Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: May 1, 2014

BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

3 stars
1002 S Laredo Street, San Antonio, TX 78204-3212
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
136 reviews
Close to Downtown

It was a very nice budget hotel centrally located close to Downtown right off of a highway. I... See full review

  • kkrgtc
  • Apr 4, 2014
Business

Everything was great, just like I expected it to be since I like to stay at Best Westerns. See full review

  • The Laredoan
  • Jan 25, 2014
Prime location with free breakfast and focus on local Tex-Mex standouts
The three-story, non-smoking Best Western Alamo Suites is just a mile from Market Square and the Amtrak station and provides a free continental breakfast for its guests seven days a week. Parking is free -- a rarity -- as is high-speed Internet access. The pool is indoors and heated. A fitness center stands at the ready. While there is no restaurant or bar on the premises, the house recommends four local, highly regarded nearby Tex-Mex restaurants.
Highlights
  • Near Amtrak station, Market Square and River Walk
  • Close to University of Texas San Antonio
  • Indoor, heated pool and fitness center
  • Complimentary breakfast bar seven days a week
  • Free parking and high-speed wireless Internet
Rooms

There are 71 suites available at the Best Western Alamo Suites. Single rooms come with a king bed while double rooms are equipped with two king beds. Some rooms have ceiling fans. All are painted in tawny, honey tones and have vivid orange or chili-colored blankets. More than 70 expanded cable channels come in on each room's stereo-optimized 25-inch TV. Dataports are available on the telephone. High-speed wireless Internet is complimentary.

Features

A heated indoor pool stands in a sunny yellow room with window boxes filled with flowers. A fitness center ensures guests will never have to miss a workout. A continental breakfast bar with cold and hot cereals, waffles, fruit, toast and beverages is free to Best Western Alamo Suites guests from 7 to 10 a.m. High-speed wireless Internet also is complimentary. Parking is free, too.  A business center with a computer and printer is available to guests who need to get some work done.

Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (1 mi./1.6 km)
  • San Antonio International Airport (11 mi./17.7 km)
Attractions
  • Market Square (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • River Walk (1 mi./1.6 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (1 mi./1.6 km)
  • Alamodome (1.2 mi./1.9 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Business center with PC workstation available
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,WHRLPL,HI SPEED,MICRWV,FULL REFRIG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 ROOM 3 BEDS
SUITE-1 ROOM 3 BEDS,NSMK,DWNTWNVW,3KGBDS,HISPD,MICRFG,BALCNY,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 2 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 2 BEDS,NSMK,LOFT,MICRWV,FULREFRG,SOFABED,HISPD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HISPD,MICRWV,FULREFRG,SOFABD,WRKDSK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2ROOMS,WHIRLPL,HONSTE,SOFABD,WRKDSK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 KING BEDS
SUITE-2 KING BEDS,NSMK,HISPD,MICRWV,FULREFRG,SOFABD,WRKDSK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLLSH,SFBD,NSM,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 KING BEDS
SUITE-2 KING BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTB,SFBD,NSM,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.416 -98.5018
Area served
Houston, Corpus Christi, Austin
Nearby airports
(SAT), 10.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • El Mercado: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 1 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1.1 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 1.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 1.2 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.3 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 3.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3.5 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.8 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 1 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1.1 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 1.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 1.2 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.3 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 3.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3.5 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.8 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.8 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 4 mi
  • ATT Center: 4.6 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 5 mi
  • SBC Center: 6 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 7.3 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.3 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.1 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.4 mi

Dining

Pica de Gallo
Across the street from Pica de Gallo, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Wendy's
.5 mile(s) from Wendy's, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
La Margarita's
1 mile(s) from La Margarita's, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Hard Rock Cafe
1 mile(s) from Hard Rock Cafe, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
McDonalds
.5 mile(s) from McDonalds, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (136)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
136 out of 136
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.3
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

5
Shortchange
Dallas Tx
Nov 1, 2013

My stay at Best Western Alamo

Friendliness is very apparent from the moment you enter the front door until you leave. Concern for your comfort and enjoyment is genuine and real. I was offered bottled water as we left for a day of touring. The rooms ( we rented two) were kept very clean and well supplied. Breakfast was offered until 10am,but food was left for those late comers. I highly recommend this establishment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

4
Diego1
Fort Worth
Oct 30, 2013

Great room for the price

This was a very pleasurable stay and the staff was very helpful and courteous. The only problem I could see is construction going on in the area but did not hinder the stay. The breakfast was great for a contental and very clean. The room was great,large and accommodating. Very clean! Nice indoor pool and sauna as well as clean exercise room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mi Tierra is not far about 5 blocks excellent Mexican food

Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

4
Trix02
San Antonio
Oct 28, 2013

Great for relaxing

We picked this place because they have jacuzzi tubs in the rooms, and we wanted something romantic for our anniversary. The room was nice, updated, and mostly clean. There was a dead bug and a sunflower kernel left on the floor, but the bed, bathroom and Jacuzzi were all spotlessly clean. We were originally given the wrong room, but the staff was quick to fix it and check-in was easy and fast. The indoor pool and hot tub was a great feature. Overall, we had a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many restaurants and the river walk is so close, you could walk there, but we recommend a taxi

Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

3
CanadianClaudia
Port Elgin, Ontario
Oct 11, 2013

staff

The desk staff, Phil, was especially helpful. He made great suggestions and gave clear directions. We were sent to this location from the Suites Best Western. They were not aware that Laredo was a one way street. That would be helpful to know. We had to find an alternative route.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

5
hootman
houston texas
Oct 1, 2013

Love this place

room was great staff very nice breakfast was very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

you can walk to good restaurants and attractions see and enjoy a lot of the city

Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

5
Sister gathering
Los Fresnos, Texas
Jul 11, 2013

Family fun time

Our experience at this hotel was absolutely wonderful. The girl that checked us in was extremely friendly. She got us into our room as soon as she could when we arrived early. Our room was very spacious and clean. It rained during our stay so it was very nice to have an indoor pool to swim. Breakfast was good. The staff made sure items were put back out as soon as food items were emptied. The river walk was in close vicinity . The hotel staff was extremely friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

It was a 15 minute walk or a short drive to the river walk.

Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

1
Ed and MIn
Mounds, OK
May 31, 2013

Hotel Needs updates and Staff needs to be more friendly.

This hotel is needs to be overhauled. Bedding needs to be updated. The hottub was cold. And one of the rooms I rented had a leak in the bathroom from the ceilling. I asked for new towels in the morning and never got them. The front desk staff for day shift was very rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is 5 blocks from riverwalk. 15 min walk but not in a good section of town.

Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

3
AshKash
Arlington, TX
May 29, 2013

Great Value!

We stayed here as we passed through on our way to the coast and were pleasantly surprised with how well we did for the price. We did get a king size suite, so we had a little extra space. The Riverwalk was maybe a 5 minute drive, so it was really convenient to just go out to dinner and stroll. The only complaint I would have is that when we got to the room the floor was still a bit wet from being cleaned, but hey, I know it was cleaned! The front desk help was also very pleasant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

4
Troy The Pilotman
San Antonio
May 26, 2013

Perfect Location and Price

Loved this Best Western! They had the perfect room that fit our family of five! The service was great the breakfast was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Reviewer score

5
Merlin the great
San Antonio, Texas
May 12, 2013

Good place to stay

The hotel felt like home and the staff was very nice. Very home welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The rainforest cafe is an excellent and delicious place to eat.

Back to menu Return to top