Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

3 stars
300 East 11th St, 300 East 11th St, Austin, TX 78701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
123 reviews
Work travel

Hotel had a good location to the conference center. Staff was great. Anything I needed they took... See full review

  • CLE traveler
  • Nov 8, 2014
A very good location to visit Austin AT a reasonable prive

Good location, good room (refrigerator missing), breakfast correct but in a too much small... See full review

  • Pierre France
  • Sep 28, 2014
Budget-friendly stay in the heart of downtown Austin

Travelers in search of a budget hotel in the heart of Austin's scene should check out La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol. Next door to the Texas State Capitol building, the hotel sits in a prime location within walking distance of 6th Street restaurants and music venues, Texas State University and the Congress Avenue Bridge and bats. The hotel features all the basic necessities a traveler needs plus free breakfast and nearby public transportation.

Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Complimentary breakfast includes hot waffles
  • Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Austin
Location

The La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol is located three blocks west of 1-35, in downtown Austin, next to the Texas State Capitol building.

Rooms

The rooms at La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol have modern furniture and earth toned details, evoking a clean, traditional look. Travelers can get work done at the desk and chair. Book a room with one king bed or two full beds, some with the added convenience of a microwave. Suites offer a separate living room.

Features

Guests can enjoy a workout in La Quinta Austin Capitol's 24-hour fitness center or take a swim in the refreshing outdoor pool. The complimentary Bright Side Breakfast includes waffles, pastries, fresh fruit and more. Complimentary wireless Internet is available in the hotel lobby. Guests travel to nearby sites by walking or taking the Metro bus or trolley, both with stops across from the hotel. Only valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
Attractions
  • Texas State Capitol Building (1 block)
  • 6th Street entertainment (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • Blanton Museum of Art (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • Lady Bird Lake hike and bike trail (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • 1,364 square feet of meeting space
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access

La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies.
Deluxe
King Room Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds Relaxing and comfortable room with two full or queen beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies and Nintendo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jogging track
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.2722 -97.7384
Nearby airports
Austin Bergstrom Intl Airport, (AUS), 8.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.2 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.6 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 0.9 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.1 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.8 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.2 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.6 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 0.9 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.1 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 1.9 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 2 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 2 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 2.1 mi
  • Town Lake: 2.1 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 2.2 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.4 mi
  • One World Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.2 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 6.4 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 10.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 11.3 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 12 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.6 mi

Dining

Iron Works
"Real Texas Barbecue in a Country Atmosphere"? Welcome to Iron Works Barbecue rated the number 1 barbecue in Texas.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 123
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.1

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HtownHEM
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 30, 2014

Run Down

Remarkably run down facility, at any price. The unadvertised, mandatory valet charge is a pathetic way for an adult to make money. Our room, however, was surprisingly fresh and clean. The outside feels like a slum. The breakfast area is almost uninhabitable. The gym is a joke. Great location, but there's got to be a better value. I don't recall wanting to leave a hotel quite as badly as I wanted to leave this one. Management has put off crucial refurbishments far too long, which means management is incompetent. This franchisee is severely deteriorating the value of the franchise and therefore must be replaced with a competent manager.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find a nice place or a cheap place to stay. This hotel is neither.

Review of La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Former Rochesterian
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 27, 2011

Convenient Location But ...

Highly convenient location to UT, State Capitol area. Valet only parking is inconvenient. Room was acceptable though carpets were filthy (recommend you not walk in stockings or bare feet). Some street noise from late night revelers. Overall, acceptable if you don't plan on spending much time in your hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
87Horn
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 6, 2014

Needs a real facelift - but easy walk to DKR Stadium

I first stayed here over 30 years ago, so I'm well aware this is not a brand-new hotel. However, it really needs a real renovation, not just patching of holes in the ceilings and another coat of paint over the crumbling bathroom doors. At least the place is kept pretty clean, and the staff are VERY friendly and helpful. The other guests, especially the ones down the hall who left their howling hound while they went out and partied, not so much. The incessant barking caused our entire floor to be relocated, which at least the staff didn't argue about (and apologized for not being able to locate the awol guests). For us, that meant to a floor w/ more dogs who barked their welcome as we walked to our new room. We are supposed to return in Nov but I'm about to cancel that reservation if I can. Location & staff gets the extra star, otherwise this would be a 1-star review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RMandLM
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Sep 10, 2012

Meh

Within walking distance of DKR and great for staying downtown. Not a great value for the money though. Room was small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
California MK
Business
Vacaville, CA
Sep 26, 2012

Austin experience

Mostly good - reasonable price, great location. Bathroom inadequate - too small. Almost no counter space around sink. French doors awkward.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is easy walking distance to state capitol and downtown 6th Street entertainment.

Review of La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MKR and family
Business
St Petersburg, FL
Jun 19, 2009

Great location in downtown Austin

The staff was very helpful at setting up an extra sleeping position in the room. The location was two blocks from the capitol building and easy walking to any place along the main drag, Congress Ave. The ROT was taking place in the city and it provided a lot of excitement on 6th Ave on Saturday night (after seeing all the bats fly out at dusk from the Congress Ave bridge). We had a great time knowing we were within walking distance of our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are staying downtown, walk to one of the many great restaurants nearby. We had dinner at McCormick and Schmick's one night - delicious food.

Review of La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nick and mom
Business
Staten Island, New York
Jul 23, 2014

Staff friendliness a plus

We stayed at the hotel while in Austin for an internet gaming convention. The distance to the convention center was about 3/4 of a mile, just right for us. The daily breakfast was good. Housekeeping was lacking in that our room wasn't made up by the time we returned from the convention on two days, and the garbage was not removed from the room on one other day. Overall, the hotel staff were eager to help. The hotel is no bargain, but if you are not fussy, it is clean enough for somewhere to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Not many dining options for lunch or dinner close to hotel. There were a few places that delivered to the hotel and menus are available in the lobby.

Review of La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paulo2264
Business
west chester,pa
May 19, 2012

grandparents helping grandson at end of college semester to go home

could not ask for a nicer place--employes were all very helpful and nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jutts
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Aug 25, 2012

La Quinta

The personnel was great! Location was good enough. Still a bit expensive. All was very well and did enjoy my stay. Thank you. Giovanna Alaimo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Traviata restauraunt in downtown.

Review of La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moker
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Dec 11, 2013

Best Value for Your Hard-Earned Dollars

My sister and I stayed at La Quinta for 5 days while our family gathered to celebrate a graduation from UTAustin. Pretty much a typical hotel room, but with a pillow-top bed. Decent HD TV, generous continental breakfast. Admittedly, the coffee in the room is pretty bad, but Austin is full of cafes. Best dollar value if you don't use your own car. Parking is not free. The location is great, right off the freeway and one block away from the beautiful capitol grounds. What La Quinta does not have in the way of amenities it sufficiently makes up for in the eager friendliness of the staff. I needed to have the room coffee maker replaced and I had barely shut the door to my room behind me when a staff member was there with the new machine. Also, I had loaded up at the continental breakfast and someone at the front desk must have seen me crossing the parking lot with the food. The staffer helped me by holding some of the food while I fished out my key card. The valet workers were also very helpful and kind, letting me know that street parking is free on Sundays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out car2go for sharing wheels for getting around town. There are a number of Zipcar and car2go reserved parking spots in the immediate area.

Back to menu Return to top