Rate based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

3 stars
100 Villita Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
255 reviews
Best ever

Stayed here cause One Direction was in town. Had a blasty blast at the hotel really nice people... See full review

  • rhinosuicide
  • Sep 24, 2014
Tracy

Friendly staff, always will to help . Hotel was very comfortable . River walk was 4 blocks from hotel See full review

  • Tracy the traveler
  • Feb 13, 2014
Luxurious hotel just a short walk to the River Walk in San Antonio
Some of the 129 rooms at the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites on the south bank of the River Walk have a balcony, and many offer a view of the river itself, which is just 15 yards away. The fourth floor has a deck laden with teak lounge chairs, palm trees and heated pool. The fitness center nearby has towels, bottled water and plenty of TVs. The business center never gets a rest, as it is open 24 hours and offers printing, fax, notary and courier services, along with computer workstations. At check-in time, Otis Spunkmeyer cookies are served.
Highlights
  • Just 15 yards from the south bank of the River Walk
  • Full-service business center and banquet space with catering
  • Fitness center and heated, outdoor pool are open 24 hours a day.
Rooms

There are a few rooms with balconies overlooking the winding river. Request a balcony for that extra perk of lounging in the open air, riverside. The 129 guest rooms of the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites have been updated with a muted palate of warm earth tones and offer complimentary wired Internet, a two-line cordless speaker phone and 42-inch flat-screen TV with more than 60 cable channels, including HBO. All rooms feature a line of products from the palm-frond waving resort line, Tommy Bahama. Suites have comfy terrycloth robes waiting to be snuggled into. Smoking rooms are available on request

Features

The Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites is close to Brooks City Air Force Base, Fort Sam Houston and Randolph Air Force Base, and make every effort to accommodate guests be they veterans, currently enlisted or visiting any nearby base for any reason. Its fitness center and outdoor heated swimming pool are open 24 hours a day, as is the business center.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.7 mi/12.5 km) 
  • Amtrak station (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Spanish Governor's Palace (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • River Walk (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Alamo (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Institute of Texan Cultures (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • San Antonio Zoological Gardens and Aquarium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • San Antonio Missions National Historical Park (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
Business
  • Full-service business center open 24 hours with audio/visual equipment rental, computer workstations, office supplies, courier, copy and fax service, overnight pickup and delivery, binding, and notary public.
Policies and fees
  • On-site restricted-access, camera-monitored, indoor parking garage fees $6 hourly, $12 daily
  • In-room safe $1 per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel Rooms

1 Double city/pool view
Guest room with one Double bed, working desk, city/pool view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.
2 Doubles city/pool view
Guest room with two Double beds, working desk, city/pool view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.
Riverside view 2 Doubles
Guest room with two Double beds, working desk, riverside view. Room has security safe fee $1 per day. Early departure fee $25 per day. Indoor garage parking $12 per day. Cancellation policy 2 full days prior to arrival to avoid charge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riverwalk Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4228 -98.493
Area served
San Antonio, New Braunfels, Austin, Fredricksburg, Houston
Nearby airports
San Antonio, New Braunfels
Area description
Nearby Airports * San Antonio International - 10 miles Nearby Cities * Austin TX - 77 miles * New Braunfels TX - 24 miles * San Marcos TX - 40 miles Directions: From I-10 West exit onto I-37 North Exit Durango Blvd take left. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita St take right. From I-10 East to 35 South exit Durango Blvd. Go to Dwyer St take left. Go to Villita St take right. From I-35 South exit Durango Blvd take right. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita St take right. From I-35 North exit Durango Blvd go to the right. Go to Dwyer St take left. Go to Villita St take right. From Airport take 281 South exit Durango Blvd take right on Durango. Go to Dwyer St take right. Go to Villita take right.

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.2 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.2 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • ATT Center: 4 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.3 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.4 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 7.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.1 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.8 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
5 rooms; capacity-200 Meeting and Banquets

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ehmcee
Business
San Diego CA
May 28, 2013

I DONT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!

First, the costumer service doesn't give you a good costumer service. Second, they 're selling room for a not reasonable price, coz' the fact that the room sucks. Some of the employee's are friendly, but the costumer service over the phone is really bad. I dont recommend this hotel. And the same day i was checking out, somebody was complaining about the rooms too because it was bad all in all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike59
Business
Killeen, TX
May 23, 2013

Good Value

My family stayed in two rooms. Overall, the rooms were adequate but the bath tubs needed to be replaced since it is slippery and the fixtures are old and rusty. Staff was nothing special. The common areas were old and needed to be updated. To highly advertised for what it really is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vegas1973
Business
Orlando
May 14, 2013

Not the best place to stay

I would not recomend any one to stay here, the place its ok the location is not the best but you still have to pay for parking 15 per day, one night they didnt clean my room I called the front desk I was told there was nothing they could do but when it comes to charge you the fee's there is plenty they can do! this place its a joke Im going back to the HYATT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicholas Oliver
Business
Nicholas Oliver
May 7, 2013

My wife and I both enjoyed our stay at the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel.

My wife and I both enjoyed our stay at the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel. It was minutes away from the Riverwalk, the Alamo and shopping markets. All within walking distance. The hotel was nice. The beds were comfortable. The room was nice. For the groupon price you just couldn't beat it. Thank you for again for our wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yvonne Ybarra
Business
San Antonio
May 4, 2013

We LOVED this charming hotel.

We LOVED this charming hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous. The room was lovely. And you can't beat the location. It was was withing walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. We will definitely stay here again. We also requested an annual rate because we are considering residence in San Antonio in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Samuel Burgos
Business
New York
Apr 25, 2013

We had a great time.

We had a great time. The room was comfortable and had all of the amenities you would expect from a top notch hotel. I would only ask for one thing to improve our experience. After a long night of walking around downtown and enjoying the night life, you find yourself laying in bed. We opened up a bottle of wine and began trying to find something on TV to watch. If I could change anything it would be to maximize the comforts that I would have at home, in the room. This comfort being a "Guide" button on the TV remote control. I know it sounds funny, but sometimes you want to see whats on TV using the cable guide and jump right to a nice show instead of flipping around and never finding it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
440david
Business
Westlake OH
Apr 24, 2013

River walk

We came during Fiests and almost everything was private. Later it felt like downtown Cleveland. It's more of a canal then a river.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lloyd Jenkins
Business
Lloyd Jenkins
Apr 23, 2013

Hotel is in a great location,

Hotel is in a great location, easily within walking distance of most attractions. Room was comfortable but a little worn. Wi fi only available in the hall and bathroom of my room. Fair amount of road noise audible. Room was clean a little mould in the bathroom. Breakfast selections for the groupon was very limited but tasty and well prepared.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen Library Clerk
Business
Brattleboro, VT
Apr 19, 2013

Great location

Very good location near the River Walk. Parking at the hotel a little pricey. No complimentary breakfast but restaurant on site with moderate prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debra Wadsworth
Business
San Jose
Apr 18, 2013

The room was clean,

The room was clean, somewhat older decor, but nice. The bed was comfortable & the TV had a great picture. Staff was very helpful & friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top