Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

3 stars
1103 E Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3305
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
146 reviews
Cool quick getaway

Nearly all the SA hotels were booked on the Riverwalk. This hotel isn't that far from the good... See full review

  • TexasTravelQueen
  • Jul 28, 2014
Only thing missing is a pool

AWESOME hotel. Very nice for the price you are paying and the location is perfect. Excellent... See full review

  • Tina the Latina
  • Jun 9, 2014
Discover this downtown San Antonio, Texas hotel located near the San Antonio Riverwalk, the Alamo and Six Flags® Fiesta Texas. Whether traveling to Texas on business or pleasure, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk is sure to please. This 100% non-smoking hotel features friendly customer service and comfortable accommodations at the right price. Guests will find an all-suites property offering amenities such as an exercise facility and guest laundry. Business guests will appreciate the onsite business services and meeting/banquet facilities. This San Antonio hotel offers well-appointed suites, complete with cable satellite television with HBO® and high-speed Internet access. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk is located in the heart of downtown San Antonio near local shopping and dining. Hotel guests will be less than one mile from popular San Antonio attractions including the Alamodome, the San Antonio Riverwalk, the Texas Institute of Culture and the Alamo. This Texas hotel is also close to the San Antonio Zoo, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, SeaWorld® and the Botanical Gardens. Corporate travelers staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk will be less than five miles from SBC, the Convention Center, HEB, Boeing and Lockheed Martin. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in San Antonio. Make a reservation today and save!

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk Rooms

SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PLOTOP,27INTV,SOFBD,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,PLOTOP,27INTV,SOFBD,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,WLKSHWR,PLOTOP,SOFBD,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PLOTOP,OVERSZD,SOFBD,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SOFABED,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL SHWR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,PLOTOP,OVERSZD,SOFBD,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SOFABED,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4221 -98.4801
Area served
San Marcos, New Braunfels, Austin, Fredericksburg
Nearby airports
(SAT), 7.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • El Mercado: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.4 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • El Mercado: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.4 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.5 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.2 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.7 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.2 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.6 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.6 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.7 mi
  • Sea World: 13.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.1 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.6 mi

Dining

Landry Seafood House
1.00 mile(s) from Landry Seafood House, Seafood
Rivercenter Mall
0.50 mile(s) from Rivercenter Mall, Fast Food, food court
Casa Rio
0.50 mile(s) from Casa Rio, Mexican
Spaghetti Warehouse
0.50 mile(s) from Spaghetti Warehouse, Italian
Ruth's Chris Steak House
0.01 mile(s) from Ruth's Chris Steak House, Steakhouse, open for: dinner, open for dinner only, steak
Shilos German Delicatessen
0.50 mile(s) from Shilos German Delicatessen, Deli
Aldaco's
0.25 mile(s) from Aldaco's, Mexican
Tony Roma's
0.50 mile(s) from Tony Roma's, ribs

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
LAS VEGAS
Jul 8, 2010

are u serious

well the location was great but we had an incident were a thunderstorm flooded our room. We asked the person for some towels to soak up the tremendous amount of water that had come into our rooms she said u can come and get them. mind u it was at 2am. the window that was leaking was right above the air conditioner no air for fear of electrocution mind u i have a 13 month old crawling on the floor. She give us 3 towels nice. So no sleep i asked to speak to the manager the next morning the they said he was off for the next couple of days. great! I stayed for a whole week i wanted the night we got no sleep on comped not to much to ask. sorry we dont do that! It wasnt our fault. K so ur proper up keep of ur property is not ur fault. Jerk responds no.Very argumenatative and the type im right and ur wrong. Whatever call the company to try to get that 1 night comped took all of my info down and never heard from them again WoW what customer service. they had one housekeeper for the property so our room got cleaned twice in one week and the beds suck back hurt every night. im in the industry and never have treated customers the way i was treated and the manger is lucky That im not a hot head! Thats how bad.... good luck guys

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 18, 2010

Best Western Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

The location to city center is great, a ten minute walk to the San Antyonio River Walk. There is bus and stretcar service one minute from the hotel. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ValleyFox
Rio Grande Valley, TX
Jul 13, 2010

Don't Stay Here, Not what it seems!

For starters when you drive up to the hotel for the first time after exitig I 37 you will see the very ugly exterior of this building. No wonder they advertise the night time pic. The lobby is represented well in the pic but that's it. The room had to be changed twice. There were pubic hairs in the bed! Totally unacceptable. Then there were food residues on the carpet. The fourth floor hallway was very muggy and the AC wasn't working. The employees were rude and when I cancelled the last 2 nights with them, not so much as an apology. They actually charged me MORE than what I agreed to, so because I was deciding to leave I got punished. Any other motel or hotel would offer compensation when the customer is not satisfied, but not the Best Western. Supposedly the largest hotel chain in the US but a rip off in terms of service. On a side note the TVs were straight out of the 1980s. All the other reviews are correct, the train is very loud. Overall a dirty,ugly,not friendly hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DONT STAY HERE, SAVE YOUR MONEY AND STAY ELSEWHERE. DOWNTOWN SUCKS, NORTH SAN ANTONIO IS WORTH THE DRIVE. BEST WESTERN SHOULD DEMOLISH THIS FLEA BAG DUMP.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RickC80
Mcallen, Tx
Oct 15, 2013

Last Stay

I would describe my stay as average. I can really say the service needs improvement . I got there to the hotel early and I asked the receptionist if he could switch the channel on their lobby TV, so I could watch a game. He said no and gave the excuse that he didn't know how to change the channel. I thought it was kind of rude being that i was a paying customer and he couldn't even do me that small favor. It also took 20 minutes to check in because there was only one person at the front desk and there was a line of about 8 people. My room keys kept malfunctioning and the A/C was making a loud noise that kept waking me up. My point is this was the first and last time staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis, MO
Nov 23, 2010

Not a real Suite

I thought I was paying for a suite - that actually had a wall between the 2 sleeping areas. It was really crowded and not what I expected. The shower was too strong - it needs a new shower head. Otherwise, the staff was really nice and the breakfast was good and reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast in the hotel was very good and under $4.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ItsMrsT
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Disapointing

Yes, the hotel is technically 2 blocks from the Riverwalk, BUT that is 2 very long blocks and under a major freeway! Not easy to navigate at all. They also say free parking. This is only because you have to walk so far to park and hike back to the hotel when the 7 or so spaces in the parking lot are full. Breakfast was so crowded and only one poor girl working it so they were a constant stream of empty bins. Had to wait for spoons, bowels, bagels, etc. The pics online look great, and we were over all disapointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rochell
San Antonio
May 27, 2012

Booking a hotel

Hotel was very nice, a little far from attractions. The staff was a little rude.I booked a room with two beds and only got one bed, but other than that pretty nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One day tourist
menlo park CA
Jun 3, 2014

good vlalue for the money

A nice hotel, not very modern, but comfortable/ The location is in walking distance of the Alamo and the river walk. The staff could be more efficient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mississippi
Apr 13, 2011

Good value

A pool/hot tub would be nice and free breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business/vacationeer
Robertsdale, AL
Apr 11, 2010

Great Mission Charm

It was a good mile walk to the Alamo I would guess, but it WAS a very nice walk! The hotel had a very small parking area, and while it was still free, if it was full you had to park across the street in public transit parking. Staff did not ask to help with my bags, which was a turnoff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Magic Time Machine by the airport was AMAZING!!!! YOU HAVE TO GO!!! The entire staff dresses up as different characters. Verrrrry entertaining.

Back to menu Return to top