Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
View map of 3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
408 out of 408
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colonial Heights, VA
Nov 3, 2010

Absolutely beautiful

The grounds are beautiful, expecially in the early morning hours when there was a bit of fog and crisp clean air (we went the end of Oct). We had several choices of places to eat. We also visited Bush Gardens which was very close by. Our rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. We will make plans to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 19, 2010

Great experience

This is my second stay at the Powhatan Plantation. I love that fact that is a condo rather than a hotel. Our unit had 2 bedrooms and 2 baths, a full kitchen, dining area, and living room. There are also 1 bedroom units, but we needed the larger room since we had 5 adults. We had plenty of room to move around and not get in each other's way. The location is convenient to all of the restaurants and shopping in Williamsburg, Jamestown, and, our favorite, Yorktown. One thing to consider is that there is no daily maid service. This was not a problem for us since we did not mind cleaning up after ourselves, including laundering our own towels - and it is one of the reasons the room was so affordable. But, if you mind this while on vacation, then you might want to stay elsewhere. We also love the fact that we had a full kitchen as we all love to cook. We made our own breakfast every morning, and some days we also had lunch there. We would definitely stay here again and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for an economical vacation and/or a large group vacation. We had very little reason to interact with the staff, but when did have a few issues, they were quickly and satisfactorily resolved. Overall, it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Annandale, VA
Oct 12, 2010

What a deal!

We got this condo at a great price and were very happy with it. It is close to Colonial Williamsburg and Jamestown. Very spacious accomodations, clean, and quiet at night. A few quibbles. The fitness center seemed small for a resort that has over eight hundred units, the outdoor pools were not heated and the TVs were the old tube type with somewhat poor reception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a mall with a Martin's grocery store a mile away.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
S. Riding VA
Oct 12, 2010

Nice Surprise

Nice and spacious two bedroom, two bath suite. Very nice setting. The carpeting was worn and the furniture was dated however, it is a great value for the price! The check-in process was lengthly but the attempt to get us to buy into the time share was not excessive. We would stay here again and would recommend to friends with caveats. It is a time share so they don't clean the rooms daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of great places to eat within 5-10 minutes driving time. Busch Gardens is about a 15 minute drive.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, Va.
Oct 10, 2010

Not like my last trip

My previous stay at the Powatan was remarkable. Clean, up to date furniture. Felt like a five star hotel. This visit I guess we were in the old section. Mismatched furnishings, very dated, the balcony needed to be pressure washed and had nails sticking up. The paint peeling off railing. It was still nicer than staying in a hotel. Quiet peaceful surroundings. The staff very accommadating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Oct 10, 2010

Good Family Getaway

It was a very economical place to stay for 2 families sharing a 2 bedroom. Great for small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
History Buff Family
Business
Eastview, Ky
Oct 8, 2010

Great getaway!!!

Great Resort! Activities on site for kids and close to anything in the historic triangle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the Ghost walk tour of Colonial Williamsburg. Tickets are on sale at the Genereal Store on Richmond Road.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
selbyville de
Oct 2, 2010

one night wonder

The place was great and we would stay again-- the main bedroom had a leaky roof during the rainstorm and lousd enough and constant that couldn't sleep there--slept in the loft. Food was great at the the Grille and the entertainment was very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Sep 28, 2010

Just Loved this place

This was an overall wonderful trip. The room was very comfortable and peaceful. We really did some serious shopping and dining while there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
west palm beach, fl
Sep 26, 2010

great place,close to Williamsburg

close to Colonial Williamsburg, beautiful resort. front desk staff not friendly at both check in and check out. had to wait over an hour to check in [...]. we didnt get to our room until 1230am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top