Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Royal Garden Inn

2 stars
154 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
288 reviews
family getaway

It was great employees were friendly and courteous and is very easy to book online. See full review

  • courtz1986
  • Apr 28, 2014
good deal

Good Location next to everything next to hwy nice staff great deal will stay again:) See full review

  • bananiz
  • Feb 9, 2014
Our beautiful six-acre garden complex, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, is your stepping stone into all the Salt Lake Valley has to offer. With full service amenities such as 6500 square feet of convention room space for meetings up to 500+ people, one of the largest outdoor pools in the city, fitness center, gift shop, sundry area, free airport shuttle service and free on-site parking,Free Hot Buffet Breakfast, we have something for everyone. We look forward to serving you!

Royal Garden Inn Rooms

Deluxe Room
This deluxe room features one king or two queen beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Garden Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7581 -111.896
Area served
Salt Lake City, UT
Nearby airports
Salt Lake International Airport
Area description
We are within walking distance of the Salt Palace Convention Center, Delta Center (home of the Utah Jazz), Temple Square, Genealogical Library, Utah Symphony, local art galleries, museums, Imax Theater and for major shopping centers; including the amazing new Gateway Plaza complex. We are located within the Trax free fare zone, so you can catch our train that will take you anywhere throughout the downtown Salt Lake area at no-charge.

Nearby points of interest

  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.7 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Family History Library: 0.8 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.9 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.9 mi
  • Temple Square: 1 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.7 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Family History Library: 0.8 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.9 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.9 mi
  • Temple Square: 1 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 1.3 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 1.3 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 1.4 mi
  • Gilgal Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Governor's Mansion: 1.4 mi
  • Liberty Park: 1.4 mi
  • The Tracy Aviary: 1.5 mi
  • Memory Grove Park: 1.8 mi
  • Rice-Eccles Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Ensign Peak Park: 2.5 mi
  • Jon M. Huntsman Center: 3 mi
  • Sugarhouse Park: 3.4 mi
  • Red Butte Garden: 3.8 mi
  • Natural History Museum of Utah: 3.8 mi
  • Utah's Hogle Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Utah Symphony: 6.3 mi
  • Mill Creek Canyon: 7.8 mi
  • Big Cottonwood Canyon: 18.3 mi
  • Solitude Mountain: 18.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our 6,500 square foot Convention Center can handle sit-down dinners and meetings from 15 to 300 guests with ample breakout rooms. We have a wide array of audiovisual options available to our guests and are licensed to serve alcohol for any function. Choose from our pre-set catering menus or create your own. We are happy to work up a price for your creative menu selections. Whether your next event is a business meeting, birthday party, seminar, wedding or reunion, the Royal Garden Inn is the place to be. Call our catering department at 801-325-5308 to ask about options for 15 people or less; meetings available for any size group up to 500.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (288)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Garden Inn

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sho ME Travel
Missouri
Sep 20, 2013

Not expecting Much got much LESS!!!!!!!!!

Their advertising is a total lie!! It definitely is not a beautiful place it is a disgrace. They advertise a fitness room, hot tub, and there is none they advertise a coin laundry and there is none. Cleanliness of the Room was way below average. Stains on floor bugs in light fixture paper peeling on wall very unkempt place. The help will act like they cannot or don't speak English if they want to ignore you. While we were there they were spraying for bugs and the next morning we found a bug that resembled a bed bug. I did contact the Health dept in Salt lake city and they said there wasn't a lot they could do. Rooms were uncomfortable in the heat of the day the air conditioning did not keep up at all. They offered the services of the comfort inn next door which is owned by the same people we checked it out and were told their guests came first. So do not believe the advertising they put forth is is totally bogus . The indoor outdoor carpet outside was totally disgusting and trash littered the place while we were there. The pool was dirty especially around the top of the pool and there seemed to be some people that actually lived there that seemed very shady, part of the hotel seemed to be abandoned. They seem to be taking parts from one area to keep the other areas going. The place is a total mess!!! Would not stay there again Really Disappointed. Beware

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sho ME Travel
Missouri
Sep 20, 2013

Not expecting much--Got worse

Their advertising is a total lie!! It definitely is not a beautiful place it is a disgrace. They advertise a fitness room, hot tub, and there is none they advertise a coin laundry and there is none. Cleanliness of the Room was way below average. Stains on floor bugs in light fixture paper peeling on wall very unkempt place. The help will act like they cannot or don't speak English if they want to ignore you. While we were there they were spraying for bugs and the next morning we found a bug that resembled a bed bug. I did contact the Health dept in Salt lake city and they said there wasn't a lot they could do. Rooms were uncomfortable in the heat of the day the air conditioning did not keep up at all. They offered the services of the comfort inn next door which is owned by the same people we checked it out and were told their guests came first. So do not believe the advertising they put forth is is totally bogus . The indoor outdoor carpet outside was totally disgusting and trash littered the place while we were there. The pool was dirty especially around the top of the pool and there seemed to be some people that actually lived there that seemed very shady, part of the hotel seemed to be abandoned. They seem to be taking parts from one area to keep the other areas going. The place is a total mess!!! Would not stay there again Really Disappointed. Beware

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rande98
Yuba City, CA
Sep 19, 2013

Go to another hotel!!!

This was the most discusting place I have ever stayed. The non-smoking room we stayed in was filled with smoke! The floors were terribly stained, the celing in the vanity was falling down, and the shower had mold in it. This place was so gross, my 6 year old boy asked why we were staying in "this place". Sad for a 6 year old to think the place was terrible. I would never return or recommend this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
not happy dad
st george utah
Sep 17, 2013

Not so good

i got this hotel cause it was close to where we were going but it was hard to find the name is not post well and its on a super busy street. Also got this room cause it had a pool. Well the pool was closed cause someone put there dog in the pool so not so thrilled with that hotel . Also there was a wet spot on the carpet from the wall where something had leaked and was still leaking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not very needy traveler
Salt Lake City, Utah
Sep 11, 2013

Would not go back

Would not go back. Below substandard. I checked in very late so walked in and floor feel like old movie theater. Very tired and plan on spending night and finding another hotel. However, bathroom ceiling panels caving in and cover with stain. Streak marks on wall. Went to turn on lamps, most knobs are missing. Protective covers are missing from outlets. Pull back cover on bed and sheets were stained with dirt still on it. I had to abandon and find another hotel even though it was 1 AM. As checking out, someone was paying $8 for the hour of usage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Motmyers
Syracuse ny
Sep 11, 2013

You get what you pay for?

I stayed here in 2010 in a nice room so I chose the hotel again this past week. I guess I got lucky in 2010 with a room overlooking the pool. 2013 - not so lucky. Room # 1 - had an odor of a bad toilet - so I requested another room. Nice staff were quick to find me another room. Room # 2 - after an hour, had an inch of water on floor by bathroom. Maintenance arrived quickly to show overhead pipes leaking water through ceiling , over electrical wires and on to floor. Room # 3 - seemed dry despite 9 ft long water stain on ceiling. Hotel parking lots are transit corridors for the homeless. Whom are fairly nice when they approach you at the door of your room to ask for money and let you know they have identified what car is yours. Hotel seems not to take any responsibility for securing grounds. Day 2 revealed room # 3 leaking in same spot and manner as room # 2. Staff all very nice and helpful. Location convenient for you and the homeless. HAVE FUN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
numala
San Diego (CA)
Sep 9, 2013

Very good quality/price

Rooms are clean and confy. The staff is kind. Internet is free and fast enough. Good location and good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wanted to do laundry
Salt Lake, UT
Sep 8, 2013

False information, not even an appology

Hotel claims on its website to offer on site coin-operated laundry serviced. They do NOT! All I got was a: What are you going to do about it? We already have your money ... and you can just go to the laundrette that is on the other side of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yellowstone tourist
san jose, california
Sep 4, 2013

good hotel

great value for money. The air conditioner could have been a bit better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Barzac
Denver, Colorado
Aug 26, 2013

Don't pay full price

If you don't mind your room damp and smelling like mold. Or if you're not health conscious and need a cheap place to sleep, then this is the place for you. The free hot breakfast has a variety of carb options. The only protein was in the "meat" chunks in the canned gravy that you can slop on your biscuit. The healthiest option was the oatmeal pack with canned peaches, but the oatmeal tasted stale. I guess when you don't charge much for your rooms you can't afford to hire pleasant employees. The receptionist expressed her disgust with her facial expressions when my husband and I rudely interrupted a gossip session she was having with a co-worker (who didn't seem to be doing anything).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top