Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

4 stars
View map of 701 East 11th Street, 701 East 11th Street, Austin, TX 78701

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MartinezF
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 3, 2013

Simple Getaway

We couldn't have asked for more. Perfect location, staff was polite and helpful, hotel bar was hip, and starbucks coffee in the morning was icing on the cake!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gyme623
Business
houston, tx
Mar 18, 2013

Good Value and Comfortable

cost was reasonable, room was clean and very nice. Staff was very helpful and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Noema
Business
Houston, Texas
Mar 18, 2013

Fantastic

Even though i stayed for one day i love this hotel close to 6th street. Clean rooms. Very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ArmyTravelNC
Business
Apex NC
Mar 18, 2013

I wouldn't go again unless last option

This hotel looks nice and has great potential. However, it is trying to be a 4 or 5 Star without the right amenities or even proper staff. For example, there should be proper secure measures in place for the hotel pool and hot tub. As my husband and I got a bottle of bubbly for room service to the pool. It was immediately interrupted by people who were not guest of the hotel. A key was not needed to enter the pool area and I could hear them openly saying this is such a score can't believe we got in. It ruined our night in the hot tub. I would have rather listen to 4 years old in the pool because at least they would have been guest. The carpet and chair in the room were very old and need replacing. Customer service of hotel could have been a lot better. After all if you work in customer service you should at least attempt a smile when greeting a customer/guest of your hotel. Overall, not a pleasant experience. I wouldn't suggest NOT using this Place but I wouldn't go back myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
College Trip Mom 2013
Business
Chicago, il
Feb 6, 2013

College trip

I wouldn't stay here again. We had to change rooms. Room service was very late. We had to cancel breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ninabina
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Jan 3, 2013

Comfort in the New Year

We wanted comfort, luxury, and a good deal for New Year's Eve night. The hotel is very nice but not luxurious, so the $200 price (including taxes and fees) was a bit too high. Also, since the hotel only has a small outdoor pool, an early morning swim was out of the question. However, the hotel's location very near to our celebration destination (and other music venues along Red River St.) was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for attending events at Stubb's, the Mohawk, and other nearby music venues.

Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Road Trip Queen
Business
Texas
Jan 1, 2013

A Little Disappointed

The valet & room service staff were wonderful. However, the front desk clerk wasn't very friendly. The hotel wasn't as plush as described. We stayed on the 8th floor and there was a very funny smell. Our room was very hot and the temp couldn't be adjusted. Our room phone didn't work properly. We didn't have a good view of the city as described when we booked. I will probably not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ACC parent
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 16, 2012

downtown destination

Went to attend an event at the Frank Erwin Center, and dinner and drinks on 6th street--great location, comfortable beds, excellent staff! A shuttle service would have been an added bonus, but they don't offer one. Taxis are easy to get and the staff was eager to assist with all of our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LA girlie
Business
Los Angeles CA
Dec 8, 2012

Not bad but getting a little shabby for 4 stars

Pleasant and friendly environment a short stay from Capitol. Rooms starting to look shabby with torn seat and stains on carpet but the staff maintain well. Comfortable stay but not 4 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stubb's BBQ. Tasty and good value. Friendly staff and good music venue.

Review of Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MicMel Travelers
Business
Houston, Tx
Nov 30, 2012

Good Hotel

From the moment we walked in the staff took good care of us and were very helpful. They had to downgrade our room a little but compensated us over and above. As we got out and about we realized there was so much to do within walking distance (1mile) of the hotel. It was nice that for most of the weekend we left our car parked and enjoyed the cool breeze and a walk. I would recommend this hotel to a friend, we had a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We enjoyed the state capitol and the Big Texas museum and had enough time to do both of them and the LBJ museum all in one day!

Back to menu Return to top