Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
121 reviews
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Easy to find location - value matches price

A good stay - but the construction needs to be completed, otherwise it's a mess outside and the... See full review

  • Traveler1020120354
  • Oct 15, 2012
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.34 -97.7003
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
121 out of 121
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.7
Value:
2.3

21% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
Mhanico
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Our worst Hotel stay ever!

We booked this room through a travel site and while the reviews weren't great we decided to give this place a try. "How bad could it be?" we said, very bad. The walls had scuff marks and hadn't been painted in years. The Bathroom was missing several Ceiling Tiles exposing the plumbing work. The room was very moist and had a stale order. The Curtains didn't even function correctly as we were only able to open one side of the window to look out. We couldn't even use the pool as it was drained as well as the indoor Hot Tub. Considering the weather being in the high 80's we were expecting the pool to be open. Another thing which we found interesting was that the name of this Hotel isn't properly marked which caused us to drive by it not even knowing it was there in the busy intersection. All in all, this was a bad stay for us, if not for the Relay event that was taking place that weekend and this room being pre-booked we would have for sure stayed elsewhere. Thank God we had allot planned and spent little time in the room while in Austin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
dangercat
California, USA
Mar 29, 2012

mediocre place to crash

fixtures were old and broken, hall way was full of leaves each day i stayed there, hot tub was out of service, pool was green, full of debris and "closed for the season," saw a cockroach in our room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
bad bad
lafayette, la
Mar 19, 2012

cheap room

we walked in the room and the people before us were booked into the same room as us. There were stains everywhere, always stunk and a joke of a pull out sleeper sofa. the address to the place is wrong. everything is wrong about it. cabs can not find this place and niether did my google maps. the limo service out front consisted of a dually pickup that was stretched with a camper shell on the back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
Texasteacher
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 19, 2012

I didn't think the bad reviews could be true

I was completely disgusted by the room carpet as well as items that were found there. I can't believe that this hotel is on anyone's list for a stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
hoosier14
Indiana
Mar 17, 2012

Could Not Stay

Walked into lobby, seemed like renovation was about to begin. Checked out 3 rooms and had to get a refund. Rooms were so deplorable I could not let my family stay in this run down motel. Staff was understanding, and knew the pictures were not the real rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
I am disappoint.
Business
Tampa, FL
Mar 10, 2012

Stay Elsewhere

I wish I could upload the pictures I took. Location is poor and there were homless people hanging out by the side door. The side door itself was propped open. I assume this was done for conveince but it was a safety issue. The room itself had a strong cleaner oder. A ceiling tile in the bathroom had mold on it. Several of the outlet plates were broken. Overall, I felt cheap staying here and will avoid HoJos from now on. Lesson learned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

They one thing I would say about this place is it is very centrally located/

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
Jjannnn
Laredo, TX, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Average

Very friendly staff! Good location!! Average hotel aperience wise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
Shura
Business
Huntsville, AL, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Two nights business trip

Room was not clean, dirty walls, lots of things were broken. Continental breakfast very poor. But it was cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Salt-grass, excellent steak house.

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

4
roc411
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Feb 28, 2012

HoJo's Austin North

I had a great experience at HoJo's. Clean room and pleasant, helpful staff. A little hard to get to at first, but once I became familiar with the location i could get around easily. The staff is great and is excited about being in HoJo's chain. They are awaiting signage and renovation. I would stay there again and would recommend them to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

fast food and restaurants are a short drive away.

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
jumbotty
Business
Batn Rouge, La
Feb 27, 2012

It seems like someone gave up on this property

There was caution tape on the two rooms above mine and it looked like part of the roof had collapsed. The lawn on the property was badly overgrown. I had to move the microwave off the desk to do work and found crumbs and food particles underneath. A car was parked outside of my window playing loud music for over an hour. All that being said, everything else about the room was great for what i paid. Except they could really use plugs on the wall by the bed. I couldnt plug my phone in to charge and use as an alarm unless i put it across the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Uchiko. A few miles north of UT on N. Lamar. Expensive, but one of the best meals i've ever had. Executive chef is Paul from Top Chef Texas.

Back to menu Return to top