Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 13, 2014 Check-out: May 16, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

3 stars
2809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
597 reviews
Nothing but happy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Got non ocean view rooms for a good price and once we arrived they upgraded us to ocean view on the... See full review

  • JW12
  • Apr 8, 2014
Great Vacation Spot

Staff was excekkent. Very accommidating.Everything beach related, right there. Awesome view. See full review

  • CUSA
  • Apr 7, 2014
Virginia Beach boardwalk hotel with seafood restaurant and pools
The Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach attracts its share of visitors thanks to a beachfront address and on-site seafood restaurant. This unique hotel features 166 oceanfront rooms and 48 non-oceanfront rooms that are located in separate buildings across the street from the oceanfront. The rooms also share access to indoor, outdoor and kiddie pools and a fitness center. Jacuzzi in some rooms lend private luxury. One parking space is available per reserved room.

Highlights
  • Close to the Virginia Beach boardwalk
  • Some rooms with ocean views and Jacuzzis
  • Heated indoor, outdoor and kiddie pools
  • Free Wi-Fi and lodging for kids under 18
  • One parking space available per reserved room

Rooms
Rooms at Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach are located in separate buildings across the street from the oceanfront. All bestow tropical flair via framed wall prints and bedding accents. Oceanfront rooms have balconies with boardwalk and beach views. West-side buildings have direct access to pools. Jacuzzi rooms cater to honeymoons or romantic getaways. Free Wi-Fi is standard at the Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach.
Features
Diversions at the Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach include the indoor and outdoor pools. Children can swim in their own pool or test gaming skills in the arcade. A fitness center tops off the leisure options.

Dining
Locals and Best Western Oceanfront Virginia Beach guests indulge in boardwalk views from Shoreline Grill and Boardwalk Cafe. The restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch.

Transportation
  • Norfolk International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (34.6 mi/55.7 km)

Attractions
  • Virginia Beach Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Ocean Breeze Water Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Naval Air Station Oceana (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • First Landing State Park (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Virginia Beach Amphitheater (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Virginia Beach Town Center (13 mi/21 km)
  • MacArthur Center (17.2 mi/27.7 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (17.4 mi/28.1 km)
  • The Ghent District (17.6 mi/28.3 km)
  • Nauticus  (17.6 mi/28.3 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (25.6 mi/41.3 km)
  • Busch Gardens (45.2 mi/72.7 km)
  • Water Country USA  (46 mi/74 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (48.9 mi/78.8 km)

BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEAN,WHISPN,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,BALCONY,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,NON OCNFRONT,FULL KITCHEN,WIRELESS,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,NON OCNFRONT,SITARE,WETBAR,WIRELESS,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WETBAR,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WETBAR,WIRELESS,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,NON OCFRONT,WIRELESS HISPEED,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMM ASSIST,WHIRL,OCEAN,NSM,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBACC,COMAST,WHIRL,ROLLSH,OCEAN,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Game room
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sitting area
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.8569 -75.9775
Area served
Washington, D.C., Norfolk, Baltimore,, Williamsburg, Richmond, Hampton
Nearby airports
(ORF), 18.00, MI, E;
Area description
Resort

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.5 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Old Coast Guard Station: 0.3 mi
  • Angelos Murder Mystery Dinner Theater: 0.5 mi
  • The Virginia Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum: 1 mi
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center: 2.4 mi
  • Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment: 2.6 mi
  • Motor World: 2.9 mi
  • Ocean Breeze Waterpark: 2.9 mi
  • Old Cape Henry Lighthouse: 5.1 mi
  • First Landing State Park: 6 mi
  • Adam Thoroughgood House: 8 mi
  • Mount Trashmore Park: 8.2 mi
  • Lynnhaven House: 8.4 mi
  • Chicks Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Sandbridge Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Military Aviation Museum: 12.6 mi
  • Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge: 13.6 mi
  • False Cape State Park: 16.1 mi

Dining

Bangkok Garden
3.00 mile(s) from Bangkok Garden, full service, Thai, open for: lunch, dinner, authentic Thai cuisine. The variety of ingredients and the different combinations of flavors make for an unforgettable dining experience.
Jewish Mother
0.04 mile(s) from Jewish Mother, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, live entertainment nightly. Serving a full menu with breakfast, lunch and dinner items until 3:00 a.m. seven days a week.
Cobalt Grille
2.00 mile(s) from Cobalt Grille, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, contemporary fine dining, daily specials, fresh seafood, filet mignon, lamb and chicken. Great wines, special martini and tapas menu. Chef's table next to the kitchen may
Fire and Vine
2.00 mile(s) from Fire and Vine, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, our mission--our passion--is to create an experience where exceptional food, an impressive wine selection and impeccable service come together in an inviting atmosphere
Tautog's
0.50 mile(s) from Tautog's, full service, American, open for: dinner, is a casual dining establishment featuring exceptional fish and seafood entrees, soups, salads and sandwiches served by the friendliest people in town. The concept of the restaurant
Murphy's Grand Irish Pub
0.02 mile(s) from Murphy's Grand Irish Pub, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner, authentic Irish pub and restaurant. Nightly dinner specials Monday through Friday, happy hour Monday through Friday 4:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. Live entertainment
Mahi Mah's
1.25 mile(s) from Mahi Mah's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, has been a local's favorite for years serving fresh fish, shellfish sushi, prime rib, chops and pastas. The skilled chefs will fix a meal fit for a King. The commitment to
P.F. Chang's
10.00 mile(s) from P.F. Chang's, full service, Chinese, open for: lunch, dinner, experience is a unique combination of Chinese cuisine, attentive service, wine and tempting desserts all served in a stylish, high-energy bistro.
Guadalajara's
3.00 mile(s) from Guadalajara's, full service, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner, welcomes locals and visitors to Virginia Beach's finest Mexican restaurant. With three locations and a South Beach Miami atmosphere, the staff offers authentic Mexican
Otani Japanese Steakhouse
2.50 mile(s) from Otani Japanese Steakhouse, full service, Japanese, open for: lunch, dinner, flames, comedy and banter are all part of the experience at Otani. The chefs prepare the food in front of your eyes while you dine around Japanese

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (597)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Overall score

3.4 / 5
597 out of 597
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Richmond Va
Jun 8, 2010

poor mattress

The mattress on the two double beds were not acceptable.They were extremely old and you could feel every spring. This was a room on the oceanfront. They did move me the next day to a nicer room with a suitable mattress but not without a lot of confusion and dealing with three different people at the front desk.Hotel is run down and needs a lot of remodeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Only two blocks from the Hilton at 31st st. and they live music outside in the evening.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
SamDoc
Austin, TX
Jul 5, 2013

More of a motel 6 experience

For the price, this room was very subpar. We were placed in another building ( not shown on website) which is not only "not ocean view". It had a view of the parking garage which was 4 feet from our room. The building we were housed in is across the street ( away from the beach), right nest to parking garage with significant noise from the cars going inand out of the garage all night. The room was sometihing similar to what I would expect from a 40 year old Motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
VIRGINA BEACH, VA
Jun 16, 2009

was not what i expected

I WILL NOT USE ORBITZ AGAIN. I WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER OFF LOOKING FOR HOTEL MYSELF. I THOUGHT I WAS IN MAIN HOTEL WAS UNAWARE OF SMALL HOTEL ACROSS STREET, THAT IS WHERE WE WERE OUR ROOM WAS ON THRID FLOOR CORNER, ROOM WAS SMALL FOR FOUR ADULTS. WHEN I COMPLAINED TO MANAGEMENT I WAS TOLD IT WAS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY. ALSO VERY NOISY WITH TOUR BUSSES PARKED OUTSIDE OUR WINDOW .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
Amy Theresa
Chicago, IL.
Aug 28, 2010

Would Not Recommend this Hotel

When we got to the hotel, and tried to open our room we could not get into our room. We stood in a hot hallway with a maintence man for approximately 45 minutes while he tried to de-program our lock. We were not offered anything for our time wasted. Then once we finally got into our room the man came back to change our locks. I walked out the shower to a man sitting in our room with our door wide opened. That was just the first issue. The cleaning crew did a poor job of keeping our room clean. We had sand and dirt all over our floors, and in our beds. We did not get fresh cups, or adequate daily supplies refilled when needed. Also we found ants crawling on top of the shelf where our food and fridge was. We also found ants crawling around in our beds. THE PRICE IS GOOD, BUT IT IS NOT WORTH IT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

PI Pizza. It's inexpensive and delicious. :)

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Carry, NC.
Jul 7, 2009

would not recommend it

This hotel gives a good example about what is called "Cheap hotel". The location is good, but all the other hotels have good location too. Every one is on the same street. The room is not clean and smelly. The bed is wet. The furniture is old. Basically you got what you paid for. We won't book it next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Called Yukai Japanese Seafood Buffet. Good delicious food and good price.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
CLARION PA
Jun 16, 2009

HAVE HAD BETTER...

THE FRONT DESK STAFF WAS AS HELPFUL AS POSSIBLE, BUT I WAS NOT HAPPY WITH THE ROOMS IN THE BUILDING ACROSS THE STREET... I AM SURE THE BEACHFRONT BUILDING ROOMS ARE GREAT BUT ACROSS THE STREET BY THE POOL THE BUILDING AND ROOMS ARE VERY DATED AND INFESTED WITH BUGS, THE MINI FRIDGE DID NOT KEEP THINGS COLD, COOL AT BEST. WOULD ONLY STAY THERE AGAIN IF I WAS IN THE MAIN BEACHFRONT BUILDING. OVER DISATISFIED WITH MY EXPERIENCE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

15TH STREET RAW BAR HAD GOOD FOOD AND GREAT LOCAL ENTERTAINMENT

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
Bubba's mom
Rye Brook, NY
Jun 15, 2009

Hotel Stay

It was a horrible experience. This hotel's separate building with a NON-OCEAN VIEW is an OLD MOTEL that Best Western must have purchased and use as part of their hotel. The motel (rooms in a separate building) were across the street for the real hotel attached to a parking garage. They were dirty, scary, and stunk like mildew. And there were buses below th room reving their enginines at 4:00am. It was horrible and I would never stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Columbus, Ohio
Jun 25, 2009

Won't stay again!

The only thing redeeming about this place was the location--right across from beach. The pool was in the parking lot. The room was a walk up two flights of stairs and overlooked a parking garage and some small roof thing. Ugly! The bathroom eshaust fan that automatically went on with the lights was extremely loud. Too loud to turn on at night or it would wake everyone else in the room. TV was limited with 3 channels airing the same shows. The room was run down and moldy and in desperate need of updating. The beds were small and uncomfortable. Our remote stopped working for some unknown reason--wasn't batteries. The staff weren't friendly or welcoming. The refrigerator was difficult to open. This reminded me of the crummy places I stayed on spring break when I was in college because I couldn't afford better. I'm glad we only had to stay here one night. Needless to say I would never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Virginia
Dec 14, 2009

Room needs work.

The rooms extremely small. I am 5ft 4 inches I could hang my feet over the bed. Mattress not in good shape We were only there 2 nights. Would not use again especially any longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Great shopping in Norfolk at the General McArthur Center and Lynnhaven Mall.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
Mark, NJ
South Jersey
Aug 19, 2009

Less than desirable

Good location. hotel was not clean, room was small and room refrigerator made noise all night. Hotel was crowded and pool areas dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top