Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

4 stars
701 East 11th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
82 reviews
Good stay

Staff was super friendly and we ordered room service and it was great! See full review

  • Jessica6867
  • Aug 22, 2014
Simple Getaway

We couldn't have asked for more. Perfect location, staff was polite and helpful, hotel bar was hip,... See full review

  • MartinezF
  • Jun 3, 2013
Charm and convenience in downtown Austin with indoor and outdoor pools

Smack in the heart of downtown Austin, the location of the Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol is enough to lure visitors. The hotel is surrounded by music venues, restaurants, shopping and tourist attractions. Guests find many well-designed public areas throughout the hotel including the lobby bar, the Landmark Restaurant and Link@Sheraton--a public space with computer terminals where guests can go online to chat with friends or watch the game. Guests enjoy a complimentary breakfast.

 

Highlights
  • Indoor and outdoor swimming pools
  • Complimentary breakfast on club level
  • Conveniently located in downtown Austin
Location

The Sheraton Austin Hotel is located on 11th Street in downtown Austin, three blocks from the Texas State Capitol and a short walk to 6th Street shopping and entertainment.

Rooms

The Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol created their guest rooms with sophistication, using beige as a main shade accented by brighter colors. Sleek, modern furniture includes a desk and chair, a small seating area and a Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed. Sheraton Club rooms offer free bottled water, complimentary fitness center access and use of the Club Lounge--a relaxing space where guests enjoy complimentary breakfast and afternoon drinks and snacks. The Club Lounge offers business travelers complimentary use of a printer, fax, copier and office supplies. Wireless or wired high-speed Internet is available in rooms (fees apply).

Features

Meet friends and colleagues for drinks and light fare at the Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol's lobby bar or check out Landmark Restaurant, serving southwestern cuisine. This hotel sits in the center of downtown but still features spacious public areas including a fitness center. Indoor and outdoor pools cater to every season. The Link@Sheraton with Microsoft is a public space with computer terminals where guests can go online to watch a game, chat with friends or borrow a magazine or newspaper.  High-speed wireless Internet access is available.

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (6 mi/9.7 km)
Attractions
  • Texas State Capitol Building (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • 6th Street entertainment (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • Blanton Museum of Art (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Lady Bird Lake hike and bike trail (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Wireless high-speed Internet in all meeting spaces (fees apply)

Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
TDD telephone machine
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.2706 -97.7342
Nearby airports
Austin-Bergstrom International Airport, (AUS), 10.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.5 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Town Lake: 1.8 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.5 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Town Lake: 1.8 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 2 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 2.1 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 2.2 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 2.3 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 2.4 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.4 mi
  • One World Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.6 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.4 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 6.3 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 10.2 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 11 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 12.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gyme623
houston, tx
Mar 18, 2013

Good Value and Comfortable

cost was reasonable, room was clean and very nice. Staff was very helpful and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ArmyTravelNC
Apex NC
Mar 18, 2013

I wouldn't go again unless last option

This hotel looks nice and has great potential. However, it is trying to be a 4 or 5 Star without the right amenities or even proper staff. For example, there should be proper secure measures in place for the hotel pool and hot tub. As my husband and I got a bottle of bubbly for room service to the pool. It was immediately interrupted by people who were not guest of the hotel. A key was not needed to enter the pool area and I could hear them openly saying this is such a score can't believe we got in. It ruined our night in the hot tub. I would have rather listen to 4 years old in the pool because at least they would have been guest. The carpet and chair in the room were very old and need replacing. Customer service of hotel could have been a lot better. After all if you work in customer service you should at least attempt a smile when greeting a customer/guest of your hotel. Overall, not a pleasant experience. I wouldn't suggest NOT using this Place but I wouldn't go back myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
College Trip Mom 2013
Chicago, il
Feb 6, 2013

College trip

I wouldn't stay here again. We had to change rooms. Room service was very late. We had to cancel breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ninabina
Austin, TX, USA
Jan 3, 2013

Comfort in the New Year

We wanted comfort, luxury, and a good deal for New Year's Eve night. The hotel is very nice but not luxurious, so the $200 price (including taxes and fees) was a bit too high. Also, since the hotel only has a small outdoor pool, an early morning swim was out of the question. However, the hotel's location very near to our celebration destination (and other music venues along Red River St.) was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for attending events at Stubb's, the Mohawk, and other nearby music venues.

Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Road Trip Queen
Texas
Jan 1, 2013

A Little Disappointed

The valet & room service staff were wonderful. However, the front desk clerk wasn't very friendly. The hotel wasn't as plush as described. We stayed on the 8th floor and there was a very funny smell. Our room was very hot and the temp couldn't be adjusted. Our room phone didn't work properly. We didn't have a good view of the city as described when we booked. I will probably not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ACC parent
Houston, TX
Dec 16, 2012

downtown destination

Went to attend an event at the Frank Erwin Center, and dinner and drinks on 6th street--great location, comfortable beds, excellent staff! A shuttle service would have been an added bonus, but they don't offer one. Taxis are easy to get and the staff was eager to assist with all of our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LA girlie
Los Angeles CA
Dec 8, 2012

Not bad but getting a little shabby for 4 stars

Pleasant and friendly environment a short stay from Capitol. Rooms starting to look shabby with torn seat and stains on carpet but the staff maintain well. Comfortable stay but not 4 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stubb's BBQ. Tasty and good value. Friendly staff and good music venue.

Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MicMel Travelers
Houston, Tx
Nov 30, 2012

Good Hotel

From the moment we walked in the staff took good care of us and were very helpful. They had to downgrade our room a little but compensated us over and above. As we got out and about we realized there was so much to do within walking distance (1mile) of the hotel. It was nice that for most of the weekend we left our car parked and enjoyed the cool breeze and a walk. I would recommend this hotel to a friend, we had a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We enjoyed the state capitol and the Big Texas museum and had enough time to do both of them and the LBJ museum all in one day!

Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn Perry
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 26, 2012

Sheraton Austin is Superb

The best hotel experience of my life - and I have traveled the world. Clean, well maintained and attractive. The staff was spectacular. Every member of the staff was courteous and helpful, they felt like very warm and kind friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sdlace
Dallas
Nov 25, 2012

An overnight to Austin

A very comfortable nights sleep and the staff was very nice and accommodating. The beds were very comfortable. We were on 5th floor and no view to speak of, but quiet and that worked great for us,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top