Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

4 stars
View map of 420 W Market Street, 420 W Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GAL FROM GLENDALE
Business
GLENDALE, NEW YORK
Sep 21, 2009

THIS IS THE GREATEST PLACE TO STAY!!!!

THIS HOTEL WAS THE BEST I'VE EVER STAYED AT. THE ROOMS WERE SPOTLESS AND THE SERVICE WAS IMPECCABLE! THEIR STAFF WAS VERY WELL TRAINED AND FRIENDLY. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYBODY! WHAT A TREAT IT WAS TO STAY AT THE WESTIN! I'M LOOKING FORWARD TO MY NEXT TRIP THERE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BOUDROS STEAK RESTAURANT IS A "MUST"! BUT YOU BETTER MAKE A RESERVATION!

Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Sep 15, 2009

San Antonio

It was just a wonderful hotel and we would diffently stay at the Westin again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Sep 10, 2009

Enjoyable Stay

First time to stay on the Riverwalk. Loved being on the riverwalk. The hotel was at a medium walking distance from the main part of the riverwalk, which is nice for people that want a quieter less crowded location. A couple minor problems with the hotel as noted above but overall we enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anthony Denning
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 14, 2009

beautiful hotel, HORRIBLE service!

Went to check in and was told they only had a room w/ two double beds instead of the king bed room with a river view and a balcony I reserved (though they claim I booked the 2 bed room, my confirmation from Orbitz says "bed", singular). They were unable to give me the right room so they stuck us in a "jr. suit" on the 7th floor over looking a garage (very romantic for my wife and I). The street traffic was so loud I was up at 6am to the sound of trucks. Then managed to get back to sleep only to be awakened by housekeeping at 9am and 10:30am. Both times I showed them the do not disturb sign (stating the word "calm" ironicly) hanging on the door but apparently the only english they knew was "house keeping". I talked to [...] the manager who was for all purposes completely useless. He told me that because I booked through Orbitz he couldn't do anything for me, not even comp the $30 valet which I didn't book through Orbitz. I paid $200 to stay in a four diamond hotel and got to look at a garage and get woken up repeatedly by ignorant staff. Do not stay at this hotel. There are others on the river that have a better location and staff that can actually serve you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sonoma, CA
Aug 13, 2009

Elegant adult getaway

Upon check-in we were warmly greeted by Dominic who proved to be a wealth of good info on where to go and where to eat! We spent 5 nights in our spacious room and in our very comfortable bed. We found the hotel to be in a great location, within walking distance to everything. Unfortunately, we found the bar in the restaurant downstairs, Zocca, to be severely lacking in friendly efficient service. All in all we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Boudro's restaurant on the river was awesome. Service, food,location!

Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IAmVisitor#1,000,0000
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 11, 2009

Mighty Fine

Great hotel--located right on the Riverwalk and on the yellow and purple streetcar routes. Close to many sites: Alamo, San Fernando Cathedral, Spanish Gov's Palace (it's a house with lovely gardens), Market Square, and so on. Excellent staff. Price for three days of internet, including taxes, was approximately $38. Room was very nice. When you check in, do not accept the key for the minibar, and then you will not be tempted to use it. There are several small markets within a three-block radius of the hotel that you can visit for snacks, beverages, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit the San Juan mission because it is a National Park Service site. It is the only one of five missions in San Antonio that has rangers available to answer questions. Do not go to the other missions unless you have a car. If you are thinking about going to the Univ. of Texas Institute of Texan Cultures, be ready to pay $8 and read a lot of signs. Eat at Mi Tierra in MarketSquare--take a number when you go into the bakery area and order pecan pralines. The best. :)

Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sixfoot
Business
Germantown, WI
Aug 9, 2009

Very nice overall

The Hotel was beautiful and the service was top notch except for the morning concierge. He came off as snooty. The Latino gentleman who worked the afternoon was far better. The only other blemish in our stay was the hotel bar staff was more concerned with leaving for the night than serving paying customers. The Westin room was perfect with a very nice view of the city. The bed was very comfortable and the flet panel TVwas super - I wish there was more in high def. Other than the snooty concierge, our stay was perfect! I would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk from the bars to the hotel is very nice if you stay on the river walk but it is a bit far. It's better to jump up on the street level to get back to the hotel quickly.

Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sixfoot
Business
Germantown, WI
Aug 9, 2009

Very nice overall

The Hotel was beautiful and the service was top notch except for the morning concierge. He came off as snooty. The Latino gentleman who worked the afternoon was far better. The only other blemish in our stay was the hotel bar staff was more concerned with leaving for the night than serving paying customers. The Westin room was perfect with a very nice view of the city. The bed was very comfortable and the flet panel TVwas super - I wish there was more in high def. Other than the snooty concierge, our stay was perfect! I would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk from the bars to the hotel is very nice if you stay on the river walk but it is a bit far. It's better to jump up on the street level to get back to the hotel quickly.

Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 5, 2009

Great Hotel and service

On the quiet side of the riverwalk. You could walk to the lively area within a few minutes. Friendly and helpful staff. You could walk to the River Center Mall, and the Market within 10 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M.S
Business
Modesto, CA
Aug 4, 2009

Great for me not to great for others

my stay was great. I went for a graduation at lackland airforce base. The riverwalk was very fun and had tons of restaurants, shops plus the mall was 4 blocks away, it also had a great night environment with many places to get a drink and meet new people from across the country. My stay at The Westin was great. It included vallet parkin, a great view of the riverwalk, a great bar an restaurant and excellent housekeepin. I was not ready to check out at noon so they move my check out to 3:30 at no charge. Although my stay was great my father in law and family had to switch rooms three times do to problems with their rooms such as leaky faucets and roll over bed instead of a second bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave about 30 minutes before the bars close down because it gets crowded and the cops crackdown

Back to menu Return to top