Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

3 stars
1103 E Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3305
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
237 reviews
Cool quick getaway

Nearly all the SA hotels were booked on the Riverwalk. This hotel isn't that far from the good... See full review

  • TexasTravelQueen
  • Jul 28, 2014
Only thing missing is a pool

AWESOME hotel. Very nice for the price you are paying and the location is perfect. Excellent... See full review

  • Tina the Latina
  • Jun 9, 2014
Modern amenities incorporated into historic building in St. Paul Square
Historic 1800-era building was repurposed in 2000 to become the Best Western Sunset Suites -- Riverwalk. The public areas are decorated with stained glass doors and have naturally sourced wood flooring, brass ceilings, original brick walls, and a grand staircase on which belles may practice descending is in the lobby. High-speed Wi-Fi is complimentary and available throughout the hotel. Parking is also free. A fitness center is on site. Guest laundry services, including dry cleaning, are available. Discounted trolley tickets may be purchased on site.
Highlights
  • 1800-era building in historic St. Paul Square with modern amenities
  • Across the street from Alamodome
  • A mile from the Alamo and the River Walk
  • Free parking and high-speed wireless Internet
  • Fitness center on site
Rooms

There are 64 suites in the Best Western Sunset Suites -- Riverwalk hotel, all of which have free high-speed wireless Internet, are non-smoking and include a king or two full beds. The deluxe double suites include one king or two full beds in a larger, more spacious room perfect for family vacations or larger groups. All suites include a desk, sleeper sofa, cable television with pay-per-view movies, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron and ironing board.

Features

Photos from the building's pre-hotel days, two centuries ago, (it formerly was a leather manufacturer, grocery store, insurance company and a speakeasy during prohibition) are on display in the Best Western Sunset Suites -- Riverwalk lobby. High-speed wireless Internet is complimentary, as is parking. A fitness center is on site. Guest laundry services, including dry cleaning, are available. A hot breakfast is available for a small fee each morning. Discounted trolley tickets may be purchased on site.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Sunset Station VIA Train (across the street)
  • Trolley (across the street)
  • Amtrak Station (0.2 mi./0.4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (0.8 mi./1.2 km)
Attractions
  • The Alamodome (across the street)
  • The Tower of the Americas (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • The Alamo (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • River Walk (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.6 mi./1 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with computer workstation
  • Meeting rooms with 10,000 square feet, booth options and audio/visual capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Breakfast buffet available for a small fee

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk Rooms

SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PLOTOP,27INTV,SOFBD,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,PLOTOP,27INTV,SOFBD,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,WLKSHWR,PLOTOP,SOFBD,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PLOTOP,OVERSZD,SOFBD,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SOFABED,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL SHWR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,PLOTOP,OVERSZD,SOFBD,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SOFABED,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4221 -98.4801
Area served
Austin, San Marcos, New Braunfels, Fredericksburg
Nearby airports
(SAT), 7.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • El Mercado: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.4 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • El Mercado: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.4 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.5 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.2 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.7 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.2 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.6 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.6 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.7 mi
  • Sea World: 13.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.1 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.6 mi

Dining

Ruth's Chris Steak House
0.01 mile(s) from Ruth's Chris Steak House, Steakhouse, open for: dinner, open for dinner only, steak
Aldaco's
0.25 mile(s) from Aldaco's, Mexican
Tony Roma's
0.50 mile(s) from Tony Roma's, ribs
Shilos German Delicatessen
0.50 mile(s) from Shilos German Delicatessen, Deli
Spaghetti Warehouse
0.50 mile(s) from Spaghetti Warehouse, Italian
Landry Seafood House
1.00 mile(s) from Landry Seafood House, Seafood
Rivercenter Mall
0.50 mile(s) from Rivercenter Mall, Fast Food, food court
Casa Rio
0.50 mile(s) from Casa Rio, Mexican

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
LAS VEGAS
Jul 8, 2010

are u serious

well the location was great but we had an incident were a thunderstorm flooded our room. We asked the person for some towels to soak up the tremendous amount of water that had come into our rooms she said u can come and get them. mind u it was at 2am. the window that was leaking was right above the air conditioner no air for fear of electrocution mind u i have a 13 month old crawling on the floor. She give us 3 towels nice. So no sleep i asked to speak to the manager the next morning the they said he was off for the next couple of days. great! I stayed for a whole week i wanted the night we got no sleep on comped not to much to ask. sorry we dont do that! It wasnt our fault. K so ur proper up keep of ur property is not ur fault. Jerk responds no.Very argumenatative and the type im right and ur wrong. Whatever call the company to try to get that 1 night comped took all of my info down and never heard from them again WoW what customer service. they had one housekeeper for the property so our room got cleaned twice in one week and the beds suck back hurt every night. im in the industry and never have treated customers the way i was treated and the manger is lucky That im not a hot head! Thats how bad.... good luck guys

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
LAS VEGAS
Jul 8, 2010

are u serious

well the location was great but we had an incident were a thunderstorm flooded our room. We asked the person for some towels to soak up the tremendous amount of water that had come into our rooms she said u can come and get them. mind u it was at 2am. the window that was leaking was right above the air conditioner no air for fear of electrocution mind u i have a 13 month old crawling on the floor. She give us 3 towels nice. So no sleep i asked to speak to the manager the next morning the they said he was off for the next couple of days. great! I stayed for a whole week i wanted the night we got no sleep on comped not to much to ask. sorry we dont do that! It wasnt our fault. K so ur proper up keep of ur property is not ur fault. Jerk responds no.Very argumenatative and the type im right and ur wrong. Whatever call the company to try to get that 1 night comped took all of my info down and never heard from them again WoW what customer service. they had one housekeeper for the property so our room got cleaned twice in one week and the beds suck back hurt every night. im in the industry and never have treated customers the way i was treated and the manger is lucky That im not a hot head! Thats how bad.... good luck guys

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 18, 2010

Best Western Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

The location to city center is great, a ten minute walk to the San Antyonio River Walk. There is bus and stretcar service one minute from the hotel. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ValleyFox
Rio Grande Valley, TX
Jul 13, 2010

Don't Stay Here, Not what it seems!

For starters when you drive up to the hotel for the first time after exitig I 37 you will see the very ugly exterior of this building. No wonder they advertise the night time pic. The lobby is represented well in the pic but that's it. The room had to be changed twice. There were pubic hairs in the bed! Totally unacceptable. Then there were food residues on the carpet. The fourth floor hallway was very muggy and the AC wasn't working. The employees were rude and when I cancelled the last 2 nights with them, not so much as an apology. They actually charged me MORE than what I agreed to, so because I was deciding to leave I got punished. Any other motel or hotel would offer compensation when the customer is not satisfied, but not the Best Western. Supposedly the largest hotel chain in the US but a rip off in terms of service. On a side note the TVs were straight out of the 1980s. All the other reviews are correct, the train is very loud. Overall a dirty,ugly,not friendly hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DONT STAY HERE, SAVE YOUR MONEY AND STAY ELSEWHERE. DOWNTOWN SUCKS, NORTH SAN ANTONIO IS WORTH THE DRIVE. BEST WESTERN SHOULD DEMOLISH THIS FLEA BAG DUMP.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 18, 2010

Best Western Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

The location to city center is great, a ten minute walk to the San Antyonio River Walk. There is bus and stretcar service one minute from the hotel. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ValleyFox
Rio Grande Valley, TX
Jul 13, 2010

Don't Stay Here, Not what it seems!

For starters when you drive up to the hotel for the first time after exitig I 37 you will see the very ugly exterior of this building. No wonder they advertise the night time pic. The lobby is represented well in the pic but that's it. The room had to be changed twice. There were pubic hairs in the bed! Totally unacceptable. Then there were food residues on the carpet. The fourth floor hallway was very muggy and the AC wasn't working. The employees were rude and when I cancelled the last 2 nights with them, not so much as an apology. They actually charged me MORE than what I agreed to, so because I was deciding to leave I got punished. Any other motel or hotel would offer compensation when the customer is not satisfied, but not the Best Western. Supposedly the largest hotel chain in the US but a rip off in terms of service. On a side note the TVs were straight out of the 1980s. All the other reviews are correct, the train is very loud. Overall a dirty,ugly,not friendly hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DONT STAY HERE, SAVE YOUR MONEY AND STAY ELSEWHERE. DOWNTOWN SUCKS, NORTH SAN ANTONIO IS WORTH THE DRIVE. BEST WESTERN SHOULD DEMOLISH THIS FLEA BAG DUMP.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis, MO
Nov 23, 2010

Not a real Suite

I thought I was paying for a suite - that actually had a wall between the 2 sleeping areas. It was really crowded and not what I expected. The shower was too strong - it needs a new shower head. Otherwise, the staff was really nice and the breakfast was good and reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast in the hotel was very good and under $4.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis, MO
Nov 23, 2010

Not a real Suite

I thought I was paying for a suite - that actually had a wall between the 2 sleeping areas. It was really crowded and not what I expected. The shower was too strong - it needs a new shower head. Otherwise, the staff was really nice and the breakfast was good and reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast in the hotel was very good and under $4.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RickC80
Mcallen, Tx
Oct 15, 2013

Last Stay

I would describe my stay as average. I can really say the service needs improvement . I got there to the hotel early and I asked the receptionist if he could switch the channel on their lobby TV, so I could watch a game. He said no and gave the excuse that he didn't know how to change the channel. I thought it was kind of rude being that i was a paying customer and he couldn't even do me that small favor. It also took 20 minutes to check in because there was only one person at the front desk and there was a line of about 8 people. My room keys kept malfunctioning and the A/C was making a loud noise that kept waking me up. My point is this was the first and last time staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan City, In.
Oct 15, 2010

Overall

If you had breakfast you had to pay for it. At the other 4 Best Westerns we stayed at during our trip, the breakfast was complimentary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was within walking distance of the Riverwalk and the Alamo. A bus stop was next to the hotel, and the bus system is the best way to easily get to other attractions such as the zoo, botanical gardens, missions, Mexican Market and many more.

Back to menu Return to top