Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 11, 2014 Check-out: Nov 14, 2014

Howard Johnson Austin North

3 stars
7800 N IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
125 reviews
First trip to Austin Texas

The hotel was very easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the continental... See full review

  • Alli Oakley
  • Apr 19, 2014
Clean

The hotel is clean is is close to where I need to do business on a regular basis. See full review

  • Pet All
  • Jun 3, 2013
Relax you are in Austin. Experience the Live Music Capital of the World. The Howard Johnson hotel in Austin-North at IH 35 and Hwy 183 is located minutes north of downtown, few minutes from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport and Highland Mall, and about five minutes from University of Texas. The Howard Johnson Austin-North hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of Texas Centrally located to many Austin hot spots, we feature complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms, a fitness center, and the large outdoor pool for sunbathing, pool parties and picnics. Our guests can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast every morning. A credit card and valid ID are required to check in Brand new rooms available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Austin North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.34 -97.7003
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 4.1 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 4.1 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 4.1 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 4.3 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 4.5 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 4.6 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 4.6 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 4.7 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 5.1 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 5.3 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 5.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 5.8 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 5.8 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Zach Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Town Lake: 6.5 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 6.7 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 6.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 8.7 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 11.1 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14.9 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 15.2 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 26.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Austin North

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.8
Value:
2.3

22% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Randy85
Business
Brookshire.
May 3, 2012

Ok place

Room ok for the price. Dirty in alot of hallways but service people ate ok .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
portiasdad
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Apr 25, 2012

Needs serious help

This hotel will probably be fantastic--when they're done fixing everything that's broken. My bath had no faucet. The shower would not provide cold water, and the hot water was scaldingly hot. Had to take a sponge-bath using the bathroom sink. The pillows provided were the best I have ever encountered in any hotel at any price. The pool had no water in it. The kiddie-pool had debris in it. Carpet needed fixing. This was obviously a low-rent hotel. I'll never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wallen3dpt
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Almost a Staycation

My stay began on the wrong foot as after driving around for 30 minutes to find a "Howard Johnson" I was advised that the sign actually read "St Michael Plaza Hotel" because this was newly acquired property. That would be nice to know when the room is booked! Also, the first room I was offered was crawling with roaches...and it felt as if the staff previously knew this, as there was no inquiry or visible concern when they hastily booked me a new room. Overall the building is functional but in need of repair and updating. The room smelled musty and of cigarette smoke but appeared fairly clean. However I did not expect the Ritz Carlton since I paid $65 on a night when a lot of hotels were sold out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jraceman
Business
Killeen, TX, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Would not return there, even if free

First we could not find it, there is not a sign that says Howard Johnson. When got to the room it was cool inside, and the carper was fairly new, however that was all that was good. there was old blood on the pillow cases, what looked like poo on the walls, torn upholstery on the couch, no chair of any kind. The bathroom was nasty with more poo under thee blow drier, mildew on the shower. and the ceiling tiles are about to fall out. AVOID this place like a bad decrease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mhanico
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Our worst Hotel stay ever!

We booked this room through a travel site and while the reviews weren't great we decided to give this place a try. "How bad could it be?" we said, very bad. The walls had scuff marks and hadn't been painted in years. The Bathroom was missing several Ceiling Tiles exposing the plumbing work. The room was very moist and had a stale order. The Curtains didn't even function correctly as we were only able to open one side of the window to look out. We couldn't even use the pool as it was drained as well as the indoor Hot Tub. Considering the weather being in the high 80's we were expecting the pool to be open. Another thing which we found interesting was that the name of this Hotel isn't properly marked which caused us to drive by it not even knowing it was there in the busy intersection. All in all, this was a bad stay for us, if not for the Relay event that was taking place that weekend and this room being pre-booked we would have for sure stayed elsewhere. Thank God we had allot planned and spent little time in the room while in Austin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dangercat
Business
California, USA
Mar 29, 2012

mediocre place to crash

fixtures were old and broken, hall way was full of leaves each day i stayed there, hot tub was out of service, pool was green, full of debris and "closed for the season," saw a cockroach in our room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bad bad
Business
lafayette, la
Mar 19, 2012

cheap room

we walked in the room and the people before us were booked into the same room as us. There were stains everywhere, always stunk and a joke of a pull out sleeper sofa. the address to the place is wrong. everything is wrong about it. cabs can not find this place and niether did my google maps. the limo service out front consisted of a dually pickup that was stretched with a camper shell on the back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Texasteacher
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 19, 2012

I didn't think the bad reviews could be true

I was completely disgusted by the room carpet as well as items that were found there. I can't believe that this hotel is on anyone's list for a stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hoosier14
Business
Indiana
Mar 17, 2012

Could Not Stay

Walked into lobby, seemed like renovation was about to begin. Checked out 3 rooms and had to get a refund. Rooms were so deplorable I could not let my family stay in this run down motel. Staff was understanding, and knew the pictures were not the real rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Austin North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I am disappoint.
Business
Tampa, FL
Mar 10, 2012

Stay Elsewhere

I wish I could upload the pictures I took. Location is poor and there were homless people hanging out by the side door. The side door itself was propped open. I assume this was done for conveince but it was a safety issue. The room itself had a strong cleaner oder. A ceiling tile in the bathroom had mold on it. Several of the outlet plates were broken. Overall, I felt cheap staying here and will avoid HoJos from now on. Lesson learned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

They one thing I would say about this place is it is very centrally located/

Back to menu Return to top