Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 100 Villita Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
261 out of 261
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marky D
Business
NY, NY
Feb 1, 2010

All u need, but don't expect too much

They say they're newly renovated, but I don't think it was complete. My room was an odd mish-mash of furniture from the 70s and some updated pieces. I think it was mostly the bathrooms that were re-done. Still, I like this place. But don't go in expecting the Ritz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You're not ON the Riverwalk, but you're just a short walk away. But make them draw you a map how to get there. I got fairly vague/confusing directions, and ended up walking the wrong way up the Riverwalk, away from most of the restaurants and people.

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Jun 26, 2010

Decent Hotel, but not quite great

The hotel wasn't bad, but it didn't live up to expectations either. Room had no information about the hotel at all. Nothing about channels on TV, how to connect to Wireless Internet, how to order room service, etc. The room was smaller than expected and the TV had a bad picture. It just wasn't as nice as I expected. We did like that fact that it was very close to the Riverwalk which made it very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Check the coupons in the Rio magazine. Can save you some money on dining and other things.

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 4, 2009

Interesting hotel...

I was in San Antonio for the week prior to staying at the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel and stayed at the La Quinta, Convention Center. I had to move to a new hotel for the weekend and chose this place. I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Overall, the hotel was clean--better sheets than the La Quinta and big, fluffy, clean towels. We had an issue with our bathtub not draining properly, but that was quickly resolved. The only problem we had was the parking garage which only has one way up and one way down from the first and second floors. Parking spaces are too tight and are hard to come by when the hotel is full--as we experienced during our stay. We would come back at 10pm and there wasn't a parking spot to be had on either floor. We just were lucky with employees leaving at that time and could park in their vacant space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Things look a lot farther apart from each other on the map of San Antonio, but all attractions are pretty much walking distance. I wouldn't drive at all knowing what I know now...however, the car came in handy to our day trip to see the other missions outside the city and the rodeo.

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita Falls, TX
Mar 3, 2009

Good location and value

An old hotel that has been updated very well. It doesn't look good from the outside, but the rooms are great. It has a good location, a good free breakfast and convenient and resonable parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elgin, IL
Mar 4, 2009

Good location, just redone, good staff

Parking is $12/day extra. Hotel on a branch of the RiverWalk, but lacks direct access. Our recently tastefully refurbished room was better planned than many. Breakfast was better than average in pleasant cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

RiverWalk restaurants are either very high-end or part of a chain. Avoid the steak place: High prices, but not that great.

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MIMI and PawPaw
Business
Satsuma, AL
May 20, 2011

Good location for the price

We took tours and enjoy the riverwalk. It was a awesome trip and I think it really top the last couple of trips we have made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel had a book that had all dining facilities and you could find what suited your taste or pocketbook. Very helpful.

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Victoria, Tx
Sep 16, 2009

Should've picked something else

There wasn't much parking space. The "river view" was not worth the extra fee. It was a good walk from the hotel to the riverwalk, not as close as they lead you to believe. I think I would choose a different hotel next time. The bed however was really comfortable, and we did have a good nights sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Mar 7, 2011

nice location, near everything!

nice hotel with parking garage attached and near everything you would want to see downtown San Antonio. Friendly front desk. Good price with the [...]package including airfare and car rental!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot's of places to eat on the riverwalk, and really good prices on drinks at happy hour almost everywhere!

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashley to the B
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Mar 13, 2011

Just mediocre

The hotel was nice for the most part. Pros: nice rooms, updated and cute decor throughout hotel, nice staff, mini fridges, right by riverwalk, etc. Cons: walls are paper thin, I kept thinking there were people in my room. No hot tub, just a pool. And we ate downstairs at Signature Tapas for breakfast- worst food on the whole trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Worth
Feb 18, 2010

Off the Main Path

The location is a few blocks off the main part of the Riverwalk. Parking facilities are a bit inadequate for pick-ups. Did not fill safe walking after dark to and from the building. When I was staying the lounge and restaurant were not open. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly. Probably will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Acouple of places that were close but they were not very nice.

Back to menu Return to top