Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 16, 2015 Check-out: Feb 17, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

3 stars
2809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
640 reviews
Virginia Beach, VA experience

I have no complaints about this hotel, the service was good, the rooms were clean, the hotel was in... See full review

  • Boochill
  • Nov 12, 2014
I would definately stay here again.

Can't beat the view from the 8th floor! This hotel was comfortable, affordable and was centrally... See full review

  • chess61
  • Jul 21, 2014
Virginia Beach boardwalk hotel with seafood restaurant and pools
The Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach attracts its share of visitors thanks to a beachfront address and on-site seafood restaurant. This unique hotel features 166 oceanfront rooms and 48 non-oceanfront rooms that are located in separate buildings across the street from the oceanfront. The rooms also share access to indoor, outdoor and kiddie pools and a fitness center. Jacuzzi in some rooms lend private luxury. One parking space is available per reserved room.

Highlights
  • Close to the Virginia Beach boardwalk
  • Some rooms with ocean views and Jacuzzis
  • Heated indoor, outdoor and kiddie pools
  • Free Wi-Fi and lodging for kids under 18
  • One parking space available per reserved room

Rooms
Rooms at Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach are located in separate buildings across the street from the oceanfront. All bestow tropical flair via framed wall prints and bedding accents. Oceanfront rooms have balconies with boardwalk and beach views. West-side buildings have direct access to pools. Jacuzzi rooms cater to honeymoons or romantic getaways. Free Wi-Fi is standard at the Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach.
Features
Diversions at the Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach include the indoor and outdoor pools. Children can swim in their own pool or test gaming skills in the arcade. A fitness center tops off the leisure options.

Dining
Locals and Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach guests indulge in boardwalk views from Shoreline Grill and Boardwalk Cafe. The restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (34.6 mi/55.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Ocean Breeze Water Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Naval Air Station Oceana (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • First Landing State Park (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Virginia Beach Amphitheater (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Town Center (13 mi/21 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.2 mi/27.7 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.4 mi/28.1 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.6 mi/28.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.6 mi/28.3 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.6 mi/41.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.2 mi/72.7 km)
  • Water Country USA  (46 mi/74 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (48.9 mi/78.8 km)

BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,NON OCNFRONT,FULL KITCHEN,WIRELESS,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEAN,PATIO,1STFLR,WHISPD,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,NON OCNFRONT,SITARE,WETBAR,WIRELESS,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMM ASSIST,WHIRL,OCEAN,NSM,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBACC,COMAST,WHIRL,ROLLSH,OCEAN,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WETBAR,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WIRELESS HISPEED,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WETBAR,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Game room
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sitting area
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.8569 -75.9775
Area served
Washington, D.C., Richmond, Williamsburg, Baltimore,, Hampton, Norfolk
Nearby airports
(ORF), 18.00, MI, E;
Area description
Resort

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.5 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.5 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 16.1 mi

Dining

Cobalt Grille
2.00 mile(s) from Cobalt Grille, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, contemporary fine dining, daily specials, fresh seafood, filet mignon, lamb and chicken. Great wines, special martini and tapas menu. Chef's table next to the kitchen may
Il Giardino Ristorante
1.00 mile(s) from Il Giardino Ristorante, full service, Italian, open for: dinner, The first wood-burning oven in Virginia that co-owner Tony Garqiulo made the centerpiece for the restaurant. It serves up fresh focaccia bread to each table. Menu items
Otani Japanese Steakhouse
2.50 mile(s) from Otani Japanese Steakhouse, full service, Japanese, open for: lunch, dinner, flames, comedy and banter are all part of the experience at Otani. The chefs prepare the food in front of your eyes while you dine around Japanese
Guadalajara's
3.00 mile(s) from Guadalajara's, full service, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner, welcomes locals and visitors to Virginia Beach's finest Mexican restaurant. With three locations and a South Beach Miami atmosphere, the staff offers authentic Mexican
Bangkok Garden
3.00 mile(s) from Bangkok Garden, full service, Thai, open for: lunch, dinner, authentic Thai cuisine. The variety of ingredients and the different combinations of flavors make for an unforgettable dining experience.
Aldo's Ristorante
3.00 mile(s) from Aldo's Ristorante, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner, enjoy award winning wines, delicious steaks and pastas, wood-burning pizza oven and homemade desserts with the finest service in town. A perfect spot for any occasion.
Lynnhaven Fish House
8.50 mile(s) from Lynnhaven Fish House, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, is an award winning restaurant which specializes in a large variety of fresh fish. The restaurant offers breathtaking views of the Chesapeake Bay from every seat in
Coyote Cafe and Cantina
1.00 mile(s) from Coyote Cafe and Cantina, cafe, Tex-Mex, open for: lunch, dinner, Coyote Cafe and Cantina serves a variety of foods including Mexican, Southwestern and Tex-Mex. The ambiance is best described as festive, party, people watching and
Tautog's
0.50 mile(s) from Tautog's, full service, American, open for: dinner, is a casual dining establishment featuring exceptional fish and seafood entrees, soups, salads and sandwiches served by the friendliest people in town. The concept of the restaurant
Purple Cow Restaurant
0.50 mile(s) from Purple Cow Restaurant, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, fun for all ages, the Purple Cow features the best diner fare in town, from classic burgers and deli sandwiches to healthy soups and salads. Try a thick

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (640)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
640 out of 640
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Liberty
Business
Springfield, VA
Aug 13, 2009

It sucked. I want a refund.

There were huge cockroaches in our room. It was horrible. The people at Best Western said Cheap Tickets is supposed to give me a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

blahh

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Highland, N.Y.
Aug 20, 2009

Stay Elsewhere

I first called the hotel to confirm my king room with a balcony the day that I booked with Cheaptickets.com. I was guaranteed over the phone a king bed and a balcony overlooking the ocean. Upon arrival, prior to check in time, I was told that all of the balcony rooms were booked and that I was "out of luck." I told the front desk person that I had confirmed over the phone for a balcony, I was told again that I was "out of luck." We were told that we could check back tomorrow after 11am and something MIGHT open up. We were given a ground floor room with no balcony, but it did have an ocean view, if you were 7 feet tall to see over the shrubbery. The front door to the room looked like it had been recently kicked in, more than once, and when I went to the front desk, again I was told about my luck. The hotel restaurant was grossly over priced and the food was not even decent. We were under the impression that the Best Western Company was a reputable hotel chain and unfortunately we were proven wrong at this location. The bed coverings were simply a sheet, and a thin blanket, and upon request we were provided with another thin-as-a-sheet throw blanket. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mark, NJ
Business
South Jersey
Aug 19, 2009

Less than desirable

Good location. hotel was not clean, room was small and room refrigerator made noise all night. Hotel was crowded and pool areas dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amy Theresa
Business
Chicago, IL.
Aug 28, 2010

Would Not Recommend this Hotel

When we got to the hotel, and tried to open our room we could not get into our room. We stood in a hot hallway with a maintence man for approximately 45 minutes while he tried to de-program our lock. We were not offered anything for our time wasted. Then once we finally got into our room the man came back to change our locks. I walked out the shower to a man sitting in our room with our door wide opened. That was just the first issue. The cleaning crew did a poor job of keeping our room clean. We had sand and dirt all over our floors, and in our beds. We did not get fresh cups, or adequate daily supplies refilled when needed. Also we found ants crawling on top of the shelf where our food and fridge was. We also found ants crawling around in our beds. THE PRICE IS GOOD, BUT IT IS NOT WORTH IT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

PI Pizza. It's inexpensive and delicious. :)

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tnich947
Business
NY
Nov 15, 2011

Room with mold, staff very rude

First off, if you dont get a beach front room, the building you stay in is located across the street from the main building and it looks like a cheap crummy motel that you would rent by the hour. We get to our room and I noticed the ceiling is covered with black mold. So I went to the front desk and they gave us another room. I go in the next room and yet again there is mold on the walls and ceiling. So i go back to the front desk and they gave us an upgraded room and I go to check it out and yet again theres mold on the walls and the a/c didnt work. So now i requested to speak to the manager and she came out was was nothing but rude to us and she thought that we were just some young kids looking for a free upgrade which was not at all true. The room they upgraded us to we had to pay extra for. Next time I go on vacation I will not be staying at this hotel ever again. I would definitely stay away from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
daddygirl
Business
Merry Hill, NC 27957, USA
Feb 7, 2012

FIRST WEEKEND TOGETHER

ALL OF OUR DRINKS WERE WARM THUR THE WEEKEND,,,, THE BATHROOM FOR A KING SIZE BED VERY SMALL. NOT ENOUGH ROOM TO MOVE AROUND. TOILET APER ON THE FLOOR...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rick12345
Business
Avon, Indiana
Jun 28, 2012

Family Vacation

The experience at this hotel was something to be desired. You had to hunt down maids to clean your room each day. Then they wanted to clean it at 5 in the evening, of course, when you are trying to get ready to go out. We wasted several hours just waiting for them. The management does not care and acted as if it really was not a big concern. They just said that they were understaffed. Even after complaining we couldn't get our room cleaned in a timely manner. The breakfast buffet was ok but you had to wait in a 10-15 minute line every morning just to get an average, at best, breakfast. We eventually just quit going because it wasn't worth the hassle. I would never stay at this hotel again and probably never a Best Western if I could help it. The staff and management are indifferent and not concerned. Pick a different hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
IrishHarps
Business
PA
Aug 6, 2012

Cockroaches! Do not stay here!

I would strongly recommend against staying here! This is the hotel that has made me swear off of staying at Best Westerns ever again. It's worth it, to me, to pay an extra $10-$20 a night to go somewhere else and not have to worry about carrying home cockroaches in my luggage. I stayed there Mon-Fri - they put us up at a room directly outside of the pool (loud and noisy at all hours. Pool hours are not enforced). The room was ok. Not super up to date but didn't seem too dirty. Mostly it was just dingy. But what could I expect from a Best Western? Also, the eating area (restaurant) for continental breakfast was dirty and the tables were sticky. Again, what could I really expect from a Best Western? I could have overlooked all those things, but on the day we checked out, we found a 3 inch long cockroach in our room. We told the hotel staff who first tried to tell us that it wasn't a cockroach (I think they were trying to get us to stop saying 'cockroach' in front of other guests. The internet is a thing, people.) They sent over a maintenance guy who just sprayed roach spray all over the bedroom, and in the bathroom (I ended up leaving more than $20 worth of products in the bathtub because there was roach spray all over). He didn't kill the bug, just said "oh well, it went into the drain." As soon as he left, it came back out of the drain and was crawling around the bathtub. Disgusting. We gathered our things and left as soon as possible. It was bad enough that there was a cockroach there, but the attitude of the staff (first "oh, it's not a cockroach," and then when we proved that it was, utter nonchalance, as if this sort of thing happens all the time) made me think that this is just a bug infested hole. It was a cheap hotel to stay at, but at the end I still feel like I overpaid. Please just spend the extra couple of bucks a night and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
QueenTraveler
Business
VA
Feb 17, 2013

Did not meet expectations

I killed a bug on the curtain, there was an old McD's cup in the bathroom from 9 months ago, bathtub was not clean, fan made noise, no WIFI, and the bed was uncomfortable. The whole place had an interesting smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SamDoc
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 5, 2013

More of a motel 6 experience

For the price, this room was very subpar. We were placed in another building ( not shown on website) which is not only "not ocean view". It had a view of the parking garage which was 4 feet from our room. The building we were housed in is across the street ( away from the beach), right nest to parking garage with significant noise from the cars going inand out of the garage all night. The room was sometihing similar to what I would expect from a 40 year old Motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top