Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 9, 2015 Check-out: Apr 10, 2015

Royal Garden Inn

2 stars
View map of 154 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Garden Inn

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
299 out of 299
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarieS
Business
Woodland Hills CA
Jun 25, 2014

Trip

Very nice - clean rooms, nice breakfast, great pool - very nice staff! Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John Q Wander
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jun 24, 2014

decent and inexpensive

The hotel is clean and in a good location close to downtown Salt Lake City. Also about 10 minutes to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yale Alum
Business
Kenora, ON
Jun 20, 2014

Rooms are okay, rest of the hotel needs attention

If I was just to evaluate the rooms, I would give this hotel a one-star rating overall. While the rooms are very clean, there is a staleness to them (like old smoke that has gotten into the ceilings & walls or something). Pictures on the website are definitely misleading and the grounds/outside areas need some attention. However, for the price paid I can't complain because I've stayed in worse hotels for more $.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trex317
Business
Planet Earth
May 12, 2014

Great location, value , youthful atmosphere

Large green (trees etc.) single level complex where you park in front of your door all in the heart of SLC, walk to cool dining, entertainment and Temple Square, etc. Decent continental breakfast and many foreign tourists/backpackers , thus making an adventurous atmosphere. Rooms are old, must be a 1950's motel, which I liked, and the sheets were new/clean and the bathroom too. Can't beat it for the price, you'll pay 2-5X next door at the 5*Star hotels. I was tired, but I am sure you could find a parties all about, but I slept well and heard no noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great places, just walk about or take the free tram. "Beervana" (Beer Nirvana) was very busy restaurant/bar 5min down the street, perhaps to yuppie for me, but some very bohemian places across the street with live music.

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tournassin
Business
Belgium
May 12, 2014

Near Temple Square

We are in a road trip since three months For this Motel, One Word "regular".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob From Mesa
Business
Mesa, Arizona
May 8, 2014

Fair value

The only thing I did not like was the wifi. It was to slow and I was extremely disappointed because I could not use my laptop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
larkspur
Business
Austin, texas
May 7, 2014

Adequate

Plus: good free breakfast - the only unsalty biscuits & gravy I've had at a hotel, good, convenient location, good airport transport, close to restaurants and city train, clock in the room. Minus: few TV channels and no guide, a few signs of wear & tear - hole in the bedspread in my first room, broken shower in the second - I didn't keep that one, they moved me. It looks like it was a nice hotel at one time and is sliding. They provided the basics, were low priced and were reasonably friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a basic, inexpensive and convenient hotel, this works, but possibly with a little more looking, or for a few more dollars, you could get more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red's Diner, just across the street is good, reasonable and has some variety. Very friendly staff, nice to go to after a hard day of vacationing.

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
courtz1986
Business
slc utah
Apr 28, 2014

family getaway

It was great employees were friendly and courteous and is very easy to book online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Movies

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marilyn Machaj
Business
California
Apr 28, 2014

Unexpected circumstances experienced

The room was dirty. Called front desk right away. Offered me to move to another room. It was raining so I told them I would move in the morning or they can come clean it. The sink we're slow draining, the shower room vent were almost falling off with the noises. There were no remote control for the television when I wanted to watch tele. Outside there was no good lighting on the area. There was a former employee who is hanging around the area, who actually walked me to the room. The breakfast, was a horrible experience. Arrived there, it was a hang out of almost like street people who come eat for free. Not only that, the food were all carbohydrates. There were no protein to be seen. We asked breakfast keeper if there was any eggs, sausage, bacon. He said "NO", also, no fresh fruits available, he's got this bowl of open can peaches, which I won't even touch. I am a diabetic what do you think it will do to my blood sugar. .it would sent me to emergency room for hype hyperglycemic, I did not like what I saw from all the food that was there. Then the roommate arrived, did not like walking upstairs, stating that she had a hard time getting up the stairs due to her sciatica. It was hurting her. Then she made a comment about how dirty the room was, she wanted to move to another room at that time. I called front desk to ask him if we can move to another room and possibly for first floor. Stated, not able to do because it was too full. There were no room available. But she insist to move. We went to the front desk, the person at the front desk was not cooperative and not helpful at all. He almost made the change, but when I mentioned the I called just a while ago, he then said "I don't have room available now". I was pretty upset about that. So, we decided to wait till the morning to changed room. The following morning we went to change room. There were not much question about the change. The only worried about that is they they were going to charge me another $20.00 dollars more if they put us on the newly remodeled rooms were they move us. The new room is much better from the other room. I heard that they lost customer, because of the rooms were unexpectedly not a good room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sunloverut
Business
Utah
Apr 18, 2014

Rather pay more for better facilities

There are better options for same price level. Comforters were old and looked dirty. Carpet old and wifi did not work at all, called for wifi and was not fixed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Albertos taqueria was excellent

Back to menu Return to top