Rate based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Holiday Inn Express RICHMOND - DOWNTOWN

3 stars
201 East Cary Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
41 reviews
Great place to stay for my weekend getaway

It was close to many things and clean. Staff was great and enjoyed my stay. Breakfast was great and... See full review

  • JacyKI
  • Nov 11, 2013
Great for Business Trips

This hotel was pretty nice. All of the staff was very friendly and even called me once I got... See full review

  • Bbydoll
  • Feb 18, 2012
Downtown Richmonds Best Value in Location and Parking! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Richmond, VA. Located in the heart of historic Richmond's River District, we offer corporate and leisure guests the best of the past and the future. Business travelers can appreciate our convenient Richmond, VA accommodations. Our hotel, situated in the heart of downtown Richmond, is close to businesses such as Wells Fargo, the Virginia Biotechnology Research Park, Altria, Philip Morris, SunTrust Bank and Mead Westvaco, as well as other Fortune 500 companies. Virginia Commonwealth University is six blocks away. The Greater Richmond Convention Center is .4 miles. Your family will love staying at our hotel in Richmond, VA, located on Cary Street, because we are close to the Virginia Capitol Building, the Children's Museum and the Museum & White House of the Confederacy. Other nearby sights includes the Carpenter Center, the Landmark Theatre and VCU's Siegel Center. The Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens offers visitors natural Virginia beauty at its finest. When you stay with us, you'll enjoy deluxe amenities including a 24-hour fitness center and a free Express Start breakfast. The free high-speed, wireless Internet access will keep you connected. The 24-hour business center has print, copy and fax services. Stay Smart in downtown Richmond and check out our great Richmond hotel deals and rates.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express RICHMOND - DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.5407 -77.4434
Nearby airports
Richmond International Airport, (RIC), 10.00, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.7 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.8 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.8 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.4 mi
  • Maymont: 1.6 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.9 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.7 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.8 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.8 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.4 mi
  • Maymont: 1.6 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.9 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 2 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.1 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.2 mi
  • Carytown: 2.4 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.4 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 3.7 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.8 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.1 mi

Dining

Beaugards Thai Room
Features some of the finest Thai cuisine in Richmond, Voted best Asian restaurant in Richmond. Enjoy lunch in a wonderful old walled patio garden.
The Tobacco Company
Victorian Elegance in Historic Shockoe Slip
La Grotta
Italian Fare without the Airfare located in Historic Shockoe Slip
Bottoms Up Pizza
Voted Best Pizza in Richmond Handmade 12 hour crust, homeade sauces and a hughe selection of toppings. located in Shockoe Slip
The Hard Shell
Located in Richmonds Shockoe Slip, The Hard Shell is known to locals as one of the best seafood resturants in town
Capital Ale House
Over 300 Beers The largest selection in Central Virginia, along with American Fare Dining 5 blocks from the hotel
Penny Lane Pub
Liverpool without the airfare Fine British Cuisine, as well as steaks and seafood entrees

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express RICHMOND - DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express RICHMOND - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Schwille
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jan 13, 2014

Overnight for a wedding

The hotel was a great value and close to all the places I needed to get to. Low ceiling in the parking garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express RICHMOND - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swim Parents 2
Business
Maryland
Nov 12, 2013

Breakfast

There is no hot items and variety needs to improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express RICHMOND - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JacyKI
Business
Winchester VA
Nov 11, 2013

Great place to stay for my weekend getaway

It was close to many things and clean. Staff was great and enjoyed my stay. Breakfast was great and will defiantly be staying with Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

KOBE

Review of Holiday Inn Express RICHMOND - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KCNess
Business
Monrovia, CA, USA
Oct 23, 2013

FREE Breakfast

If you are looking for a cheap place to stay, Holiday Inn Express is the place. It offers FREE breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express RICHMOND - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SteveMGI
Business
Maine
Oct 7, 2013

Business Trip

The only better than average rating in this review was the location. Everything else was average or less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express RICHMOND - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Birthday Kid
Business
Virginia
Jul 28, 2013

Good..

I enjoyed myself. The room was very comfy. The jacuzzi was very nice. It fit both me and my wife both comfortably.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express RICHMOND - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hottiejulz
Business
Hampton va
Jun 24, 2013

Room

Great location near MCV for my surgery. Front staff was awesome, rooms could use upgrading. The best breakfast I have had in a long time. I will email the GM to let them know, Taylor was very informative and very nice. Thank-you for a relaxing stay before my surgey. I stayed June 17-June 18 2013. Julie Henley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Awesome dining

Review of Holiday Inn Express RICHMOND - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dsny Mom
Business
Wake Forest, NC
May 13, 2013

Remind me not to come here again.

I was mistakenly booked into a smoking room. The staff quickly changed my room for me. The location is not very good. No restaurants nearby. The air conditioner was very cold and when I turned it off it was too warm in the room. Hotel is on the old side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express RICHMOND - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelin RI Man
Business
Providence, RI
Feb 18, 2013

Disappointing

UNCOMFORTABLE BEDS. STAFF WAS NOT HELPFUL. NOISE FROM HALLWAY AND ADJOINING ROOMS WAS DISTURBING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express RICHMOND - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bobby 22580
Business
Fluvanna County Virginia
Oct 26, 2012

Not Ok for the price

The building needs some TLC. There were no working Ice machines except on the thrid floor. The room was clean, but the outdated. the middle cutains had stains on them. The neighborhood could a bit scary at time, but over all not bad. The staff was curtious but not friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Capital Ale House in Downtown. It is a great place to with decent food.

Back to menu Return to top