Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

3 stars
View map of 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
258 out of 258
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
legend
ocala, fl
Apr 16, 2012

overnight riverwalk hotel

The hotel room was very nice. Meals could have been better. Saturday evening there were no meals being served in the main dining room. We had to order some sandwiches from the snack bar, which was very average at best. Do not understand why the Mango dining room was not open at 6:00 p.m., when it was supposed to be. The room was very nice. however the bathroom was quite small and had very little counter space. It did not have any exhaust fan or other ventilation system, which also made it feel sort of "claustrophobic".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

meals were pretty good....could be better

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shannonCJ
Business
San Marcos Texas
Mar 13, 2014

Great value

I travel to San Antonio often and always saty at the El Tropicano. The price is right and the staff are super helpful. If you are an LGBT person the El Trop is super close to the bars and some really great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shannon y.
Business
Santa Fe, TX
Mar 10, 2014

Great Price and Friendly!

Great hotel with a view! Comfortable rooms and great breakfast! Love the retro look! Would stay here again! Need to fix pool heater though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take trolley if you need to instead of walking. It comes right up to hotel!

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tika C
Business
Edmond, Oklahoma
Mar 5, 2014

Old hotel and expensive

Please stay at the Elsewhere. This hotel is very old. Carpet is dusty and worn out. And they don't have CENTRAL HVAC!! D-OH!!! What is this? 1985?! The room is small and the split AC is located above my bed so it was too hot but when I turned it off, it became too cold because of the weather. Never coming bck! Expensive! But it is located near the riverwalk that is the only good thing about it. Don't think about saving money just go to a decent hotel near the riverwalk. I bought the package from orb*tz thinking i would save money but it's not worth it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yungjosh
Business
San Antonio,Tx
Mar 4, 2014

The place was ok not great

We order room service they send us the wrong pizza where hungry so we start to eat it and the pizza raw just straight dough wasn't cooked fully. Ammentities said heated outdoor pool turns out it was standard pool too cold to jump in. Inside the restroom there was dust sitting on the vent above toilet. Also it showed floor 9 rooftop has a walk around balcony couldn't go up blocked off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tmac baby
Business
Texas
Mar 3, 2014

family weekend

nice pool area too far from riverwalk area .did not let us know that we have to pay for breakfast understanding was it was free .had to paypay $40 but the pool saying was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

long walk from the Riverwalk the advertise it made it seem closer than it really was

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sweetpea1970
Business
Victoria, Texas
Mar 3, 2014

Ok

No refrigerators in room, no room service, one towel, did not get room that I made reservations for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Riverwalk

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr Hernandez
Business
Mexico
Feb 17, 2014

Worst experience ever!

Dirty, tacky, horrible bathrooms, filthy rugs on the hall and in the bedroom. DON'T GO THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Sushi zushi, very good restaurant.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pprrpete
Business
Troy Michigan
Jan 30, 2014

El Tropicano Stay

This was a great experience. The hotel was spacious and comfortable. It was a bit of a walk to downtown in the very cold weather. But the cold was unusual. The staff were plentiful and very courteous. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AGUILA
Business
DALLAS
Jan 28, 2014

Over charged

Not recommended due to excessive fees to be paid at the time of checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you get it in writing that breakfast is included and make sure they know it, otherwise, you will be paying $9.99 for each person eating breakfast at its dinning.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paul Wicke
Business
Pensacola, Florida
Jan 27, 2014

Poor

We called the hotel and ask about things in the room , we were told they have them in the room (lighted mirror hair dryer and etc. when we got there only 1item was in the room. There was mold in the bathroom , I called and ask to have it clean, it was no to my standards, because there was still mold in the bathroom. Also not enough bath towels were in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top