Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 19, 2016 Check-out: Feb 20, 2016

Hotel Derek

4 stars
View map of 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hubby Bear
Couples
Dallas, Texas
Jul 23, 2012

weekend getaway

The experience was very good with one exception. The exception is the daily parking fee which with tax was over $20.00 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandman24
Couples
Houston, TX, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Romantic Getaway

WOW, excellent staff and room service. The a/c sure does work well it was cold but great to snuggle with that special person.. The V is great and it has live jazz band that we loved and you didn't have to leave the grounds really if you there to relax as we were. The only thing that got me was there is not public parking its all vallet but when its busy to turn into the hotel can be trouble but there is a policeman to stop traffic which was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The V has everything you need from the salads to dessert. Plus its a bar at night.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrew T
Couples
Tivoli, TX
Feb 15, 2011

Derek Valentine's

I surprised my sweetie with a night at the Derek for Valentine's. It was perfect; we've stayed many times before and consider the beds the best in Houston, at least for rent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Anvil Refuge and Bar for cocktails. The drinks are not cheap, but are recommended (or even concocted on the spot) by one of the 5 mixologists on staff, based on a short interview.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alban
Business
miami beach
Aug 31, 2010

very clean

the hotel is beautiful very good location and very nice staff i will go back ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
chicago
Aug 10, 2010

great for a trip with pets

Iloved the hotel but the pictures made pool look alot bigger then it was. I was not happy with the pool area at all also it is blocked by building so it gets no sun. Staff was very nice room was beautiful and they really are pet friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

alot of local shopping.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LS
Couples
San Antonio
Feb 2, 2010

Upscale and modern get away

Very nice hotel top professional service. Very clean. Great location! Modern rooms. Although the heater wasn't working after 2 call the engineer came to fix it. We awoke early morning from being so cold called the complaint again. The engineer came in and replaced a part took about twenty min. He deeply sorry and we had no problems from then on with the heat but the tub wasn't draining very well all wk end it took 10 min for the shower water to go down. If it wasn't for the two problems I would say it was perfect stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Montana
Friends
New Orleans, Louisiana
Jul 21, 2009

Great Experience

I shopped at the malls and enjoyed the night life in Houston, Tx. The Hotel Derek provided great massages and nice lobby bar for networking. This trip was a great weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tammi Traveler
Family
Saint Francisville, LA
Jul 12, 2009

Hotel Derek

We enjoyed our stay and would book again at Hotel Derek. Maybe not a city view next time because of the traffic noise at night. Staff was great, food was great, location was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Houston Premium outlet mall was wonderful as was the Galleria!

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aby
Business
miami
Jul 4, 2009

morless

I forgot a new cd drive that I bought in best buy and when I call they did'nt find it, and I am poitive that I left it, I cold not come back to the hotel because I was going to loose mi flight, but housekeeping told me that they did not find it, and is a lie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Li Chin
Family
USA
Nov 23, 2007

Beautiful Hotel

The Hotel Derek was a very pretty hotel, but the room was just okay. I expected a nicer hotel room. Great location! The best thing I liked about the hotel was the service. Excellent, excellent service!!! The staff at the hotel was very friendly & accomodated all our needs. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel Derek is right next to the Galleria, which is a great shopping mall.

Back to menu Return to top