Rate based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 20, 2015

Habitat Suites

3 stars
View map of 500 Highland Mall Boulevard, Austin, TX 78752

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Habitat Suites

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeanlouise
Business
Myrtle Beach
Oct 3, 2013

A Great Find!

Booked this hotel after reading reviews and it exceeded my expectations. It is a charming oasis in the city, with beautiful lush vegetation. The rooms could use some updating, but I would much rather stay in a place like this than a sterile chain hotel. The breakfast buffet was amazing, and they even have an evening reception with snacks and drinks. I wish we'd find more hidden treasures like this in our travels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jayspurg
Business
Palm Harbor, FL
Oct 2, 2013

A little dated but a fantastic value

The hotel is a bit of a "throw back" (a little dated) but the rooms are clean, huge, well-appointed and quiet. The Hotel policy is very strict about disturbances after 10:00 PM. Really great breakfast. It is a bit north of downtown but a 10 minute walk to the train. The best part is the amazingly caring and attentive staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smokie FATKAT
Business
Habitat Suites Austin Texas
Aug 28, 2013

Happy camper

I enjoyed staying at this Hotel. Having a car is a must due to the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Travel LAMAR street in and out of Austin as well as to SOCO and places to dine along Barton Springs drive.

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MomLynn
Business
Annapolis, MD
Aug 19, 2013

great value

Although convenient to the highway and short ride to the university and downtown, the area the hotel is in "looks" pretty bad. Nothing they can do about it and it did not take away from a very pleasant stay. The complimentary breakfast and happy hour were great, the pool is very nice and the rooms very clean. Would definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
malpo1
Business
los angeles
Jul 28, 2013

Not as advertised

Do not be swayed by the glowing reviews. The hotel is located in a vacant mall. The rooms are tired and need updating badly. You will to dirve a distance to find a decent resturant ofr coffe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay closer to downtown

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First Time in Austin
Business
Cape Cod, MA
Jun 12, 2013

Our best hotel experience

A serene oasis in the city! The only noise was the singing of the birds. The suite was fresh and clean; no lingering odors. The biggest surprise was the breakfast. What a feast! The location was perfect for us. We needed to attend functions in the north and south, as well as downtown. This hotel is right in the middle and easily accessible to the highway. The staff is the best. Very friendly and always ready to help. We will definitely return. We found a winner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to take advantage of the full kitchen in the suite, a large grocery store is a short drive away.

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sleepless in Cedar Rapids
Business
Cedar Rapids
Jun 6, 2013

Tropical Oasis

So pleased! Staff was friendly and helpful - we had a problem with our lock, and were immediately upgraded to a larger suite. The grounds are lush with beautiful plantings. Breakfast included organic and locally sourced foods, and was cheerfully served. Loved being in a hotel that was local and not part of a chain. 10 minutes from downtown activities and attractions. No complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joey bell
Business
temple texas
Feb 18, 2013

it was nice

clean rooms had a fell of being at home and sugars was close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

sugars

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
motherdaughter
Business
Northeastern Illinois
Feb 4, 2013

Habitat Suites stay in beautiful Austing

Location was nice, very quiet area. Landscaping was very pretty, pool was nice, place was clean. Complimentary breakfast buffet and evening happy hour were more than enough for us so we kept our meal expense to lunch only. The only downside is that the building is old and very dated. They need to do a complete rehab. We had a two bedroom suite and at the time I booked the room, I didn't realize it required walking up a large flight of stairs - hard for my elderly mother to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marga
Business
Dallas
Dec 9, 2012

Should be named 'Oasis"

Despite being located in a desolated area surrounded by a recently depressed neighboroughood, Habitat Suites is an extremely peaceful place where all call for relaxation. The spacious rooms are divided in day and night space , very quite and if not totally book, the concierge will put you facing the swimming pool. The garden is tropical with flower also in deep fall. Staff is keen and helpful. Breakfast buffet is "More than you can eat" type plus there is a happy hour with small bites 5 to 7, all free. You will need a car but the hotel is on I35 corridor, yet remote enough that you don't hear a beep, and close to N Lamar and UT Austin. I will return next time I go to Austin, as I am always looking for something different from the typical chain of replica hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top