Rate based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

2 stars
3508 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
51 reviews
Nice place.

Very good experiens, very good location and good price. See full review

  • Vacations lover
  • Sep 11, 2014
Best weekend ever

We had perfect time. Despite of no vacancy when we arrived the staff of the hotel found for us the... See full review

  • Gypsy coconata
  • Jul 21, 2014
Located just across the street from the beach on Atlantic avenue, the Royal Clipper provides you with the experience of all that the beach has to offer and so much more. Our clean rooms are fully air-conditioned and furnished. We're also conveniently located minutes from golf shopping, amusements, theaters, sporting and convention facilities. Minimum age to reserve a guestroom is 21 years old. Our Rooms come with refrigerator, microwave, free Internet access, hair dryer, 25 inch remote color television, DVD player, ironing board, and 24 Our Hotel Provides a clean facility with Free High Speed Internet, swimming pool, Start off each morning with coffee or juices

Royal Clipper Inn and Suites Rooms

King Room w/Micro and Fridge
Room with king bed micro fridge DVD Player
Efficiency Suite
2 RM SUITE W 2 DBL BED SOFA BED N KITCHEN
Deluxe Room w/ Two Double Beds
Room with 2 double beds micro fridge DVD Player

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Clipper Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.8637 -75.9794
Nearby airports
(ORF), 13.00, MI;
Area description
Tourist site

Nearby points of interest

  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.9 mi
  • Motor World: 3.3 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 3.4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 4.6 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 5.6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.7 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.2 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.9 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.2 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.9 mi
  • Motor World: 3.3 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 3.4 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 4.6 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 5.6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 7.7 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.2 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 8.9 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 13 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 14.1 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 16.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bebe 4 u
falls church va
Aug 28, 2012

ordinary family getaway

I really liked the kitchen, I think the could have cleaned my room better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
donaco
Lebanon, OH
Aug 18, 2012

Nightmare for my family!

From the moment we arrived, I had a bad feeling. It was July 4th week and my family just wanted to spend a few days at the beach. It was the hottest week of the summer. When we tried to check in, the manager insisted we had booked 2 suites and wanted to charge me. I had a confirmation for 1 suite. He finally took that off. Maintenance guy came in to ask about A/C problem in Room 330. Manager, Brian, told him to find a new unit. Guess what room we got. So, checked in. Door in 330 would not lock. Just could push open. They did fix that after about 3 tries. We left to go to dinner and when we returned, A/C was not working at all, the refrigerator was not working and our room smelled like a garbage can because our food in the refrigerator was going bad. In addition, but these seem like small things, TV's worked intermittently, WiFi did not work (Manager told us to just keep trying), no elevator to 3rd floor (try lugging suitcases for 6 people up 3 flights of stairs in over 100 degree weather). The final straw came at 10:30 PM and we went down to the front office to try to resolve. No other rooms available. Lauren was the bright spot of the whole horrible event. She tried her best. We just wanted our money back and wanted to move on to another place. It was late, we were hot and tired. She called her manager (Brian again). He would not refund our money and the best he would do is only charge us for one night if we left immediately. We weren't even in the room 5 hours. He hung up on me. Lauren came up to our room and she saw everything we were complaining about and agreed we could not stay there. The next day, AAA called trying to get our money back. Brian lied and said we just didn't like the room and that people had been staying in there all day, with no complaints. Again, he refused. I even wrote a letter to the owner of the hotel, Mr. Vachhini providing him the details and requesting a refund, but never received a response. I can't even say he got the letter because Brian told me to send it to the hotel and he would forward to him. If the A/C and refrigerator would have worked, we would have gladly stayed there. My family can live without TV and internet. The rooms were actually quite nice, but a little deceiving in the pictures. Again, we could have made it work, but with no A/C and no working refrigerator, it was impossible. So what was supposed to be an enjoyable 3 days at the beach, became a very bad experience. Fortunately, we were able to find another hotel @ 11:00 at night and they were very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Visitors a la playa
Rockville, MD
Aug 14, 2012

Long summer weekend

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and had a good time. The entire staff is friendly and welcoming and the accommodations are fine. The room was clean and had a nice sized refrigerator and microwave. Although the room was small, it was comfortable and met our needs. What makes this place such a bargain is it is very close to the beach. I was easy to walk back to the room to make lunch, get more drinks, etc. We go to Virginia Beach (and other beach locations) mainly to enjoy the water and sun, so location is much more important than some ammenities. The pool is very small and usually had families with little children playing in it. This was as good a trip as we have had to Va Beach. One night, we at pizza at North End Pizza, which is only a block away and it was very good, even surprisingly good. I highly recommend it. We also ate at Tautog's on 23rd St, which was also very good, but the wait can be long. We waited about 40 minutes after arriving at 8:15. It would have been a long walk so we took the Rte 30 shuttle bus (The Wave) which cost $1.00 each, well worth it. Then we casually walked back via the boardwalk and were treated with an unexpected fireworks display at the Lifequard Museum. (This was Sunday night Aug. 12)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus when otherwise walking more than 10 blocks.

Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vandamm
Bristow, VA
Aug 6, 2012

Decent Stay

The hotel was pretty clean... love the location to the beach. Like the fact that it had a kitchen and all the supplies was available for us to use. Didn't like the fact that only one car per room. We didn't know and we drove two cars so had to pay for parking. Other than that.. it was a nice stay for 1 one night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vasbinder
Edinburg, Virginia
Aug 1, 2012

Great Hotel

Everything about this room was great. The only thing that could be better would be a bigger bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Taylor Ann
Virginia Beach, VA
Jun 9, 2012

Whatever

Housekeeping never came to our room, we had to go and ask for towels/toiletries multiple times, we were told we booked a suite, but we obviously didn't stay in a suite, the bathroom was abnormally small, and the staff told us over the phone there was continental breakfast, but that was a lie. It could've been a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Darwesh
VA
May 29, 2012

Best place for the price

Clean, quite room. Temperature maintained well. Housekeeping did good job every day. The best things were location and staff. It is 30 seconds walk from the beach.... Good parking in the front and back of the hotel. Complimentary juice and coffee 24 hours. Nice and friendly staff. For me clean bed sheets and towels matter the most, and that was the case. I will recommend this hotel...for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
katbarb
Brooklyn, NY
May 21, 2012

Very nice weekend

Very nice room. It was very clean. Elevator was a little scary, it was dark and it dropped quickly to each floor and shook. Great location near the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amarillo
Hagerstown, MD, USA
Apr 24, 2012

The beach

We had a lot of fun and got one great out of two than rain came. But overall it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot of fun

Review of Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut
Aug 1, 2011

Family vaca

This was a family vacation. The majority of my family stayed at another hotel. I was quite surprised when I saw Royal Clipper the picture looks much better. The Royal Clipper needs some work completed on the exterior and the interior. During my stay the toilet stopped working. I left for the day and when I returned the toilet was still not working. When I called for assistance later that evening I was given a plunger and told that I would have to do it because no one was there to assist. The room itself could use some renovations. The iron board was broken and could not be used. I decided to not stay at the Royal Clipper my final night. I guess I got what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top