Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

4 stars
110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
235 reviews
Marvelous!

Great facilities; great staff; great location. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. See full review

  • NCBeachBum
  • Jul 17, 2014
Fun atmosphere

Walking into the lobby was like being transported to Miami. The lobby was bright with fun colors... See full review

  • Gladys Ha
  • Jun 9, 2014
1960s flair with tiki bar and modern conveniences on the River Walk
The El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel opened in 1962 and remains the same as the first day it opened; sparkly chic and surrounded by a lush tropical landscape. A recent multi-million dollar renovation updated furniture and amenities. There are 306 guest rooms and 11 suites. Several dining and libation options are in-house and kids under 12 eat free. Wireless Internet is free throughout the hotel and a business center offers several services. Guests swim in the heated, outdoor pool or work out at the fitness center.
Highlights
  • Tiki Bar serves top-shelf tequilas and rums on its riverside patio; happy hour runs from 5-7:30pm
  • Latin and American cuisine is served at Mango's, kids under 12 eat free
  • Go for coffee drinks, rich baked goods, or smoothies and fresh fruit at Expresso Coffee Bar
  • Heated, outdoor pool, and 3,000-square-foot fitness center
  • 15 meeting rooms offer a combined 37,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.
Rooms

The 306 guest rooms and 11 suites have been recently redecorated in a contemporary style with bright accents of chili and tasteful dark wood. Views may be overlooking the San Antonio River, swimming pool or glittering downtown skyline. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available in all rooms throughout the El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel. All rooms are equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, an iron and ironing board, telephones with two lines and data ports, and full-size desks. A flat-screen color television with an expanded cable lineup is also in each room. Guests choose a king or two full beds. Suites have raised platform beds.

Features

The presidential suite was often occupied by President Lyndon B. Johnson and was dubbed "The Texas White House" during that era. Guests go for coffee drinks, rich baked goods or smoothies and fresh fruit at Expresso Coffee Bar. Kids under 12 eat free with their parents at the in-house Latin-inspired restaurant, Mango's. The Tiki Bar serves top-shelf tequilas and rums on its riverside patio; happy hour runs from 5 to 7:30 p.m. Toucans are seen at the aviary. Guests swim in the heated, outdoor pool or work out at the 3,000-square-foot STRIVE Fitness Studio. A business center offers faxing, copying and printing services. The El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel has 15 meeting rooms that offer a combined 37,000 square feet of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.1 mi./11.5 km)
Attractions
  • Alamo (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center (0.6 mi./1 km)
  • Market Square (0.7 mi./1.2 km)
  • Tower of the Americas (0.9 mi./1.5 km)
  • Alamodome (1.1 mi./1.8 km)
  • San Antonio Zoo (2.4 mi./3.8 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • Business center offers faxing, copying and printing services.
  • 15 meeting rooms offer combined 37,000 square feet of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.
Policies and fees
  • Parking fees are $18 per night
  • Photo ID and credit card are required on check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room offers 1 king bed with Desk, 37-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Voice mail, Clock radio, Coffee/tea maker, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Complimentary weekday newspaper, Air conditioning, Climate control, Window opens, Non-smoking only and Daily housekeeping.
Standard Room
Standard Room offers 2 double beds with Desk, 37-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Voice mail, Clock radio, Coffee/tea maker, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Complimentary weekday newspaper, Air conditioning, Climate control, Window opens, Non-smoking only and Daily housekeeping.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4323 -98.4883
Area served
San Antonio.
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport - 13 miles.
Area description
Located downtown just off the Riverwalk and close to all San Antonio Attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.9 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.6 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.9 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.4 mi
  • Sea World: 12.9 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.3 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 14.8 mi

Dining

Mango's Restaurant
Guests can enjoy latin and american-infused dishes in mangos hotel's full service restaurant. Children 12 years and younger eat free from the childrens menu with a paying adult.maximum of 2 children per couple.
Expresso Cafe
In the mood for a latte smoothie the Expresso Cafe is the place to visit.Also enjoy breakfast lunch and desserts from Cafe located off the main lobby area.Expresso opens out onto a scenic terrace overlooking the beautiful Riverwalk.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space available for groups up to 1,0000.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (235)

Ratings and reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 235
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3
Value:
3.1

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jordyn3021
Houston, TX
Aug 4, 2014

Decent

It was an okay hotel. Nothing special about it. Location was a little misleading. I would have rather stayed elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Willie187
Katy, Texas
Jun 21, 2014

Birthday Trip

Excellent stay at this hotel. Staff was extremely friendly and room was great especially for the price:) Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Getaway'er
Central Valley, Ca
Jun 14, 2014

Good location, very friendly staff

We checked in after a very long drive from Southern California, straight to San Antonio. I looked up hotels by the Riverwalk on Yelp and this came up with good reviews so I booked it on our drive through town. When we arrived, we noticed that the hotel was not directly on the main part of the Riverwalk where all the activities are, but was right next to the walkway to it. In all, we found it it was a five minute walk to get to all the restaurants, bars and shops that the Riverwalk is known for. When we checked in, both the bellhop and the front desk people were very nice and accommodating. We chatted with them about our travels and got our room keys and parking instructions. We were towing a uHaul behind a truck and were really worried about parking, especially staying downtown and by the Riverwalk. The hotel had a side lot that was easily accessible and we had no problems with parking. We went up to our second floor room and didn't see any problems with it. The room was neat and clean and nice and cool. We had a view overlooking the river, which was nice. The room clearly was not new or modern but the hotel also lists this in the add online so I was not expecting much. The places around are room were pretty cool too. They have the pool right in the center with a hot tub but also in the hallways they had little balconies with tables and chairs that were open to anyone who wanted to use them. We saw some groups of family and friends sitting out there with a couple beers, chatting and enjoying the night. After dinner and exploring the Riverwalk, we came back to the hotel bar for a night cap. We had just caught the bartender before closing and got two drinks; a martini and a scotch. Both were good and we sat and talked for a bit while she closed up the bar. After she had everything closed down and was ready to leave, at our surprise, she asked us if we wanted one last round. Seemed to me that she really didn't have to do that and it would mean getting out some things that she just put away. She also could have just left and went home. Instead, she made us one last drink. We only stayed one night and most of our time was spent at the River walk and exploring downtown. As I said before, it is about a 5 minute walk to the River walk. It is also about a 5 minute walk to the Alamo. In all, our stay was very nice, made much nicer by the staff and the great location for a cheaper price than you would pay to be right on the River walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourdo's on the River Walk. It's right on the river, with outdoor seating and they have a blackened prime-rib. Gotta have it!

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatieBuss
Wylie
Apr 2, 2014

My Birthday was a Blast!

Spent the weeeknd in San Antonio for my 24th Birthday. $ girls all enjoyed San Antonio. Was a Blast. Will use this hotel again. Close to Riverwalk. Easy to get to river. Easy to find. Great parking. Thanks for a great memory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Andermar
Sioux City, Iowa
Mar 19, 2014

Experience at El Tropicano

Upon our arrival we were told we couldn't check in until 4:00, but neglected to tell us that they would keep our bags. We had to ask. The second day, the coffee pot quit working, so we asked for a replacement and it arrived after we left for the day. When we returned to our room that night we had the new coffee pot, but no coffee. When we took showers the next morning there was only one towel. The front desk staff weren't the friendliest and seemed to act as if they were being inconvenienced when asked a question. The restaurant wasn't open in the evening, as stated and there was no menu available. Next time I will pay the extra $200 to be closer to the River Walk and other local attractions. Don't plan to return to the El Tropicano.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay in a hotel closer.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nycjohn
new york, new york
Nov 24, 2013

OK by Me

The small things that happened were minor but the pool was freezing. Understand the heater was fried but shouldn't take 5 days to fix. Would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the streets for walking not The Riverwalk for saving time.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dixon Lawyer
Dixon, California
Apr 11, 2013

Not sure how they got four stars.

The hotel is nothing like described on the website. It is about a one mile walk from the Riverwalk shops and restaurants. Our room was okay, but there was no mini-fridge as advertised, and the TV was probably about 15 years old. The bathtub had paint peeling off of the whole bottom. The bathroom was tiny, and had no exhaust fan (my pet peeve). All in all, this place was a great disappointment. I would definitely stayed somewhere else had I known.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Boudro's on the Riverwalk has the best margaritas and guacamole made tableside!! Make reservations in advance.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
debra73
San Antonio, TX
Oct 22, 2012

Parking sucked.

First problem is we had to park in an old garage one lane spiral drive up four flights. "honk" as you go up and come down they said. WHAT? Then walk back down this one lane spiral. Then climb it again the next day. Oh ...but they waived the $18 parking fee for the inconvenience. Thanks...(sarcasm) Then charge me $20 for incidentals. We took nothing and damaged nothing. ANGRY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling Grrrl
New Orleans, Louisiana
Jun 29, 2012

Good for a one night stay

This place is ok; good for a one night stay, but for longer stays, I'd recommend another hotel further down the Riverwalk. This one is on the dead end. Great looking lobby and the tiki bar looks great but the bar maid had a major attitude being more concerned with flirting with other guests than making drinks. We had two rooms that needed better cleaning. Great self parking lot with in and out all day! Overall a C-.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is at the beginning of the Riverwalk and not close to any of the night life so associated with San Antonio.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NL12
Houston, TX, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Could be a little better

Nice hotel, not too inviting from the outside. Clean rooms, small bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top