Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

4 stars
110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
208 reviews
LAST MIN ROAD TRIP

Loved the way the hotel was ready for us to come in at 4pm and we actually had a room reserved told... See full review

  • A.Chavez
  • Apr 1, 2014
Great place!

Really nice place. I liked the tropical/ethnic flare it had. The bed was so comfortable and the... See full review

  • awils
  • Mar 24, 2014
1960s flair with tiki bar and modern conveniences on the River Walk
The El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel opened in 1962 and remains the same as the first day it opened; sparkly chic and surrounded by a lush tropical landscape. A recent multi-million dollar renovation updated furniture and amenities. There are 306 guest rooms and 11 suites. Several dining and libation options are in-house and kids under 12 eat free. Wireless Internet is free throughout the hotel and a business center offers several services. Guests swim in the heated, outdoor pool or work out at the fitness center.
Highlights
  • Tiki Bar serves top-shelf tequilas and rums on its riverside patio; happy hour runs from 5-7:30pm
  • Latin and American cuisine is served at Mango's, kids under 12 eat free
  • Go for coffee drinks, rich baked goods, or smoothies and fresh fruit at Expresso Coffee Bar
  • Heated, outdoor pool, and 3,000-square-foot fitness center
  • 15 meeting rooms offer a combined 37,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.
Rooms

The 306 guest rooms and 11 suites have been recently redecorated in a contemporary style with bright accents of chili and tasteful dark wood. Views may be overlooking the San Antonio River, swimming pool or glittering downtown skyline. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available in all rooms throughout the El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel. All rooms are equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, an iron and ironing board, telephones with two lines and data ports, and full-size desks. A flat-screen color television with an expanded cable lineup is also in each room. Guests choose a king or two full beds. Suites have raised platform beds.

Features

The presidential suite was often occupied by President Lyndon B. Johnson and was dubbed "The Texas White House" during that era. Guests go for coffee drinks, rich baked goods or smoothies and fresh fruit at Expresso Coffee Bar. Kids under 12 eat free with their parents at the in-house Latin-inspired restaurant, Mango's. The Tiki Bar serves top-shelf tequilas and rums on its riverside patio; happy hour runs from 5 to 7:30 p.m. Toucans are seen at the aviary. Guests swim in the heated, outdoor pool or work out at the 3,000-square-foot STRIVE Fitness Studio. A business center offers faxing, copying and printing services. The El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel has 15 meeting rooms that offer a combined 37,000 square feet of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.1 mi./11.5 km)
Attractions
  • Alamo (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center (0.6 mi./1 km)
  • Market Square (0.7 mi./1.2 km)
  • Tower of the Americas (0.9 mi./1.5 km)
  • Alamodome (1.1 mi./1.8 km)
  • San Antonio Zoo (2.4 mi./3.8 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • Business center offers faxing, copying and printing services.
  • 15 meeting rooms offer combined 37,000 square feet of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.
Policies and fees
  • Parking fees are $18 per night
  • Photo ID and credit card are required on check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room offers 1 king bed with Desk, 27-inch television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Voice mail, Clock radio, Coffee/tea maker, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Complimentary weekday newspaper, Air conditioning, Climate control, Window opens, Non-smoking only and Daily housekeeping.
Standard Room
Standard Room offers 2 double beds with Desk, 27-inch television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Voice mail, Clock radio, Coffee/tea maker, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Complimentary weekday newspaper, Air conditioning, Climate control, Window opens, Non-smoking only and Daily housekeeping.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4323 -98.4883
Area served
San Antonio.
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport - 13 miles.
Area description
Located downtown just off the Riverwalk and close to all San Antonio Attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.9 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.6 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.9 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.4 mi
  • Sea World: 12.9 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.3 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 14.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space available for groups up to 1,0000.

Dining

Mango's Restaurant
Guests can enjoy latin and american-infused dishes in mangos hotel's full service restaurant. Children 12 years and younger eat free from the childrens menu with a paying adult.maximum of 2 children per couple.
Expresso Cafe
In the mood for a latte smoothie the Expresso Cafe is the place to visit.Also enjoy breakfast lunch and desserts from Cafe located off the main lobby area.Expresso opens out onto a scenic terrace overlooking the beautiful Riverwalk.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
legend
ocala, fl
Apr 16, 2012

overnight riverwalk hotel

The hotel room was very nice. Meals could have been better. Saturday evening there were no meals being served in the main dining room. We had to order some sandwiches from the snack bar, which was very average at best. Do not understand why the Mango dining room was not open at 6:00 p.m., when it was supposed to be. The room was very nice. however the bathroom was quite small and had very little counter space. It did not have any exhaust fan or other ventilation system, which also made it feel sort of "claustrophobic".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

meals were pretty good....could be better

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
tree top
colorado
May 1, 2013

not worth the money

We had trouble the whole time with our phone service-couldn't get calls coming in. Five of the TV channels were snowy-2 of them major channels. The tub drained so slowly that we had to stand in the water when showering. The sink didn't have a stopper. One night there was someone in the hotel pool at 3 AM making a lot of noise. Breakfast wasn't very warm when we ate it. Rooms were very ordinary for the price we paid for the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
rottownr7
corpus christi tx
May 1, 2013

not what it looks like

The hotel is further down the riverwalk away from the main area than I thought. Rooms look much bigger and nicer in photos. Actually very small rooms. They charge for local calls! Buffet breakfast was food and that was about it. It was a safe location. Nice area, never felt unsecure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you go to the river walk get a 3 day pass on the river taxi. Saves money and time!

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
CLeija
Irving TX
May 1, 2013

fiesta weekend fun

Was one of the best hotels that we have stayed in while in San Antonio. Beautiful on the inside and outside. The staff was always willing to help. Down fall - the charge for parking and the parking itself. If you are staying at the hotel, no charges should be applied for parking. BID DISAPPOINTMENT with the parking charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

very near to all of downtown and thier attractions

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
J Javier
Houston, TX, USA
Apr 29, 2013

Good Place

I was stayed two nights and the facilities are good, resepcion service and valet parking were very professional and very friendly, and the sailing where the hotel is located is perfect you can walk through the different points of Downtown!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
manahath8
Burnet, TX
Apr 19, 2013

That's Pretty Good Stuff

Although it is an older hotel that has been renovated and is a little ways away from the main activities of the River Walk, we enjoyed our stay. The room we had was clean, spacious and very comfortable. It was also very quiet. I wasn't disturbed by people in the halls coming in late or showers running and toilets flushing first thing in the morning like at some newer thin walled hotels. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The distance we had to walk to the main restaurant area was just about right for a good walk after dinner. All in all we had a very enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
G from TW
Business
Wheaton, IL
Apr 14, 2013

Excellent staff

Hotel is a little farther from downtown than some others, but therefore quieter. Very pleasant walk to downtown down the Riverwalk, about half again as long (30 min) as walking directly on the street (20 min). Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Very clean rooms. Fast internet. Overall good value. No refrigerator in the room is about the only thing I would have liked that was missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Dixon Lawyer
Dixon, California
Apr 11, 2013

Not sure how they got four stars.

The hotel is nothing like described on the website. It is about a one mile walk from the Riverwalk shops and restaurants. Our room was okay, but there was no mini-fridge as advertised, and the TV was probably about 15 years old. The bathtub had paint peeling off of the whole bottom. The bathroom was tiny, and had no exhaust fan (my pet peeve). All in all, this place was a great disappointment. I would definitely stayed somewhere else had I known.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Boudro's on the Riverwalk has the best margaritas and guacamole made tableside!! Make reservations in advance.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
jesse.12
modesto ca.
Apr 9, 2013

good deal

our stay was o. k. the staff was great. the only part was the location is a bit away from the activities going on. overall it was worth the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

construction going on across the way

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
starstuff
Atascadero, CA
Apr 5, 2013

Skip it

Since my plane was arriving late into San Antonio I called the hotel twice to make sure they knew we were arriving late. The first time I was told unless it was after midnight I didn't need to call. Well my plane landed at 11 so I wasn't confident that I would get there before Midnight...She blew me off. Knowing she blew me off I called back later and spoke to a gentlemen. I cut to the chase and told him we would be in after midnight and he assured me it was no problem. When we arrived at the hotel at just past midnight I was informed they were booked full and had given our room away. We had to wait for them to clean the "spare". I will never go back to this place. They were completely unaccomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Amybethyo
Fort Worth, TX
Apr 3, 2013

Tropicano

This hotel has a very pretty lobby, but the rooms are old and dated. Definitely in need of some freshening up with the decor and appliances. This hotel is a far walk to the river walk attractions. We seemed displaced from the fun area of the river walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top