Rate based on Check-in: Apr 13, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

Habitat Suites

3 stars
View map of 500 Highland Mall Boulevard, Austin, TX 78752

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Habitat Suites

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.D. TX
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 19, 2014

Lived-in BUT Clean

We had a nice, one night stay at this hotel. The location was a little further East of Austin than where we spent most of our time, but it was a breeze to get to/from downtown. I am from Austin so I am somewhat familiar with the location. Our room was a single king suite that was really like a one bedroom apartment. Nothing is new or fancy, the room had a lived-in feeling, but everything was clean. I never had the impression that anything was dirty; just some older furniture and torn wallpaper. As part of my routine when I stay somewhere, I checked the mattress and was pleasantly surprised to see that it had a protective cover on it. The bed, unfortunately, was extremely firm which I find unpleasant. The staff was friendly and check-in/check-out was a breeze. My boyfriend needed some medicine and the front desk quickly sent it to our door and allowed him to pay by credit card. The happy hour and hors d'oeuvres were a nice treat. I did not eat anything at breakfast, but the coffee that was provided was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rolythegoalie
Business
Houston ,Tx.
Jul 7, 2014

Great stuff

The full kitchen was a plus for a 3 night stay. Free breakfast and happy hour can't be beat. Nice and Quiet off the beaten path, but moments away from all of the Austin sights. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelLover84
Business
New Jersey
Jun 6, 2014

Simple and comfortable

Staff was great. Easy parking and driving into Austin. Great to have a 1 bedroom apartment when traveling with friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whatcsees
Business
Ft Hood,tx
May 26, 2014

What a steal.

Pros- Beautifully landscaped, wonderful staff, convenient location, huge rooms, quiet. Cons- Furnishing dated but not a deal breaker. Some minor maintenance issues, still not a deal breaker. You can't get a better deal than this!! Definitely will return. So unless you a hotel snob this is a great option. I've paid a lot more for a room and got a lot less. I would definitely recommend.!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pappadeaux's is right across the highway.

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College Shopper
Business
Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas
May 14, 2014

Great, except for the breakfast

Very nice hotel for the price. The location is a bit hard to find without a GPS, but the area (across from Highland Mall) seems fine. The room was clean, spacious, and quiet. The front desk people were exceptional. Example: when I asked about an ice machine, the front desk guy got me a big bag of ice (about 8 pounds) from the kitchen. The breakfast was the one weak aspect. The pancakes were old and dried out from sitting under a heat lamp too long. The fruit was under-ripe. They only had 2% milk. The scrambled eggs were good, but when I asked for more the lady behind the counter would only give me a reduced portion--apparently they have a limited supply. I would definitely stay here again, but I think I'll eat breakfast elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many good hole-in-the-wall dining establishments on and near Guadalupe, across from the University of Texas, which is only a short drive away. We ate at Tejis, which serves Indian food (as in India, not American Indian). Spicy, but very good.

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amanda Workaholic
Business
Lajitas Resort, TX
Apr 11, 2014

Beautiful Outdoor Gardens!

I stayed at this hotel about 3 years ago and really looked forward to my return on business this time. The outdoor setting and the staff are as a good as I remember. I was a bit disappointed in the cleanliness of the room-although the hotel appeared to be updating their rooms with new carpeting I noticed the room was not as clean as it should be (dirty hand prints on the doors, dust bunnys on the walls around air input vents). I was also disappointed to see the hot tub has been removed as I was looking forward to enjoying soaking in the tub since it was too cold to swim. Over all the property is great, great location, beautiful outdoor setting - just needs a little more attention to detail and perhaps some updating so it does not appear to be so dated. Carry the theme of the lobby through to the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. J 2015
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 5, 2014

Perfect suite for an Austin getaway!

We loved having the kitchen and it's appliances; loved the complementary food served at breakfast as well as from 5-7pm in the evenings; loved the floor layout to separate ourselves from the kids while still only paying for a single room; and loved the price above all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Best burgers of our lives at Hopdoddy!

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jazzman2
Business
NJ
Jan 19, 2014

Outstanding Value

I selected this hotel suite based on reviews and I was very pleasantly surprised. The grounds are very nicely landscaped. Two story hotel with suites consisting of a sitting room with kitchenette and adjacent bedroom with a bath. While the furnishings, carpet, drapes and such are vintage '80s the rooms and exterior appearance are kept very clean and beds and laundry changed as needed daily. The location is convenient to most major highways yet tucked away from road noise. The extras such as a wonderful buffet breakfast and free cocktail hour with beer and wine as well as munchies is a real added bonus. The staff is also very courteous and there is no doubt that I would frequent the Habitat Suites again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

While there are convenient restaurants within walking distance I would suggest getting in your car as better eateries can be found nearby such as Pappadeaux and Pappasito's on the access road to IH35 N.

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Czech Jack
Business
Austin
Jan 17, 2014

Very good experience with Habitat

Usually we pay "good" money to for staying in good hotel, but I have to say Habitat is a very good choice considering the price. The one i lived in looked very much like a one-bed apartment. You have everything you need. The front desk lady was very sweet and professional. The free breakfast was very good. They did provide free food and drink at dinner time, but I did not try - so no comments. There were two TV sets - one in living room and another one in bedroom - both with cable. Two concerns: free internet does not have password, so maybe that's not secure? The facility seems to be old, but definitely very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Habitat Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeanlouise
Business
Myrtle Beach
Oct 3, 2013

A Great Find!

Booked this hotel after reading reviews and it exceeded my expectations. It is a charming oasis in the city, with beautiful lush vegetation. The rooms could use some updating, but I would much rather stay in a place like this than a sterile chain hotel. The breakfast buffet was amazing, and they even have an evening reception with snacks and drinks. I wish we'd find more hidden treasures like this in our travels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top