Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 14, 2016 Check-out: Feb 17, 2016

BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

3 stars
View map of 2809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
37 reviews
Blessed Trip

Very comfortable stay, staff was very friendly and welcoming. Promotion people that were there was... See full review

  • Elijah W.
  • Dec 2, 2015
Great Family trip!

I had a great experience staying here! It was very comfortable, private and safe for my family. My... See full review

  • DLOPEZ27
  • Jul 17, 2015

For superior oceanfront lodging and a contemporary feel, BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach is a prime choice for fans of the famed Virginia Beach boardwalk. Romantic and spacious beachfront rooms feature a Jacuzzi and a private, airy balcony. Guests are minutes from the ocean where they can soak up the sun and go for a dip in the warm Atlantic waters.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia's amenities include a luxuriously heated indoor pool, inviting outdoor pools, a fitness center, a game room and a business center.

Highlights

Guests of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia enjoy a free continental breakfast. Lunch and dinner can be savored with an oceanfront view at the hotel's on-site restaurant, Shoreline Grill.

For other eateries, a short stroll down the Virginia Beach Boardwalk will lead you to popular seafood restaurants like Catch 31 and Tautong's Restaurant on Atlantic Avenue. Dough Boys California Pizza and other eat-in places are just a few blocks away.

Family options near the boardwalk include favorites like the Ferris wheel and video arcade as well as unique educational opportunities like the Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum. For entertainment during the summer months, the nearby Neptune Festival Park offers relaxing beachfront scenery and regular concerts.

There is also the scenic Oceanfront Bike Path that runs alongside the 28-feet wide, 3-mile boardwalk, and live musical acts go on at 7th, 17th, 24th and 31st Streets.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.8569 -75.9775
Area served
Baltimore,, Williamsburg, Richmond, Hampton, Washington, D.C., Norfolk
Nearby airports
(ORF), 18.00, MI, E;
Area description
Resort

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mark, NJ
Family
South Jersey
Aug 19, 2009

Less than desirable

Good location. hotel was not clean, room was small and room refrigerator made noise all night. Hotel was crowded and pool areas dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Highland, N.Y.
Aug 20, 2009

Stay Elsewhere

I first called the hotel to confirm my king room with a balcony the day that I booked with Cheaptickets.com. I was guaranteed over the phone a king bed and a balcony overlooking the ocean. Upon arrival, prior to check in time, I was told that all of the balcony rooms were booked and that I was "out of luck." I told the front desk person that I had confirmed over the phone for a balcony, I was told again that I was "out of luck." We were told that we could check back tomorrow after 11am and something MIGHT open up. We were given a ground floor room with no balcony, but it did have an ocean view, if you were 7 feet tall to see over the shrubbery. The front door to the room looked like it had been recently kicked in, more than once, and when I went to the front desk, again I was told about my luck. The hotel restaurant was grossly over priced and the food was not even decent. We were under the impression that the Best Western Company was a reputable hotel chain and unfortunately we were proven wrong at this location. The bed coverings were simply a sheet, and a thin blanket, and upon request we were provided with another thin-as-a-sheet throw blanket. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Liberty
Friends
Springfield, VA
Aug 13, 2009

It sucked. I want a refund.

There were huge cockroaches in our room. It was horrible. The people at Best Western said Cheap Tickets is supposed to give me a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

blahh

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amy Theresa
Family
Chicago, IL.
Aug 28, 2010

Would Not Recommend this Hotel

When we got to the hotel, and tried to open our room we could not get into our room. We stood in a hot hallway with a maintence man for approximately 45 minutes while he tried to de-program our lock. We were not offered anything for our time wasted. Then once we finally got into our room the man came back to change our locks. I walked out the shower to a man sitting in our room with our door wide opened. That was just the first issue. The cleaning crew did a poor job of keeping our room clean. We had sand and dirt all over our floors, and in our beds. We did not get fresh cups, or adequate daily supplies refilled when needed. Also we found ants crawling on top of the shelf where our food and fridge was. We also found ants crawling around in our beds. THE PRICE IS GOOD, BUT IT IS NOT WORTH IT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

PI Pizza. It's inexpensive and delicious. :)

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HAMANN
Couples
Toronto
Jul 22, 2012

downhill, definitely not a 3 star

room was not cleaned until 3:30 , 4:00 everyday, old room, needs updating, old dingy carpeting, smell in the hallways, did not feel clean, will not go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lynhaven Restaurant is the biggest ripoff, do not go, overpriced, cold food and all inside, can't view the ocean from the windows at night , completely dark.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Richmond
Apr 19, 2010

NOISY AND OUT OF CONTROL

There was band competition (or something like that) and a lot of kids were at the hotel. There was a security person on-site (We saw them... ONCE), but they were MIA for the time they were most needed. From midnight until 5 AM, many kids ran wild (and I'm being nice here) in the halls and made a racket ALL NIGHT long and security was NOWHERE to be found. This was our first and most likely our LAST to stay at Best Western in Virginia Beach. We are AVID Virginia Beach lovers, but I have to say this was a HUGE disappointment of a trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
vactioner
Family
Richmond VA
Jul 2, 2009

It was okay...

It was a nice hotel. Clean and no major problems. I think the room was way over priced, but I guess I was paying for the location. I also kept having problems with my room key...I tried for 10 minutes to get back into my room before I went down stairs to complain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeePhD
Couples
Pittsburgh
Aug 4, 2014

Best Aspect is Location

This is a decent hotel. Having a microwave and a small refrigerator in the room was a nice touch. The bathroom was tiny and that was annoying. Having a buffet breakfast included is a nice touch but the lines were often very long and you didn't want to wait for an average buffet. The location of the hotel is in the northern part of the beach but still in the mainstream. It was very convenient to Laskin Road which is one of the main locations for theaters, restaurants, etc. Worth staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain George's Restaurant on Laskin Road is an AMAZING seafood buffet. Absolutely worth the drive and the cost!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newfamily
Family
Northern VA, VA
Jun 29, 2009

Decent room for the price

This was a decent hotel for the price. Clean, available parking, convinient location. I found the check in time to be extremely late (4pm) especially for a family with small children. Check out is at 11am. It was difficult to fill in the time without access to an area to change or place your belongings upon arrival. There are more family friendly hotels out there. Indoor pool didn't look too clean either, outdoor pool is small & basic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a family bike in the evening, it's a lot more fun to pedal when the hot sun has set. Visit Tautogs for excellent seafood for under $15 a plate, make a reservation b/c the place opens at 5:30pm and is full by 6pm. Check out beachstreetusa.com for the available free entertainment that month.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marly
Friends
Lexington, KY, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Oceanfront was nice

the indoor pool had much to be desired there was no hot tub it was not what we expect. The restaurant had great food but the service was not good and the times it was open were strange.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top