Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

3 stars
1103 E Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3305
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
135 reviews
good experience

ok stay,.clean room. clean sheets,clean towels, folded wash clothes. hot water See full review

  • rachad
  • Sep 27, 2013
Riverwalk nearby!!

We stayed for 1 night with 6 ppl ( 4 adults, 2 kids ). We received 2 standard beds and a sofa... See full review

  • Liz01
  • Aug 20, 2013
Modern amenities incorporated into historic building in St. Paul Square
Historic 1800-era building was repurposed in 2000 to become the Best Western Sunset Suites -- Riverwalk. The public areas are decorated with stained glass doors and have naturally sourced wood flooring, brass ceilings, original brick walls, and a grand staircase on which belles may practice descending is in the lobby. High-speed Wi-Fi is complimentary and available throughout the hotel. Parking is also free. A fitness center is on site. Guest laundry services, including dry cleaning, are available. Discounted trolley tickets may be purchased on site.
Highlights
  • 1800-era building in historic St. Paul Square with modern amenities
  • Across the street from Alamodome
  • A mile from the Alamo and the River Walk
  • Free parking and high-speed wireless Internet
  • Fitness center on site
Rooms

There are 64 suites in the Best Western Sunset Suites -- Riverwalk hotel, all of which have free high-speed wireless Internet, are non-smoking and include a king or two full beds. The deluxe double suites include one king or two full beds in a larger, more spacious room perfect for family vacations or larger groups. All suites include a desk, sleeper sofa, cable television with pay-per-view movies, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron and ironing board.

Features

Photos from the building's pre-hotel days, two centuries ago, (it formerly was a leather manufacturer, grocery store, insurance company and a speakeasy during prohibition) are on display in the Best Western Sunset Suites -- Riverwalk lobby. High-speed wireless Internet is complimentary, as is parking. A fitness center is on site. Guest laundry services, including dry cleaning, are available. A hot breakfast is available for a small fee each morning. Discounted trolley tickets may be purchased on site.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Sunset Station VIA Train (across the street)
  • Trolley (across the street)
  • Amtrak Station (0.2 mi./0.4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (0.8 mi./1.2 km)
Attractions
  • The Alamodome (across the street)
  • The Tower of the Americas (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • The Alamo (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • River Walk (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.6 mi./1 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with computer workstation
  • Meeting rooms with 10,000 square feet, booth options and audio/visual capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Breakfast buffet available for a small fee

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk Rooms

SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PLOTOP,27INTV,SOFBD,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,PLOTOP,27INTV,SOFBD,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,WLKSHWR,PLOTOP,SOFBD,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PLOTOP,OVERSZD,SOFBD,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SOFABED,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL SHWR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,PLOTOP,OVERSZD,SOFBD,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SOFABED,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4221 -98.4801
Area served
Fredericksburg, New Braunfels, San Marcos, Austin
Nearby airports
(SAT), 7.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • El Mercado: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.4 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • El Mercado: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.4 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.5 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.2 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.7 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.2 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.6 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.6 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.7 mi
  • Sea World: 13.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.1 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.6 mi

Dining

Tony Roma's
0.50 mile(s) from Tony Roma's, ribs
Landry Seafood House
1.00 mile(s) from Landry Seafood House, Seafood
Casa Rio
0.50 mile(s) from Casa Rio, Mexican
Aldaco's
0.25 mile(s) from Aldaco's, Mexican
Ruth's Chris Steak House
0.01 mile(s) from Ruth's Chris Steak House, Steakhouse, open for: dinner, open for dinner only, steak
Rivercenter Mall
0.50 mile(s) from Rivercenter Mall, Fast Food, food court
Shilos German Delicatessen
0.50 mile(s) from Shilos German Delicatessen, Deli
Spaghetti Warehouse
0.50 mile(s) from Spaghetti Warehouse, Italian

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (135)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Overall score

4.1 / 5
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
purplerain17
Dallas TX
May 24, 2011

great hotel!

The stay was awesome! We all loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
East Texas
May 18, 2011

Great room, great service

We were just 2 blocks from the Riverwalk and all of the downtown attractions. We never had to drive the car. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was even better than we had hoped. This is a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many different places to eat within walking distance of the hotel, at all different price ranges.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
Starry Eyed
Venice FL
May 9, 2011

A Great Vacation

We had a great time. Our first trip to San Antonio. Weather was great, the Riverwalk is spectacular and the hotel was perfect for us. We got there in the evening so didn't want to take the several-block walk to downtown and the RW, so we tried Aldaco's at Sunset Station, within a block from us. It was great -- the food, service and ambience. Thank you to the reviewer who recommended it. Also had dinner at the expensive Little Rhein House on the RW and were a little disappointed. We ate outside and the gnats loved our (pretty darn expensive) wine. In fairness, the restaurant did give us another bottle. We didn't find the food worthy of the price, though. Besides that, a fantastic few days, and the people were great, especially Vicky. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, it was clean and we had plenty of room. Easy walk to everything - maybe just one block closer in would have been perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Riverwalk is beautiful, and we found the street level very interesting also. The Buckhorn and Texas Ranger Museums, the Majectic Theater, the Gunter Hotel and the historic facades of the newer buildings were all a real treat.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Ohio
May 4, 2011

BMT Graduation

Stayed for son's graduation from BMT. This hotel was perfect. Room was good size, very clean and conmfortable. Location could not hve been better, close to River Walk and extremely easy on and off the highway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Mississippi
Apr 13, 2011

Good value

A pool/hot tub would be nice and free breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
TicoBamaTexan
League City, TX
Mar 31, 2011

Great Place Very Close To Riverwalk

I seldom take the time to write a review about a hotel, but considering how good of a value this hotel is I just had to share it with everyone. The room and bathroom were very clean. The hotel is very close to the Riverwalk attractions in San Antonio. In fact, the public bus system stops just in front of the hotel, so you can just park your car (for free!), and pretty much go anywhere in the city from there. I suggest you get a gold pass ticket, which allows you to hop onto any bus for a period of 24 hours. Personally, I think bus/walking is the best way to enjoy this beautiful city. The hotel also has a basic breakfast buffet, which you can access for about $4 per adult. Kids under 5 are free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like all kinds of good food, go to the Riverwalk, enjoy the scenery, and responsibly have a few good drinks. Definitely the thing to do here.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
Venice, FL
Mar 13, 2011

Noisey but good

This location is only a block away from train station and major highway. Noise from them was constant and loud. The room was very clean and hotel service was good. My room was nice and big. It could be a really great hotel if it wasn't noisey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Kansas
Mar 6, 2011

Great location - great value

Visiting San Antonio to get away and relax. This was a great place to stay. Easy walk to all downtown venues and easy on/off highway access. The room was beautiful and perfect for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

A fairly priced and good breakfast at the hotel that saves time when getting ready to enjoy a great day at the Riverwalk or other attractions. Otherwise the hotel does not offer on-site dining - this didn't prove problematic as the downtown area has so many dining options.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Alexandria, Louisiana
Feb 18, 2011

Surprise stay.

We went to San Antonio for the PRCA Rodeo and saw the sights during the day. The hotel was within walking distance of many sights and close to the freeway for out-of-town trips. Although it was near a railroad, I never heard a train in our first floor room. I liked the low-cost breakfast buffet and internet access. The only problem we had was the small parking area. When we came back at night, we had to park in a bus parking lot about 1/2 a block away. There was no charge, but it would have been inconvenient if raining or very cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase the combo ticket for the Trolly tour, boat ride and Emax movie about the Alamo. It saves you money and taking the trolly tour first gives you the lay of the land. Watching the Alamo movie helps you to understand what really happened there.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Feb 14, 2011

Good value

Good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top