Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

4 stars
75 South West Temple, 75 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
32 reviews
Loved my stay at the City Creek Marriott

I recently had an event I hosted at the City Creek Marriott, in addition I had a room. The staff... See full review

  • BusinessMan'13
  • Dec 17, 2013
Everything I wanted

They had everything I wanted. Good breakfast. Nice bed. Wonderful staff. Perfect location for what... See full review

  • HowGreatThouArt
  • Nov 16, 2013
Announcing the opening of our redesigned lobby Greatroom, a flowing, creative space inspired by natural environmental elements and local landscape in our hotel in Salt Lake City. Located in downtown's most vibrant area, City Creek, the Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek superbly blends business with pleasure in an elegantly engaging setting. For business, our Salt Lake City hotel features a Grand Ballroom, capable of seating 1,100 guests, for a total 22,000 sq ft of meeting space close to the Salt Palace Convention Center. For pleasure, our hotel is adjacent to City Creek, a premier shopping, dining, and entertainment district. Tour historic LDS Temple Square, attend events at Symphony Hall, or take in a Utah Jazz game or concert at Energy Solutions Arena. The hotel is also convenient to the ski slopes at nearby Snowbird and Alta. Guestrooms offer a dynamic mix of high-tech and high style, while our restaurant, Elevations, takes a cue from the surrounding mountains with a casual alpine dining ambience.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7676 -111.8934
Area served
Capital Building
Nearby airports
Salt Lake City International Airport, (SLC), 6.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Family History Library: 0.2 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.2 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.3 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.3 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.4 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 0.6 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 0.7 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Family History Library: 0.2 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.2 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.3 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.3 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.4 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 0.6 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 0.7 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 0.7 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Governor's Mansion: 1 mi
  • Memory Grove Park: 1.2 mi
  • Gilgal Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Liberty Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ensign Peak Park: 1.9 mi
  • The Tracy Aviary: 2 mi
  • Rice-Eccles Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • Jon M. Huntsman Center: 2.9 mi
  • Red Butte Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum of Utah: 3.7 mi
  • Sugarhouse Park: 3.8 mi
  • Utah's Hogle Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Utah Symphony: 6.9 mi
  • Mill Creek Canyon: 8.1 mi
  • Big Cottonwood Canyon: 18.5 mi
  • Solitude Mountain: 18.8 mi

Dining

Elevations
Our Salt Lake City restaurant offers a dining experience that blends urban American cuisine with a ski lodge-like ambience.
Destinations Lounge
Newly renovated lounge featuring a bistro style menu and innovative cocktails, along with craft beers and wines by the glass. A great place to gather with friends and colleagues in an energetic, contemporary setting.
StarbucksĀ®
Full service Starbucks to fuel your day with coffee, beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha, NE
Mar 28, 2008

Better be a millionare! Cuz its horribly expensive

Was the hotel nice? Yes Was it worth the money? Heck NO! If you want a diet coke in a can, Guess what? $2.00! Oh and if you want to borrow the hotel dvd player like every hotel in America has well guess what? They don't have one because they want you to pay for their movies. Don't even bother going here. Trust me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 6, 2008

Construction Zone

Pros - The hotel restaurant's food was really good and waitress was very attentive and friendly. Hotel room was clean. Lobby was nice. Cons - Construction zone around the hotel made it hard to get to, noisy, eye sore for hotel room view. Beware that hotel charges their guests for parking $12.00! With all the construction inconvenience, this should be waived, at least temporarily. Bathroom and room in general are small. It was disappointing. I would not stay at another Marriott again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Starbucks and restaurant in main lobby.

Review of Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs.Ang
Utah
Jan 8, 2013

Great Location

It was a great location, right in the heart of downtown Salt Lake. I would not recommend staying there on New Years Eve! Very noisy and loud all hours of the night. The walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors. I was not very impressed for the price of the hotel. Room service is great and the food was amazing. They also don't tell you it is 12 dollars a day for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are right by City Creek! Amazing shopping and dining choices!

Review of Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 15, 2011

Disappointed

The hotel is old, dark, and run-down for a Marriott. The service was decent, not what I expect from Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Matrixfusjon[@]
Business
Meridian, ID
Feb 3, 2010

The Marriott Hotel Salt Lake City

I am a tall guy so I need some room to move around. This was a room with a king size bed. Why was the bathroom door so so so small?? I know it is not there fault but the jack hammering of the building next door did not help the matters. Then you have the king size sheets that were obviously not king size. I had to get out of bed three times to fix the sheet because it too small for the bed. Don't expect any favors when it comes to internet connection. Get ready to pay $12 a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great pasta restaurant on the south of the hotel across the street. Mid range on price but taste is fantastic!!! Watch out for the parking police when visiting the Salt Palace. It is never FREE. Just pay for parking in the hotel and walk!!!!!! :<

Review of Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ribon5
Brigham City, Utah
Dec 16, 2012

WiFi not included??

I booked the room for my husband birthday. We splurged and stayed right there by City Creek Mall. We went out to eat at a restaurant and walked around the Mall. The location was superb. The room was great. I wan't going to pay extra for the WiFi just for the night. But when I had to be connected to take care of some business and my iPhone wasn't working as I hoped, I ended up paying to get the WiFi. For the price of the room, I was a little surprised that WiFi wasn't included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lajack123
salt lake city
Jan 1, 2013

Did not honor online deal

Nice stay but hotel would not let us have breakfast. Online reservation came with breakfast included, but manager would not let us have it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
From Texas
Texas
Nov 17, 2009

Our Stay @ Salt Lake City Marriott

We had chosen one of the Marriott Hotels because we have always been so very pleased when staying with this hotel chain. This hotel was not as nice as we had hoped. The room was very small and the matress seemed old and lumpy. There was also alot of construction going on around the hotel and they started working very early in the morning. The rooms did not have a fridge or a microwave. The bathroom was very small and the pressure in the shower was very low. We will probably go back to staying at Little America Hotel as we have always done before while visiting Salt Lake City. We come to this city several times each year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Someone told us about a little place in Salt lake City called "Johnny's Colachies"...we tried him out and it was GREAT!!!! A must try for everyone!

Review of Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shark Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 18, 2009

Easy access to Salt Palace conv. ctr.

If you are attending a convention at the Salt Palace this hotel is right across the street, so it makes life easy. However the services at the hotel are limited and you'll have to walk around downtown if you want some diversity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The outdoor mall is about 5 blocks away, behind the convetion center - Full of small specialty shops, no department stores.

Review of Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
May 2, 2008

Business friendly.

Would like to have had someone from the front desk at registration check in , offer help getting my bags to my room. No bell hop available and no one else offered Food and room service were very good. Location convenient to convention hall. In site of my first impression with the lack of help with my bags, the staff were generally friendly and otherwise helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Too nice restaurants across the street. Can request refrigerator at no extra fee.

Back to menu Return to top