Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3 stars
5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
139 reviews
birthday vacation

I had a blast best birthday ever. it was very clean the staff was nice . its the only hotel on that... See full review

  • kekejones1
  • Aug 13, 2014
Great Getaway

elevators are small and slow and pool is surrounded by buildings so dont really feel like you are... See full review

  • Becky in Richmond
  • Jul 30, 2014
Contemporary Virginia Beach hotel with fine dining and pools
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront provides a peaceful, serene setting. The hotel is close to major Virginia Beach attractions, such as the boardwalk and Virginia Beach Convention Center. There are 244 rooms. The property appeals to vacationing families, couples and corporate clients. Amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, plus a restaurant.

Highlights
  • Seasonal bike, surfboard and kayak rentals
  • Seasonal children's activity center and boardwalk shuttle
  • Indoor-outdoor pool with Jacuzzi
  • Oceanfront dining at the Surf Club Ocean Grille

Rooms

Guest rooms at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront have either private balconies or patios. Of the 244 rooms, 166 rooms face the ocean. Spaces are designed to be airy and bright thanks to canary-colored bedding, white furniture and white lamps. Rooms include Wolfgang Puck coffee and Tazo tea and flat-screen TVs. Every room has a refrigerator, free Wi-Fi and two free bottles of water.

Dining

Circular booths set in a sunken dining area lend structural appeal to the Surf Club Ocean Grille, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront's fine dining restaurant serves regional American cuisine. It has unobstructed panoramic ocean views for up to 175 guests.

Recreation

During the summer, children at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront enjoy Kid's Cove Children's Activity Center. The hotel also provides kayak, bike and surfboard rentals on site (seasonal). The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront operates a free shuttle during the summer to the Virginia Beach boardwalk.  The indoor pool is in a room with a soaring angled ceiling. There is a Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.3 mi/19.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach oceanfront (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.4 mi/27.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (43.8 mi/70.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (44.6 mi/71.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (47.6 mi/76.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (48.9 mi/78.8 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (51.4 mi/82.8 km)

Business
  • 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Wi-Fi
  • Catering services

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Game room
Play ground
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

36.8839 -75.985
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 11.2 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 14.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 15.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.2

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
upset guest 13
ohio
Aug 18, 2013

no food for this price....

The room was generally clean and the staff was nice.. But for the value all the other hotels for this price range at least offered stale muffins and cereal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

As long as you don't mind paying to park everywhere or walking 20 blocks 1 direction.. This is the hotel for you.. So for a few less stars you can get to see more and have a free breakfast

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Son Nguyen
Virginia Beach, VA
Jul 8, 2013

Good hotel, good employees

Room clean, good workers, good times to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dud dud
Macon, Ga
Jul 8, 2013

very nice!

The staff couldn't be sweeter. The room was excellent. The hotel is far enough from the boardwalk/shopping that we had to have some meals there. The hotel could lower the prices for food. Coffee should be free. BUT, everybody was as nice as could be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Girls Vacay
Ohio
Jun 20, 2013

My Girls Vacay

We had a wonderful time. My daughter and I had been planning our first vacation in years and we wanted it to be perfect. Reading other reviews made me a little leery. But the room was wonderful. Looked right out at the ocean! The staff was very friendly and eager to please. They seemed to pick up on two single ladies and a baby and watched over us. One night it was raining so hard that a staff person ( We called him Ohio because he was from Cleveland) ran and got us a towel to throw over the baby. We plan on going back. The only thing I would like to see change is the steps going in and out of the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Applebee's, Grocery stores and other eatery’s right around the corner for families or anyone on a budget.

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
budget honeymooner
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 15, 2013

you get what you pay for

I would only recommend staying here if you're on a tight budget. Our room was dirty, and the hotel was always humid and smelly. But there were great amenities, and the staff were awesome. The location was perfect. The beach was never crowded. And the shuttle service to the main strip was nice. I wasn't happy that there was no continental breakfast, because the advertisement said there was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Girasol
Washington, DC
May 28, 2013

Virginia Beach

Hotel is ok. Nice location, but not on the boardwalk. Staff was nice but room was very dirty. They also don't make-up your roon while you are there. I would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not happy couple
New jersey
Feb 19, 2013

Not fantastic!

Too expensive,! I had a shower stall with handicap chair ! No tub! Disgusting!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food was good at hotel!

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Helen Widner
Urbana, OHIO
Jan 4, 2013

Bad really Bad

The sliding doors were so dirty that you could not see the "ocean view". I had to wash the windows with a soapy washcloth Repeatedly had to ask for toilet paper, Phone, lights & exhaust fan did not work. Sliding doors were shut tight but during rain they leak and majority of carpet was soaked. Room could really use a good cleaning! We paid our bill in full when we made the reservation, but at checkout we were told that we owed a $2.10 a day "Resort Fee" for a total of $14.70. When we ask why this was added they told us that it is just a "resort fee" no explanation! No a lot of money but we definitely felt scammed! Maybe you have to purchase rooms directly thru the hotel to get the nice rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Five Guys Burgers

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roaming mom
michigan
Sep 30, 2012

quick getaway

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The room was very clean, and the beds were comfortable. The staff was very friendly and eager to help. I could not picture on the strip, so it was a little far from shopping. But overall it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay closer to the attractions so you wont have trouble parking.

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
iori
Fairfax, VA
Sep 12, 2012

Great hotel for families with little kids

The area is remote from all the happening places in VA Beach. So it's quiet and not crowded. Staffs were courteous and eager to help. We would definitely go visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top