Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2016 Check-out: Mar 4, 2016

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
View map of 3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
19 reviews
Fun family time

Enjoyed the nice landscaping. Pool was well maintained and staffed. Rooms are a little dated. Could... See full review

  • Ed C.
  • Jul 31, 2015
Ms. Kiya

I brought my fiance for his birthday. The room could have been a little updated. The other times we... See full review

  • Super Fiancee
  • Mar 21, 2010
The land called 'Powhatan' is a colonial plantation whose heritage dates to the 18th century. In 1735, Richard Taliaferro, the area's leading architect, constructed Powhatan Plantation's Manor House as his home. Restored with painstaking attention to historical detail, the manor house is the hallmark of our beautiful resort. The resort is located on over 250 acres of land, which includes a natural wildlife setting. Surrounded by a wooded forest, open fields, water foul and 5 small lakes, Powhatan offers a general store and two restaurants for our guests convenience including The Kitchen, an award winning fine dining restaurant. Amenities include a 18-hole mini-golf course, basketball, volleyball, horseshoe pit, racquetball, tennis courts, weight room and a variety of workshops and classes for guests of all ages.
ALL of our resorts will require a Major credit card deposit. No cash or debit cards allowed. The deposit will be $100 US and shall be returned when the rooms have been inspected and no damage has been done or items are not missing. If there is damage or items missing the guest will be charged. Guests must be 21 years of age in order to book online. Check-in time is 4pm EST and Check-out time is 10am EST.
Please note that this property does not have daily maid service
No pets allowed
Resort Fee of $10.00 + tax is due at check in. Resort fee includes;WIFI, Business Center, indoor pool, Raquet ball and Boarding Pass printing
POOL CLOSURE FOR RENOVATION; Our Indoor Pool will be closed from September 8, 2014 thru October 1, 2014. The outdoor pools will remain open.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dadplus2
Family
Long Island, New York, USA
Apr 29, 2012

Pleasantly Surprised

Just like a big beautiful apartment, Full kitchen with everything you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed C.
Family
N/A
Jul 31, 2015

Fun family time

Enjoyed the nice landscaping. Pool was well maintained and staffed. Rooms are a little dated. Could use some new bathrooms. Had a good time and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Duke Girl
Family
WAKE FOREST
Jul 13, 2015

Lots of space but that's not enough.

Old, rundown and bug infested space,but there was lots of it in three story, three bedroom unit we rented for our Busch Gardens vacation. Ventilation was bad so third floor loft bedroom was almost too hot to be used and the paper covering on one of its skylights was torn so the sunlight made the space even hotter. Cobwebs and spiders,bug traps and hairs in bathrooms and kitchens. Sofa and chair cushions saggy and uncomfortable. Not a nice space. Grounds are lovely but we weren't sleeping on the grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Winky
Couples
Virginia Beach, Va
Aug 2, 2014

shopping outlets and dining favorite restaurants

Good....Have stayed at the Powhatan many times, but this is the first time we had to pay a resort fee, even though we did not use the Wi-Fi, the pools, just wanted to shop and dine. We enjoy the location . Also, wondered about the swan was not there this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marylander20876
Family
MD
May 28, 2013

average stay

units are old. check-in experience is not great because of a concierge service which tries to book sales pitch (time share) right after check-in. they ignore the fact that you came over after long travel. Kids enjoyed pools and mini golf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaiian Lounger
Family
Virginia
Feb 19, 2013

Excellent accomodations, very clean and comfortable!

One of the best hotels we have stayed in. I am very particular about cleanliness and this hotel definitely met the mark. We will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The TP Family
Family
Northern Virginia
Sep 10, 2012

A night away

The estate is really pretty. The pools (there are several) were great. Very clean. Our rooms were really well laid out. They need to be updated. There was a flat screen TV in the main room with a dvd player but the bathrooms are very dingy (due to age - very clean). For the price it was a great two bedroom. If I had paid full price I might have been disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Richmond, VA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Dated But Worth It

My stay was great! Condos are dated but they are currently making reservations. I only wished that they had put me in a newer condo. This would've definitely impressed me and possibly made me reconsider purchasing. Great value for the dollar from Cheap Tickets; personal jacuzzi was great and location was perfect. Nearby shopping and movie theater. I wish I could've stayed longer; didn't get to visit the indoor pool. Staff was great! I called about my window not locking and someone was there within 10 minutes to fix it, replace screen on sliding glass doors and reverse locks. Kudos to lead carpenter; sorry I forgot his name but I have it somewhere. Will definitely return soon for a Girls Weekend. I really enjoyed my ME TIME!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Movie Tavern at 1430 High Street. They only charge $6 before 6pm and the they bring your food to your very comfortable and spacious seat.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nancymvy
Family
Amherst NH
Nov 13, 2011

Great, with some bumps

The resort area is great, the condo was pretty good. Both toilets in the bathrooms needed work - one didn't refill for 45 minutes after being flushed, the other had handle that was broken. Upstairs loft area had literally a broken dresser drawer on the floor and one of the twin beds was so squeaky we took the mattress off the floor for our sanity. That being said, the setup was great for a family of 2 adults and 2 older teens, the location was great - very close to William & Mary and lots of things to do. Only other item -we left a piece of clothing in the dryer, called within 16 hours of checking out, nobody else had checked in to the unit so obviously a staff member took the item for their own. We know it was our fault that we left it but with nobody else having gone into the unit we were surprised it was no longer in the dryer. Would stay again for sure, would just check room over thoroughly first and make sure everything was in working order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2kitty
Couples
Manassas, VA, USA
Oct 31, 2011

beware of sales pitch

The accomodations were super for privacy. They are condos. However this is actually a front for Diamond Resorts, which is a time share concept. They "invited" us to a "presentation" of their company. they gave us a brochure that promised in writing that it wouldn't take more than 90 minutes and it specifically stated that no high pressure sales techniques would be used. We were there for over 4 hours. We were offered a very good deal and we were interested in their program, however we didn't want to make that big of a financial decision ($20,000) while we were on vacation. I'm not sure what they consider to be high pressure sales techniques but to me to have to make a decision literally right then and there and if I don't I would lose certain benefits. They referred to them as "membership incentives". To sign up later would cost an extra $2995 and they would not put the offer they'd quoted us in writing. Said if we came back at a later date the price might be higher. For the amount of investment they were asking for they should allow people a few days at least before making a committment. Even car dealers give people a couple of days to shop for other financing options. Diamond Resorts of course offered financing - - - - 17.9%!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great breakfast diner called the Five Forks, but get there early the wait for a table is 15 minutes and it is worth it.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Couples
Waldorf, MD
Jun 21, 2010

The Historic Powhatan Plantation

We ate and rested. The facility could use some more modern fixtures like a flat screen television. The wood decking needs to be repainted or changed to a maintenance free etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top