Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

2 stars
3508 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
38 reviews
Great place to stay

Very clean, great location and extremely nice staff. See full review

  • Fonzie j
  • Sep 22, 2013
GREAT STAY

The area was nice to stay at. We always stayed at the other end of the beach and decided to co to... See full review

  • ODL1961
  • Jan 10, 2014
Located just across the street from the beach on Atlantic avenue, the Royal Clipper provides you with the experience of all that the beach has to offer and so much more. Our clean rooms are fully air-conditioned and furnished. We're also conveniently located minutes from golf shopping, amusements, theaters, sporting and convention facilities. Minimum age to reserve a guestroom is 21 years old. Our Rooms come with refrigerator, microwave, free Internet access, hair dryer, 25 inch remote color television, DVD player, ironing board, and 24 Our Hotel Provides a clean facility with Free High Speed Internet, swimming pool, Start off each morning with coffee or juices

Royal Clipper Inn and Suites Rooms

King Room w/Micro and Fridge
Room with king bed micro fridge DVD Player
Efficiency Suite
2 RM SUITE W 2 DBL BED SOFA BED N KITCHEN
Deluxe Room w/ Two Double Beds
Room with 2 double beds micro fridge DVD Player

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Clipper Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.8637 -75.9794
Nearby airports
(ORF), 13.00, MI;
Area description
Tourist site

Nearby points of interest

  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.9 mi
  • Motor World: 3.3 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 3.4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 4.6 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 5.6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.7 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.2 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.9 mi
  • Motor World: 3.3 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 3.4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 4.6 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 5.6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.7 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.2 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.9 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 13 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 14.1 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 16.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Overall score

2.9 / 5
38 out of 38
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Herndon VA
May 25, 2011

Virginia Beach Royal Clipper inn

This was a last minute trip to Virginia Beach. I go the room for an OK price for the area. The room was adequate but it smelled like some one had been smoking in the room prior to our arrival. The place is old and could use some updating. On the plus side the bed was comfortable. This is not a nice place but the staff was friendly and every thing worked the bathroom was very small and parking was a bit tight but once I found the lager lot in the back it was better. I am not going out of my way to stay here again but it was OK for a budget run near the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
Cheta
Ny
Aug 6, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Location great, food in area great,hotel ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

10, 15 minute drive u have walmart, kmart or all big supermarket, great dining short walk or drive

Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Virginia
Jul 25, 2010

Needs lots of improvement

This was an interesting stay and not what was expected. The rooms need lots of work. Could hear every noise from other rooms and outside. Maintenance dept (if they have one) needs to step it up! Update check in/check out times online. There is a small pool with limited occupancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
Kathy in Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh PA
Jul 25, 2010

Great for the money

The price of this hotel was good. Old saying you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Marys a breakfast place. Went twice short drive for good food for very little money. 17th Street. 6 blocks from the Oceanfront.

Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
CT
Jul 19, 2010

Long weekend

Staff was great, rooms arent anything special but we slept well. It served our needs, id stay there again. no dining n site, close to some places to eat though....i recommend North end pizza. Ask the staff they'll point you the right direction

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Jul 17, 2010

Royal Clipper

Check-in time is listed as 2 pm online, however the motel has changed it to 3 pm. But they do allow you to get a parking pass before check-in, and you can also keep your car in their lot until around 1 pm the day of checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Shelby, nc
Jul 17, 2010

Royal Clipper, good deal

24 Hour Juice and Coffee, no breakfast. Great location on the boardwalk! Very very very small bathroom. The hotel was adequate and a good price. It was a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go cart Motorworld was very fun!

Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Charleston, WV
Jul 2, 2010

Above Expectations

Great hotel for the price, right across the street for the beach, friendly staff and pleasantly clean rooms. This hotel was a great little find, the only thing it gets a little noisy at night because of the jets..I had a great stay and will be back next year..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Virginia
Jun 30, 2010

Overall, great stay!

Overall, we were pleased with the hotel, especially considering what we paid for our stay. We arrived at about 10am, and although our room wasn't ready, we were given a parking pass and were able to park on the premises. We were able to check in our room around 12:45, a good 3 hours early! The staff, especially [...], was very, very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean (sheets, bathroom, carpets, etc.) and the microwave, fridge and ac all worked. Although there is no continental breakfast, which is advertised, there is a 24 hour cold juice dispenser in the lobby. The only downside to our stay was that the pool was very dirty (although I must admit, I didn't approach management about it). I knew the pool was small due to other reviews. When we went swimming, there were clumps of hair floating around (yuck!) and the bottom was dirty and gritty (maybe just sand from the beach?). It's a salt water pool, which I love, but there was also a floating bandaid and some candy wrapper trash. Was this management's fault or immature guests trashing up the pool, I can't say. Overall, we were content for what we paid for. I'd stay there again if I was on a tight budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
Troy A
Romney WV
Jun 28, 2010

Royal Clipper Review

Did not like it. Small rooms, small shower, AC didn't work and fridge was froze over. Wasn't dirty but also wasn't very clean to say the least. Good location and staff was friendly but not satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top