Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

3 stars
View map of 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
legend
ocala, fl
Apr 16, 2012

overnight riverwalk hotel

The hotel room was very nice. Meals could have been better. Saturday evening there were no meals being served in the main dining room. We had to order some sandwiches from the snack bar, which was very average at best. Do not understand why the Mango dining room was not open at 6:00 p.m., when it was supposed to be. The room was very nice. however the bathroom was quite small and had very little counter space. It did not have any exhaust fan or other ventilation system, which also made it feel sort of "claustrophobic".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

meals were pretty good....could be better

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A.Chavez
Business
Houston
Apr 1, 2014

LAST MIN ROAD TRIP

Loved the way the hotel was ready for us to come in at 4pm and we actually had a room reserved told the front desk that I felt the room was too small and they said no problem mam come on down stairs and we will have a new keys for a new room waiting, the room give to us was much more specious and I loved every bit of the trip and the hospitality if I could I would rate the a 12 out of 10... Very satisfied customer!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
awils
Business
Maryland
Mar 24, 2014

Great place!

Really nice place. I liked the tropical/ethnic flare it had. The bed was so comfortable and the room was very nice. Close enough to the river that we never had to drive our car the whole time we were visiting River Walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Andermar
Business
Sioux City, Iowa
Mar 19, 2014

Experience at El Tropicano

Upon our arrival we were told we couldn't check in until 4:00, but neglected to tell us that they would keep our bags. We had to ask. The second day, the coffee pot quit working, so we asked for a replacement and it arrived after we left for the day. When we returned to our room that night we had the new coffee pot, but no coffee. When we took showers the next morning there was only one towel. The front desk staff weren't the friendliest and seemed to act as if they were being inconvenienced when asked a question. The restaurant wasn't open in the evening, as stated and there was no menu available. Next time I will pay the extra $200 to be closer to the River Walk and other local attractions. Don't plan to return to the El Tropicano.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay in a hotel closer.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JImmy11
Business
Austin
Mar 18, 2014

retro

I had to cancel a room at another hotel and found this one at the last minute. I truly enjoy the retro feel and had two balconies and the plants and lobby was great and staff were sharp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
V Doub
Business
Houston
Mar 17, 2014

OK - Vacation Stay

Small rooms, Tight walkways and a long long way from family action around River Walk. Rooms were clean, but Hallways need some work. Washrooms are tiny. Overall - OK. If you can't find anything in San An, I say you can get this for an average stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
opkp
Business
Hot Springs, AR
Mar 17, 2014

over priced riverwalk

As this was our third visit to the riverwalk hotels we were expecting more for the price and location. While it was on the river walk, the hotel was very far from the main festivities requiring a long walk there and seemingly longer walk back. The walk back late at night was somewhat frightening as there were a couple a homeless who were quite visible giving us a feeling of insecurity. The hotel itself while it was clean, had a "used" look and feeling especially the carpet in the halls. We will not go back to same hotel. We will come back to the walk, but stay closer to the main walk area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shannonCJ
Business
San Marcos Texas
Mar 13, 2014

Great value

I travel to San Antonio often and always saty at the El Tropicano. The price is right and the staff are super helpful. If you are an LGBT person the El Trop is super close to the bars and some really great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shannon y.
Business
Santa Fe, TX
Mar 10, 2014

Great Price and Friendly!

Great hotel with a view! Comfortable rooms and great breakfast! Love the retro look! Would stay here again! Need to fix pool heater though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take trolley if you need to instead of walking. It comes right up to hotel!

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tika C
Business
Edmond, Oklahoma
Mar 5, 2014

Old hotel and expensive

Please stay at the Elsewhere. This hotel is very old. Carpet is dusty and worn out. And they don't have CENTRAL HVAC!! D-OH!!! What is this? 1985?! The room is small and the split AC is located above my bed so it was too hot but when I turned it off, it became too cold because of the weather. Never coming bck! Expensive! But it is located near the riverwalk that is the only good thing about it. Don't think about saving money just go to a decent hotel near the riverwalk. I bought the package from orb*tz thinking i would save money but it's not worth it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yungjosh
Business
San Antonio,Tx
Mar 4, 2014

The place was ok not great

We order room service they send us the wrong pizza where hungry so we start to eat it and the pizza raw just straight dough wasn't cooked fully. Ammentities said heated outdoor pool turns out it was standard pool too cold to jump in. Inside the restroom there was dust sitting on the vent above toilet. Also it showed floor 9 rooftop has a walk around balcony couldn't go up blocked off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top