Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 19, 2016 Check-out: Feb 20, 2016

Hotel Derek

4 stars
View map of 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
20 reviews
Great hotel

Always a great stay. Love the ambiance and the food at the restaurant! See full review

  • okey o.
  • Sep 18, 2015
great stay

We enjoyed our stay here at hotel derek. The staff was awesome nice and friendly, very helpful with... See full review

  • Trinidad A.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Simply Elegant. Comfortably Accessible. Totally Extraordinary. Rethink everything you know about the typical hotel experience. Derek is distinctive. From the moment you arrive at the Hotel Derek in Houston, Texas, you realize the experience will be anything BUT commonplace. Hotel Derek in Houston is a refreshing alternative to the standard hotel. Urban sophistication reigns supreme here.

Our design is elegant in its simplicity as well as comfortable and accessible. This one-of-a-kind custom designed hotel near the Galleria in Houston, TX features the essence of our Texas home commingled with European sophistication. Our classic modern design and tailored look includes rich, vibrant tones to tantalize the eye. Hotel Derek adds significant substance to style by pairing stunning design with impeccable guest service. The result is the modern benchmark of Houston hotels that everyone else strives to emulate.

Hotel Derek has thought of everything you need for the perfect stay at our Houston Hotel including a relaxing outdoor pool with stylish terrace, 24/7 fitness center, 24-hour business center, and, of course, high-speed Internet access. Derek Hotel in Houston, Texas is also thoughtful enough to offer complimentary transportation to nearby offices within a three-mile radius via our Derek Mobile, a chauffeured black stretch SUV. Plus, we know it gets lonely on the road and that is why guests are always welcome to bring their pets along with them! When planning your next business meeting or social gathering look no further than Hotel Derek for a versatile Houston conference venue. Featuring over 10,000 square-feet of well-appointed, eye-catching event and meeting space, Hotel Derek caters to groups from 10 to 200 and social gatherings of up to 500. Whatever your needs - from catering to event planning to audio/visual equipment - Hotel Derek's experienced hospitality staff will support your every need.

For those who want to dine or have cocktails at one of the most popular area restaurants in Houston, TX, the Valentino Vinbar Houston - a new innovation from famed restaurateurs Luciano Pellegrini and Piero Selvaggio- is located right inside Hotel Derek. We are located adjacent to the Galleria shopping mall in Houston, Texas, and Houston's commercial and cultural districts are also easily accessible.

And for those who want to experience Houston's hottest venues and trendiest nightspots, our well-connected Concierge can make all of the arrangements to ensure you enjoy your stay at our Galleria Hotel in Houston, Texas.

Please note our parking prices, $30 for valet and $22 for self-parking plus tax.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Derek also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.7418 -95.4568
Area served
Houston, TX.
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes and distance is 30 miles. Houston Hobby Airport: Approx. time is 30 minutes and distance is about 22 miles.
Area description
Galleria (shopping, entertainment) - 2 blocks River Oaks (mansions, gardens) - 1 mile Montrose District (restaurants, clubstheaters) - 4 miles Rice University area antique shops - 5 miles Texas Medical Center - 5.5 miles Downtown Houston - 6 miles Bayou Place (entertainment complex) - 6 miles Lakewood Church - 4 miles George Brown Convention Center - 7 miles Minute Maid Park/Houston Astros - 7.5 miles Reliant Stadium/Houston Texans - 8.5 miles Sam Houston Race Park - 19 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Channelle
Couples
Katy
Jan 5, 2015

Celebrating Johnson Anniversary

We have no complaints only nothing but excellent comments about the stay! We can't wait until our next anniversary to come back to the Hotel Derek!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is perfectly placed in the middle of all Houston's finest entertainment and restaurants! My stay was great and the staff was amazing!

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trinidad A.
Family
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

great stay

We enjoyed our stay here at hotel derek. The staff was awesome nice and friendly, very helpful with everything we asked about. The location was great, everything was within distance from us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrew T
Couples
Tivoli, TX
Feb 15, 2011

Derek Valentine's

I surprised my sweetie with a night at the Derek for Valentine's. It was perfect; we've stayed many times before and consider the beds the best in Houston, at least for rent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Anvil Refuge and Bar for cocktails. The drinks are not cheap, but are recommended (or even concocted on the spot) by one of the 5 mixologists on staff, based on a short interview.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alban
Business
miami beach
Aug 31, 2010

very clean

the hotel is beautiful very good location and very nice staff i will go back ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandman24
Couples
Houston, TX, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Romantic Getaway

WOW, excellent staff and room service. The a/c sure does work well it was cold but great to snuggle with that special person.. The V is great and it has live jazz band that we loved and you didn't have to leave the grounds really if you there to relax as we were. The only thing that got me was there is not public parking its all vallet but when its busy to turn into the hotel can be trouble but there is a policeman to stop traffic which was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The V has everything you need from the salads to dessert. Plus its a bar at night.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Montana
Friends
New Orleans, Louisiana
Jul 21, 2009

Great Experience

I shopped at the malls and enjoyed the night life in Houston, Tx. The Hotel Derek provided great massages and nice lobby bar for networking. This trip was a great weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tammi Traveler
Family
Saint Francisville, LA
Jul 12, 2009

Hotel Derek

We enjoyed our stay and would book again at Hotel Derek. Maybe not a city view next time because of the traffic noise at night. Staff was great, food was great, location was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Houston Premium outlet mall was wonderful as was the Galleria!

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
okey o.
Business
irving
Sep 18, 2015

Great hotel

Always a great stay. Love the ambiance and the food at the restaurant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Teach
Friends
Huntington Beach, ca
Mar 19, 2014

Cute

We were there for four nights and our room was cleaned one time. The shower would not drain, and we notified the hotel the first night, the shower was not fixed during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hubby Bear
Couples
Dallas, Texas
Jul 23, 2012

weekend getaway

The experience was very good with one exception. The exception is the daily parking fee which with tax was over $20.00 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top