Rate based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

2 stars
View map of 3508 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NCPAPIO
Business
Greensboro NC
Oct 2, 2012

An enjoyable weekend

This is an old hotel but it is in a good location on the North end of Atlantic Avenue and has very competitive rates. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ran The Half
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 4, 2012

Awesome Location

Excellent experience. Perfect location accross the street from the beach, with everything you need nearby. We never used the pool, but many others did. The microwave, fridge, and free wifi were also great, as many other places would charge you for those.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bebe 4 u
Business
falls church va
Aug 28, 2012

ordinary family getaway

I really liked the kitchen, I think the could have cleaned my room better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
donaco
Business
Lebanon, OH
Aug 18, 2012

Nightmare for my family!

From the moment we arrived, I had a bad feeling. It was July 4th week and my family just wanted to spend a few days at the beach. It was the hottest week of the summer. When we tried to check in, the manager insisted we had booked 2 suites and wanted to charge me. I had a confirmation for 1 suite. He finally took that off. Maintenance guy came in to ask about A/C problem in Room 330. Manager, Brian, told him to find a new unit. Guess what room we got. So, checked in. Door in 330 would not lock. Just could push open. They did fix that after about 3 tries. We left to go to dinner and when we returned, A/C was not working at all, the refrigerator was not working and our room smelled like a garbage can because our food in the refrigerator was going bad. In addition, but these seem like small things, TV's worked intermittently, WiFi did not work (Manager told us to just keep trying), no elevator to 3rd floor (try lugging suitcases for 6 people up 3 flights of stairs in over 100 degree weather). The final straw came at 10:30 PM and we went down to the front office to try to resolve. No other rooms available. Lauren was the bright spot of the whole horrible event. She tried her best. We just wanted our money back and wanted to move on to another place. It was late, we were hot and tired. She called her manager (Brian again). He would not refund our money and the best he would do is only charge us for one night if we left immediately. We weren't even in the room 5 hours. He hung up on me. Lauren came up to our room and she saw everything we were complaining about and agreed we could not stay there. The next day, AAA called trying to get our money back. Brian lied and said we just didn't like the room and that people had been staying in there all day, with no complaints. Again, he refused. I even wrote a letter to the owner of the hotel, Mr. Vachhini providing him the details and requesting a refund, but never received a response. I can't even say he got the letter because Brian told me to send it to the hotel and he would forward to him. If the A/C and refrigerator would have worked, we would have gladly stayed there. My family can live without TV and internet. The rooms were actually quite nice, but a little deceiving in the pictures. Again, we could have made it work, but with no A/C and no working refrigerator, it was impossible. So what was supposed to be an enjoyable 3 days at the beach, became a very bad experience. Fortunately, we were able to find another hotel @ 11:00 at night and they were very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Visitors a la playa
Business
Rockville, MD
Aug 14, 2012

Long summer weekend

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and had a good time. The entire staff is friendly and welcoming and the accommodations are fine. The room was clean and had a nice sized refrigerator and microwave. Although the room was small, it was comfortable and met our needs. What makes this place such a bargain is it is very close to the beach. I was easy to walk back to the room to make lunch, get more drinks, etc. We go to Virginia Beach (and other beach locations) mainly to enjoy the water and sun, so location is much more important than some ammenities. The pool is very small and usually had families with little children playing in it. This was as good a trip as we have had to Va Beach. One night, we at pizza at North End Pizza, which is only a block away and it was very good, even surprisingly good. I highly recommend it. We also ate at Tautog's on 23rd St, which was also very good, but the wait can be long. We waited about 40 minutes after arriving at 8:15. It would have been a long walk so we took the Rte 30 shuttle bus (The Wave) which cost $1.00 each, well worth it. Then we casually walked back via the boardwalk and were treated with an unexpected fireworks display at the Lifequard Museum. (This was Sunday night Aug. 12)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus when otherwise walking more than 10 blocks.

Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vandamm
Business
Bristow, VA
Aug 6, 2012

Decent Stay

The hotel was pretty clean... love the location to the beach. Like the fact that it had a kitchen and all the supplies was available for us to use. Didn't like the fact that only one car per room. We didn't know and we drove two cars so had to pay for parking. Other than that.. it was a nice stay for 1 one night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vasbinder
Business
Edinburg, Virginia
Aug 1, 2012

Great Hotel

Everything about this room was great. The only thing that could be better would be a bigger bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Taylor Ann
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Jun 9, 2012

Whatever

Housekeeping never came to our room, we had to go and ask for towels/toiletries multiple times, we were told we booked a suite, but we obviously didn't stay in a suite, the bathroom was abnormally small, and the staff told us over the phone there was continental breakfast, but that was a lie. It could've been a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Darwesh
Business
VA
May 29, 2012

Best place for the price

Clean, quite room. Temperature maintained well. Housekeeping did good job every day. The best things were location and staff. It is 30 seconds walk from the beach.... Good parking in the front and back of the hotel. Complimentary juice and coffee 24 hours. Nice and friendly staff. For me clean bed sheets and towels matter the most, and that was the case. I will recommend this hotel...for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
katbarb
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 21, 2012

Very nice weekend

Very nice room. It was very clean. Elevator was a little scary, it was dark and it dropped quickly to each floor and shook. Great location near the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top