Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
View map of 3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Oct 10, 2010

Good Family Getaway

It was a very economical place to stay for 2 families sharing a 2 bedroom. Great for small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
History Buff Family
Business
Eastview, Ky
Oct 8, 2010

Great getaway!!!

Great Resort! Activities on site for kids and close to anything in the historic triangle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the Ghost walk tour of Colonial Williamsburg. Tickets are on sale at the Genereal Store on Richmond Road.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
selbyville de
Oct 2, 2010

one night wonder

The place was great and we would stay again-- the main bedroom had a leaky roof during the rainstorm and lousd enough and constant that couldn't sleep there--slept in the loft. Food was great at the the Grille and the entertainment was very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Sep 28, 2010

Just Loved this place

This was an overall wonderful trip. The room was very comfortable and peaceful. We really did some serious shopping and dining while there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
west palm beach, fl
Sep 26, 2010

great place,close to Williamsburg

close to Colonial Williamsburg, beautiful resort. front desk staff not friendly at both check in and check out. had to wait over an hour to check in [...]. we didnt get to our room until 1230am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dougy knows best
Business
p.f.maryland
Sep 25, 2010

exsalent place to stay

unexspected exsalance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nearby Traveller
Business
Easton, MD
Sep 20, 2010

Maintenance Less Than Responsive

This hotel is in an ideal location and the rooms are wonderful. We had a two bedroom with a large jacuzzi tub. We were within walking distance of the 2 outdoor and 1 indoor pool, fitness center and sauna. On day one, though, our icemaker broke. Maintenace didn't fix it until day 4. On day 3 our jacuzzi tub broke and it took them an entire day before they responded to provide a 20 minute fix. Maintenance took way too long to respond and then would only provide 4 hour windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Chophouse Steak Restaurant on Richmond Road, whatever you do!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hawkhead
Business
mt.holly,nj
Aug 31, 2010

good family getaway

our experience was good but for the keys. every time we went to use them they would not work we would take them to the front desk and they would think we did something to them. finally they sent someone to change the locks on the door which was the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Virginia
Aug 23, 2010

Okay but not great

This property is a condo resort that does vacation exchanges as well as rent condos. We stayed there in 1993, and in August 2010. We rented a two bedroom downstairs condo with a hot tub. Our two grown children stayed with us. The on-site restaurant was overpriced, and the landscaping had really deteriorated. The hot tub room smelled musty. But the location was great, having a full kitchen was terrific, and the hot tub was quite useful after a long day walking around Busch Gardens. To get your parking permit, you have to see the concierge. Of course, they spent time trying to set up an appointment for us to see the resort sales people. It took saying no several times before they got the message and handed over the parking permit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Grill was overpriced for pasta, but the servers were friendly.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Collegeville, PA
Aug 17, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

Rooms were ok. Furniture was a bit uncomfortable. Instruction on what to do if. Or what was your responsibility and what was the hotels responsibility was very unclear. You check in at one desk but then have to go to another desk for your parking pass. There they try and sign you up for a time share seminar and offer you rewards for sitting in on the seminar. We tried to actually attend the seminar but since we only use Visa Debit and don't actually have a regular credit card we weren't eligible. Our hot tub was cold when we arrived. After 24 hours it had only gone up a few degrees. We asked at the desk if this was normal and was told it should have reached temp. with in 4 to 6 hrs. No instruction on this was made available. We had to call Maintenance for service. It took a few hours but they finally came and fixed the problem. With in a few hours it reach the proper temperature. Their restaurants were a bit pricey. There are many store very close to the resort and Bush Gardens is only 7 miles away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Stores are with in a few miles. Most likely you'll pass the shopping ctr. before arriving at the resort including a Shell service station which was about 10 cents a gal cheaper then what gas is being sold for in PA.

Back to menu Return to top