Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3 stars
3601 Ironbound Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
618 reviews
great place to stay

great place and price for this area. the room was really nice and the resort was great. huge pool... See full review

  • Jordan's dad
  • Jul 15, 2014
Very Nice

The rooms were clean and appeared to be very modern, possibly remodeled recently. The staff was... See full review

  • arnoldz1
  • Jun 26, 2014
The land called 'Powhatan' is a colonial plantation whose heritage dates to the 18th century. In 1735, Richard Taliaferro, the area's leading architect, constructed Powhatan Plantation's Manor House as his home. Restored with painstaking attention to historical detail, the manor house is the hallmark of our beautiful resort. The resort is located on over 250 acres of land, which includes a natural wildlife setting. Surrounded by a wooded forest, open fields, water foul and 5 small lakes, Powhatan offers a general store and two restaurants for our guests convenience including The Kitchen, an award winning fine dining restaurant. Amenities include a 18-hole mini-golf course, basketball, volleyball, horseshoe pit, racquetball, tennis courts, weight room and a variety of workshops and classes for guests of all ages.
ALL of our resorts will require a Major credit card deposit. No cash or debit cards allowed. The deposit will be $100 US and shall be returned when the rooms have been inspected and no damage has been done or items are not missing. If there is damage or items missing the guest will be charged. Guests must be 21 years of age in order to book online. Check-in time is 4pm EST and Check-out time is 10am EST.
Please note that this property does not have daily maid service
No pets allowed
Resort Fee of $10.00 + tax is due at check in. Resort fee includes;WIFI, Business Center, indoor pool, Raquet ball and Boarding Pass printing

The Historic Powhatan Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite-downstairs includes free parking
Ground floor unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and one queen size sleeper sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, patio, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit. They feature a fireplace in the living room.
2 Bedroom Upstairs includes free parking
Our two-bedroom accommodations offer one king bed in the master bedroom and one queen-sized sleeper sofa in the living room. The second bedroom has one queen bed. Most accommodations have fully equipped kitchens; some offer in-counter hot plate and convection oven (no stove). All accommodations feature deck and fireplace, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and two baths. All two-bedroom accommodations have two cable TVs with one DVD, voicemail and a washer/dryer in each accommodation.
2 Bedroom Downstairs includes free parking
First floor two-bedroom accommodation with fireplace, full kitchen, two bathrooms, king bed in master and twin beds in guest bedroom.
One Bedroom Loft-upstairs includes free parking
Upstairs unit 800 square foot unit features one queen size bed and 2 twin beds, a fully equipped partial kitchen and full bath. All one bedroom units have cable TV, DVD, voicemail answering machine and washer and dryer in each unit.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Powhatan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.2629 -76.7621
Area served
Williamsburg, Virginia
Nearby airports
Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport - 25 miles, Richmond International Airport - 50 miles, Norfolk International Airport - 50 miles
Area description
Centrally located in Williamsburg within a couple of miles of the business district, near attractions, shopping and restaurants.

Dining

The Powhatan Bar & Grille
Casual fare specializing in home style cooking in a family friendly environment. Breakfast and Dinner will be served daily and lunch Friday through Sunday only.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast. 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
Friday - Sunday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am Breakfast, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Lunch, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dinner.
The Kitchen at Powhatan
Fine dining with contemporary American and International cuisines. The menus change frequently using many local and seasonal products during their peak. The kitchen's own garden is adjacent to the restaurant and provides many herbs and vegetables. Game and seafood are the specialties of the house. Extensive wine list has selections from the US and Europe including many Virginia wines, serves dinner only. Reservations Recommended(757.253.7893). Open Friday, Saturday & Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm
The Garden at Powhatan
Relax and enjoy light fare, appetizers, and your favorite cool beverage on our new outdoor patio overlooking the pond. Open Monday -Thursday 11am to 10pm, Friday-Sunday 11am to 5pm (Garden menu)and Friday-Sunday 5:30pm to 10pm (Kitchen menu). Weather permitting
Monday Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington.
Breakfast buffet with Martha Washington in Powhatan Grille. On Monday's Only. 2 shows: 8:30 and 10am. $10.95 adults / $7.95 ages 6-12 / $3.95 5 and under. Buffet runs 8 till 11.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (618)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
618 out of 618
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dadplus2
Long Island, New York, USA
Apr 29, 2012

Pleasantly Surprised

Just like a big beautiful apartment, Full kitchen with everything you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanfy
Maryland
Jul 19, 2014

really great deal

This hotel was perfect for the money. A really great value. The room was comfortable and the manor house was really cute. Loved the ghost tour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jordan's dad
Dundalk, Md
Jul 15, 2014

great place to stay

great place and price for this area. the room was really nice and the resort was great. huge pool with different sections for small children, larger children, family and an adult only pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kitty Kat 007
Towson, Maryland
Jul 13, 2014

Need upgrade on staff and applicances

We booked our stay on a travel website, which stated check-in was at 1pm. However, after arriving at the resort at 12:30pm the receptionist stated check in was at 4pm and there are no rooms available. After sitting in the hot car for about ½ hour, I decided to go back to the office and show her the printed reservation that stated check-in was at 1pm, suddenly there was a room available. This lead me to believe that rooms were available but she was choosing not to give me and my family a room until 4pm. Although, we enjoyed ourselves at the resort because of the treatment we received from the receptionist at check-in, we listed this as a no return location. The hot tub needed more chlorine the water was cloudy and unit we stayed in refrigerator did get very cold. The ice maker made about 15 ice cubes during a four days stay. I would only recommend this resort to family and friends if the check-in staff has been retrained in customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SyndiC
Columbia SC
Jul 7, 2014

Nice property, great location...

Service was good. Upgraded from reservation... Amenities were good, activities were so so. Units were aging but sufficient for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Working vacation couple
New Hampshire
Jun 30, 2014

Spacious home away from home

My wife and I stayed here for a week. The campus is beautiful, private, and well-maintained. Goose dung on the sidewalks is a minor annoyance. The suite (full kitchen, large living room, bedroom, bath, and enclosed sun porch) made up for the slightly-elevated price compared to a typical hotel suite. My wife enjoyed the fitness center and large outdoor pool (they also have an indoor pool). Some minor complaints: 1) On check-in, front desk had no record of our reservation despite a confirmation e-mail from the travel site used to book it. However, after a bit of not-so-competent scrambling, the staff was able to find us an available unit. 2) Many of the drawers, the bathroom window, and the sliding door on the enclosed sun porch did not operate very smoothly -- perhaps low-quality mass-purchase during multi-unit construction. Overall, we had an excellent experience and would probably stay there again -- only hesitation is the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
arnoldz1
New Jersey
Jun 26, 2014

Very Nice

The rooms were clean and appeared to be very modern, possibly remodeled recently. The staff was awesome, providing directions and pointing to local stores to fill the kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg, Pa
Jun 20, 2014

Gets the job done.

Great location for getting to colonial williamsburg, Jamestown and Busch Gardens within 10 min but not much shopping/restaurants close by to give a more vacation atmosphere. Getting up early and getting in late we were not in the room much so it served it's purpose of providing a place to sleep. Pool was great for kids with a kiddy pool and lots of 3 foot deep space in addition to 4 feet. Room looked old but relatively clean. Beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Low traffic to get to all attractions.

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smiling Girlfriend
Burnham Pa
Jun 18, 2014

Perfect Vaca!

My boyfriend and I loved our stay. The location was prefect, close to more than enough to keep us busy. The staff was amazing and the resort itself was well kept and beautiful! We will definitely be staying again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Comedy Club of Williamsburg

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uzeyr
DC
May 24, 2014

Nice weekend good stay

Hotel is very fascinating with its garden and amenities. You can stay for a week to escape from the crowd of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to yorktown. Colonial road has excellent views. Have a dinner at riverwalk resaturant

Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roby1111
North carolina
May 5, 2014

Nice place to stay

Stayed in hotel for 1 day. Room was so good and they upgraded .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top