Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
369 reviews
Best place in Williamsburg!

I always stay at Powhatan resort when we go to Williamsburg (at least 3 times/year)! The rooms are... See full review

  • Popop Bob
  • Apr 1, 2014
country setting and peaceful accomodations

Condo was spacious and comfortable, with every convenience. Made several meals to enjoy with... See full review

  • psych Bob
  • Jun 30, 2013
Family-friendly hotel with outdoor activities on rolling woodland acres
The Historic Powhatan Plantation dates back to 1735 when a leading architect occupied the Manor House of this former plantation. Today, the hotel recognizes that colonial spirit with classic American accommodations and a blissful setting on 250-plus wooded acres. Active travelers make full use of the multiple recreational amenities on site, including pools, basketball and tennis courts.

Highlights
  • Restored 1735 Manor House on site
  • Indoor and four outdoor pools with seasonal Cabana Bar and hot tub
  • Tennis courts, 18-hole mini golf course and bike rental available on site
  • Spacious accommodations with multiple bedrooms, balcony and loft
  • On-site activity center featuring a unique new event calendar weekly
  • Newly renovated fitness center with separate outdoor walk and jog track
  • General store
  • Full kitchens and washers and dryers in most rooms
  • Casual dining at the Powhatan Grill
  • Pavilion rentals available with a maximum occupancy of 120
  • In-house Coffee House coming soon

Rooms
A variety of layouts accommodate even the largest of groups, with some options boasting as many as four bedrooms. Some rooms showcase traditional American style and come furnished with fireplace and full kitchen that allows guests to save on dining expenses. Washers and dryers complete the residential feel.

Recreation

The Historic Powhatan Plantation is set on 256 rolling wooded acres. The resort brims with colonial charm, starting with the Powhatan Plantation's Manor House that was once the home of the area's leading architect Richard Taliaferro. Guests can spend considerable time outside at the tennis, racquetball and basketball courts and the 18-hole mini golf course. Visitors can also enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.9 mi/41.7 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.6 mi/62.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (3.9  mi/6.4 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Water Country USA  (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (51.5 mi/82.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (38.1 mi/61.4 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a major credit card for deposits. No cash or debit cards are allowed. The hotel will authorize a $100 deposit that will be returned when the room has been inspected and no damage has been done or items are missing.
  • The property does not have daily maid service.
  • Pets are not allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (369)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
369 out of 369
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Apr 27, 2010

Excellent stay

The hotel/resort was very easy to find. It was in a great location. Accessible to everything within a few miles. The staff was very nice and knowledgable. A little disappointed that I didn't have a jacuzzi in my room, but made the best out of my stay. The rooms were spacious, clean,and it had all the comforts of home without the noise. I would definately stay there again and refer my friends there as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The outlets are awesome. You will find everything and then some. The dining was also excellent. Customer Service at its greatest everywhere we dined.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Pgh, PA
Apr 26, 2010

Beautiful plantation setting

We stayed on the top floor of the townhouse which was huge. Two bedrooms, fireplace, 2 full bathrooms, kitchen and private deck. I think if you were on the bottom floor it may be a bit loud. I spoke with one couple who said they asked to be moved since they could hear everything that was happening above them. The grounds were beautiful and well landscaped. Very nice outdoor and indoor pool. The only negative is that after you check in your are asked to pick up your parking pass---Be Aware---You are then speaking with a timeshare sales person

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Boynton Beach, Fl
Apr 26, 2010

Interesting location

Location and layout were unusual and beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Moosup, CT
Apr 21, 2010

Historic Powhatan Plantation

We really enjoyed ourselves, we were a little taken a-back by the prices at the restaurant for the amount of food we received, it really wasnt worth it. As far as the place itself, we were plesantly surprised, we were expecting a room with a bed and a bathroom, this was an entire suite. Two bedrooms, a living area two full baths and a kitchenette with a built in washer/dryer. The Pool area was really nice, but not as quiet as we would have liked, many families were there enjoying their vacations. It is a great place for families, and nice for couples. It was close to many area attractions, I wish we had had more time to enjoy all the attractions. our vacation was very memorable, thanks so much. Laura Pelletier

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Sanford, NC
Apr 20, 2010

it has been better

We have stayed here before and it has always been great. This time we still had a great time however we were disappointed with the maintenance. They scheduled a routine filter change during our stay. I felt like that was a little rude, however we told the guy to come back in an hour or 2 and asked him to fill up our hot tub while he was there. We came back a few hours later to our unit door wide open! Nothing had been taken (except a few doughnuts!!!!) but everything could've been stolen! I felt like the staff would've been apologetic but they acted like it was a simple mistake!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definately order pizza from the Jamestown Pie Company! It was incredible! We also ate at the Powhatan Grille and I had the Mushroom Ravioli and it was the best I've ever had!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
My hotel for baltimore visits.
Richmond Virginia
Apr 19, 2010

Great location, very nice hotel.

Hotel was very nice and clean. Grounds were very well kept. Staff was very friendly. Room was large and romantic. We enjoyed the privacy. However, we could hear the people above us walking around, very loud. Otherwise would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two dinning areas on the property. One was formal and cozy. Also had a store on the property.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Frankiep
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 19, 2010

Unbeatable price

The room itself was spotless and allot larger then I had expected for the price. Also its very close to vacation hotspots such as colonial williamsburg and bush gardens

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
ilovemickey
New Jersey
Apr 18, 2010

adorable resort!

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Powhatan for a week getaway to Colonial Williamsburg. The resort itself was adorable, like a mini-neighborhood with beautiful scenery. There's quite a lot of space you can walk outside and enjoy the building structure (a Manor House), a pond/lake (?), flowers/trees, and geese (LOL). Our room was very tidy and cute, we definitely got MORE than what we paid for ;-). It had 2 bedrooms (1 queen bed, 2 twin beds), we didn't use the smaller one. The HOT TUB (not whirlpool tub) was extremely over-chlorinated for my sensitive girlfriend but I was unaffected - otherwise very enjoyable. If chlorine doesn't bother you then don't worry about it. There were a few little ants near that area but the hot tub has a separate room attached to the master room so what do you expect? Nothing dangerous or gross enough to ruin the experience. Note: the wood for the fireplace in the "living room" is only provided in winter and fall. It looked lovely either way. The blinds in our room broke so we just closed the curtains instead - staff was very understanding when we informed them (but we didn't stick around to get it fixed). We also inquired about late check-out and was granted the wish which was very nice and helpful! Location-wise it was about 10 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg and an even shorter distance to the stores. Definitely a great getaway and a great time of year (minus the pollen everywhere) - both check-in and express check-out was a breeze - we didn't even hear any neighbors. :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

For vegetarian and organic alternatives shop at Farm Fresh Supermarket - 3 to 5 minute distance from the resort. Very wide selection and even has a RedBox to use in the room's DVD player ;-).

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Virginia
Apr 17, 2010

trip

The accommodations were wonderful. I will book this place again:o)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Towne Center is a wonderful shopping option that includes a great movie theater.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
rocket 3 traveler
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 17, 2010

Great for the Rate

The unit I was in was pretty much what I had stayed in before. If you are wanting to cook a lot, the kitchen is electric and there is not an oven. Do not plan on making some large dinner, it is fine for small meals. For the business traveler it is nice for a change of pace of hotel rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Good grocery store and wine store one mile from resort. Starbucks even closer.

Back to menu Return to top