Small issues that didn't bother us very much. The biggest complaint I have is the sale pitch for time-share ownership when you check in. After driving for hours, we just wanted to settle in and I was really beginning to get upset they holding our parking permit hostage until we agreed to a time and day for the Diamond International Sales pitch. Very annoying at that time, we actually found the presentation interesting and something we may consider at our pace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Yorktown Pub - Short drive, great local feel. Crab Dip is excellent !!!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chesapeake, VA
Mar 1, 2011

Home away from home

This was my 5th trip to the Powhatan Resort. I love this resort and it is an incredible value. I always stay in a downstairs deluxe room which has the hot tub. It is romantic and I would recommend to anyone looking to rekindle the romance. The resort is clean, a great value, and the Hot Tub rooms are the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chesapeake, VA
Mar 1, 2011

Home away from home

This was my 5th trip to the Powhatan Resort. I love this resort and it is an incredible value. I always stay in a downstairs deluxe room which has the hot tub. It is romantic and I would recommend to anyone looking to rekindle the romance. The resort is clean, a great value, and the Hot Tub rooms are the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Feb 22, 2011

Great Trip

The condo was clean and well appointed. We were very pleased and the bed was extremely comfortable. It would have been helpful to know that logs were needed for the fireplace and it was not gas. Management did try to talk you into sitting through a sales pitch for a time share, but if you hold your ground long enough, it is a minor annoyance. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Both Dining and Shopping are a short drive away as there there is a new complex of shops close by. Restaurant Row in Williamsburg is also a short drive away.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady G.
Richmond Virginia
Feb 22, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

The kitchen setup could have been much better Only one ice tray Chair in the bedroom kept coming apart Kitchen table was looseing it's paint Over all it was nice and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close by

Back to menu Return to top