Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
View map of 2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No Haward please
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 23, 2013

Dont want to stay again

U dont want to stay here... Asked wake up call and no services. Shuttle bus at airport never showed up.. U dont want to stay here... Asked wake up call and no services. Shuttle bus at airport never showed up..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
colonel 1
Business
louisiana
Apr 16, 2013

needs that special something

hotel should list "free parking" in its amenities, but also not list itself as "new construction" because its not. Shuttle service is limited to certain times. Carpet was stain and in very bad condition, major turn-off. Office staff very courteous. It was listed as a 3 star in Price line and its 2 star at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

affordable

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dayna912
Business
Cameron, TX
Mar 11, 2013

Satisfied

Nice, clean and updated. Staff was very polite and courteous. Will definitely return. Access to the Beltway and freeway were excellent. The only negative experience was we asked for extra towels and never received them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
beenallaround
Business
Florida
Mar 7, 2013

Spend Your Extra $$ for a Real hotel - What's Become of HOJO?

I was on a quick overnight for business trip and took the least expensive room in a close proximity to the airport. If I had realized that there was No Shuttle Before 5pm (I spent $20 on a cab 1 way) or that I was in the middle of No Where with Nothing around (I had to order Delivery Chinese food to my room or take another $40 r/t cab to go somewhere to eat a meal) - I would have Never chosen this Hotel. EVER. These are just a couple of points... I Should have spent the extra $40-$60 to stay in a Clean place in a Good Location and not been stressed out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get the food Delivery from the Chinese Place

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
001T
Business
Kentucky
Mar 1, 2013

Not acceptable

Is motel style (doors that open straight to the outside), stained carpets, stained couch, holes in the sheets, no comforter. Hotel is not near anything except a gas station and sketchy food mart. AIRPORT SHUTTLE ONLY RUNS LIMITED HOURS!! Do not stay here. Yuck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shaybda1
Business
Crockett, Tx
Feb 25, 2013

great room for the price

I have stayed here on several occasions and have had no complaints. Easy access to shopping and freeway! Would definitely recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wrthelena
Business
Montana
Feb 24, 2013

noisy night

I had to overnight in Houston so I chose this hotel because it is close to the airport and in expensive. Unfortunately my flight was delayed and I missed the last hotel shuttle (10 pm) so I had to pay $23 for a 3 mile ride. The hotel room Seemed okay, but it soon became apparent that there was no sound insulation. It was a very noisy night topped off by a guy revving his engine at 4:30 am. Wouldn't' stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RitaMason
Business
Chicago
Dec 30, 2012

Very Nice Experience

I booked this hotel last minute and the pictures on the site were dead on to what I saw when I got to my room. Really nice staff, clean and comfortable room and having what seemed to be a new fridge and microwave in the room was wonderful for my three day stay. Especially since there weren't many restaurants close to this hotel, which was the only downside to staying here. I also was awaken in morning by semi's fueling at the gas station next door but overall I had a good experience. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are no restaurants within walking distance of this hotel and most places in this area stop delivering early for some reason. But a few miles away heading back toward IAH airport you will find fast food and some restaurants.

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bodance
Business
Austin
Dec 25, 2012

Nice staff, good location

The staff was very helpful. They picked us up at the airport and took us back. There was a very good continental breakfast served: Cereal, muffins, fruit and coffee. The room was quiet. They have satellite TV with many channels. There is a shell station and a convenience store across the street, in case you want anything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One Nighter from NJ
Business
Linden, New Jersey
Dec 15, 2012

One night stay

Needed a room for one night and the price was very good. Very close to the airport. There isn't much around the hotel besides a gas station and a food mart but there is always food delivery and the hotel supplies menus and complimentary breakfast. If you don't have a car, you can rely on taxis or the free shuttle to and from the airport. (You will need to call the hotel once you're at the airport and request that the shuttle pick you up.) The room was clean and comfortable but it was easy to hear what was going on outside my door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you need a place to stay for the United Inflight Training Information Session, the hotel provides a free shuttle to the interview place but does not offer a return shuttle. You will have to catch the free shuttle from the interview place to the airport and then call the hotel to shuttle you back to the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top