Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: Apr 29, 2014

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
369 reviews
Best place in Williamsburg!

I always stay at Powhatan resort when we go to Williamsburg (at least 3 times/year)! The rooms are... See full review

  • Popop Bob
  • Apr 1, 2014
country setting and peaceful accomodations

Condo was spacious and comfortable, with every convenience. Made several meals to enjoy with... See full review

  • psych Bob
  • Jun 30, 2013
Family-friendly hotel with outdoor activities on rolling woodland acres
The Historic Powhatan Plantation dates back to 1735 when a leading architect occupied the Manor House of this former plantation. Today, the hotel recognizes that colonial spirit with classic American accommodations and a blissful setting on 250-plus wooded acres. Active travelers make full use of the multiple recreational amenities on site, including pools, basketball and tennis courts.

Highlights
  • Restored 1735 Manor House on site
  • Indoor and four outdoor pools with seasonal Cabana Bar and hot tub
  • Tennis courts, 18-hole mini golf course and bike rental available on site
  • Spacious accommodations with multiple bedrooms, balcony and loft
  • On-site activity center featuring a unique new event calendar weekly
  • Newly renovated fitness center with separate outdoor walk and jog track
  • General store
  • Full kitchens and washers and dryers in most rooms
  • Casual dining at the Powhatan Grill
  • Pavilion rentals available with a maximum occupancy of 120
  • In-house Coffee House coming soon

Rooms
A variety of layouts accommodate even the largest of groups, with some options boasting as many as four bedrooms. Some rooms showcase traditional American style and come furnished with fireplace and full kitchen that allows guests to save on dining expenses. Washers and dryers complete the residential feel.

Recreation

The Historic Powhatan Plantation is set on 256 rolling wooded acres. The resort brims with colonial charm, starting with the Powhatan Plantation's Manor House that was once the home of the area's leading architect Richard Taliaferro. Guests can spend considerable time outside at the tennis, racquetball and basketball courts and the 18-hole mini golf course. Visitors can also enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (51.6 mi/83 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.9 mi/41.7 km)
  • Nauticus  (38.6 mi/62.2 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (38.2 mi/61.5 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (3.9  mi/6.4 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Water Country USA  (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (51.5 mi/82.9 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (52.8 mi/84.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (38.1 mi/61.4 km)
  • MacArthur Center (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a major credit card for deposits. No cash or debit cards are allowed. The hotel will authorize a $100 deposit that will be returned when the room has been inspected and no damage has been done or items are missing.
  • The property does not have daily maid service.
  • Pets are not allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (369)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
369 out of 369
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
Dadplus2
Long Island, New York, USA
Apr 29, 2012

Pleasantly Surprised

Just like a big beautiful apartment, Full kitchen with everything you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Jenn B.
R.F., Ga
Apr 2, 2014

Room for a family gathering

Powhatan offered great space for a family from two states to come together to visit their Mom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Outlet

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
Popop Bob
Waldorf, MD
Apr 1, 2014

Best place in Williamsburg!

I always stay at Powhatan resort when we go to Williamsburg (at least 3 times/year)! The rooms are big, we have all the amenities and activities right on site and we are right in the middle of the Patriot's triangle (Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown) as well as Busch Gardens and Water Country just minutes away! The huge apartment-like accommodations beat staying at any hotel. The staff is friendly and very happy to help you with anything. Have fun and relax!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss out at the Peking Restaurant, just minutes away. The BEST Chinese/Japanese/Mongolian buffet ever! VERY reasonable priced and they DO have EVERYTHING!

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
Musicman44
Richmond, VA.
Mar 3, 2014

Quick Weekend Getaway

I always love coming to this property. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. Shopping is close by, and the staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
JamieM
Indialantic, FL
Feb 11, 2014

Timeshare Property

This property is such a mixed bag I'm relaly going to have to break this down. Some things about them are AWFUL, some things are great! First off, the hotel has great activities (tours and crafting for fee, multiple things going on a day) and amenities (dvd rentals, also for a fee, huge tv in room), good location, very spacious accommodations (love the full size kitchen), decent wifi (also for a fee). The downside is that the property is under renovations and it is a timeshare. The property is also probably more fun in the summer when the outdoor sports are available. Renovations: Our "sunroom" had no furniture or heating, just an empty room with a sign on the door saying "under renovations", our deck was missing patio furniture when we arrived, there were no handles on the inside of the shower doors, the shower doors hardly worked, there were cracks around the tub, etc. The property looks worn. I'm sure it will be better after renovations, but right now it's a bit of a mess. Timeshare: First off, timeshares mean no housekeeping. Seconly, they mean being harassed by salespeople nonstop. Do yourself a favor and tell the "concierge" to put you on their Do Not Call list the FIRST time they try to call and sell you something, otherwise they'll call you over and over, multiple times a day, day after day, trying to get you to go to tours and presentations. We finally gave in and agreed to a tour, which we probably should not have done, though it did mean a free three nights in the future, which we will use. Anyway, these folks are PUSHY! Congierge: These folks are not actual concierges, they are the marketing people for the timeshare. When I asked them if I could charge activities to the room, they said yes. When I showed up at the activity center, they wanted payment there. This should have meant a half hour walk to my unit and back to get my wallet, thankfully, the girl on duty there understood that the concierges are awful and let me check out dvd's to pay for later. An actual concierge would know how the most basic activities at the resort work, these SALES PEOPLE do not. Overall: I enjoyed the crafts and the cheap price makes up for the unfinished units. (We paid $65 a night after resort fees- which are charged at the hotel- for five nights.) Having a kitchen is great and allowed us to eat in at night, saving on time and hassle. We stayed here while our RV was in the shop, and my husband works from home, so having an actual apartment was really helpful. Because of all this, we will probably go back if we need temporary housing in the area again, and definitely to use our timeshare tour 3 night freebie. But in the future, I will let them know at checkin not to call us or try to sell us anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
Luv2rn
NORFOLK, Va
Feb 7, 2014

Great Stay and definitely come back!

Great location with amazing amenities. A lot to do and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
Local Traveler 5
Williamsburg, VA
Jan 7, 2014

One night getaway

The property and accommodations were great. Could not have asked for a better value. The only issue was that the website posted a 1pm check in time and we were not able to check in until after 4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Crmi
Salem, VA
Dec 9, 2013

Stayed twice be before but this time was disappointing

It was clean but the unit really needs some maintenance. Literally half the light bulbs in the lamps did not work, there was no TV in the master bedroom, the woodwork is in serious need of tlc. My husband's pillow case had a big tear in it. I had read about this sort of thing on some of the other reviews, but had not experienced it until this time. I did not complain to the front desk as we had to leave early due to weather, and from other reviews, it doesn't sound like it would have done me any good. :( This is a time-share place so if they want to sell time shares, they should have the units in tip top condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Colonial Area :)

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Nicole loves cake
Long Island, New York
Dec 3, 2013

Annoying sales pitch - but a great value

Arrived at 12am after a long drive with two young kids and they still tried to sign us up for their ownership seminar - didn't appreciate that. First room we were given had water leak and was freezing because the back slider was open - also smelled of mildew (probably why back door was open). Went back to front desk and they had a new unit for us in 20minutes - 2nd unit was very nice had a great stay. Indoor pool was nice, grounds were well maintained. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

1
J123H456
Maryland
Nov 4, 2013

Don't Stay Here!

We stayed for a week at the "Historic Powhatan Resort," having made our reservation through Groupon. Upon checking in, we were told that we had to attend a sales presentation for their time-share "club." This was never mentioned either in the Groupon description, nor in any confirmation received after booking. Two gifts were promised for attending the sales presentation, but only one was given. A written guarantee was provided ensuring that this would take no more than 1.5 hours, but it took nearly two. I can't begin to describe all the problems with our accommodation, but the worst part was that no one cared! We brought up a number of the issues with different managers, and nothing improved. In fact, one manager told up outright that we got "unrefurbished" accommodation because we used Groupon. Staying in October, I thought they had decorated our suite for Halloween - the spider webs (and accompanying spiders) in the living room were enormous. Here is a list of some of the issues with the Powhatan suite in which we stayed: - All drains (sinks and tub) clogged; water filled as soon as faucets turned on - Extremely poor quality, small, old TVs; no TV listing either on a TV channel or in paper version - Cabinets and drawers throughout were very worn, beaten and did not close properly -The bedroom was extremely cramped; it was difficult to walk through the bedroom without bumping into the furniture (which was heavily gouged); there were very few drawers in the bedroom -The bathroom was the worst! No exhaust fan; old-fashioned, undersized fixtures; the small window would only stay open if propped; black debris was continually falling out of the ceiling vent; the cabinet was shamefully worn and had no kick plate - the concrete under the sink could be seen; the tub was worn and dirty looking; large bug in bathtub and numerous small bugs crawling on walls and floor - Only one usable mirror in the entire suite, but the bathroom mirror fogged when the shower was used, so we always had to wait to use the mirror -Outdoor patio (with cheap plastic table and chairs) was unusable due to large amount of dirt and debris falling off the roof onto the table, chairs and patio -Sliding glass door onto patio very hard to open; screen did not fit properly, leaving large open gap -Sunroom did not have a stick of furniture in it We would not stay here again even if it were free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
Crmi
Business
Salem, VA
Oct 23, 2013

Williamsburg- SBEA Conference

Hotel is clean and comfortable. There was plenty of room to spread out. Nice home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top