Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

2 stars
3508 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
68 reviews
Best weekend ever

We had perfect time. Despite of no vacancy when we arrived the staff of the hotel found for us the... See full review

  • Gypsy coconata
  • Jul 21, 2014
Nice stay

Our stay at the Royal Clipper was very nice. The room was very clean and everything was in good... See full review

  • Cheer Nana of 2
  • May 6, 2014
Located just across the street from the beach on Atlantic avenue, the Royal Clipper provides you with the experience of all that the beach has to offer and so much more. Our clean rooms are fully air-conditioned and furnished. We're also conveniently located minutes from golf shopping, amusements, theaters, sporting and convention facilities. Minimum age to reserve a guestroom is 21 years old. Our Rooms come with refrigerator, microwave, free Internet access, hair dryer, 25 inch remote color television, DVD player, ironing board, and 24 Our Hotel Provides a clean facility with Free High Speed Internet, swimming pool, Start off each morning with coffee or juices

Royal Clipper Inn and Suites Rooms

King Room w/Micro and Fridge
Room with king bed micro fridge DVD Player
Efficiency Suite
2 RM SUITE W 2 DBL BED SOFA BED N KITCHEN
Deluxe Room w/ Two Double Beds
Room with 2 double beds micro fridge DVD Player

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Clipper Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.8637 -75.9794
Nearby airports
(ORF), 13.00, MI;
Area description
Tourist site

Nearby points of interest

  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.9 mi
  • Motor World: 3.3 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 3.4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 4.6 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 5.6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.7 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.2 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.9 mi
  • Motor World: 3.3 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 3.4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 4.6 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 5.6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.7 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.2 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.9 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 13 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 14.1 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 16.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Taylor Ann
Virginia Beach, VA
Jun 9, 2012

Whatever

Housekeeping never came to our room, we had to go and ask for towels/toiletries multiple times, we were told we booked a suite, but we obviously didn't stay in a suite, the bathroom was abnormally small, and the staff told us over the phone there was continental breakfast, but that was a lie. It could've been a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Darwesh
VA
May 29, 2012

Best place for the price

Clean, quite room. Temperature maintained well. Housekeeping did good job every day. The best things were location and staff. It is 30 seconds walk from the beach.... Good parking in the front and back of the hotel. Complimentary juice and coffee 24 hours. Nice and friendly staff. For me clean bed sheets and towels matter the most, and that was the case. I will recommend this hotel...for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
katbarb
Brooklyn, NY
May 21, 2012

Very nice weekend

Very nice room. It was very clean. Elevator was a little scary, it was dark and it dropped quickly to each floor and shook. Great location near the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amarillo
Hagerstown, MD, USA
Apr 24, 2012

The beach

We had a lot of fun and got one great out of two than rain came. But overall it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot of fun

Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut
Aug 1, 2011

Family vaca

This was a family vacation. The majority of my family stayed at another hotel. I was quite surprised when I saw Royal Clipper the picture looks much better. The Royal Clipper needs some work completed on the exterior and the interior. During my stay the toilet stopped working. I left for the day and when I returned the toilet was still not working. When I called for assistance later that evening I was given a plunger and told that I would have to do it because no one was there to assist. The room itself could use some renovations. The iron board was broken and could not be used. I decided to not stay at the Royal Clipper my final night. I guess I got what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut
Aug 1, 2011

Family vaca

This was a family vacation. The majority of my family stayed at another hotel. I was quite surprised when I saw Royal Clipper the picture looks much better. The Royal Clipper needs some work completed on the exterior and the interior. During my stay the toilet stopped working. I left for the day and when I returned the toilet was still not working. When I called for assistance later that evening I was given a plunger and told that I would have to do it because no one was there to assist. The room itself could use some renovations. The iron board was broken and could not be used. I decided to not stay at the Royal Clipper my final night. I guess I got what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tarboro, NC
Jul 29, 2011

Easy on the Wallet, Rough on the Eyes!!

This is truly a hidden gem on Virginia Beach. While not oceanfront, the hotel sits just across the street from the beach. Your toes are on the boardwalk or in the sand in just a matter of steps. Don't get me wrong, you won't find any hint of luxury at this hotel. In fact as you pull up, you may even question your decision to stay here, but never fear! It is your typical aging beach hotel, however it is very clean and comfortable. There is no wow factor, but I was very satisfied with my short stay. You can't find a better price on the strip. My wife was 8 months pregnant on this trip and everything that we wanted to do (great shopping, dining, and people watching on the boardwalk) were within walking distance... even for her! We will return after we have the baby and look forward to taking advantage of a couple of very nice bars nearby. The Royal Clipper is at the opposite end of the strip from most of the kiddie attractions. If we had traveled with the children, I'm not sure that would have been an issue considering the hotel pool and easy access to the beach. A few peculiars to keep in mind... very few amenities, small pool, parking can be a tight squeeze (typical for beach), aging building, exterior room access...but great location and excellent price! I wouldn't pay extra to stay anywhere else at VA Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tarboro, NC
Jul 29, 2011

Easy on the Wallet, Rough on the Eyes!!

This is truly a hidden gem on Virginia Beach. While not oceanfront, the hotel sits just across the street from the beach. Your toes are on the boardwalk or in the sand in just a matter of steps. Don't get me wrong, you won't find any hint of luxury at this hotel. In fact as you pull up, you may even question your decision to stay here, but never fear! It is your typical aging beach hotel, however it is very clean and comfortable. There is no wow factor, but I was very satisfied with my short stay. You can't find a better price on the strip. My wife was 8 months pregnant on this trip and everything that we wanted to do (great shopping, dining, and people watching on the boardwalk) were within walking distance... even for her! We will return after we have the baby and look forward to taking advantage of a couple of very nice bars nearby. The Royal Clipper is at the opposite end of the strip from most of the kiddie attractions. If we had traveled with the children, I'm not sure that would have been an issue considering the hotel pool and easy access to the beach. A few peculiars to keep in mind... very few amenities, small pool, parking can be a tight squeeze (typical for beach), aging building, exterior room access...but great location and excellent price! I wouldn't pay extra to stay anywhere else at VA Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Jul 24, 2011

It did the job

Good enough for a couple days stay to just enjoy the beach. The walk to the beach was not bad at all. In fact, aside from the umbrella, lotion, and a couple water bottles, we left everything else in the room and just ran up there when we needed something else (which happened a few times with a 2 year old). Carpet needs updated or really cleaned. The room was pretty small but if it's only for sleeping, it's fine. All the night life happens in the streets a few blocks below it so you'll have to do some walking but it's in a quieter section (except for those jets). Speaking of jets, the room is not the best insulated so the sounds of those military planes could literaly wake you up... every 10 to 20 minutes! Oh and there's only one ice machine. There's a sign that says not to fill coolers. I'm guessing no one read it cuz i never got more than a couple cubes each time i ran down to get some. But a very friendly staff with complimentary juice machine which was a really good thing for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Jul 24, 2011

It did the job

Good enough for a couple days stay to just enjoy the beach. The walk to the beach was not bad at all. In fact, aside from the umbrella, lotion, and a couple water bottles, we left everything else in the room and just ran up there when we needed something else (which happened a few times with a 2 year old). Carpet needs updated or really cleaned. The room was pretty small but if it's only for sleeping, it's fine. All the night life happens in the streets a few blocks below it so you'll have to do some walking but it's in a quieter section (except for those jets). Speaking of jets, the room is not the best insulated so the sounds of those military planes could literaly wake you up... every 10 to 20 minutes! Oh and there's only one ice machine. There's a sign that says not to fill coolers. I'm guessing no one read it cuz i never got more than a couple cubes each time i ran down to get some. But a very friendly staff with complimentary juice machine which was a really good thing for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top