Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

The Fairmount Hotel

3 stars
401 South Alamo, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
47 reviews
Great staff and location!

Staying at this historic hotel was a great experience! The staff were very friendly and went out of... See full review

  • Jsharp96
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great hotel close to convention center

The Fairmont Hotel was a really neat little boutique hotel with lots of character and a very... See full review

  • Travel gourmet
  • Feb 25, 2014
Turn-of-the century charm, near convention center and HemisFair Park
Originally built in 1906, the Fairmount Hotel San Antonio was saved the fate of demolition and moved five blocks in 1985, earning a space in the Guinness Book of World Records. The hotel reopened in 1986 and was renovated in 2006. This Victorian gem is loaded with turn-of-the-century charm, and is located between the Convention Center and HemisFair Park. The Insignia features eclectic twists on Tex-Mex classics. Rooms have high ceilings, sitting rooms, and individual climate control. Some rooms feature private balconies with stunning views.
Highlights
  • Located between the convention center and HemisFair Park
  • Turn-of-the-century Victorian architecture with balcony views
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel
  • 24-hour fitness center and computer workstation
  • Restaurant features eclectic twists on Tex-Mex classics
Rooms

Individual climate control and high ceilings are in every guest room, along with a sitting area. Wireless Internet access is complimentary throughout the Fairmount Hotel San Antonio and each room features two telephones with data ports, CD player and 27-inch cable TV including HBO. Local calls are free. The combination shower and baths have hair dryers and plush cotton robes to snuggle into. Luxury suites feature the same high ceilings and features as guest rooms, but also include a private balcony, separate tub with spa feature and shower, mini-refrigerator and flat-screen TV.

Features

Restaurant Insignia opened in the Fairmount Hotel San Antonio in 2009 and features American eclectic twists on Texas favorites, including cast-iron fried chicken and piloncillo waffles with maple gravy and haricot vert. The 24-hour fitness center features an elliptical machine, treadmill, universal machine with resistance exercises and free weights. A 1,200-square-foot courtyard venue named "The Jewel Box" has an intricate polished granite floor, lit torchiers and a tented canopy which may be used to cover the area for a wedding or other party. A quiet Labrador is stationed in the lobby and will quietly bring guests the daily newspaper.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.9 mi./12.7 km)
  • Enterprise Rent A Car (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Hertz Rent a Car (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (0.6 mi./0.9 km)
  • Amtrak Station (0.6 mi./1 km)
Attractions
  • The Magik Theatre (0.1 mi./0.1 km)
  • San Antonio Convention Center (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Tower of the Americas (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • The Alamo (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • HemisFair Park  (0.4 mi./0.7 km)
  • Market Square (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Complimentary use of a computer workstation and printer with high speed Internet access
  • Other business services include copy, fax and courier service
  • Executive floors and meeting space available
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking costs $21 per day
  • Well-behaved pets of 35 pounds or less are welcome at a fee of $75 per day and must be leashed or carried while on the hotel property

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Fairmount Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe Double Queen - Two Deluxe Queen Beds with Sitting Area. Internet. Daily newspapers. Coffee maker. CD alarm clock radios. Movie channels. Balcony access in many rooms.
Deluxe
Deluxe Queen - Queen bed with Sitting Area. Internet along with local calls. Daily newspapers. Each room offers individual coffee maker. Movie channels. Iron/boards. Balcony access in many rooms
Standard
Each room is furnished with antique furniture from all over the world. A standard suite has a queen size bed with a workspace and chair. Also available are plush robes in each closet with an iron starch and ironing board. Free wirless internet access.
Suite
Veranda Suite-Features entertainment/living and BD area with deluxe queen bed. Comp-WiFI along with local calls and daily newspapers. Individual coffeemaker CD alarm clock radios. Movie channels. Iron/boards. Balcony access in many rooms.
Suite
Veranda Deluxe Double Suite-Features entertainment/living and bedroom area with two deluxe queen beds. Comp-WiFi along with local calls and daily newspapers. Coffeemaker. CD alarm clock radios. Movie channels. Balcony access with each room.
Suite
Junior Suite - Queen Bed Living and bedroom areas. Marble and brass appointments with hairdryers. Wireless internet along with local calls. Daily newspapers. Coffee maker. Movie channels. Balcony access in many rooms.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmount Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4207 -98.4882
Nearby airports
San Antonio Intl Airport, (SAT), 7.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.4 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.9 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.9 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.4 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.9 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.9 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.7 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.1 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.1 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10 mi
  • Sea World: 13.1 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.5 mi

Dining

Luca Ristorante Enoteca
Luca Ristorante Enoteca is a onsite restaurant. It is a full service restaurant. Type of cuisine served is Italain cuisine. Luca best described as a contemporary regional Italian restaurant with enoteca provides fine cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. Luca

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmount Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 47
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmount Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jkraatz
Business
Lenox, MI
May 8, 2014

Great location

Great Location but the room was not what we anticipated from the website. They are working on improvements and the rooms that they have redone are absolutely gorgeous! With needed updating the Fairmount good be a real gem!! The staff and manager where very accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmount Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel gourmet
Business
San Antonio
Feb 25, 2014

Great hotel close to convention center

The Fairmont Hotel was a really neat little boutique hotel with lots of character and a very interesting and unique history, having been moved in it's entirety from it's original location to the present location which was right across the street from the CC. The hotel staff was also very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmount Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
Jul 29, 2010

Convenient Location

When looking for hotel accomodations for a recent convention in San Antonio, the Fairmount showed up on my list. At first, the proximity to the convention center caught my attention, and then I remembered that this was the hotel that had been moved through downtown San Antonio to its present location on S. Alamo. The combination of the location and the historic background made the decision easy.When I arrived at the hotel, I was greeted by friendly and polite personnel including Luke the concierge, a Lab mix that was rescued by the owners. The occasional greeting by Luke made this hotel stay feel more like home to me. The furnishings and decorating created an atmosphere of luxury that transported one to the past. I found this a welcome change from the typical hotel decor.The one thing I missed was an option for breakfast. The in-house restaurant did not open until ll:00 a.m., and there was no continental breakfast offered. A coffee maker was available in the room, but other hotels offer that and at least a continental breakfast.All things considered, my stay was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmount Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
Jul 29, 2010

Convenient Location

When looking for hotel accomodations for a recent convention in San Antonio, the Fairmount showed up on my list. At first, the proximity to the convention center caught my attention, and then I remembered that this was the hotel that had been moved through downtown San Antonio to its present location on S. Alamo. The combination of the location and the historic background made the decision easy.When I arrived at the hotel, I was greeted by friendly and polite personnel including Luke the concierge, a Lab mix that was rescued by the owners. The occasional greeting by Luke made this hotel stay feel more like home to me. The furnishings and decorating created an atmosphere of luxury that transported one to the past. I found this a welcome change from the typical hotel decor.The one thing I missed was an option for breakfast. The in-house restaurant did not open until ll:00 a.m., and there was no continental breakfast offered. A coffee maker was available in the room, but other hotels offer that and at least a continental breakfast.All things considered, my stay was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmount Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jlip
Business
Chicago, Il
Jun 7, 2010

Charming, friendly place to stay

I was on a business trip looking for a nice hotel at a reasonable price. I found it at the Fairmont

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmount Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jlip
Business
Chicago, Il
Jun 7, 2010

Charming, friendly place to stay

I was on a business trip looking for a nice hotel at a reasonable price. I found it at the Fairmont

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmount Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr. Drowsy
Business
Chicago
Jun 6, 2010

The Fairmount Hotel

While the bedroom was comfortable and nice there was dust on the headboard, the bathroom was clean except for the ceiling and the ventilation duct which was covered in dust There was some type of water leak on the ceiling and it was bubbling the paint. The main entrance and furniture is old and dirty appearing and the smell from Luke the big dog( I am a dog lover) but the lobby had a musty dog smell. The staff was great and the value was good. Don't expect Fairmont hotel here this is completely different!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very Close to the River Walk and the Convention Center

Review of The Fairmount Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr. Drowsy
Business
Chicago
Jun 6, 2010

The Fairmount Hotel

While the bedroom was comfortable and nice there was dust on the headboard, the bathroom was clean except for the ceiling and the ventilation duct which was covered in dust There was some type of water leak on the ceiling and it was bubbling the paint. The main entrance and furniture is old and dirty appearing and the smell from Luke the big dog( I am a dog lover) but the lobby had a musty dog smell. The staff was great and the value was good. Don't expect Fairmont hotel here this is completely different!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very Close to the River Walk and the Convention Center

Review of The Fairmount Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 18, 2009

Enjoyed my stay

I was there to attend a continuing education course. The hotel was located right off the river walk and was close to everthing you'd want to go to. The service was excellent. Only down side was that there was no continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmount Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 18, 2009

Enjoyed my stay

I was there to attend a continuing education course. The hotel was located right off the river walk and was close to everthing you'd want to go to. The service was excellent. Only down side was that there was no continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top