Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 12, 2016 Check-out: Mar 13, 2016

Royal Garden Inn

2 stars
View map of 154 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Garden Inn

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LA Philly Mike
LA and Philadelphia
Aug 1, 2014

Great location!

Great location and good price compared to other hotels in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go have pizza at the Pie Hole!

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarieS
Family
Woodland Hills CA
Jun 25, 2014

Trip

Very nice - clean rooms, nice breakfast, great pool - very nice staff! Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roll with the Punches
Business
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Jul 22, 2013

Royal Garden Inn, Salt Lake: you get what you pay for

This place is like Detroit; it used to be a nice town, but the years have taken their toll. The rooms are clean, I'll say that, but the outside areas are disgusting! The entry ways, ice machine areas and parking lot are downright scary. Our first room was awful, but we got moved to the "new" section that is adjacent to the pool, with a convenient but filthy patio. It made life bearable, with the pool ten feet away through our secure (thank God) sliding door. The pool was the saving grace: it was 104 deg. in SLC, and the pool was the perfect temperature, clean, and deep. The "lounge" chairs were barely adequate, but again, it was HOT, so most time was spent in the crowded but cool and clean pool, not "enjoying the 104 deg. sun from a lounge chair. The range of guests went from foreign visitors who obviously didn't know that this was NOT a "Deluxe Family Motel," to unsuspecting ladies in town for a knitting convention, to full-on, I kid-you-not gangsters who I wouldn't even think of looking in the eye. We were expecting to have our car burglarized, as there was no security, and there were constantly marauding nasty looking characters, but we had no problems. It was like being on a sinking cruise ship; most of the guests did their best to stay cheerful and encourage each other on through the day. The front desk ladies were very helpful, pleasant, changed us to a better room upon request, and even secured us a new mattress when mine sprung springs. The domestic help was also very polite, even helped me lug a big suitcase up to our (first) appalling room, brought towels and supplies when needed, and did a good job cleaning the INSIDE of the room. Again, the outside sidewalks, walls, patios and grounds were downright disgusting. We would never stay here again, and only stuck it out because we prepaid a travel service and getting a refund is impossible. Also, the town was booked tight, and I don't think we even could have found another room. That said, we definitely saved money! We paid less than $50/night for a double queen room located on the pool, that was clean, the shower worked, the 1990's TV worked, the beds were ok, it was relatively quiet, and we got out of there with our lives and our possessions. At the Royal Garden Inn, you get what you pay for, but for $50, what do you expect?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red Rock, about 250 South, Second West. Great for all three meals. By the way, learn the ways to enter and leave the Royal Garden. One-way streets require pre-planning. Also, the Utah State liquor store was very close by. The Royal Garden is right downtown and close to everything.

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Knuckleheadz
Family
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jul 12, 2013

Family getaway

I am a local from slc. What i loved about this hotel is the outdoor pool and how big the pool is. My kids loved every moment we were there and that the pool was big:) Especially when we moved to a larger room with a 1 king bed, the room was much bigger and the bed was so comfortable, but best of all.... we could walk out the sliding door to the patio of the swimming pool. It was perfect for me and my family. I recommend it, also because its in the middle of downtown. I will always book a getaway at the Royal Garden Inn for the future. Front desk people were very nice. A young lady named Bri was so great, very friendly!!! Our stay was very comfortable there. We didnt want to leave but we will definitely go back to Royal Garden Inn :) Thank you Cheap Tickets for hooking it up with an awesome cheap and affordable price for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to fast food restaurants, night clubs, gateway mall, Walgreens, gas stations all around each corner.

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappytraveler 72013
Single
Sonoma California
Jul 9, 2013

Never again. (Bedbugs) DO NOT STAY HERE!

First room I got set up in, looked decent, but there was BEDBUGS under the pillows. I took a picture to show at front desk (will add pic to review if can), and they moved me to a different room. This room was very dirty, floor had garbage on it, and I found a few adult items (used condoms) that had not been cleaned up from last guest. At this point it was about 3 am, My first night I was not able to get sleep, and they closed the lobby so I couldn't change rooms again till after 6am. So I slept in my rental car Next room I got switched too, wasn't the cleanest but in compare to first two rooms was a LOT better. On the start of my second night, the Hotel manager told me they would refund 2 nights to me for the difficulty's that I had from the first two rooms I had, the next day they "forgot" they said that. Lastly I had requested a later checkout, was told I could get a checkout at 12 instead of the normal 11, at 1105 in the morning of checkout, I had a knock at the door telling me to leave now unless I want to pay for another night. I will not EVER stay here again, at least a Motel 6 would be cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Chuck a Rama has some good food, it is a buffet

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
YL Music Teacher Oiler
Business
Tn.
Jul 6, 2013

needs updating

The location is ideal (close to salt palace convention) But the rooms are in great need of repair- the one outlet came out of the wall and the phone did not work at all, the shower curtain rod came out of the wall entirely when a towel was placed over it, and the smoke detector was in the drawer. The toilet paper holder was not attached to the wall - it was laying on the back of the toilet, and there were lots of cobwebs aroung the entire celing. The housekeeping crew was rude but the office staff was very, very nice. Parking was decent and there are alot of ground floor rooms. Breakfast decent. Price was fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

JB's restaurant is excellent - great buffet and the menu choices are varied and all good. Very friendly staff. Free parking validation.

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Giles
Family
Sun City, AZ
Jun 20, 2013

Cleanliness

Good location right down town. Friendly staff. Pool was cold. Jacuzzi broken and informed won't be fixed. Stated we could go to motel next door and use theirs. Theirs not working either.. Walkway in front of rooms had very worn carpeting and full of trash and leaves. Would not stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reds Lion INN

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sue12
Family
Halifax
May 11, 2013

if it would be a bit cleaner.....

Located in a business district, close to many restaurants with nice surroundings. The carpet was very stained and although it said nonsmoking there were lots of burn stains in the carpet and the bedblanket. The breakfast room had lots of sticky residue on the floor and it needs some cleaning. The rooms are big and the bed was comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Spaghetti Factory, roughly a mile away, very nice and good service, tasty food! Nice walk to and from the hotel.

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Melaman
Business
Massachusetts
May 7, 2013

not the best in town

The walk to the Salt Palace was 4 blocks, But a Block in Salt Lake is like 4 or 5 Blocks in Boston. The breakfast was lacking any eggs or sausage. Area it was in was crowded and barrels always full of trash each morning I went there. Only went twice out of 5 days. Room was ok, clean , Won't return to visit . Will book closer to Salt Palace next Convention

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

too far from Convention

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sandra Holman
Business
Slidell, LA
May 6, 2013

All I Needed

All I needed was a decent, inexpensive, and clean place to lay my head at night because I knew that I wouldn't be spending much time in the hotel room anyway. Up and out by 7:30 am and back by 9:00 or 9:30 pm. Walking distance to where I needed to be and I couldn"t have asked for more perfect weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Want to spend less for a room that you won't be spending much time in, then this is your place. Four blocks from downtown SLC. walk them or walk 2 blocks and ride the brand new transit system around downtown or even to and from the airport.

Back to menu Return to top