Rate based on Check-in: Jun 24, 2015 Check-out: Jun 27, 2015

Habitat Suites

3 stars
View map of 500 Highland Mall Boulevard, Austin, TX 78752

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Habitat Suites

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College Shopper
Business
Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas
May 14, 2014

Great, except for the breakfast

Very nice hotel for the price. The location is a bit hard to find without a GPS, but the area (across from Highland Mall) seems fine. The room was clean, spacious, and quiet. The front desk people were exceptional. Example: when I asked about an ice machine, the front desk guy got me a big bag of ice (about 8 pounds) from the kitchen. The breakfast was the one weak aspect. The pancakes were old and dried out from sitting under a heat lamp too long. The fruit was under-ripe. They only had 2% milk. The scrambled eggs were good, but when I asked for more the lady behind the counter would only give me a reduced portion--apparently they have a limited supply. I would definitely stay here again, but I think I'll eat breakfast elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many good hole-in-the-wall dining establishments on and near Guadalupe, across from the University of Texas, which is only a short drive away. We ate at Tejis, which serves Indian food (as in India, not American Indian). Spicy, but very good.

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amanda Workaholic
Business
Lajitas Resort, TX
Apr 11, 2014

Beautiful Outdoor Gardens!

I stayed at this hotel about 3 years ago and really looked forward to my return on business this time. The outdoor setting and the staff are as a good as I remember. I was a bit disappointed in the cleanliness of the room-although the hotel appeared to be updating their rooms with new carpeting I noticed the room was not as clean as it should be (dirty hand prints on the doors, dust bunnys on the walls around air input vents). I was also disappointed to see the hot tub has been removed as I was looking forward to enjoying soaking in the tub since it was too cold to swim. Over all the property is great, great location, beautiful outdoor setting - just needs a little more attention to detail and perhaps some updating so it does not appear to be so dated. Carry the theme of the lobby through to the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. J 2015
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 5, 2014

Perfect suite for an Austin getaway!

We loved having the kitchen and it's appliances; loved the complementary food served at breakfast as well as from 5-7pm in the evenings; loved the floor layout to separate ourselves from the kids while still only paying for a single room; and loved the price above all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Best burgers of our lives at Hopdoddy!

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jazzman2
Business
NJ
Jan 19, 2014

Outstanding Value

I selected this hotel suite based on reviews and I was very pleasantly surprised. The grounds are very nicely landscaped. Two story hotel with suites consisting of a sitting room with kitchenette and adjacent bedroom with a bath. While the furnishings, carpet, drapes and such are vintage '80s the rooms and exterior appearance are kept very clean and beds and laundry changed as needed daily. The location is convenient to most major highways yet tucked away from road noise. The extras such as a wonderful buffet breakfast and free cocktail hour with beer and wine as well as munchies is a real added bonus. The staff is also very courteous and there is no doubt that I would frequent the Habitat Suites again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

While there are convenient restaurants within walking distance I would suggest getting in your car as better eateries can be found nearby such as Pappadeaux and Pappasito's on the access road to IH35 N.

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Czech Jack
Business
Austin
Jan 17, 2014

Very good experience with Habitat

Usually we pay "good" money to for staying in good hotel, but I have to say Habitat is a very good choice considering the price. The one i lived in looked very much like a one-bed apartment. You have everything you need. The front desk lady was very sweet and professional. The free breakfast was very good. They did provide free food and drink at dinner time, but I did not try - so no comments. There were two TV sets - one in living room and another one in bedroom - both with cable. Two concerns: free internet does not have password, so maybe that's not secure? The facility seems to be old, but definitely very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeanlouise
Business
Myrtle Beach
Oct 3, 2013

A Great Find!

Booked this hotel after reading reviews and it exceeded my expectations. It is a charming oasis in the city, with beautiful lush vegetation. The rooms could use some updating, but I would much rather stay in a place like this than a sterile chain hotel. The breakfast buffet was amazing, and they even have an evening reception with snacks and drinks. I wish we'd find more hidden treasures like this in our travels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jayspurg
Business
Palm Harbor, FL
Oct 2, 2013

A little dated but a fantastic value

The hotel is a bit of a "throw back" (a little dated) but the rooms are clean, huge, well-appointed and quiet. The Hotel policy is very strict about disturbances after 10:00 PM. Really great breakfast. It is a bit north of downtown but a 10 minute walk to the train. The best part is the amazingly caring and attentive staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smokie FATKAT
Business
Habitat Suites Austin Texas
Aug 28, 2013

Happy camper

I enjoyed staying at this Hotel. Having a car is a must due to the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Travel LAMAR street in and out of Austin as well as to SOCO and places to dine along Barton Springs drive.

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MomLynn
Business
Annapolis, MD
Aug 19, 2013

great value

Although convenient to the highway and short ride to the university and downtown, the area the hotel is in "looks" pretty bad. Nothing they can do about it and it did not take away from a very pleasant stay. The complimentary breakfast and happy hour were great, the pool is very nice and the rooms very clean. Would definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
malpo1
Business
los angeles
Jul 28, 2013

Not as advertised

Do not be swayed by the glowing reviews. The hotel is located in a vacant mall. The rooms are tired and need updating badly. You will to dirve a distance to find a decent resturant ofr coffe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay closer to downtown

Back to menu Return to top