Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

3 stars
1103 E Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3305
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
145 reviews
Cool quick getaway

Nearly all the SA hotels were booked on the Riverwalk. This hotel isn't that far from the good... See full review

  • TexasTravelQueen
  • Jul 28, 2014
Only thing missing is a pool

AWESOME hotel. Very nice for the price you are paying and the location is perfect. Excellent... See full review

  • Tina the Latina
  • Jun 9, 2014
Modern amenities incorporated into historic building in St. Paul Square
Historic 1800-era building was repurposed in 2000 to become the Best Western Sunset Suites -- Riverwalk. The public areas are decorated with stained glass doors and have naturally sourced wood flooring, brass ceilings, original brick walls, and a grand staircase on which belles may practice descending is in the lobby. High-speed Wi-Fi is complimentary and available throughout the hotel. Parking is also free. A fitness center is on site. Guest laundry services, including dry cleaning, are available. Discounted trolley tickets may be purchased on site.
Highlights
  • 1800-era building in historic St. Paul Square with modern amenities
  • Across the street from Alamodome
  • A mile from the Alamo and the River Walk
  • Free parking and high-speed wireless Internet
  • Fitness center on site
Rooms

There are 64 suites in the Best Western Sunset Suites -- Riverwalk hotel, all of which have free high-speed wireless Internet, are non-smoking and include a king or two full beds. The deluxe double suites include one king or two full beds in a larger, more spacious room perfect for family vacations or larger groups. All suites include a desk, sleeper sofa, cable television with pay-per-view movies, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron and ironing board.

Features

Photos from the building's pre-hotel days, two centuries ago, (it formerly was a leather manufacturer, grocery store, insurance company and a speakeasy during prohibition) are on display in the Best Western Sunset Suites -- Riverwalk lobby. High-speed wireless Internet is complimentary, as is parking. A fitness center is on site. Guest laundry services, including dry cleaning, are available. A hot breakfast is available for a small fee each morning. Discounted trolley tickets may be purchased on site.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Sunset Station VIA Train (across the street)
  • Trolley (across the street)
  • Amtrak Station (0.2 mi./0.4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (0.8 mi./1.2 km)
Attractions
  • The Alamodome (across the street)
  • The Tower of the Americas (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • The Alamo (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • River Walk (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.6 mi./1 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with computer workstation
  • Meeting rooms with 10,000 square feet, booth options and audio/visual capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Breakfast buffet available for a small fee

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk Rooms

SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PLOTOP,27INTV,SOFBD,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,PLOTOP,27INTV,SOFBD,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,WLKSHWR,PLOTOP,SOFBD,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PLOTOP,OVERSZD,SOFBD,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SOFABED,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL SHWR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,PLOTOP,OVERSZD,SOFBD,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SOFABED,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4221 -98.4801
Area served
Fredericksburg, San Marcos, Austin, New Braunfels
Nearby airports
(SAT), 7.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • El Mercado: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.4 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • El Mercado: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.4 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.5 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.2 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.7 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.2 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.6 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.6 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.7 mi
  • Sea World: 13.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.1 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.6 mi

Dining

Casa Rio
0.50 mile(s) from Casa Rio, Mexican
Spaghetti Warehouse
0.50 mile(s) from Spaghetti Warehouse, Italian
Aldaco's
0.25 mile(s) from Aldaco's, Mexican
Shilos German Delicatessen
0.50 mile(s) from Shilos German Delicatessen, Deli
Rivercenter Mall
0.50 mile(s) from Rivercenter Mall, Fast Food, food court
Landry Seafood House
1.00 mile(s) from Landry Seafood House, Seafood
Tony Roma's
0.50 mile(s) from Tony Roma's, ribs
Ruth's Chris Steak House
0.01 mile(s) from Ruth's Chris Steak House, Steakhouse, open for: dinner, open for dinner only, steak

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retired Postmaster
Business
South Wilmington, IL, USA
Feb 4, 2012

Great hotel experience

The staff was very kind and helpful - my car had a flat tire and after getting it fixed, they showed a concern that all was well with it. They also were very helpuful in showing us how to get around to visit various sites. I certainly would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ate ate Landry's on the Riverwalk, the waiter was very gracious and entertaining - the food was excellent! Also ate at Cafe Ole on the Riverwalk - we were able to share a wonderful meal with no additional cost.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenwren
Business
Independence, MO
Jan 31, 2012

wheelchair accessible-almost

The layout of the wheelchair accessible room was impressive as soon as I rolled in the door. This was a larger than average room so moving about was easy. Even the placement of the shower control and handheld sprayer were correct. However, the beds were not accessible. The king sized bed was too high, I was not able to access it independently. Even my 6'4" husband commented on "sleeping in the balcony". The sofa sleeper was of typical height but the mattress was the absolute worst I have encountered. The wires in the mattress were quite uncomfortable as there was no padding over them. When designing ADA compliant rooms there must be someone overseeing the details including the interior designer and furniture buyer. Don't get sloppy on this when you have such a well designed room to work with. This nation has many returning wounded veterans and retirees who must travel for medical reasons. Hotels need to rise to this opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Aldaco's Mexican Cuisine at Historic Sunset Station 100 Hoefgen Ave. Easy walk from hotel and it is inside the old train station. If you want to eat in mid afternoon this is the place as Ruth Chris steakhouse a block away does not open until 4:30.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
artaylor
Business
Oklahoma, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Very Positive Experience

Location is great! Extremely close to downtown but a lot easier to get into and out than the downtown hotels. Free Parking is a plus as well as free internet which the downtown hotels do not offer. Staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Coffee in the breakfast area is available 24 hrs. Hotel is pretty new and very clean. Great hotel for the price. Only downside was the bed was a little firm but nothing to complain about. All in all a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Willusc
Business
Grand Prairie, TX, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Weekend getway

I must say that we had a GREAT time at the hotel. The location and Hotel Staff were excellant. Oh and the breakfast was great. I will be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Caso Rio restaurant on the Riverwalk has some great food for a reasonable price. Cant wait to go back.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kaydilyn
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Near Perfect

Staff was great! Room HUGE! Free Parking! Only complaints are- ease of finding the place- which may be all my fault.- I was on 2nd floor & the people above sounded like they were sliding the ice machine into their room at 2 am.. and the breakfast. It was better than continental, but I was hoping for fresh eggs & freshly cooked sausage and gravy. The sausage seemed microwaved or steamed & the gravy was super duper watery... Other than that Minor detail, It was a 4 star rating! I will stay there again & again! Thanks!!! Kate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mi Tierra's / Awesome family owned restaurant. Old bakery still churning out the goods... YUMMY! try the dosarita! just one & u are done! : )

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NW Houstonian
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 24, 2011

Memorable stay

I took my parents to show Riverwalk, i stayed at many hotels but this experience was the best of all. The room was clean, neat & calm. The staff is just wonderful, both the gentleman during our checkin in evening & ashley during checkout were very friendly. I would definetely comeback again. Forgot to mention, the beds were made excellent, breakfast was superb too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheryl Chen
Business
Tampa, FL
Dec 2, 2011

Nice price, valuable

about two blocks from river walk, so if you are single better to return from river walk earlier. The nice thing is free parking and about 4 dollars breakfast. The only thing I felt not good was the hotel's location was not easybto find , especially for the person who was the first time to visit and drove car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rich E.
Business
Collinsville, Ok, USA
Sep 2, 2011

Excellent choice

This hotel actually had beds you could sleep on. Almost all hotels advertise good bedding, but this Best Western does it right. Cleanliness was excellent and hotel staff maintained everything in an excellent manner. The room was very comfortable and well arranged. A full breakfast was offered for $3.40 and we used it all 5 mornings of our stay as it was a very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located approximately 1/2 mile from the convention center and is a fairly easy walk. Shuttle buses are available just ourside the back door of the hotel for those not able or wanting to walk.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JodyEssexboy
Business
England, United Kingdom
Aug 24, 2011

Great Location in a great City

I have never used a Best Western Hotel before and certainly this one was well located for the Riverwalk and Downtown. It has good access to the Highway. There was an excellent value breakfast served daily. The room was well appointed and the bed very comfortable indeed. The Staff were very keen to help at any time. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and certainly intend to stay there again when I return to San Antonio

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Durty Nelly's on the Riverwalk. Great location, good fun, no cover charge

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Changchun
Business
China
Aug 12, 2011

Even better than pictures!

It is very clean, and the staff are very nice! We came to San Antornio to attend a meeting. The hotel impressed us deeply. It is perfect except a little noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top