Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3 stars
5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
193 reviews
Awesome!

Great hotel right on the beach. Clean and spacious rooms. Very quiet area of Virginia Beach. Loved it. See full review

  • Chris464837r4yri8r
  • Jul 28, 2014
Excellent Location, quite and clean hotel

1. Excellent location on the beach. 2. Balcony in the room I stayed facing the ocean. 3. Chairs in... See full review

  • rahulinatlanric
  • Jul 16, 2014
Contemporary Virginia Beach hotel with fine dining and pools
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront provides a peaceful, serene setting. The hotel is close to major Virginia Beach attractions, such as the boardwalk and Virginia Beach Convention Center. There are 244 rooms. The property appeals to vacationing families, couples and corporate clients. Amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, plus a restaurant.

Highlights
  • Seasonal bike, surfboard and kayak rentals
  • Seasonal children's activity center and boardwalk shuttle
  • Indoor-outdoor pool with Jacuzzi
  • Oceanfront dining at the Surf Club Ocean Grille

Rooms

Guest rooms at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront have either private balconies or patios. Of the 244 rooms, 166 rooms face the ocean. Spaces are designed to be airy and bright thanks to canary-colored bedding, white furniture and white lamps. Rooms include Wolfgang Puck coffee and Tazo tea and flat-screen TVs. Every room has a refrigerator, free Wi-Fi and two free bottles of water.

Dining

Circular booths set in a sunken dining area lend structural appeal to the Surf Club Ocean Grille, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront's fine dining restaurant serves regional American cuisine. It has unobstructed panoramic ocean views for up to 175 guests.

Recreation

During the summer, children at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront enjoy Kid's Cove Children's Activity Center. The hotel also provides kayak, bike and surfboard rentals on site (seasonal). The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront operates a free shuttle during the summer to the Virginia Beach boardwalk.  The indoor pool is in a room with a soaring angled ceiling. There is a Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.3 mi/19.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach oceanfront (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.4 mi/27.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (43.8 mi/70.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (44.6 mi/71.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (47.6 mi/76.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (48.9 mi/78.8 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (51.4 mi/82.8 km)

Business
  • 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Wi-Fi
  • Catering services

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Game room
Play ground
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

36.8839 -75.985
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 11.2 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 14.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 15.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.2

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Girasol
Washington, DC
May 28, 2013

Virginia Beach

Hotel is ok. Nice location, but not on the boardwalk. Staff was nice but room was very dirty. They also don't make-up your roon while you are there. I would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not happy couple
New jersey
Feb 19, 2013

Not fantastic!

Too expensive,! I had a shower stall with handicap chair ! No tub! Disgusting!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food was good at hotel!

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Helen Widner
Urbana, OHIO
Jan 4, 2013

Bad really Bad

The sliding doors were so dirty that you could not see the "ocean view". I had to wash the windows with a soapy washcloth Repeatedly had to ask for toilet paper, Phone, lights & exhaust fan did not work. Sliding doors were shut tight but during rain they leak and majority of carpet was soaked. Room could really use a good cleaning! We paid our bill in full when we made the reservation, but at checkout we were told that we owed a $2.10 a day "Resort Fee" for a total of $14.70. When we ask why this was added they told us that it is just a "resort fee" no explanation! No a lot of money but we definitely felt scammed! Maybe you have to purchase rooms directly thru the hotel to get the nice rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Five Guys Burgers

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roaming mom
michigan
Sep 30, 2012

quick getaway

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The room was very clean, and the beds were comfortable. The staff was very friendly and eager to help. I could not picture on the strip, so it was a little far from shopping. But overall it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay closer to the attractions so you wont have trouble parking.

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
iori
Fairfax, VA
Sep 12, 2012

Great hotel for families with little kids

The area is remote from all the happening places in VA Beach. So it's quiet and not crowded. Staffs were courteous and eager to help. We would definitely go visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
peanut1111
baltimore, md
Sep 11, 2012

Horrible Hotel

If you are only looking for a place to lay your head, then this is the spot. This hotel surely did not fit the quality repretable name it. It had the worse dirties bathtub & toilet I have ever seen. We made sure she showered with shoes on. The room was very small & cramped. The only good thing was the location--on the path behind the beach. We went off site for breakfast-i think the name was Pocohonas something--within walking distance. The food & portion size was great; however, would not return due to TOOOOOO Many flies; you couldnt even enjoy your food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pleinedejoie
Alexandria, VA
Sep 8, 2012

Good location dreadful customer service and cleaness

To make a long story short, just avoid it, except for the restaurant it's a very bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Good food and service!

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katre726
walden, ny
Sep 7, 2012

great location!!

this was a kinda last min vacation and this was only thing available that we could afford. Location to beach was awesome and the beach was not crowded at all. The room was very tight and house keeping was slow but staff was wonderful everywhere we went.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach Pub, great ma pa place great food and cheap prices.

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Runner
New Jersey
Sep 5, 2012

So bad we left early!

Stayed in this hotel for the Rock n'Roll VA Beach Half Marathon. It was convenient enough for the race because there were shuttles but otherwise there is nothing within walking distance to eat/shop. Could not get the wi-fi to work, even after calling the front desk twice. Hotel doesn't offer a continental breakfast but said they would provide breakfast for the runners. Should have never relied on that because all they had was pre-packaged muffins and danishes and bananas; not very nutritious for a big race! There was vomit in the elevator and feces on the floor of the lobby in the East Wing. Shower pressure was so hard it flooded the entire bathroom and actually hurt when it hit your skin. So turned off by the room, we cut our stay short and left after dinner the 2nd night. Would never go back to this hotel. Have stayed at other Wyndham's before and they have been just fine. This one was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Madmom
Virginia
Aug 29, 2012

Awful getaway

When we first checked in, they gave us a room that was not cleaned. Once we notified the front desk, they gave us a room overtaken with nets. That room they sprayed with us in it, horrible. The flying critters just kept coming, they were in the hall and elevator. All this after Brenan at the desk checked us in, never told us which way to go and we carried our bags through the building that houses the ballrooms and to both rooms. Will never stay at this far away, unprofessional place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top