Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
389 reviews
Great resort

We love staying here when we visit Williamsburg. The resort is clean and very comfortable. See full review

  • Landon's mom
  • Aug 21, 2014
Fabulous vacation experience!

We were very impressed and plan on going back next year! The rooms were clean, kitchen was... See full review

  • Mom Who Picked a Winner
  • Aug 10, 2014
Family-friendly hotel with outdoor activities on rolling woodland acres
The Historic Powhatan Plantation dates back to 1735 when a leading architect occupied the Manor House of this former plantation. Today, the hotel recognizes that colonial spirit with classic American accommodations and a blissful setting on 250-plus wooded acres. Active travelers make full use of the multiple recreational amenities on site, including pools, basketball and tennis courts.

Highlights
  • Restored 1735 Manor House on site
  • Indoor and four outdoor pools with seasonal Cabana Bar and hot tub
  • Tennis courts, 18-hole mini golf course and bike rental available on site
  • Spacious accommodations with multiple bedrooms, balcony and loft
  • On-site activity center featuring a unique new event calendar weekly
  • Newly renovated fitness center with separate outdoor walk and jog track
  • General store
  • Full kitchens and washers and dryers in most rooms
  • Casual dining at the Powhatan Grill
  • Pavilion rentals available with a maximum occupancy of 120
  • In-house Coffee House coming soon

Rooms
A variety of layouts accommodate even the largest of groups, with some options boasting as many as four bedrooms. Some rooms showcase traditional American style and come furnished with fireplace and full kitchen that allows guests to save on dining expenses. Washers and dryers complete the residential feel.

Recreation

The Historic Powhatan Plantation is set on 256 rolling wooded acres. The resort brims with colonial charm, starting with the Powhatan Plantation's Manor House that was once the home of the area's leading architect Richard Taliaferro. Guests can spend considerable time outside at the tennis, racquetball and basketball courts and the 18-hole mini golf course. Visitors can also enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.9 mi/41.7 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.6 mi/62.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (3.9  mi/6.4 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Water Country USA  (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (51.5 mi/82.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (38.1 mi/61.4 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a major credit card for deposits. No cash or debit cards are allowed. The hotel will authorize a $100 deposit that will be returned when the room has been inspected and no damage has been done or items are missing.
  • The property does not have daily maid service.
  • Pets are not allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (389)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
389 out of 389
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dadplus2
Long Island, New York, USA
Apr 29, 2012

Pleasantly Surprised

Just like a big beautiful apartment, Full kitchen with everything you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tlday13
Columbia, Maryland
Aug 24, 2014

Family fun

Check-in is at 4pm and was quick, the staff courteous and welcoming. Our children enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pools while mom and dad enjoyed the hot tub/spa. The fitness center was small, but well equipped (3 treadmills, 1 arc trainer, 1 elliptical, and one recumbant stationary bike, as well as free weights. Reasonable driving distance from Busch Gardens and other Williamsburg attractions. Checkout was by 10 am and was quick. We attended the timeshare sell/seminar and they did go a bit over the promised 90 min timeframe, but they also did accept our "no" when it was given (on the second refusal).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Landon's mom
Outer Banks, NC
Aug 21, 2014

Great resort

We love staying here when we visit Williamsburg. The resort is clean and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a huge playground down from the resort that all the kids love.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom Who Picked a Winner
Long Island, NY
Aug 10, 2014

Fabulous vacation experience!

We were very impressed and plan on going back next year! The rooms were clean, kitchen was well-stocked with cooking supplies, tableware, toaster, coffee maker, ice maker, washer-dryer... you name it! The grounds were beautiful and well-groomed, pool was perfect. (There was even an "over 18" pool!) Grocery shopping was nearby, and the close proximity to Busch Gardens, Water Country USA and Colonial Williamsburg made multiple visits to attractions easy and enjoyable! We had an amazing vacation! Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat first, bring snacks to Busch Gardens, dining in the park is overpriced!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
W and M Mom
Colorado
Aug 5, 2014

great bang for your buck

Best deal in Williamsburg for the money! It requires driving to CW, but when you get back to Powhatan it is like being at a resort, not a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Winky
Virginia Beach, Va
Aug 2, 2014

shopping outlets and dining favorite restaurants

Good....Have stayed at the Powhatan many times, but this is the first time we had to pay a resort fee, even though we did not use the Wi-Fi, the pools, just wanted to shop and dine. We enjoy the location . Also, wondered about the swan was not there this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Time321
Charlottesville, VA
Aug 1, 2014

Excellent Value

Rooms are clean, if sometimes outdated (depends on the unit you are put in). Beds are super comfortable, kids love the pools. Not the closest to attractions, but the space you get and amenities make it worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Duck Donuts is just around the corner. Always have to go there when we visit Williamsburg!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kerls
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 26, 2014

Great vacation!!!

Great place for a family vacation, we all had a great time and we're planing to go back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Williamsburg outlet mall...

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanfy
Maryland
Jul 19, 2014

really great deal

This hotel was perfect for the money. A really great value. The room was comfortable and the manor house was really cute. Loved the ghost tour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jordan's dad
Dundalk, Md
Jul 15, 2014

great place to stay

great place and price for this area. the room was really nice and the resort was great. huge pool with different sections for small children, larger children, family and an adult only pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kitty Kat 007
Towson, Maryland
Jul 13, 2014

Need upgrade on staff and applicances

We booked our stay on a travel website, which stated check-in was at 1pm. However, after arriving at the resort at 12:30pm the receptionist stated check in was at 4pm and there are no rooms available. After sitting in the hot car for about ½ hour, I decided to go back to the office and show her the printed reservation that stated check-in was at 1pm, suddenly there was a room available. This lead me to believe that rooms were available but she was choosing not to give me and my family a room until 4pm. Although, we enjoyed ourselves at the resort because of the treatment we received from the receptionist at check-in, we listed this as a no return location. The hot tub needed more chlorine the water was cloudy and unit we stayed in refrigerator did get very cold. The ice maker made about 15 ice cubes during a four days stay. I would only recommend this resort to family and friends if the check-in staff has been retrained in customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top