Habitat Suites

3 stars
500 Highland Mall Boulevard, Austin, TX 78752
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
44 reviews
Perfect suite for an Austin getaway!

We loved having the kitchen and it's appliances; loved the complementary food served at breakfast... See full review

  • Dr. J 2015
  • Apr 5, 2014
Very good experience with Habitat

Usually we pay "good" money to for staying in good hotel, but I have to say Habitat is a very good... See full review

  • Czech Jack
  • Jan 17, 2014
Its more than a beautiful place to stay... Nestled in the heart of Austin you will find the perfect atmosphere to combine business with pleasure... or come join us the next time you want to get away from it all. We are five minutes from historic downtown Austin -the State Capitol Complex -the University of Texas -the LBJ Library and Museum -Austin Town Lake and only 15 minutes within the high-tech perimeter. Our suites portray tasteful furnishings that are comfortable and stylish.

Habitat Suites Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Suite with king bed; separate living room; comfortable living/work areas with loveseat and desk; wood burning fireplace; fully equipped kitchen with full-sized appliances and breakfast bar; dual-line phones with dataport and voice mail messaging; color, c
One Bedroom Suite with Sofa Bed
Suite with king bed; separate living room; comfortable living/work areas with loveseat and desk; wood burning fireplace; fully equipped kitchen with full-sized appliances and breakfast bar; dual-line phones with dataport and voice mail messaging; color, c
Two Bedroom Suite
Two story suite with king bed and bath downstairs; full bed and a second full bath upstairs; separate living room; comfortable living/work areas with loveseat and desk; wood burning fireplace; fully equipped kitchen with full-sized appliances and breakfas
TS
Two story suite with king bed and bath downstairs; full bed and a second full bath upstairs; separate living room; comfortable living/work areas with loveseat and desk; wood burning fireplace; fully equipped kitchen with full-sized appliances and breakfas

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Meal plan
Services
Maid service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Fire place
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Hotel Map

30.329 -97.7094
Nearby airports
Austin Bergstrom International Airport, (AUS), 11.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 3.2 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 3.2 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.3 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 3.4 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 3.7 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 3.8 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.8 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 3.9 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 4.2 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 4.4 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 4.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 3.2 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 3.2 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.3 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 3.4 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 3.7 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 3.8 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.8 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 3.9 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 4.2 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 4.4 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 4.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 4.9 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 5.4 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 5.6 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake: 5.6 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 5.7 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 5.8 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 5.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 7.8 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 10.3 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.2 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 14.4 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 25.9 mi

Dining

PaPpadeaux Seafood Kitchen
The legacy lives on in every dish we serve at Pappadeaux. From the bold flavors of our fresh-from-the-boat seafood to our outstanding service were carrying on the Pappadeaux tradition of being the best there is.
Sushi Japon Inc
Fine Japanese Cuisine and Sushi Bar
Taj Palace Indian Restaurant
Taj Palace has long been Austin's favorite dining experience. Owners Ajay and his wife Kiran were both raised and educated in the art of Indian cooking and hospitality in New Delhi India. Opening Taj Palace in 1990 the couple gave many Austinites their fi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Habitat Suites

Overall score

4.1 / 5
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
Weekend traveler51
College Station, TX
May 6, 2012

A hotel with character

The trees and landscaping make the suites feel like a little oasis, despite the near-empty mall and parking lots nearby. The happy hour refreshments were extensive and a nice surprise. Breakfast was outstanding - local eggs, organic oats, veggie & turkey sausage, fresh fruits and salsas, and a lot more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

5
Linta
Austin, TX, USA
Mar 29, 2012

A Beautiful Environment

We were pleasantly surprised to find our room surrounded with beautiful plantings of bushes and trees, many in bloom. We took a walk around the entire hotel and were delighted with the variety of plants we saw. We also noticed that a lot were edible, and wondered if perhaps they were there for the guests to eat. We found out that this was the case! The rooms had kitchens, and there were herbs growing outside to cook with, as well as eggplants, artichokes, cumquats, berries, loquats, citrus fruit, peaches fennel, tomatoes, peppers, and more. We had fun discovering them all. Then we went swimming, and were able to admire the plants and flowers from the pool too. It was also nice to read about how energy-efficient the hotel is--wonderfully progressive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

3
GOATGIRL
TEXAS
Feb 11, 2012

Hard to find , nuttin' fancy but GREAT BREAKFAST

We had a little trouble finding the entrance because of the great trees and landscaping. You wouldn't walk to any activities from here but public transport nearby. (Don't know the area's safety factor) The physical building needs some updating ie. new carpet,etc but was clean and spacious. The grounds have the natural landscaping look, lush, green, nice. It is a "green" hotel so it caters to the vegan, vegetarian crowd at breakfast along with the usual meat and eggs. I think breakfast was the best I've had at any chain restaurant. It would be great for a long stay as I think they are former apartments so have kitchen, living, bedroom areas. Great price and nice patrons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

2
LV GIRL
LV
Feb 9, 2012

"LOOK UNDER THE BED"

We arrive at 11 pm, there was no receptionist. It was creepy!! We had to call manager to help us check in and go to our room. .. It was so quiet that i thought it was a jioke or something like an abandoned hiotel with Eyes looking at us... Our room was squeaky, again creepy, I was awake the whole night just listening!! Also look under your bed. I found a slipper and when we got transferred to another room, I found a make up! I wonder if they ever clean under! The hiotel is a waste from downtown. Too far to walk. No fast-food or restaurant around that area. The man and woman that worked in the kitchen doesnt speaks englishTheyshould hire staff that speaks English!! So we can communicate with them!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Segway. It was fun!

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
Jose A. Gonzalez
Monterrey, NL, México
Feb 7, 2012

real habitat

Very good facilities. Very good crew. Nice smell of rose-mary. Nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

5
jjhough
Miami, FL
Jan 31, 2012

Excellent Quiet Getaway

The hotel staff and the rooms were very nice. Great cozy place at an EXCELLENT value. Slept like a baby! You can tell the place isn't brand new, but it's still nice. Size of room w/ separate kitchen and living area was excellent as well. My husband & I traveled here on business and we slept perfectly. A nice cozy comfy quiet place when you need a good night's sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Movies are right around the corner in shopping mall!

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

5
mdeleon
Buda, TX 78610, USA
Jan 6, 2012

Whoole Mole

This place was very nice, and I am not one to rate hotels, however if you want quite, peaceful rest. Then this is the place to go to. Breakfast was unbeilvable, never had a spread like this before...toasters at every table. AWESOME!!!!!! the cooks were good... Would so stay here again.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fast food resturants, Chinese buffet not too far.....

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

5
Lara
San Antonio, TX, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Love this place!

This was our 4th time staying at Habitat Suites and we love it. We love the atmosphere and the food/happy hour is fabulous. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

3
Cb90
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Nice for the price

Upon pulling into hotel I was immediately creeped out a little. The hotel is slightly hidden behind a few buildings. It doesn't look like a normal hotel, more like an apartment complex. As I got the keys to my room my boyfriend and I drove around the corner and there were zero cars in the parking lot. I watch alot of scary movies and the setting of this hotel with all these trees and plants hiding it just freaked me out. Especially because we seemed liked the only people that were staying here. As we got to our room the door was wide open by boyfriend went in to check it out but no one was in there. I wasn't going to stay in a room that was clearly wide open the front desk lady changed it for us. Other than its creepy scary movie no other guest there but you vibe ........ It's a clean,cozy,quiet place to stay for the price. I just hope you have a gps or you won't be able to find it. And bring a flashlight the lighting at night was horrible here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Austin zoo is a nice place to visit

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

5
JPA2
Houston, TX
Oct 17, 2011

Quiet and nice

Even during a football weekend, Habitat Suites was a quiet getaway. Hurrah for the 9pm to 9am "quiet hours"! The breakfast and evening snacks were terrific and vegetarian-friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

To pick up groceries to eat in the room, head to Central Market, only 3 miles away.

Back to menu Return to top