Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
394 reviews
Always a pleasure!

This is the seventh time we've stayed here. I love it and it doesn't get any better for the price!... See full review

  • Darren13
  • Oct 23, 2014
Great resort

We love staying here when we visit Williamsburg. The resort is clean and very comfortable. See full review

  • Landon's mom
  • Aug 21, 2014
Family-friendly hotel with outdoor activities on rolling woodland acres
The Historic Powhatan Plantation dates back to 1735 when a leading architect occupied the Manor House of this former plantation. Today, the hotel recognizes that colonial spirit with classic American accommodations and a blissful setting on 250-plus wooded acres. Active travelers make full use of the multiple recreational amenities on site, including pools, basketball and tennis courts.

Highlights
  • Restored 1735 Manor House on site
  • Indoor and four outdoor pools with seasonal Cabana Bar and hot tub
  • Tennis courts, 18-hole mini golf course and bike rental available on site
  • Spacious accommodations with multiple bedrooms, balcony and loft
  • On-site activity center featuring a unique new event calendar weekly
  • Newly renovated fitness center with separate outdoor walk and jog track
  • General store
  • Full kitchens and washers and dryers in most rooms
  • Casual dining at the Powhatan Grill
  • Pavilion rentals available with a maximum occupancy of 120
  • In-house Coffee House coming soon

Rooms
A variety of layouts accommodate even the largest of groups, with some options boasting as many as four bedrooms. Some rooms showcase traditional American style and come furnished with fireplace and full kitchen that allows guests to save on dining expenses. Washers and dryers complete the residential feel.

Recreation

The Historic Powhatan Plantation is set on 256 rolling wooded acres. The resort brims with colonial charm, starting with the Powhatan Plantation's Manor House that was once the home of the area's leading architect Richard Taliaferro. Guests can spend considerable time outside at the tennis, racquetball and basketball courts and the 18-hole mini golf course. Visitors can also enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.9 mi/41.7 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.6 mi/62.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (3.9  mi/6.4 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Water Country USA  (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (51.5 mi/82.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (38.1 mi/61.4 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a major credit card for deposits. No cash or debit cards are allowed. The hotel will authorize a $100 deposit that will be returned when the room has been inspected and no damage has been done or items are missing.
  • The property does not have daily maid service.
  • Pets are not allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (394)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
394 out of 394
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hawkhead
Business
mt.holly,nj
Aug 31, 2010

good family getaway

our experience was good but for the keys. every time we went to use them they would not work we would take them to the front desk and they would think we did something to them. finally they sent someone to change the locks on the door which was the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Virginia
Aug 23, 2010

Okay but not great

This property is a condo resort that does vacation exchanges as well as rent condos. We stayed there in 1993, and in August 2010. We rented a two bedroom downstairs condo with a hot tub. Our two grown children stayed with us. The on-site restaurant was overpriced, and the landscaping had really deteriorated. The hot tub room smelled musty. But the location was great, having a full kitchen was terrific, and the hot tub was quite useful after a long day walking around Busch Gardens. To get your parking permit, you have to see the concierge. Of course, they spent time trying to set up an appointment for us to see the resort sales people. It took saying no several times before they got the message and handed over the parking permit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Grill was overpriced for pasta, but the servers were friendly.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Collegeville, PA
Aug 17, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

Rooms were ok. Furniture was a bit uncomfortable. Instruction on what to do if. Or what was your responsibility and what was the hotels responsibility was very unclear. You check in at one desk but then have to go to another desk for your parking pass. There they try and sign you up for a time share seminar and offer you rewards for sitting in on the seminar. We tried to actually attend the seminar but since we only use Visa Debit and don't actually have a regular credit card we weren't eligible. Our hot tub was cold when we arrived. After 24 hours it had only gone up a few degrees. We asked at the desk if this was normal and was told it should have reached temp. with in 4 to 6 hrs. No instruction on this was made available. We had to call Maintenance for service. It took a few hours but they finally came and fixed the problem. With in a few hours it reach the proper temperature. Their restaurants were a bit pricey. There are many store very close to the resort and Bush Gardens is only 7 miles away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Stores are with in a few miles. Most likely you'll pass the shopping ctr. before arriving at the resort including a Shell service station which was about 10 cents a gal cheaper then what gas is being sold for in PA.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacation Loving Dad
Business
DC Area
Aug 13, 2010

Great Family Getaway

had not visited here in over 8 years so i wasn't quite sure what to expect. Rooms were nice including bathroom and kitchen. Very spacious. Great location, near all the attractions as well as a convenient shopping location including grocery shopping fast food and a Target.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Three friends and two kids
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Aug 10, 2010

Great staff and accommodations!

We were very pleased with the accommodations, the staff, the activities, and the location is prime. The mini golf course was fabulous, but needs some updating. The unit was very nice and contained everything we needed to feel comfortable. It was very kid-friendly, and wireless internet was available through AT&T for a fee of $6.95 a day or $19.95 for a package. We were very pleased at the prompt arrival of service staff when needed, the spacious rooms, and the overall views and comfort. This is a great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Electric Eye
Business
Solomons Md
Jul 20, 2010

Time Share Pressure

Stayed at this condo unit with 6 people. Plenty of room and nice full kitchen. Comfortable beds and freindly staff. Only down side is the constant pressure to buy into the time share there. If you can be strong and say no to them every time and unplug the phone its a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
springfield, ohio
Jul 10, 2010

convenient, but not well cared for

We visited williamsburg. The pool was great. The ovarall care of the property has gone down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Chef's Kitchen. It was a wonderful experience! I would have problems reccomending this to a freind because the property has declined.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
D.C.
Jul 7, 2010

So much better than a hotel!

We spent an extended weekend here with 4 children. Price was good compared to the typical hotels that could accomodate a family of our size. We were happily surprised with the roominess of our accomodations. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, top floor unit which included a king/full bath in one room, a queen/full bath in another room, and a queen pull out sofa. There was a full kitchen (not just a kitchenette) stocked with everything we needed to cook, clean, drink...just add food! TV in living room and a bedroom. All rooms (including the bathrooms) were nicely sized. Didn't feel like we were on top of one another unlike your usual hotel. Entrance was private (didn't even see our neighbors) and it was all very quiet. The amenities for the resort were nice even though we didn't leave much time to enjoy them, except the pool. Only down side was when we checked in we had to go to another desk to get the parking pass. This is where they tried to get us to set up an "appointment" time to go through their marketing spiel on buying a timeshare. This at 10 pm with 4 very tired kids and one cranky husband after driving. We just wanted to get our room key and get to bed. And even after I said we were not interested, they did continue to call our room multiple times throughout the weekend to try to get us to change our mind to come sit down with them for this appointment. We did consider going because its actually a very nice place, but we just didn't have the time or energy to sit through one of those things (again with 4 kids!). Maybe next time? Will definitely consider our stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you can hold out making a reservation, try to wait closer to your date. I think places tend to advertise specials when they have open units a couple of weeks out so that they can fill them.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kelly_lynn85
Business
Bel Air, MD
Jun 29, 2010

Powhatan Plantation

Great hotel/condo for price. Clean and roomy. Close to Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. No housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 26, 2010

Nice place for a family reunion.

This condo was close to Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown and Busch Gardens. The rooms were good sized and provided what was needed. The rooms were nice, but not updated. The decks looked like it needed to stained and the garbage disposal did not work. Overall it was a great place to meet for a family vacation with lots of things to do right in the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very convenient to all the local attractions.

Back to menu Return to top