Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Habitat Suites

3 stars
500 Highland Mall Boulevard, Austin, TX 78752
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
52 reviews
Perfect suite for an Austin getaway!

We loved having the kitchen and it's appliances; loved the complementary food served at breakfast... See full review

  • Dr. J 2015
  • Apr 5, 2014
Very good experience with Habitat

Usually we pay "good" money to for staying in good hotel, but I have to say Habitat is a very good... See full review

  • Czech Jack
  • Jan 17, 2014
Its more than a beautiful place to stay... Nestled in the heart of Austin you will find the perfect atmosphere to combine business with pleasure... or come join us the next time you want to get away from it all. We are five minutes from historic downtown Austin -the State Capitol Complex -the University of Texas -the LBJ Library and Museum -Austin Town Lake and only 15 minutes within the high-tech perimeter. Our suites portray tasteful furnishings that are comfortable and stylish.

Habitat Suites Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Suite with king bed; separate living room; comfortable living/work areas with loveseat and desk; wood burning fireplace; fully equipped kitchen with full-sized appliances and breakfast bar; dual-line phones with dataport and voice mail messaging; color, c
One Bedroom Suite with Sofa Bed
Suite with king bed; separate living room; comfortable living/work areas with loveseat and desk; wood burning fireplace; fully equipped kitchen with full-sized appliances and breakfast bar; dual-line phones with dataport and voice mail messaging; color, c
Two Bedroom Suite
Two story suite with king bed and bath downstairs; full bed and a second full bath upstairs; separate living room; comfortable living/work areas with loveseat and desk; wood burning fireplace; fully equipped kitchen with full-sized appliances and breakfas
TS
Two story suite with king bed and bath downstairs; full bed and a second full bath upstairs; separate living room; comfortable living/work areas with loveseat and desk; wood burning fireplace; fully equipped kitchen with full-sized appliances and breakfas

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Meal plan
Services
Maid service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Fire place
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Habitat Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.329 -97.7094
Nearby airports
Austin Bergstrom International Airport, (AUS), 11.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 3.2 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 3.2 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.3 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 3.4 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 3.7 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 3.8 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.8 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 3.9 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 4.2 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 4.4 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 4.8 mi
  • Elisabet Ney Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Texas Memorial Museum: 3.2 mi
  • LBJ Presidential Library: 3.2 mi
  • Texas Military Forces Museum: 3.3 mi
  • University of Texas at Austin: 3.4 mi
  • Darrell K Royal - Texas Memorial Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Blanton Museum of Art: 3.7 mi
  • Frank Erwin Center: 3.8 mi
  • Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Mayfield Park Cottage: 3.8 mi
  • Mount Bonnell: 3.9 mi
  • Texas State Capitol: 4.2 mi
  • St. Marys Cathedral: 4.4 mi
  • O. Henry Home and Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail: 4.8 mi
  • Austin Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Austin City Limits Live: 4.9 mi
  • Austin's Children Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Zach Theater: 5.4 mi
  • Austin Nature and Science Center: 5.6 mi
  • Zilker Botanical Garden: 5.6 mi
  • Town Lake: 5.6 mi
  • Umlauf Sculpture Garden: 5.7 mi
  • Zilker Metropolitan Park: 5.8 mi
  • Barton Springs Pool: 5.8 mi
  • One World Theater: 7.8 mi
  • McKinney Falls State Park: 10.3 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center: 14 mi
  • Circuit of the Americas: 14.2 mi
  • Austin Zoo: 14.4 mi
  • Westcave Preserve: 25.9 mi

Dining

PaPpadeaux Seafood Kitchen
The legacy lives on in every dish we serve at Pappadeaux. From the bold flavors of our fresh-from-the-boat seafood to our outstanding service were carrying on the Pappadeaux tradition of being the best there is.
Sushi Japon Inc
Fine Japanese Cuisine and Sushi Bar
Taj Palace Indian Restaurant
Taj Palace has long been Austin's favorite dining experience. Owners Ajay and his wife Kiran were both raised and educated in the art of Indian cooking and hospitality in New Delhi India. Opening Taj Palace in 1990 the couple gave many Austinites their fi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Habitat Suites

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smokie FATKAT
Business
Habitat Suites Austin Texas
Aug 28, 2013

Happy camper

I enjoyed staying at this Hotel. Having a car is a must due to the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Travel LAMAR street in and out of Austin as well as to SOCO and places to dine along Barton Springs drive.

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MomLynn
Annapolis, MD
Aug 19, 2013

great value

Although convenient to the highway and short ride to the university and downtown, the area the hotel is in "looks" pretty bad. Nothing they can do about it and it did not take away from a very pleasant stay. The complimentary breakfast and happy hour were great, the pool is very nice and the rooms very clean. Would definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
malpo1
los angeles
Jul 28, 2013

Not as advertised

Do not be swayed by the glowing reviews. The hotel is located in a vacant mall. The rooms are tired and need updating badly. You will to dirve a distance to find a decent resturant ofr coffe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay closer to downtown

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First Time in Austin
Cape Cod, MA
Jun 12, 2013

Our best hotel experience

A serene oasis in the city! The only noise was the singing of the birds. The suite was fresh and clean; no lingering odors. The biggest surprise was the breakfast. What a feast! The location was perfect for us. We needed to attend functions in the north and south, as well as downtown. This hotel is right in the middle and easily accessible to the highway. The staff is the best. Very friendly and always ready to help. We will definitely return. We found a winner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to take advantage of the full kitchen in the suite, a large grocery store is a short drive away.

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sleepless in Cedar Rapids
Cedar Rapids
Jun 6, 2013

Tropical Oasis

So pleased! Staff was friendly and helpful - we had a problem with our lock, and were immediately upgraded to a larger suite. The grounds are lush with beautiful plantings. Breakfast included organic and locally sourced foods, and was cheerfully served. Loved being in a hotel that was local and not part of a chain. 10 minutes from downtown activities and attractions. No complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joey bell
temple texas
Feb 18, 2013

it was nice

clean rooms had a fell of being at home and sugars was close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

sugars

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
motherdaughter
Northeastern Illinois
Feb 4, 2013

Habitat Suites stay in beautiful Austing

Location was nice, very quiet area. Landscaping was very pretty, pool was nice, place was clean. Complimentary breakfast buffet and evening happy hour were more than enough for us so we kept our meal expense to lunch only. The only downside is that the building is old and very dated. They need to do a complete rehab. We had a two bedroom suite and at the time I booked the room, I didn't realize it required walking up a large flight of stairs - hard for my elderly mother to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marga
Dallas
Dec 9, 2012

Should be named 'Oasis"

Despite being located in a desolated area surrounded by a recently depressed neighboroughood, Habitat Suites is an extremely peaceful place where all call for relaxation. The spacious rooms are divided in day and night space , very quite and if not totally book, the concierge will put you facing the swimming pool. The garden is tropical with flower also in deep fall. Staff is keen and helpful. Breakfast buffet is "More than you can eat" type plus there is a happy hour with small bites 5 to 7, all free. You will need a car but the hotel is on I35 corridor, yet remote enough that you don't hear a beep, and close to N Lamar and UT Austin. I will return next time I go to Austin, as I am always looking for something different from the typical chain of replica hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AUS traveler
Chicago, IL
Nov 9, 2012

Good stay

Only spent 1 night at the hotel, but it was comfortable and clean. The furniture is a little outdated. The rooms have a full kitchen, which might come in handy for people who want to cook.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brandi schmandi
shreveport, la
Oct 18, 2012

Beautiful Grounds, Friendly Staff

Habitat Suites will likely be our "go to" hotel when in Austin from here on out. The rooms are spacious and much better than a standard hotel room, since they are converted from apartments. The grounds are beautiful with a variety of plants and artwork. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful with offerings of: waffles, pancakes, biscuits, gravy, sausage, eggs, oatmeal, fresh fruit, toast and bagels orange juice and coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

March through October the bats on Congress bridge are very neat to see emerging just after dusk from their "cave" under the bridge.

Back to menu Return to top