Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Royal Garden Inn

2 stars
154 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
294 reviews
family getaway

It was great employees were friendly and courteous and is very easy to book online. See full review

  • courtz1986
  • Apr 28, 2014
good deal

Good Location next to everything next to hwy nice staff great deal will stay again:) See full review

  • bananiz
  • Feb 9, 2014
Our beautiful six-acre garden complex, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, is your stepping stone into all the Salt Lake Valley has to offer. With full service amenities such as 6500 square feet of convention room space for meetings up to 500+ people, one of the largest outdoor pools in the city, fitness center, gift shop, sundry area, free airport shuttle service and free on-site parking,Free Hot Buffet Breakfast, we have something for everyone. We look forward to serving you!

Royal Garden Inn Rooms

Deluxe Room
This deluxe room features one king or two queen beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Garden Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7581 -111.896
Area served
Salt Lake City, UT
Nearby airports
Salt Lake International Airport
Area description
We are within walking distance of the Salt Palace Convention Center, Delta Center (home of the Utah Jazz), Temple Square, Genealogical Library, Utah Symphony, local art galleries, museums, Imax Theater and for major shopping centers; including the amazing new Gateway Plaza complex. We are located within the Trax free fare zone, so you can catch our train that will take you anywhere throughout the downtown Salt Lake area at no-charge.

Nearby points of interest

  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.7 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Family History Library: 0.8 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.9 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.9 mi
  • Temple Square: 1 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.7 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Family History Library: 0.8 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.9 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.9 mi
  • Temple Square: 1 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 1.3 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 1.3 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 1.4 mi
  • Gilgal Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Governor's Mansion: 1.4 mi
  • Liberty Park: 1.4 mi
  • The Tracy Aviary: 1.5 mi
  • Memory Grove Park: 1.8 mi
  • Rice-Eccles Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Ensign Peak Park: 2.5 mi
  • Jon M. Huntsman Center: 3 mi
  • Sugarhouse Park: 3.4 mi
  • Red Butte Garden: 3.8 mi
  • Natural History Museum of Utah: 3.8 mi
  • Utah's Hogle Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Utah Symphony: 6.3 mi
  • Mill Creek Canyon: 7.8 mi
  • Big Cottonwood Canyon: 18.3 mi
  • Solitude Mountain: 18.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our 6,500 square foot Convention Center can handle sit-down dinners and meetings from 15 to 300 guests with ample breakout rooms. We have a wide array of audiovisual options available to our guests and are licensed to serve alcohol for any function. Choose from our pre-set catering menus or create your own. We are happy to work up a price for your creative menu selections. Whether your next event is a business meeting, birthday party, seminar, wedding or reunion, the Royal Garden Inn is the place to be. Call our catering department at 801-325-5308 to ask about options for 15 people or less; meetings available for any size group up to 500.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (294)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Garden Inn

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Evel Knievel
California
Oct 9, 2013

Good basic accomodations

Convenient location, within easy walking distance to Temple Square and mass transit. Our room was clean, the beds were reasonably comfortable, the sheets and towels smelled freshly laundered.... We paid fifty bucks, and frankly, I've paid a lot more for crummier rooms. Often. Was it fancy? No. Did it meet our needs? Absolutely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MA Scholtz
SLC, Utah
Oct 8, 2013

Motel from ----!!!

Room was dirty and everything was old and dilapidated. They gave us a new room. It was cleaner but still had problems, but had to live with them. Worst place I have ever stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rkfrates
Business
boise, idaho
Oct 7, 2013

work week

The first room was horrible. It smelled like smoke and mold. The room didn't have air conditioning and the ceiling was falling down in the bathroom and by the vanity. We ended up requesting another room. The new room still smelled bad, the wallpaper was coming down and the ceiling was falling near the vanity but we just decided to stay there because there was cooler air. We ended up airing out the room for quite a while. The staff was excellent and the cleaning crew was amazing they just really need to spend some money and some time to make their hotel a lot better. Breakfast was the same every morning there was no fruit unless you count canned peaches every other morning. There was Muffins and biscuits and gravy. If you wanted you could make your own waffle. Not my favorite experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The blue lemon restaurant is amazing and a good value for the money. Loved it.

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pete8992
Business
jackson wy
Oct 4, 2013

good location and Price

I have stayed at this motel many time While, it is below the standards of what I prefer, The price is right and you can't beat the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TnT123
St. George, Utah
Sep 25, 2013

What a JOKE!

After waiting for a VERY long time to check in (only one attendant at the desk) I was given a key to the "non-smoking" room I initially requested. It smelled heavily of cigars. I was then given a room that was okay. Very old decor and old box style tv. Room was only fair in cleanliness. Bathroom floor corners were gungy and hadn't been cleaned thoroughly for an apparent long time. Tried to call and acquire a different hotel all together ... another disappointing story all together. The following morning I walked out to the parking lot and saw a SLC Police squad car and realized after considerable time he hadn't moved. Approx. 1 hour later an unmarked police SUV pulled up. Both policemen (with some additional assistance) raided a nearby room and made arrests. I soon realized the police SUV was a mobile drug lab. Needless to say, not a comfortable feeling. There were pan handlers within the complex and I didn't notice any control regarding the situation. Just let them bother the guests? Hmm The so called "hot breakfast" was a bit less than average. Biscuits & gravy were about all the "warmth" there was. While there was a waffle/pancake maker the line of people waiting for the appliance was too long. Why not an additional $50.00 waffle maker? Daa Finally, the corridors in front of the exterior entrances to the rooms were dirty. Fall season hasn't fallen upon the area just yet but there were sticks and dried leaves everywhere. Reminded me of the bathroom, simply not enough time and quality care given to make the place shine a little more. I will NEVER stay at this hotel again. If I had known about the drug raid the night before (naturally impossible) I would have driven away after the cigar smelling room. 100% dissatisfied!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk onto, and immediately run away from this place! Short distance, short walk, and well worth your time in the long run.

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vam123
Albany, NY
Sep 25, 2013

Nice hotel

Hotel is close to airport. Rooms are pretty clean. Beds are good and comfortable. Nice place to stay. Worth the money. Great breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sho ME Travel
Missouri
Sep 20, 2013

Not expecting Much got much LESS!!!!!!!!!

Their advertising is a total lie!! It definitely is not a beautiful place it is a disgrace. They advertise a fitness room, hot tub, and there is none they advertise a coin laundry and there is none. Cleanliness of the Room was way below average. Stains on floor bugs in light fixture paper peeling on wall very unkempt place. The help will act like they cannot or don't speak English if they want to ignore you. While we were there they were spraying for bugs and the next morning we found a bug that resembled a bed bug. I did contact the Health dept in Salt lake city and they said there wasn't a lot they could do. Rooms were uncomfortable in the heat of the day the air conditioning did not keep up at all. They offered the services of the comfort inn next door which is owned by the same people we checked it out and were told their guests came first. So do not believe the advertising they put forth is is totally bogus . The indoor outdoor carpet outside was totally disgusting and trash littered the place while we were there. The pool was dirty especially around the top of the pool and there seemed to be some people that actually lived there that seemed very shady, part of the hotel seemed to be abandoned. They seem to be taking parts from one area to keep the other areas going. The place is a total mess!!! Would not stay there again Really Disappointed. Beware

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sho ME Travel
Missouri
Sep 20, 2013

Not expecting much--Got worse

Their advertising is a total lie!! It definitely is not a beautiful place it is a disgrace. They advertise a fitness room, hot tub, and there is none they advertise a coin laundry and there is none. Cleanliness of the Room was way below average. Stains on floor bugs in light fixture paper peeling on wall very unkempt place. The help will act like they cannot or don't speak English if they want to ignore you. While we were there they were spraying for bugs and the next morning we found a bug that resembled a bed bug. I did contact the Health dept in Salt lake city and they said there wasn't a lot they could do. Rooms were uncomfortable in the heat of the day the air conditioning did not keep up at all. They offered the services of the comfort inn next door which is owned by the same people we checked it out and were told their guests came first. So do not believe the advertising they put forth is is totally bogus . The indoor outdoor carpet outside was totally disgusting and trash littered the place while we were there. The pool was dirty especially around the top of the pool and there seemed to be some people that actually lived there that seemed very shady, part of the hotel seemed to be abandoned. They seem to be taking parts from one area to keep the other areas going. The place is a total mess!!! Would not stay there again Really Disappointed. Beware

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rande98
Yuba City, CA
Sep 19, 2013

Go to another hotel!!!

This was the most discusting place I have ever stayed. The non-smoking room we stayed in was filled with smoke! The floors were terribly stained, the celing in the vanity was falling down, and the shower had mold in it. This place was so gross, my 6 year old boy asked why we were staying in "this place". Sad for a 6 year old to think the place was terrible. I would never return or recommend this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
not happy dad
st george utah
Sep 17, 2013

Not so good

i got this hotel cause it was close to where we were going but it was hard to find the name is not post well and its on a super busy street. Also got this room cause it had a pool. Well the pool was closed cause someone put there dog in the pool so not so thrilled with that hotel . Also there was a wet spot on the carpet from the wall where something had leaked and was still leaking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top