Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3 stars
5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
187 reviews
If it werent for the incident caused then everything would have been great!

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights the first night we brought in all the food we had brought to... See full review

  • Yeni Penny
  • Jun 21, 2014
Excellent vacation spot

Excellent rooms and the service is great. Nice location right on the beach. See full review

  • Stove123
  • Jun 12, 2014
Contemporary Virginia Beach hotel with fine dining and pools
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront provides a peaceful, serene setting. The hotel is close to major Virginia Beach attractions, such as the boardwalk and Virginia Beach Convention Center. There are 244 rooms. The property appeals to vacationing families, couples and corporate clients. Amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, plus a restaurant.

Highlights
  • Seasonal bike, surfboard and kayak rentals
  • Seasonal children's activity center and boardwalk shuttle
  • Indoor-outdoor pool with Jacuzzi
  • Oceanfront dining at the Surf Club Ocean Grille

Rooms

Guest rooms at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront have either private balconies or patios. Of the 244 rooms, 166 rooms face the ocean. Spaces are designed to be airy and bright thanks to canary-colored bedding, white furniture and white lamps. Rooms include Wolfgang Puck coffee and Tazo tea and flat-screen TVs. Every room has a refrigerator, free Wi-Fi and two free bottles of water.

Dining

Circular booths set in a sunken dining area lend structural appeal to the Surf Club Ocean Grille, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront's fine dining restaurant serves regional American cuisine. It has unobstructed panoramic ocean views for up to 175 guests.

Recreation

During the summer, children at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront enjoy Kid's Cove Children's Activity Center. The hotel also provides kayak, bike and surfboard rentals on site (seasonal). The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront operates a free shuttle during the summer to the Virginia Beach boardwalk.  The indoor pool is in a room with a soaring angled ceiling. There is a Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.3 mi/19.9 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (35.3 mi/56.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach oceanfront (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.2 mi/27.6 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.4 mi/27.9 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • Busch Gardens (43.8 mi/70.6 km)
  • Water Country USA  (44.6 mi/71.8 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (47.6 mi/76.6 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (48.9 mi/78.8 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (51.4 mi/82.8 km)

Business
  • 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Wi-Fi
  • Catering services

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Game room
Play ground
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

36.8839 -75.985
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 0.7 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 3.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Motor World: 4.6 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 4.7 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 7.9 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 11.2 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 14.3 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 15.5 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 18 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.2

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pleinedejoie
Alexandria, VA
Sep 8, 2012

Good location dreadful customer service and cleaness

To make a long story short, just avoid it, except for the restaurant it's a very bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Good food and service!

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katre726
walden, ny
Sep 7, 2012

great location!!

this was a kinda last min vacation and this was only thing available that we could afford. Location to beach was awesome and the beach was not crowded at all. The room was very tight and house keeping was slow but staff was wonderful everywhere we went.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach Pub, great ma pa place great food and cheap prices.

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Runner
New Jersey
Sep 5, 2012

So bad we left early!

Stayed in this hotel for the Rock n'Roll VA Beach Half Marathon. It was convenient enough for the race because there were shuttles but otherwise there is nothing within walking distance to eat/shop. Could not get the wi-fi to work, even after calling the front desk twice. Hotel doesn't offer a continental breakfast but said they would provide breakfast for the runners. Should have never relied on that because all they had was pre-packaged muffins and danishes and bananas; not very nutritious for a big race! There was vomit in the elevator and feces on the floor of the lobby in the East Wing. Shower pressure was so hard it flooded the entire bathroom and actually hurt when it hit your skin. So turned off by the room, we cut our stay short and left after dinner the 2nd night. Would never go back to this hotel. Have stayed at other Wyndham's before and they have been just fine. This one was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Madmom
Virginia
Aug 29, 2012

Awful getaway

When we first checked in, they gave us a room that was not cleaned. Once we notified the front desk, they gave us a room overtaken with nets. That room they sprayed with us in it, horrible. The flying critters just kept coming, they were in the hall and elevator. All this after Brenan at the desk checked us in, never told us which way to go and we carried our bags through the building that houses the ballrooms and to both rooms. Will never stay at this far away, unprofessional place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shivam H
Philadelphia PA
Aug 28, 2012

Great quiet location

Good facilities but general cleanliness was lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
worst room ever
virgirna beach va
Aug 28, 2012

never again

had to get staff to make the bed as it still had alot of someones hair in it when we got there then it took 3 of them about 2 hours to redo the bed . we showed them the glasses that had cig ashes in them as they never changed our glasses. the wifi only worked about 1 hour and even after calling several times it was never fixed our time there . the room was in bad need of fixing and the elavator was in bad need also actully the whole hotel that i seen was in need of fixing will never stay there again and at $288 plus usd i feel we got robbed and will be trying to get this price reduced as i have stayed in $50 motels that were very much nicer than the wyadham at virgina beach va

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

rockofellers seafood

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yeru
Arlington, VA
Aug 20, 2012

Poor guest service

We had a negative experience at this hotel. Since it's located few blocks away from the board walk, we're trying to find a way to get to the board walk. We asked a staff the easiest way to get to the board walk but the staff didn't inform us that there is a shuttle service from the hotel to the board walk so we had to walk over a mile in the dark the first night, very poor customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sam and Driver Ed
Spencerport, NY
Jul 10, 2012

needs inprovement

After calling the hotel twice to get adjoining rooms with another couple that traveled with us I was told that we would have to wait upon arrival, but they would put a note on the reservation that we were requesting the adjoining rooms. When we arrived we couldn't get adjoining rooms but did get rooms just down the hall from each other. Their vending machines were out of order for two of the three days of our stay, considering it was well into the 90's, bottled water was not available unless you went to the resturant and the water was more expensive. We were also charged an extra tax when we checked out. Bugs were found in both rooms, we were asked if we would like to change rooms, as we all know, when one is found more than likely they're in every room. On the good side, the resturant was very good and the staff was very freindly.They also advertise the boardwalk being only a couple of blocks away, it was more like 8 to 10 blocks, but they did have a shuttle service to take you there and bring you back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The boardwalk was great!

Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michelle718
new york, new york
Jul 8, 2012

Wonderful!!

MY family had a wonderful time staying here would stay here again. The staff was so pleasant. The room was always clean and we had a terrific maid named Tia that went out of her way to make our stay great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ezzeldin S. Ezzeldin
Ashburn, VA
Jul 8, 2012

4th of July Trip

1. Didn't get the Ocean Front rooms 2. The hotel was toooooo far from the boardwalk 3. The restaurant equipment didn't work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top