Rate based on Check-in: Nov 17, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

3 stars
100 Villita Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
255 reviews
Best ever

Stayed here cause One Direction was in town. Had a blasty blast at the hotel really nice people... See full review

  • rhinosuicide
  • Sep 24, 2014
Tracy

Friendly staff, always will to help . Hotel was very comfortable . River walk was 4 blocks from hotel See full review

  • Tracy the traveler
  • Feb 13, 2014
Luxurious hotel just a short walk to the River Walk in San Antonio
Some of the 129 rooms at the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites on the south bank of the River Walk have a balcony, and many offer a view of the river itself, which is just 15 yards away. The fourth floor has a deck laden with teak lounge chairs, palm trees and heated pool. The fitness center nearby has towels, bottled water and plenty of TVs. The business center never gets a rest, as it is open 24 hours and offers printing, fax, notary and courier services, along with computer workstations. At check-in time, Otis Spunkmeyer cookies are served.
Highlights
  • Just 15 yards from the south bank of the River Walk
  • Full-service business center and banquet space with catering
  • Fitness center and heated, outdoor pool are open 24 hours a day.
Rooms

There are a few rooms with balconies overlooking the winding river. Request a balcony for that extra perk of lounging in the open air, riverside. The 129 guest rooms of the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites have been updated with a muted palate of warm earth tones and offer complimentary wired Internet, a two-line cordless speaker phone and 42-inch flat-screen TV with more than 60 cable channels, including HBO. All rooms feature a line of products from the palm-frond waving resort line, Tommy Bahama. Suites have comfy terrycloth robes waiting to be snuggled into. Smoking rooms are available on request

Features

The Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites is close to Brooks City Air Force Base, Fort Sam Houston and Randolph Air Force Base, and make every effort to accommodate guests be they veterans, currently enlisted or visiting any nearby base for any reason. Its fitness center and outdoor heated swimming pool are open 24 hours a day, as is the business center.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.7 mi/12.5 km) 
  • Amtrak station (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Spanish Governor's Palace (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • River Walk (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Alamo (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Institute of Texan Cultures (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • San Antonio Zoological Gardens and Aquarium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • San Antonio Missions National Historical Park (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
Business
  • Full-service business center open 24 hours with audio/visual equipment rental, computer workstations, office supplies, courier, copy and fax service, overnight pickup and delivery, binding, and notary public.
Policies and fees
  • On-site restricted-access, camera-monitored, indoor parking garage fees $6 hourly, $12 daily
  • In-room safe $1 per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel Rooms

1 Double city/pool view
Guest room with one Double bed, working desk, city/pool view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.
2 Doubles city/pool view
Guest room with two Double beds, working desk, city/pool view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.
Riverside view 2 Doubles
Guest room with two Double beds, working desk, riverside view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riverwalk Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4228 -98.493
Area served
San Antonio, New Braunfels, Austin, Fredricksburg, Houston
Nearby airports
San Antonio, New Braunfels
Area description
Nearby Airports * San Antonio International - 10 miles Nearby Cities * Austin TX - 77 miles * New Braunfels TX - 24 miles * San Marcos TX - 40 miles Directions: From I-10 West exit onto I-37 North Exit Durango Blvd take left. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita St take right. From I-10 East to 35 South exit Durango Blvd. Go to Dwyer St take left. Go to Villita St take right. From I-35 South exit Durango Blvd take right. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita St take right. From I-35 North exit Durango Blvd go to the right. Go to Dwyer St take left. Go to Villita St take right. From Airport take 281 South exit Durango Blvd take right on Durango. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita take right.

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.2 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • ATT Center: 4 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.4 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 7.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.1 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.8 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
5 rooms; capacity-200 Meeting and Banquets

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KBL
Business
Cincinnati, OH
May 27, 2010

OK

Parking on weekend was over crowded and I expext the summer would be the same. Not nearly enough. Pool area nice except deck whick is in very rough shape. Free breakfast ends at 9:30 which is early if you like to sleep in on vacation which we do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 25, 2010

Great location, OK hotel

THe front desk staff was polite and helpful. Once I checked in and headed up to my room, a couple in the elevator said, "I hope your bed is better than ours. It was so hard we couldn't sleep." I had no issues with the bed, I slept fine. One thing I noticed several times though, when guests leave trash or other items (one was a pizza box) outside their room in the hallway, it stays there for hours, even overnight till 11am the next day but the room itself was very clean. The pool was nice, not heated but it was so hot, I enjoyed the cool water. The deck chairs did not recline at all, just straight backed. Overall I'd rate it an 8 because it was well priced and at a perfect location, across the street from the start of the riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 10, 2010

it was ok

The riverwalk is not far at all the staff was very friendly,The TV was old and there was no cable other than that it was a nice stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

get a room with a balcony

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 4, 2009

Interesting hotel...

I was in San Antonio for the week prior to staying at the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel and stayed at the La Quinta, Convention Center. I had to move to a new hotel for the weekend and chose this place. I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Overall, the hotel was clean--better sheets than the La Quinta and big, fluffy, clean towels. We had an issue with our bathtub not draining properly, but that was quickly resolved. The only problem we had was the parking garage which only has one way up and one way down from the first and second floors. Parking spaces are too tight and are hard to come by when the hotel is full--as we experienced during our stay. We would come back at 10pm and there wasn't a parking spot to be had on either floor. We just were lucky with employees leaving at that time and could park in their vacant space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Things look a lot farther apart from each other on the map of San Antonio, but all attractions are pretty much walking distance. I wouldn't drive at all knowing what I know now...however, the car came in handy to our day trip to see the other missions outside the city and the rodeo.

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita Falls, TX
Mar 3, 2009

Good location and value

An old hotel that has been updated very well. It doesn't look good from the outside, but the rooms are great. It has a good location, a good free breakfast and convenient and resonable parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elgin, IL
Mar 4, 2009

Good location, just redone, good staff

Parking is $12/day extra. Hotel on a branch of the RiverWalk, but lacks direct access. Our recently tastefully refurbished room was better planned than many. Breakfast was better than average in pleasant cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

RiverWalk restaurants are either very high-end or part of a chain. Avoid the steak place: High prices, but not that great.

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MIMI and PawPaw
Business
Satsuma, AL
May 20, 2011

Good location for the price

We took tours and enjoy the riverwalk. It was a awesome trip and I think it really top the last couple of trips we have made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel had a book that had all dining facilities and you could find what suited your taste or pocketbook. Very helpful.

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Victoria, Tx
Sep 16, 2009

Should've picked something else

There wasn't much parking space. The "river view" was not worth the extra fee. It was a good walk from the hotel to the riverwalk, not as close as they lead you to believe. I think I would choose a different hotel next time. The bed however was really comfortable, and we did have a good nights sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Mar 7, 2011

nice location, near everything!

nice hotel with parking garage attached and near everything you would want to see downtown San Antonio. Friendly front desk. Good price with the [...]package including airfare and car rental!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot's of places to eat on the riverwalk, and really good prices on drinks at happy hour almost everywhere!

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashley to the B
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Mar 13, 2011

Just mediocre

The hotel was nice for the most part. Pros: nice rooms, updated and cute decor throughout hotel, nice staff, mini fridges, right by riverwalk, etc. Cons: walls are paper thin, I kept thinking there were people in my room. No hot tub, just a pool. And we ate downstairs at Signature Tapas for breakfast- worst food on the whole trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top