Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
387 reviews
Great resort

We love staying here when we visit Williamsburg. The resort is clean and very comfortable. See full review

  • Landon's mom
  • Aug 21, 2014
Fabulous vacation experience!

We were very impressed and plan on going back next year! The rooms were clean, kitchen was... See full review

  • Mom Who Picked a Winner
  • Aug 10, 2014
Family-friendly hotel with outdoor activities on rolling woodland acres
The Historic Powhatan Plantation dates back to 1735 when a leading architect occupied the Manor House of this former plantation. Today, the hotel recognizes that colonial spirit with classic American accommodations and a blissful setting on 250-plus wooded acres. Active travelers make full use of the multiple recreational amenities on site, including pools, basketball and tennis courts.

Highlights
  • Restored 1735 Manor House on site
  • Indoor and four outdoor pools with seasonal Cabana Bar and hot tub
  • Tennis courts, 18-hole mini golf course and bike rental available on site
  • Spacious accommodations with multiple bedrooms, balcony and loft
  • On-site activity center featuring a unique new event calendar weekly
  • Newly renovated fitness center with separate outdoor walk and jog track
  • General store
  • Full kitchens and washers and dryers in most rooms
  • Casual dining at the Powhatan Grill
  • Pavilion rentals available with a maximum occupancy of 120
  • In-house Coffee House coming soon

Rooms
A variety of layouts accommodate even the largest of groups, with some options boasting as many as four bedrooms. Some rooms showcase traditional American style and come furnished with fireplace and full kitchen that allows guests to save on dining expenses. Washers and dryers complete the residential feel.

Recreation

The Historic Powhatan Plantation is set on 256 rolling wooded acres. The resort brims with colonial charm, starting with the Powhatan Plantation's Manor House that was once the home of the area's leading architect Richard Taliaferro. Guests can spend considerable time outside at the tennis, racquetball and basketball courts and the 18-hole mini golf course. Visitors can also enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.9 mi/41.7 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.6 mi/62.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (3.9  mi/6.4 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Water Country USA  (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (51.5 mi/82.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (38.1 mi/61.4 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a major credit card for deposits. No cash or debit cards are allowed. The hotel will authorize a $100 deposit that will be returned when the room has been inspected and no damage has been done or items are missing.
  • The property does not have daily maid service.
  • Pets are not allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (387)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
387 out of 387
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 26, 2010

Nice place for a family reunion.

This condo was close to Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown and Busch Gardens. The rooms were good sized and provided what was needed. The rooms were nice, but not updated. The decks looked like it needed to stained and the garbage disposal did not work. Overall it was a great place to meet for a family vacation with lots of things to do right in the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very convenient to all the local attractions.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dawn happy camper
lynchburg,va
Jun 25, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

my daughters i and i really enjoyed our stay staff was friendly and the room was better than i was expecting will and have recommended this resort to friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
quick vaction takers
ambler, pa
Jun 24, 2010

" quick getaway"

didn't really do much at the hotel just to sleep. spend most of the time at all the attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

bush gardens

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Waldorf, MD
Jun 21, 2010

The Historic Powhatan Plantation

We ate and rested. The facility could use some more modern fixtures like a flat screen television. The wood decking needs to be repainted or changed to a maintenance free etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cirrus
Washington, DC
Jun 21, 2010

Depends why you're going.

[...]they found a 2 bedroom suite for us and the decor looked original to 1984. It was relatively clean, but could have been cleaner. To get our parking passes we had to go across the hotel lobby to the very rude and obnoxious employees who tried to sell us on sitting in on the timeshare sales pitch. We were here 2 years ago and sat in on the pitch and we politely, at first, told her we were not interested and she was very persistent and rude. We became irritated and just walked away. After the hassle in the lobby, between our room and timeshare salesman, we were able to get to our room 45 min behind schedule. I'm glad we didn't have to interact with the employees at the lobby for the rest of our trip.It's a great location and good value for a family. The pool is good and they have an 18 and over section, which is wonderful after a long day with the family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a grocery store across the street. Stop there and stock up on goodies and eat at home to save $.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shawn Hutch
Eure, NC
Jun 13, 2010

NIce trip

The rooms where nice and the location was great. The rooms where clean in the "major" areas but lacked dusting and cleaning in the corners and around the base boards, one of the rooms had cob-webs in the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skippyrah
Chesapeake, VA
Jun 7, 2010

Weekend at the Powhatan

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary weekend and were very impressed with the size of the rooms and the amenities. As we stayed, we did find a few problems (there were many ants, the air conditioning was not working very efficiently, they had cleaned out the coffee maker itself with very heavy cleaning products causing the coffee to become overly soapy, and the cabinets were almost all broken). It may seem like a long list but all in all it was a very good stay. There were many activities to do or not do, the pools were beautiful, the personal spas were amazing, and the staff was very helpful with the few problems we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Colonial williamsburg is just a little drive away and is a great place to walk with a loved one or experience with little ones. There are many shops and restaurants and all have the authentic feel to them.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
ky
Jun 7, 2010

great price, nice accomodations

Very nice. Disappointed, did not realize it was a condo and there was a sales pitch involved. Condo was super nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Jun 7, 2010

Memorial Day

We've always stayed at the Powhatan and each time is as good as the last (knock on wood). Our rooms are very clean, the place is guarded and safe, really don't have anything to complain about except there seems to be a lot of geese droppings on the premises, rather difficult to enjoy a walk at night. We all had to wash our shoes outside before entering our rooms. But besides that, all was well. We'll go back in July.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Powhatan Plantation is far enough from the loud, busy sections of Richmond Road and Colonial area, but only about a 5-min drive to it all.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barbie K
Bloomfield, NJ
Jun 1, 2010

Fantastic Family Getaway location

Excellent spot close to Williamsburg. Great rooms with plenty of room to socialize with family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make reservations ahead of time if possible

Back to menu Return to top