Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

3 stars
View map of 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
255 reviews
Great NYE place

Stayed here years ago and it has stayed the test of time. An independent locally owned and... See full review

  • Waotz
  • Jan 5, 2015
Great place to stay

Pros: Excellent location. Right next to river walk. quiet yet so close to downtown. Couldn't be... See full review

  • Sofia
  • Jan 5, 2015
1960s flair with tiki bar and modern conveniences on the River Walk
The El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel opened in 1962 and remains the same as the first day it opened; sparkly chic and surrounded by a lush tropical landscape. A recent multi-million dollar renovation updated furniture and amenities. There are 306 guest rooms and 11 suites. Several dining and libation options are in-house and kids under 12 eat free. Wireless Internet is free throughout the hotel and a business center offers several services. Guests swim in the heated, outdoor pool or work out at the fitness center.
Highlights
  • Tiki Bar serves top-shelf tequilas and rums on its riverside patio; happy hour runs from 5-7:30pm
  • Latin and American cuisine is served at Mango's, kids under 12 eat free
  • Go for coffee drinks, rich baked goods, or smoothies and fresh fruit at Expresso Coffee Bar
  • Heated, outdoor pool, and 3,000-square-foot fitness center
  • 15 meeting rooms offer a combined 37,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.
Rooms

The 306 guest rooms and 11 suites have been recently redecorated in a contemporary style with bright accents of chili and tasteful dark wood. Views may be overlooking the San Antonio River, swimming pool or glittering downtown skyline. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available in all rooms throughout the El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel. All rooms are equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, an iron and ironing board, telephones with two lines and data ports, and full-size desks. A flat-screen color television with an expanded cable lineup is also in each room. Guests choose a king or two full beds. Suites have raised platform beds.

Features

The presidential suite was often occupied by President Lyndon B. Johnson and was dubbed "The Texas White House" during that era. Guests go for coffee drinks, rich baked goods or smoothies and fresh fruit at Expresso Coffee Bar. Kids under 12 eat free with their parents at the in-house Latin-inspired restaurant, Mango's. The Tiki Bar serves top-shelf tequilas and rums on its riverside patio; happy hour runs from 5 to 7:30 p.m. Toucans are seen at the aviary. Guests swim in the heated, outdoor pool or work out at the 3,000-square-foot STRIVE Fitness Studio. A business center offers faxing, copying and printing services. The El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel has 15 meeting rooms that offer a combined 37,000 square feet of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.1 mi./11.5 km)
Attractions
  • Alamo (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center (0.6 mi./1 km)
  • Market Square (0.7 mi./1.2 km)
  • Tower of the Americas (0.9 mi./1.5 km)
  • Alamodome (1.1 mi./1.8 km)
  • San Antonio Zoo (2.4 mi./3.8 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • Business center offers faxing, copying and printing services.
  • 15 meeting rooms offer combined 37,000 square feet of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.
Policies and fees
  • Parking fees are $18 per night
  • Photo ID and credit card are required on check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room offers 1 king bed with Desk, 37-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Voice mail, Clock radio, Coffee/tea maker, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Complimentary weekday newspaper, Air conditioning, Climate control, Window opens, Non-smoking only and Daily housekeeping.
Standard Room
Standard Room offers 2 double beds with Desk, 37-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Voice mail, Clock radio, Coffee/tea maker, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Complimentary weekday newspaper, Air conditioning, Climate control, Window opens, Non-smoking only and Daily housekeeping.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4323 -98.4883
Area served
San Antonio.
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport - 13 miles.
Area description
Located downtown just off the Riverwalk and close to all San Antonio Attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.9 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.6 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.9 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.4 mi
  • Sea World: 12.9 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.3 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 14.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space available for groups up to 1,0000.

Dining

Mango's Restaurant
Guests can enjoy latin and american-infused dishes in mangos hotel's full service restaurant. Children 12 years and younger eat free from the childrens menu with a paying adult.maximum of 2 children per couple.
Expresso Cafe
In the mood for a latte smoothie the Expresso Cafe is the place to visit.Also enjoy breakfast lunch and desserts from Cafe located off the main lobby area.Expresso opens out onto a scenic terrace overlooking the beautiful Riverwalk.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
legend
ocala, fl
Apr 16, 2012

overnight riverwalk hotel

The hotel room was very nice. Meals could have been better. Saturday evening there were no meals being served in the main dining room. We had to order some sandwiches from the snack bar, which was very average at best. Do not understand why the Mango dining room was not open at 6:00 p.m., when it was supposed to be. The room was very nice. however the bathroom was quite small and had very little counter space. It did not have any exhaust fan or other ventilation system, which also made it feel sort of "claustrophobic".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

meals were pretty good....could be better

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yungjosh
Business
San Antonio,Tx
Mar 4, 2014

The place was ok not great

We order room service they send us the wrong pizza where hungry so we start to eat it and the pizza raw just straight dough wasn't cooked fully. Ammentities said heated outdoor pool turns out it was standard pool too cold to jump in. Inside the restroom there was dust sitting on the vent above toilet. Also it showed floor 9 rooftop has a walk around balcony couldn't go up blocked off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tmac baby
Business
Texas
Mar 3, 2014

family weekend

nice pool area too far from riverwalk area .did not let us know that we have to pay for breakfast understanding was it was free .had to paypay $40 but the pool saying was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

long walk from the Riverwalk the advertise it made it seem closer than it really was

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sweetpea1970
Business
Victoria, Texas
Mar 3, 2014

Ok

No refrigerators in room, no room service, one towel, did not get room that I made reservations for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Riverwalk

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr Hernandez
Business
Mexico
Feb 17, 2014

Worst experience ever!

Dirty, tacky, horrible bathrooms, filthy rugs on the hall and in the bedroom. DON'T GO THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Sushi zushi, very good restaurant.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pprrpete
Business
Troy Michigan
Jan 30, 2014

El Tropicano Stay

This was a great experience. The hotel was spacious and comfortable. It was a bit of a walk to downtown in the very cold weather. But the cold was unusual. The staff were plentiful and very courteous. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AGUILA
Business
DALLAS
Jan 28, 2014

Over charged

Not recommended due to excessive fees to be paid at the time of checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you get it in writing that breakfast is included and make sure they know it, otherwise, you will be paying $9.99 for each person eating breakfast at its dinning.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paul Wicke
Business
Pensacola, Florida
Jan 27, 2014

Poor

We called the hotel and ask about things in the room , we were told they have them in the room (lighted mirror hair dryer and etc. when we got there only 1item was in the room. There was mold in the bathroom , I called and ask to have it clean, it was no to my standards, because there was still mold in the bathroom. Also not enough bath towels were in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Guy B.
Business
Houston Texas
Jan 20, 2014

Disappointed in hotel room and location

Hotel was off the beaten path. Location was a little sketchy. Hotel room needed a lot of attention! Tile in bathroom was severely chipped, bathtub was stained, wallpaper was coming off wall, heavy dust was all over baseboards and the bath tub was very slow to drain. I would not recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Missy82
Business
Houston
Jan 20, 2014

Not worth the price

Initially I reserved a room with a view of the Riverwalk including a queen size bed. Well when I arrived I instead was told that they only had 2 double beds available none of which had a riverwalk view. After I insisted and even gave the name of one of the employees I spoke with to confirm, she finally decided to give me a room with a partial view of the riverwalk but it faced a bunch of buildings. Also, this hotel is quite a ways from the main area of the Riverwalk. Definitely not an ideal location if you want to be close to the various restaurants and activities of the Riverwalk. The condition of the room was decent/fair. However, I do not think it is anywhere worth the price. I would have rather spent an additional $30-50 bucks for a luxury hotel room with a name I am more familiar with. Lastly the walls are soooo thin. I had the unfortunate experience of having noisy neighbors in which they stayed up and had a good ole time until about 3:47a. We could hear everything crystal clear...The sad thing is it wasn't even like they had music or the television blaring. It was just them up talking and enjoyng themselves. You can't call and tell the front desk to tell people in the room next to you to shut up right? So that just tells you how thin the walls are. Overall I would NOT go back there UNLESS they slashed their prices in half at minimal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria Navy Mom
Business
Tallahassee, Florida
Jan 14, 2014

My stay at El Tropicano Hotel

I loved the hotel, the staff was wonderful as well as the location. My only Complain is the following: The first night of my stay I ask a staff member if I could burn incense and I was told I could. At about midnight I was woken up by security asking me if I was burning g incense, To which I said yes. He told me it was a smoke free hotel and that included incense. I informed him that I had asked the front desk and they had said yes. He told me that if the hotel said yes, then I could. I assumed the issue was resolved even though I was a little upset about being woken up at that time. I went back to sleep only to be woken up again, this time it was the front desk. This time they said I couldn't burn incense and that the employee I had spoken to was new and had misinformed me. The last night I was they the room was freezing, I called the front twice and each time they told me they would take care of it immediately. They did nothing to solve the issue! At 11:30pm, I ended up turning off the a/c unit and I went to bed with my coat on. When I checked out I informed the front desk about my disappointment. They were very accommodating and gave me a free night. I would have preferred having a goodnight sleep, however I appreciated what they did. All in all I would still recommend this hotel and I will definitely be back:-) .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

.7mls

Back to menu Return to top