Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Warwick Melrose Hotel

4 stars
3015 Oak Lawn Ave, Dallas, TX 75219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
68 reviews
Overnight Working Trip

The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. I forgot my phone charger and the valet... See full review

  • CloveApp
  • Jun 27, 2014
Just awesome!

Beautiful, impressive, exquisite. Loved this hotel--huge room, great facilities. One tip--valet... See full review

  • DGW10Oct
  • Apr 11, 2014
Fine luxury lodging in a classic, historic landmark setting
Dallas's Warwick Melrose Hotel has been synonymous with luxury for almost 90 years. Built in 1924, the Warwick Melrose is a historic Dallas landmark that offers 184 luxury guest rooms including 21 suites and a Presidential Suite, many with a dramatic view of the city. The Warwick Melrose Hotel is famous for its Landmark Restaurant -- which has been honored with the AAA Four Diamond award, the DiRoNA award and the Wine Spectator award -- as well as for its Library Bar, which has a variety of beers, wines and cocktails.
Highlights
  • Over sized rooms with European marble floors
  • Stunning 1,500-square-foot Presidential Suite
  • Courtesy vehicle service within three mile radius, based upon availability
  • The Landmark Restaurant, recipient of the AAA Four-Diamond award
Centrally located in the Uptown Oak Lawn and Turtle Creek area of Dallas, five minutes from Love Field Airport and 25 minutes from Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, the hotel is also close to popular destinations like the Market Center, downtown Dallas, the Dallas Convention Center and the West End and McKinney Avenue entertainment areas.
Rooms
Luxury at the Warwick Melrose Hotel doesn't stop at the lobby. Known for their gracious style, each oversized guest room and suite features European marble floors, full-length terry cloth robe, make-up mirror, hair dryer, two-line speaker phone with high-speed Internet access (fees apply), personalized voice mail, 37-ince flat-screen television with cable and pay-per-view movies, iPod docking station, ceiling fan, executive style writing desk, in-room safe, iron and ironing board and a refreshment center. All rooms are non-smoking
The Warwick Melrose Hotel also offers meeting and conference facilities and a ballroom that can accommodate 300 guests. The hotel’s facilities include in-house state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment, an outdoor terrace located adjacent to the Bridewell Suite, available customized menus and high-speed, multiple-user Internet access in its meeting rooms.
  • Dallas/Love Field Airport (4 mi/9 km)
  • Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (15 mi/24 km)
  • Downtown Dallas (0.5 mi/1 km)
  • American Airlines Center (1 mi/2 km)
  • Ameriquest Field (16 mi/26 km)
  • Six Flags Over Texas (16 mi/26 km)
  • Texas Motor Speedway (32 mi/51 km)
  • Two meeting/event rooms
  • Free wired and Wireless Internet
  • Free fax, printer and copier
•    Smoking in rooms will result in a $250 (USD) cleaning charge

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Warwick Melrose Hotel Rooms

Standard
The award-winning Warwick Melrose Hotel offers 184 luxurious renovated guest rooms and suites.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Warwick Melrose Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.8091 -96.8097
Area served
Dallas and surrounding areas
Nearby airports
DFW Airport Dallas Love Field
Area description
Located in the Uptown Oak Lawn and Turtle Creek area, the hotel is five minutes from Love Field Airport, twenty five minutes from D/FW International Airport, three minutes from the Market Center and five minutes from Downtown, the Convention Center as well as the West End and McKinney Avenue entertainment areas.

Nearby points of interest

  • American Airlines Center: 1.3 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 1.4 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 1.5 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 1.6 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 1.6 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Fountain Place: 1.8 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 2 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 2 mi
  • Fair Park: 2.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 2.1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 2.1 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 2.3 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 1.3 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 1.4 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 1.5 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 1.6 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 1.6 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Fountain Place: 1.8 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 2 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 2 mi
  • Fair Park: 2.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 2.1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 2.1 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 2.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 2.8 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 2.8 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 3.5 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 4.5 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 4.6 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.1 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 5.5 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 7.5 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 17 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 227.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Warwick Melrose Hotel's meeting and conference facilities are varied and distinctive. The Warwick Melrose Hotel, Dallas will be 100% smoke free effective March 5, 2008. This new policy includes all guest rooms, meeting rooms, restaurant, bar, public space and employee work areas. Should any guest smoke in his or her room a cleaning fee of $250.00 will apply. Should you wish to smoke, we have designated two areas at the exterior entrances of the hotel. We appreciate your assistance in creating a healthier environment.

Dining

Landmark Restaurant
Highly acclaimed for his culinary creativity, our Executive Chef delights both hotel guests and loyal followers with his eclectic menu served in the award-winning and elegant Landmark Restaurant. Executive Chef Douglas Brown's "no guidelines" cuisine has been described as "progressive American," using fresh and available market-select items from all over the country. Rules do not apply as he infuses a plethora of culinary influences including French, Asian and Italian. Save room, Pastry Chef Jason Foss's dreamy desserts recently graced the cover of Dallas Magazine. The posh Landmark Restaurant has earned the merit of "One of the Areas Finest Restaurants" by Zagat Restaurant Review.
The Library
Recently named by the Wall Street Journal as one of the nation's top spots to "sip and sup," The Library Bar is consistently voted the most popular piano and conversation bar in Dallas. It is a favorite spot for relaxing music or one of our award-winning martinis.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Warwick Melrose Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ATL traveling man
Business
Atlanta
Oct 19, 2013

Over-Rated

1/2 the staff is a little uppity and they charge (way too much) for wifi. It's 2013...wifi should come with a room! The "free local shuttle" wasn't working but that just seemed to be OK. I'd prefer not to return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jmp1
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Noisy room

At check in I requested a quiet room away from elevators, ice machines, street noise, etc. The front desk assured me that my location in the building would be more quiet than most. My room was close to the busy street intersection that produced road noise thru the old historic windows. To top it off there's a fire station directly across the street and -- maybe this is not normal -- but they answered 3 alarms in one night (full sirens blaring). I would otherwise enjoy this historic hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DSOman
Waco, TX
Feb 19, 2013

A mixed bag.

Came away with mixed feelings. A OK stay, but some problems took the edge off of it. Arrival at 4 PM and no rooms available. Went to Library bar (very nice place) to wait. After about 10 min., front desk manager came to give us room key and also paid for drinks. Room very small, not unexpected for a restored old hotel. Nothing in room with drawers (other than bedside chest with drawer with usual bible) so could not unpack. Bathroom had pedestal sink with narrow shelf over it. Had to place shaving and make-up stuff on window sill. On the clearly positive side is the hotel decor-- elegantly restored (wife loved it). The Landmark restaurant is excellent for both food quality, presentation and service. (had dinner and breakfast). Our biggest complaint (disappointment) is with the Library bar. When returning (about 9:30) from a evening out, we planned to retire to the bar for drinks. We found it packed with locals. A hostess told us we might get in after 45 min, wait. Hotel guests should have priority access! All in all-- a hotel with good potential but a few glitches took the edge off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Elegant bar, but get in early before all the locals arrive.

Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
dallas,tx
Aug 25, 2009

expected more

the bed was not very comfortable we checked out a day early to go home and sleep in our own bed. we got the room so we would be downtown for a weekend birthday celebration and left early each day. i have traveled all over the usa and many other countries and for price verses service and comfort this hotel did not meet to my expectation. I have definitely stayed in other facilities with better accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

many places to eat and nightlife in the area

Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
geekychick
florida
May 16, 2011

Beautiful hotel, great service..but..

The hotel is beautiful, the staff was super friendly. But you can hear every single car that drives by. It made sleeping hard. Also -- I let the water run for a good 5 minutes and it never got hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lee Park at Arlington Hall

Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
foodiefoodie
Business
DFW
Jul 23, 2014

Absolutely LOVED the room! But the parking and room wifi charges are ridiculous. :(

I absolutely LOVED everything about this place, except the following: 1. Forced/mandatory valet parking that is not inexpensive 2. Huge room wifi charges 3. WORST OF ALL: The restaurant and food. It was absolutely AWFUL, APPALLING, DISGUSTING!!! On their website, they advertise about how they are a Dallas icon and highly rated. What they don't tell you is how old those ratings are! The hotel menu itself brags about how they AAA Diamond rated (or something like that). Well, I learned later that that rating was from 4-10 years ago!!! The food is just beyond awful. I LOVED the Library Bar but could not truly enjoy the experience because the food is so bad. They seriously need to get their food straightened out. If you want a true Dallas hotel icon experience with dining, go to The Mansion. Now THAT'S food worth paying for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel offers free car service within x miles. Close enough to reach good areas with lots of good restaurants and shopping. DO NOT EAT at the hotel! Food quality isn't worth a penny. So sad, because the dining staff is truly amazing--but the food is just awful. I'm not a trained chef but I can cook better food in my home kitchen than they can. Mine is restaurant-quality. Theirs is yucky diner quality.

Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Aug 20, 2010

Very nice renovation....

This historic old hotel is very nicely down, with modern amenities, and spotless clean rooms. The biggest downside was the night noise (sirens,traffic, horns)on the street side,even though we were on the 5th floor, and the $24 mandatory valet parking fee, even though our car was parked in a hotel lot 25 feet from the checkout door. We could easily have parked and retrieved our car ourselves. The parking fee raised the moderate price to a "look elsewhere" price for us. We travel to Dallas frequently, and only stayed there because our regular hotel was not available. Probably won't be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Troup
Aug 10, 2008

CONVENIENT LOCATION

WE WERE UPGRADED TO A SUITE WHEN WE CHECKED-IN. HOTEL IS OBVIOUSLY NOT MODERN AND RETAINS SOME OF ITS 1920'S CHARM SO IF SLEEK AND MODERN ARE WHAT YOU SEEK - LOOK ELSEWHERE! ACCOMMODATIONS WERE VERY COMFORTABLE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SHJ73
Business
Oakland, Ca
Apr 17, 2014

Perfect star

Clean and spacieuse. Perfectly located with high end shopping in Highlandpark village close by. Efficient valet service and good bedding. Will go back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

highland park village. Lafco NY and Trousseau of Dallas.

Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MattnChris
Tulsa, OK
Apr 22, 2009

Beautiful room in a gorgeous hotel

Staff was very friendly and accomodating and room was very clean and had everything we needed. Nice view from the window and we were within walking distance of restaurants and clubs, which was the reason for our one-night stay. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A very short walk to the Dallas "gayborhood" which we felt very safe to walk at after dark since there were plenty of street lights and other persons walking around the area.

Back to menu Return to top