Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

4 stars
View map of 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
48 reviews
Austin is stunning

Beautiful Hotel,great location and amazing staff especially Jamiliah Paschal who was so kind and... See full review

  • mary s.
  • May 9, 2015
Great classic hotel

This is a very good hotel in an excellent location. The staff is very prompt and helpful. I would... See full review

  • Christopher S.
  • May 1, 2015
The Hotel finished a multimillion dollar renovation of all guestrooms, suites and public areas in March of 2013. Affectionately known as the ‘Stephen F,’ this Austin luxury hotel is ideally placed on Congress Avenue. The unique Art Deco façade is a famous Austin landmark and has been part of the city scene for more than 60 years. At the heart of the culture capital of Texas, this Austin luxury hotel is just blocks from art museums, the state capitol and right next door to Paramount Theatre.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.269 -97.742
Nearby airports
Austin Bergstrom International, (AUS), 9.00, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • 6th Street Entertainment District: 0.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.3 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.8 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.4 mi
  • 6th Street Entertainment District: 0.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 0.3 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 0.8 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 1.2 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 1.4 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 1.7 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 1.8 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 1.8 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 2 mi
  • Town Lake: 2 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 3.2 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.5 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.3 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 6.2 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 9.8 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 11.2 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 11.7 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 24.4 mi

Dining

Roaring Fork
The Roaring Fork's wood fired cooking captures the spirit of bold American cuisine, creating flavors that crackle with a rugged edge.
Stephen F's Bar & Terrace
The Stephen F's Bar & Terrace is consistently voted the Best Hotel Bar in downtown Austin, with a balcony that overlooks Congress Avenue and a gorgeous view of the Texas State Capitol.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 48
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mary s.
Business
N/A
May 9, 2015

Austin is stunning

Beautiful Hotel,great location and amazing staff especially Jamiliah Paschal who was so kind and helpful with advice , information etc,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Longhorn Fan 96
Business
Dallas
Sep 10, 2012

Good value for tune up game weekend

Because UT had a tune up game, room rate was discounted and very good value for this downtown, very accessible location. Staff were very friendly and helpful.Great old/non-tricked up quality hotel feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs.K71
Business
Austin
Aug 6, 2012

Less than Perfect

The hotel and staff were perfectly fine, but there were some discomforts that we experienced (maybe due to the age of the hotel or maintenance problems). Our hotel room never got below 82 degrees the length of our stay( and there are no ceilling fans and the windows do not open) and the tub drained slowly. When we checked out we mentioned this to the hotel staff who said they would look into it. I was slightly disappointed that we were not a discount on our valet parking or something that would have made us feel that they wanted to make up for the uncomfortable temperature in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
parents of future bride
Business
Dallas/Ft Worth area
Jul 23, 2012

Wonderful anniversary weekend!!!!

The staff and valet service was impeccable!! Breakfast was wonderful especially being able to enjoy dining on the terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We enjoyed an incredible dinner at Eddie V's!

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kdia
Business
TN
Jun 16, 2012

Austin Vacation

My husband and I had a wonderful vacation to Austin! We enjoyed the hotel so much. It was the perfect location to walk to many of our downtown destinations. The room was comfortable and quiet. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greenie444
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Feb 2, 2012

We Know the Generators Work

We were there the night the lights went out on Sixth Street. Someone crashed into a transformer or something. We made a bee-line for the hotel, which was a short walk from the Blue Moon Bar and were pleasantly surprised that the lobby lights were on. People were in the hotel restaurant under low lighting and the elevators functioned just fine. No lights in the room all night, but who cares? Had to wait until 9:30am for hot water, but who cares? It was a Sunday morning. Thankfully, the whole staff kept their composure as they handled the more irate guests. I thought things went well, given the circumstances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It's all valet, so plan to cruise up and down the area until you know where you want to go and then have the car parked for the remainder of your stay.

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PattyH
Business
Suwanee, GA
Mar 8, 2011

Gorgeous hotel

This hotel is beautiful and it's right in the middle of all the nightlife action. Parking is VERY high, if you don't mind your car being parked outside - there is a city parking lot right across the street from the hotel entrance and it's only $8 for overnight. Eat at Hickory Street which is also across the street - it had great food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have time and want to experience a Texas Rodeo; visit Tejas Rodeo Company @ 401 Obst Road Bulverde, Texas 78163. It was a great time, you can drink, dine, dance under the starts and you can even ride a mechanical bull.

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin
Feb 14, 2011

Great Atmosphere!

The service was great, the room was clear, and the bed was very comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Claremont, California
Jan 2, 2011

Not Bad, Not Great

The Hotel is charming and clean. The staff were all polite and profesional. The location is right downtown walking distance to the Capital and the all of downtown resturants and bars. Room service was good and priced like any good hotel (expensive).Motel 6 has better TV's. Probably the worst TV I have ever seen. The shower was very poor, low water pressure and not what you would expect from a "good" hotel. No gift shop. Bed was "make your back sore" soft. This is no Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of bars with plenty of character.

Review of InterContinental STEPHEN F. AUSTIN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ayanamilisa
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 4, 2010

Amazing hotel at a great price

I stayed at this hotel so I could see a concert that was located near 6th street. The hotel is very close to all the action and just far enough that you don't feel overwhelmed. I've stayed at the Intercontinental in Dallas but it was not as luxurious as this hotel.The hotel is beautiful and all the staff are kind and very helpful. The gym was great with water and towels provided along with baskets of fruit. I slept very very well which is pretty rare for me while I'm traveling. I had somewhat of a stressful road trip there but felt instantly relaxed at this hotel. I plan on staying again the next time I'm in Austin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is perfect for those ready to hit sixth streets. Its also a safe haven to run back to when you are done partying

Back to menu Return to top