Rate based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 12, 2014

Habitat Suites

3 stars
500 Highland Mall Boulevard, Austin, TX 78752
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
51 reviews
Excellent

Loved the orchard and breakfast. You get to walk around the premises and pick edible fruits/herbs! See full review

  • Happy mister
  • Oct 21, 2014
weekend getaway

It is a unique getaway hotel. Lovely trees and greenery everywhere, lovely seclusion. Staff was... See full review

  • Busy Chic
  • Aug 24, 2014
Its more than a beautiful place to stay... Nestled in the heart of Austin you will find the perfect atmosphere to combine business with pleasure... or come join us the next time you want to get away from it all. We are five minutes from historic downtown Austin -the State Capitol Complex -the University of Texas -the LBJ Library and Museum -Austin Town Lake and only 15 minutes within the high-tech perimeter. Our suites portray tasteful furnishings that are comfortable and stylish.

Habitat Suites Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Suite with king bed; separate living room; comfortable living/work areas with loveseat and desk; wood burning fireplace; fully equipped kitchen with full-sized appliances and breakfast bar; dual-line phones with dataport and voice mail messaging; color, c
One Bedroom Suite with Sofa Bed
Suite with king bed; separate living room; comfortable living/work areas with loveseat and desk; wood burning fireplace; fully equipped kitchen with full-sized appliances and breakfast bar; dual-line phones with dataport and voice mail messaging; color, c
Two Bedroom Suite
Two story suite with king bed and bath downstairs; full bed and a second full bath upstairs; separate living room; comfortable living/work areas with loveseat and desk; wood burning fireplace; fully equipped kitchen with full-sized appliances and breakfas
TS
Two story suite with king bed and bath downstairs; full bed and a second full bath upstairs; separate living room; comfortable living/work areas with loveseat and desk; wood burning fireplace; fully equipped kitchen with full-sized appliances and breakfas

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Meal plan
Services
Maid service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Fire place
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Habitat Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.329 -97.7094
Nearby airports
Austin Bergstrom International Airport, (AUS), 11.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 3.2 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 3.2 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.3 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 3.4 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 3.7 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 3.8 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.8 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 3.9 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 4.2 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 4.4 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 4.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 3.2 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 3.2 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.3 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 3.4 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 3.7 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 3.8 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.8 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 3.9 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 4.2 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 4.4 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 4.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 4.9 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 5.4 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 5.6 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake: 5.6 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 5.7 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 5.8 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 5.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 7.8 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 10.3 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.2 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 14.4 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 25.9 mi

Dining

PaPpadeaux Seafood Kitchen
The legacy lives on in every dish we serve at Pappadeaux. From the bold flavors of our fresh-from-the-boat seafood to our outstanding service were carrying on the Pappadeaux tradition of being the best there is.
Sushi Japon Inc
Fine Japanese Cuisine and Sushi Bar
Taj Palace Indian Restaurant
Taj Palace has long been Austin's favorite dining experience. Owners Ajay and his wife Kiran were both raised and educated in the art of Indian cooking and hospitality in New Delhi India. Opening Taj Palace in 1990 the couple gave many Austinites their fi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Habitat Suites

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
motherdaughter
Business
Northeastern Illinois
Feb 4, 2013

Habitat Suites stay in beautiful Austing

Location was nice, very quiet area. Landscaping was very pretty, pool was nice, place was clean. Complimentary breakfast buffet and evening happy hour were more than enough for us so we kept our meal expense to lunch only. The only downside is that the building is old and very dated. They need to do a complete rehab. We had a two bedroom suite and at the time I booked the room, I didn't realize it required walking up a large flight of stairs - hard for my elderly mother to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marga
Business
Dallas
Dec 9, 2012

Should be named 'Oasis"

Despite being located in a desolated area surrounded by a recently depressed neighboroughood, Habitat Suites is an extremely peaceful place where all call for relaxation. The spacious rooms are divided in day and night space , very quite and if not totally book, the concierge will put you facing the swimming pool. The garden is tropical with flower also in deep fall. Staff is keen and helpful. Breakfast buffet is "More than you can eat" type plus there is a happy hour with small bites 5 to 7, all free. You will need a car but the hotel is on I35 corridor, yet remote enough that you don't hear a beep, and close to N Lamar and UT Austin. I will return next time I go to Austin, as I am always looking for something different from the typical chain of replica hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AUS traveler
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 9, 2012

Good stay

Only spent 1 night at the hotel, but it was comfortable and clean. The furniture is a little outdated. The rooms have a full kitchen, which might come in handy for people who want to cook.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brandi schmandi
Business
shreveport, la
Oct 18, 2012

Beautiful Grounds, Friendly Staff

Habitat Suites will likely be our "go to" hotel when in Austin from here on out. The rooms are spacious and much better than a standard hotel room, since they are converted from apartments. The grounds are beautiful with a variety of plants and artwork. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful with offerings of: waffles, pancakes, biscuits, gravy, sausage, eggs, oatmeal, fresh fruit, toast and bagels orange juice and coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

March through October the bats on Congress bridge are very neat to see emerging just after dusk from their "cave" under the bridge.

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Husky77
Business
Sweetwater, Texas
Oct 9, 2012

Great, relaxing place!

The hotel staff is great and very welcoming. Great breakfast buffet and have Austin newspaper available at the front desk. Very comfortable place to stay and down to earth. I really recommend highly for this place. Will look forward to staying there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mimi Sis
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 31, 2012

Beautiful place

I really enjoyed my stay. There were different plants and trees everywhere which made it really peaceful and enjoyable. The only thing I did not like was the tiny TVs. The breakfast where the best I have had anywhere. Will be back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Picky World Traveller
Business
Lexington KY
Jul 3, 2012

Nice surprise

Was pretty skeptical about this facility next to the strip club and the nearly failed mall, but the rate and the location (not too far from Austin down town) made me give it a try. I'm glad I did. Rooms were clean and comfortable.....I had a one bedroom suite with full kitchen. I loved the fresh figs right off the tree outside my room. And the pool was lovely and refreshing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Franklin BBQ.....the best!!!!!

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Busy Dude
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 28, 2012

Nice alternative to busy chains

An interesting hotel tucked away; very accessible to main arteries. Not a great area to walk around too far at night. Very nice breakfast, but, if you get there after 8:00, it tends to be a bit lukewarm. Oddest thing was that the television in the main living area was so small and placed almost on the floor of the media cabinet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nothing really great to walk to close by, but many great places within a very short drive.

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend traveler51
Business
College Station, TX
May 6, 2012

A hotel with character

The trees and landscaping make the suites feel like a little oasis, despite the near-empty mall and parking lots nearby. The happy hour refreshments were extensive and a nice surprise. Breakfast was outstanding - local eggs, organic oats, veggie & turkey sausage, fresh fruits and salsas, and a lot more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linta
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Mar 29, 2012

A Beautiful Environment

We were pleasantly surprised to find our room surrounded with beautiful plantings of bushes and trees, many in bloom. We took a walk around the entire hotel and were delighted with the variety of plants we saw. We also noticed that a lot were edible, and wondered if perhaps they were there for the guests to eat. We found out that this was the case! The rooms had kitchens, and there were herbs growing outside to cook with, as well as eggplants, artichokes, cumquats, berries, loquats, citrus fruit, peaches fennel, tomatoes, peppers, and more. We had fun discovering them all. Then we went swimming, and were able to admire the plants and flowers from the pool too. It was also nice to read about how energy-efficient the hotel is--wonderfully progressive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top