Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

3 stars
100 Villita Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
390 reviews
Tracy

Friendly staff, always will to help . Hotel was very comfortable . River walk was 4 blocks from hotel See full review

  • Tracy the traveler
  • Feb 13, 2014
winderful location

Rooms are very nice. Staff was awesome. Room was a little cold, but very comfortable. The location... See full review

  • snowheart
  • Jan 19, 2014
Luxurious hotel just a short walk to the River Walk in San Antonio
Some of the 129 rooms at the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites on the south bank of the River Walk have a balcony, and many offer a view of the river itself, which is just 15 yards away. The fourth floor has a deck laden with teak lounge chairs, palm trees and heated pool. The fitness center nearby has towels, bottled water and plenty of TVs. The business center never gets a rest, as it is open 24 hours and offers printing, fax, notary and courier services, along with computer workstations. At check-in time, Otis Spunkmeyer cookies are served.
Highlights
  • Just 15 yards from the south bank of the River Walk
  • Full-service business center and banquet space with catering
  • Fitness center and heated, outdoor pool are open 24 hours a day.
Rooms

There are a few rooms with balconies overlooking the winding river. Request a balcony for that extra perk of lounging in the open air, riverside. The 129 guest rooms of the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites have been updated with a muted palate of warm earth tones and offer complimentary wired Internet, a two-line cordless speaker phone and 42-inch flat-screen TV with more than 60 cable channels, including HBO. All rooms feature a line of products from the palm-frond waving resort line, Tommy Bahama. Suites have comfy terrycloth robes waiting to be snuggled into. Smoking rooms are available on request

Features

The Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites is close to Brooks City Air Force Base, Fort Sam Houston and Randolph Air Force Base, and make every effort to accommodate guests be they veterans, currently enlisted or visiting any nearby base for any reason. Its fitness center and outdoor heated swimming pool are open 24 hours a day, as is the business center.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.7 mi/12.5 km) 
  • Amtrak station (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Spanish Governor's Palace (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • River Walk (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Alamo (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Institute of Texan Cultures (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • San Antonio Zoological Gardens and Aquarium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • San Antonio Missions National Historical Park (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
Business
  • Full-service business center open 24 hours with audio/visual equipment rental, computer workstations, office supplies, courier, copy and fax service, overnight pickup and delivery, binding, and notary public.
Policies and fees
  • On-site restricted-access, camera-monitored, indoor parking garage fees $6 hourly, $12 daily
  • In-room safe $1 per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel Rooms

1 Double city/pool view
Guest room with one Double bed, working desk, city/pool view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.
2 Doubles city/pool view
Guest room with two Double beds, working desk, city/pool view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.
Riverside view 2 Doubles
Guest room with two Double beds, working desk, riverside view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riverwalk Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4228 -98.493
Area served
San Antonio, New Braunfels, Austin, Fredricksburg, Houston
Nearby airports
San Antonio, New Braunfels
Area description
Nearby Airports * San Antonio International - 10 miles Nearby Cities * Austin TX - 77 miles * New Braunfels TX - 24 miles * San Marcos TX - 40 miles Directions: From I-10 West exit onto I-37 North Exit Durango Blvd take left. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita St take right. From I-10 East to 35 South exit Durango Blvd. Go to Dwyer St take left. Go to Villita St take right. From I-35 South exit Durango Blvd take right. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita St take right. From I-35 North exit Durango Blvd go to the right. Go to Dwyer St take left. Go to Villita St take right. From Airport take 281 South exit Durango Blvd take right on Durango. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita take right.

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.2 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • ATT Center: 4 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.4 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 7.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.1 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.8 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
5 rooms; capacity-200 Meeting and Banquets

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (390)

Ratings and reviews for Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 390
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RJDE
littlefield, Tx
Jul 17, 2014

weekend

It's not what we expected.Hallways were hot and the room stayed hot threw the night. Staff would not acknowledge while in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverwalk

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family to see Alamo
Dallas tx
Mar 13, 2014

Convienent and historical

Very friendly staff, covienent location to river , and site seeing attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom Steward
New Mexico
Dec 20, 2013

Very nice overnight stay

We had planned a one night stay as we moved on to other places but found San Antonio to be very delightful and this hotel was conveniently located. We will return on our way back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On the River walk we ate at Plaegios. Very good meal

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Greenville Family
Greenville, TX
Jul 7, 2013

Mixed Review

The hotel d├ęcor is pretty cool and it is a great location. That said, the room smelled so strong of smoke that we could hardly sleep. It was not a designated nonsmoking room but seriously you should not walk in and go oh yuck this smells like smoke. Have ya ever heard of fabreze? Also it was the 4th of July and there was a pool party going on until 3:00 a.m. and we were poolside. For what we paid a night I expect much more than a smelly noisy night. Just for the record I am not a complainer but hope you take my comments and improve in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike59
Killeen, TX
May 23, 2013

Good Value

My family stayed in two rooms. Overall, the rooms were adequate but the bath tubs needed to be replaced since it is slippery and the fixtures are old and rusty. Staff was nothing special. The common areas were old and needed to be updated. To highly advertised for what it really is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Samuel Burgos
New York
Apr 25, 2013

We had a great time.

We had a great time. The room was comfortable and had all of the amenities you would expect from a top notch hotel. I would only ask for one thing to improve our experience. After a long night of walking around downtown and enjoying the night life, you find yourself laying in bed. We opened up a bottle of wine and began trying to find something on TV to watch. If I could change anything it would be to maximize the comforts that I would have at home, in the room. This comfort being a "Guide" button on the TV remote control. I know it sounds funny, but sometimes you want to see whats on TV using the cable guide and jump right to a nice show instead of flipping around and never finding it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Josie Kesler
new jersey
Apr 2, 2013

We truely enjoyed our two night stay at the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

We truely enjoyed our two night stay at the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel and Suites. There were many things that made the stay pleasurable. The friendly staff throughout the building, the size of the room, a separate closet, a separate vanity space, a good air/heat situation,a safe, and the close proximity to the River Walk. Our one complaint was the temperature in the breakfast room. It was like a meat locker with everyone moving seats to find a warmer location. Breakfast selection with our Groupon was satisfactory. My husband commented the hotcakes were the best he had ever had. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patricia Smith
San Jose
Feb 21, 2013

The staff was helpful and friendly.

The staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean. When I asked for extra towels and an extra trash can they were delivered quickly. The room was a little small and the sink was in the bathroom. This was somewhat problematic for 3 women but would be fine for smaller groups. However, the riverwalk was beautiful to walk along. There was no free breakfast, but since we were told that when I called we brought breakfast bars with us. There was a fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Donna Lee
Houston, TX
Nov 12, 2012

Good Location

The location was worth the money. Don't expect too much or you'll be disappointed. It's better than a Super 8 and definetly not a Marriott. If all you do is sleep there this should be your choice. You won't break your pocket book for a bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to experience the history of the area, take the trolley around to the different missions.

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winemaker3
Marshall, MI
Jul 4, 2012

Convenience

The stay was a very good spot to be in. It was very convenient to everything we wanted to do. The cleaning staff shorted us on towels, but were very accomadating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the Riverwalk and all of its attractions.

Back to menu Return to top