Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

3 stars
View map of 1103 E Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3305

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Older and well traveled
Business
Kingston, WA, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Great location and value

I chose this because it looked convenient to the Alamo and had easy access and parking. It satisfied all those expectations. The room was comfortable. Refrigerator was a bonus. Service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retired Postmaster
Business
South Wilmington, IL, USA
Feb 4, 2012

Great hotel experience

The staff was very kind and helpful - my car had a flat tire and after getting it fixed, they showed a concern that all was well with it. They also were very helpuful in showing us how to get around to visit various sites. I certainly would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ate ate Landry's on the Riverwalk, the waiter was very gracious and entertaining - the food was excellent! Also ate at Cafe Ole on the Riverwalk - we were able to share a wonderful meal with no additional cost.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenwren
Business
Independence, MO
Jan 31, 2012

wheelchair accessible-almost

The layout of the wheelchair accessible room was impressive as soon as I rolled in the door. This was a larger than average room so moving about was easy. Even the placement of the shower control and handheld sprayer were correct. However, the beds were not accessible. The king sized bed was too high, I was not able to access it independently. Even my 6'4" husband commented on "sleeping in the balcony". The sofa sleeper was of typical height but the mattress was the absolute worst I have encountered. The wires in the mattress were quite uncomfortable as there was no padding over them. When designing ADA compliant rooms there must be someone overseeing the details including the interior designer and furniture buyer. Don't get sloppy on this when you have such a well designed room to work with. This nation has many returning wounded veterans and retirees who must travel for medical reasons. Hotels need to rise to this opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Aldaco's Mexican Cuisine at Historic Sunset Station 100 Hoefgen Ave. Easy walk from hotel and it is inside the old train station. If you want to eat in mid afternoon this is the place as Ruth Chris steakhouse a block away does not open until 4:30.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
artaylor
Business
Oklahoma, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Very Positive Experience

Location is great! Extremely close to downtown but a lot easier to get into and out than the downtown hotels. Free Parking is a plus as well as free internet which the downtown hotels do not offer. Staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Coffee in the breakfast area is available 24 hrs. Hotel is pretty new and very clean. Great hotel for the price. Only downside was the bed was a little firm but nothing to complain about. All in all a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Willusc
Business
Grand Prairie, TX, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Weekend getway

I must say that we had a GREAT time at the hotel. The location and Hotel Staff were excellant. Oh and the breakfast was great. I will be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Caso Rio restaurant on the Riverwalk has some great food for a reasonable price. Cant wait to go back.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kaydilyn
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Near Perfect

Staff was great! Room HUGE! Free Parking! Only complaints are- ease of finding the place- which may be all my fault.- I was on 2nd floor & the people above sounded like they were sliding the ice machine into their room at 2 am.. and the breakfast. It was better than continental, but I was hoping for fresh eggs & freshly cooked sausage and gravy. The sausage seemed microwaved or steamed & the gravy was super duper watery... Other than that Minor detail, It was a 4 star rating! I will stay there again & again! Thanks!!! Kate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mi Tierra's / Awesome family owned restaurant. Old bakery still churning out the goods... YUMMY! try the dosarita! just one & u are done! : )

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NW Houstonian
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 24, 2011

Memorable stay

I took my parents to show Riverwalk, i stayed at many hotels but this experience was the best of all. The room was clean, neat & calm. The staff is just wonderful, both the gentleman during our checkin in evening & ashley during checkout were very friendly. I would definetely comeback again. Forgot to mention, the beds were made excellent, breakfast was superb too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheryl Chen
Business
Tampa, FL
Dec 2, 2011

Nice price, valuable

about two blocks from river walk, so if you are single better to return from river walk earlier. The nice thing is free parking and about 4 dollars breakfast. The only thing I felt not good was the hotel's location was not easybto find , especially for the person who was the first time to visit and drove car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rich E.
Business
Collinsville, Ok, USA
Sep 2, 2011

Excellent choice

This hotel actually had beds you could sleep on. Almost all hotels advertise good bedding, but this Best Western does it right. Cleanliness was excellent and hotel staff maintained everything in an excellent manner. The room was very comfortable and well arranged. A full breakfast was offered for $3.40 and we used it all 5 mornings of our stay as it was a very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located approximately 1/2 mile from the convention center and is a fairly easy walk. Shuttle buses are available just ourside the back door of the hotel for those not able or wanting to walk.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JodyEssexboy
Business
England, United Kingdom
Aug 24, 2011

Great Location in a great City

I have never used a Best Western Hotel before and certainly this one was well located for the Riverwalk and Downtown. It has good access to the Highway. There was an excellent value breakfast served daily. The room was well appointed and the bed very comfortable indeed. The Staff were very keen to help at any time. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and certainly intend to stay there again when I return to San Antonio

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Durty Nelly's on the Riverwalk. Great location, good fun, no cover charge

Back to menu Return to top