Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

4 stars
205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
152 reviews
Wonderful Romantic Getaway

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton Gunter in San Antonio this weekend. Our stay was amazing!... See full review

  • Nice and Relaxed Mama
  • Jun 3, 2013
Good Spot

I went to SA for a NBA Playoff game. Great location and great food. Bar in the lobby is also a hit... See full review

  • DR Brent
  • May 4, 2014
Turn-of-the-century charm with all modern amenities near River Walk
The Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio has equal parts great location, old-world charm and all modern amenities. The hotel was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2007. The on-site bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats. Barron's, the in-house café, serves decadent breakfast items. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic, or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also hosts a happy hour. This hotel has a AAA 4 Diamond rating. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center is available for guests.
Highlights
  • Walking distance of the major attractions
  • 13 conference rooms and one Grand Ballroom
  • 1920s-era barber shop
  • Heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center
  • On-site restaurant and pub
  • Bakery serves fresh-baked goods and chocolate covered strawberries
Rooms

Rooms at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio are sleek and modern, decorated in hues of blonde and blue with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper pillow-top bed, a work desk and leather club chair. Room service and laundry are available 24 hours a day. Club level rooms and suites, including a presidential suite, are available on request. All rooms are nonsmoking and feature mini coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, and plush bathrobes.

Features

An old-school barber shop is preserved in 1920s style, right down to the chairs. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center are available. The Sheraton Gunter Bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats, including chocolate-covered strawberries. Barron's is the in-house café, which serves decadent breakfast items like eggs Benedict and an indulgent lunch buffet. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also serves an appetizer-laden happy hour Monday through Friday. In 2007, the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places. A Grand Ballroom 13 conference rooms are available for functions.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
Attractions
  • Majestic Theater (0.1 mi./0.1 km)
  • River Walk (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • The Alamo (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  •  The Tower of the Americas (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • The Alamodome (1 mi./1.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with PC workstation
  • Grand Ballroom and 13 conference rooms available
Policies and fees
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • Parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Porters
Video checkout
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4265 -98.4911
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 10.00, MI; San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 10.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bigmanny
Dallas, TX, USA
Apr 30, 2012

fiesta 2012

Good location, overpriced, older rooms, no free breakfast, WiFi sucks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston, tx
Apr 24, 2011

not a great stay

Hotel was like from 50 years ago.. the rooms are not well equiped.. no fridge in the room.. I'm surprised they had a tv in there. The bathroom is very small.. an airplane bathroom is better.. the bathtub is dirty and the showerhead is messed up.. we had water pressure problems throughout our stay, in the middle of my shower the water stopped.. everything in the room except the tv is old and outdated.. for this kindof money I'm sure I would have found a much better place to stay at..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rcassidy
berkshires, ma
Sep 17, 2012

very unhappy expierience

I came to texas to see my son graduate from the air force. I had purchased a hard rock cafe shirt for him for his birthday. seeing he was in boot camp and i missed it. shirt costing $36.00. It was taken from my room and the hotel didnt seem to concerned and said their staff wouldnt steel. I was only told they would reimburse me $30.00. I still havent recieved that or my $50.00 deposit yet. its been a week. totally unacceptable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston, tx
Apr 24, 2011

not a great stay

Hotel was like from 50 years ago.. the rooms are not well equiped.. no fridge in the room.. I'm surprised they had a tv in there. The bathroom is very small.. an airplane bathroom is better.. the bathtub is dirty and the showerhead is messed up.. we had water pressure problems throughout our stay, in the middle of my shower the water stopped.. everything in the room except the tv is old and outdated.. for this kindof money I'm sure I would have found a much better place to stay at..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Jan 18, 2010

San Antonio

THis place is WAY over-priced for the size and cleanliness of the room! Our room had no place to put toiletry items and the room was very small. We froze the first two nights until we asked the desk to assist us. Found out they had not switched a valve in the heater from summer to winter mode. Talked to several other people at the hotel tha thad the same experience. Seems like this would be a normal maintenance item seasonally. did not receive clean sheets during our stay, or a vacuum. Just mae the bed and new towells. Even left out fresh bottled water one day, as well as creamer for coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat on the riverwalk.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Jan 18, 2010

San Antonio

THis place is WAY over-priced for the size and cleanliness of the room! Our room had no place to put toiletry items and the room was very small. We froze the first two nights until we asked the desk to assist us. Found out they had not switched a valve in the heater from summer to winter mode. Talked to several other people at the hotel tha thad the same experience. Seems like this would be a normal maintenance item seasonally. did not receive clean sheets during our stay, or a vacuum. Just mae the bed and new towells. Even left out fresh bottled water one day, as well as creamer for coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat on the riverwalk.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
harlingen, texas
Jun 6, 2009

Fair to Poor

my experience was mediocre at best. The Gunther is a nice hotel, except the quality has declined. Poor valet service, shower pressure was nil, and pillows in beds were horrible. (pillows were extremely flimsy, with no support.) the price was great, but the hotel lacks alot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

if you can put up with poor service, and bad water pressure, then the hotel is in a great location, 2 blocks from riverwalk, clubs, etc.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin,TX
Nov 18, 2009

"Don't Do It"

The room we stayed in had a nonfuncitoning thermastat, and as a result nearly froze. It was explained to me the that hotel was an old building and that the room temperatures were controlled from their control...THANKS!!The television's network was not working and as a result could not order a movie. The valet parking sucked. When I called for my vehicle, I was told they were not taking call in's because they were too busy and was told to just come down and ask for the vehicle in person. They really need to get their cutomer care together there.. On check out when I mentioned the above all I was told was sorry.. I will definetly not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The mexican restaurant Mi Tierra is located in the down town market square of san antonio.. It's a great place to stop by and enjoy the mexican culture. The food is authentic mexican food, the real deal.. The employee's are dressed in their india maria dresses and old talented men sing their hearts out..Great way to enjoy the mexican culture without the digusting sanitation found in mexico..

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 18, 2008

If extra effort from staff is your desire,don't go there!

Housekeeping was not acceptable. Carpet was stained when we arrived and not kept vacuumed while were there. Updating of bathrooms is needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GREAT sushi and seafood restaurant down the street. We walked over late on a Sunday evening and had fab food and wonderful service.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn NY
May 22, 2011

NOT WORTH IT

We booked the hotel during a trip we made to San Antonio to plan our wedding. We were staying at the Sheraton to get an idea if we would reccommend the hotel to our guests for that weekend. I am an SPG preferred customer and made sure to book a room with my membership.We are from NY and are used to high prices for little in return. Sheraton Gunter was dirty, ( no one had wiped the mirror, towels were spotted, and floors hadn't been vacumed.) Houskeeping barely moved anything when cleaning so our garbage- even if set in the garbage can, was never taken out. Beds were just thrown together- never completely made. They have old mattresses that squeek and dip in the middle. The cafe downstairs serves a cold and poor breakfast buffet equivalent to airline or hospital food. And parking in the garage is very expensive at $22 per day. The pool is tiny and filthy. My parents were put up in a similar room that had NO closet. In fact, it was 3 feet wide and only 6 inches deep!! How do you hang anything in there?! And when they borrowed a luggage cart from the bellman to hang their clothing, they were threatened and yelled at for "stealing it." How dare them!The hotel is older and we were looking forward to appreciating its charm, but with poor food, untidy rooms, and average location- this hotel is NOT worth it's price. Even on [...]. I highly reccommend the Valencia, Dury Inn, or even the Omni. They are closer to the Riverwalk and well worth their price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
harlingen, texas
Jun 6, 2009

Fair to Poor

my experience was mediocre at best. The Gunther is a nice hotel, except the quality has declined. Poor valet service, shower pressure was nil, and pillows in beds were horrible. (pillows were extremely flimsy, with no support.) the price was great, but the hotel lacks alot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

if you can put up with poor service, and bad water pressure, then the hotel is in a great location, 2 blocks from riverwalk, clubs, etc.

Back to menu Return to top