Rate based on Check-in: Feb 29, 2016 Check-out: Mar 2, 2016

La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

2 stars
View map of 6511 West Military Drive, 6511 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78227-3615

Hotel Overview

La-Quinta-Inn-San-Antonio-Lackland-Dining
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
17 reviews
Awesome family trip and reunion!!!

The hotel met more than our expectations. My family was more than satisfied. The next time we're in... See full review

  • Carleton K.
  • Jun 29, 2015
Last minute stay

The room was ok for the price. I needed a room near the base and I got what I paid for. See full review

  • Lala Simmons
  • Mar 3, 2015
The La Quinta Inn-San Antonio Lackland has been awarded the 2014 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence award. Samsung Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics. Located just west of Downtown San Antonio adjacent to the Lackland Air Force Base gates, the La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland is convenient to all area attractions. Spend the day at SeaWorld San Antonio and the Brackenridge Park and Zoo. Explore the Riverwalk, the Alamo, Market Square, the King William Historic District, and the Institute of Texan Cultures. There is always something happening at the Alamodome, the Henry Gonzalez Convention Center, SBC Center, and Nelson Wolff Stadium (home to the Texas League Champs San Antonio Missions!); it's not far to the Golf Club of Texas or Quarry Golf Course; and within a 20 minute drive you find neighboring cities like La Coste, Castroville, and Hondo, TX. Enjoy a Free Bright Side BreakfastTM every morning in the beautiful lobby dining area at the La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland. For your enjoyment, we have a picnic area and two sparkling swimming pools (open year-around). You won't find nicer rooms anywhere; they come with free high-speed Internet access, a coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/board, and more. We also have a brand new fitness facility and guest laundry. Fax/copy services available through our friendly staff at front desk.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

29.4004 -98.6272
Nearby airports
San Antonio Intl Airport, (SAT), 18.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 17
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carleton K.
Family
San Francisco
Jun 29, 2015

Awesome family trip and reunion!!!

The hotel met more than our expectations. My family was more than satisfied. The next time we're in San Antonio, this is a definite place we'll stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AFB MOM
Family
Michigan
Apr 1, 2013

Needs an update!!!!!!!! Now especially the Bathroom

I knew that I wasnt going to a 3 star Hotel, so I expected a lower class motel. For the rate it was okay. We picked this motel because it is only less than 5 minutes down the road. If I had another choice I would of picked something else. It was convenient for seeing our son quicker and not stay in San Antonino which we were going to stay. The bed was a full size and the pillow were not the greatest. But, my complaint was the bathroom. The floor was old and dirty looking, and needs to be replaced just like the tub. The tub was very worn out it was a multiple of colors to yellow and brown. the floor molding was extremely dirty. I dont think it was painted in many years. The towel where 1x2 not big enough and they were worn old. the shower head was VERY LOW I am 5ft and I had to duck under it. The internet hardly worked and when it did it would kick you off as soon as you got on. The only thing I did like was that they allowed my puppy stay. Which I am very thankful for that. Oh, the breakfast was okay. The coffee was treble. And when I told them I want to have a later check out which was after 4pm. I was charged half price I was okay with that but, when I returned back to the room. i was locked out. So they issued us a new key. I was very very very upset. Would I recommend this place would be only for convenience for people who are coming in to see them graduate from the AFB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Nothing good in the area. Have to go Downtown.

Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LadyGinHNL
Family
Honolulu, HI, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Visiting Air Force Mom

Nice visit! Attended my son's AF BMT Graduation. Can't beat the location, unless you are on base! The room was clean, but the bathroom is a bit small (can't open the door and show door at the same time), wish they had small refrigerators in the room. It was nice to have laundry facilities on the premises and the staff were really friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel if you are there for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Easy access to I410 and dining. Fast food in immediate area (Military Drive) and Hwy 90 (East) will take you straight to Downtown SA (Houston St.).

Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eddyb52
Family
Pensacola Florida
Nov 2, 2010

Much better than the red roof inn!

La Quinta lackland was a far superior hotel to the red roof inn in the same area! now that i have stayed in both the la quinta is head and shoulders above! the hotel was clean and very adult oriented the service staff was excellent and helpful as well as good customer service the complemetary breakfast was a nice touch. If you are going to lackland to watch a loved one graduate from boot camp or a service school THIS IS THE PLACE to stay. the only bad i could come up with is that the rooms did not have refrigerators, and i had someone with me that was insulin dependant, after bringing this to their staffs attention they changed our room to one that did have a frig, but i was thinking they all should, not just at request. hence the reason i did not give a 5 star rating.still much better than the other local hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the San antonio spurs play! good stuff also the Missions minor league club is great and very affordable for good seats. for the ladies i would reccomend the river walk shopping and the historical alamo for all.

Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
midnightsunning
Family
Anchorage, Alaska
Jan 19, 2010

lackland graduation

This was a great location for Lackland graduation, it's only 2 lights away. Like most base locations, the area isn't the best but I felt safe here. The hotel is basic, was clean and very soundproof rooms. The continental breakfast had a good selection and the staff is very pleasant and helpful. If you depend on internet, ask if they have the new connection up and running, it was down while I was there. I have a feeling having a room on the pool side (which I did) is better sound-wise. This location doesn't have a lot of places to eat around it but there is a Denny's, Mexican, Greek and Chinese within a block. Downtown is about 15-20 min. away and taking the bus from base is the easiest way to go since parking is tight down there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you check to see if places are open. Some attractions are closed in the winter. Try to plan ahead since the graduates don't always have lot's of time on a town pass depending on what rights they have earned. If you are interested in the night life, staying closer to downtown would be more interesting but would be a drive in the morning!

Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Baton Rouge, LA
Oct 9, 2009

Recommendable

Everything was fine except for on the first day, there was hair left in the bathtub and on the shower wall. The toilet did not flush efficiently. We did not get the refrigerator or microwave we requested because they ran out. An older couple there had also requested a refrigerator to store medication and they did not get one, they had to improvise. A few of the towels were stained. We requested a handicap accessible room, but they did not have any with two double beds and the room that we were in was not handicap accessible. The bathroom was small and could not accommodate our daughter's wheelchair. Also, the bathtub in the room we had needs to be replaced because whatever was used to refurbish it was peeling away from the tubs surface, and the shower tiles need to be bleached because mildew was forming between the tiles. Me, my husband and daughter were there for the Air Force BMT graduation so we didn't have the time to explore any of the other hotel amenities. Aside from the things that I've listed, the room was generally clean, bed linens were clean, service was good and its location was right-on for our trip. I would recommend it to others,but I would also have to tell them about the whole experience. I do sincerely hope that they rectify all the negatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We drove everywhere we went because walking was not an option. The interstate was immediately accessible and easy to enter into and exit from. Getting to other places like restaurants, shopping and entertainment was great.

Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy Soldier's Mom
Family
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Apr 24, 2009

Was not what I expected

The reason for the trip was my son's Air Force graduation. The first thing I did not like is the fact that on the website,it advertises that there is a microwave and refrigerator in the rooms,what it failed to mention was there was an extra charge per day for each. The cost of the room was way too expensive for the style of the room. double beds, TV channels were not good, small bathroom..There were relatives who paid less a night for a suite w/a small kitchenette! Go figure..I felt like I was ripped off..I paid for Filet Mignon and got pork chops..The only good thing about the motel was the location and the workout room, management should consider serving a full deluxe breakfast at least instead of the cereal,waffles, and muffins..I will not return to that LaQuinta Inn..was not satisfied at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 28, 2008

Nice, friendly.

The La Quinta was a nice hotel. They were friendly and the room was clean. However I did not like the location of our room . It was next to the employees lounge and the ice machine, so it was quite noisey. They had the best breakfast of any hotel I ever stayed at. I would go back to this hotel again ,only make sure my room was located elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We visited the town and shops of San Antonio

Back to menu Return to top