Rate based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

3 stars
85 West Court Avenue, 85 WEST COURT AVE, Memphis, TN 38103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
70 reviews
Weekend getaway with Family

Awesome, room big, very clean, a lot of amenities, close to everything downtown, See full review

  • YaYa Lynch
  • Sep 8, 2014
Great trip

Had been to New Orleans and wanted to stop in Memphis before heading home. I love SpringHill Suites... See full review

  • SueDoo
  • Jul 10, 2014
AAA 3 Diamond-rated hotel in heart of Memphis

SpringHill Suites, a AAA 3 Diamond-rated all-suites hotel, offers exceptional value and comfort in the heart of downtown "Blues City." Each spacious, two-room suite offers a home away from home, providing freedom from distractions if work is paramount. Families enjoy an outdoor pool and whirlpool, exercise room, and plenty of attractions nearby. The adjoining Kress Building offers 8,400 square feet of event space.

Highlights
  • Large, spacious suites
  • Unrivaled location in East Memphis
  • Exercise room with cardiovascular equipment and free weights
  • Outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • Free Wi-Fi access
Rooms

All 147 stylish suites are smoke-free, with open sleeping areas featuring several bedding options, a pantry with sink, microwave oven, and refrigerator. Work areas include large desk, free wireless and wired high-speed Internet access, and phones with voicemail and data ports. Amenities include hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room coffee/tea, cable television with in-room movies, daily housekeeping, and in- room safes.

Features

This seven-floor suite hotel offers convenient access to downtown Memphis. Guests enjoy sporting events at AutoZone Park and FedEx Forum, discover the sights and sounds of the entertainment district on Beale Street, and visit other points of interest, such as the Mud Island River Park, Peabody Place Museum, the Cook Convention Center, and the National Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Motel -- all less than a mile and a half away.

 

SpringHill Suites also serves as a launching pad for culinary adventures, with a number of top-notch restaurants and bars just a short walk away, including Cajun cuisine at Felicia Suzanne's, Japanese fare at Blue Fin, a truly international menu at Flight, burgers and beers at Huey's Pub, barbecue at either Rendevous or Neely's BBQ, and prime steaks at Mesquite Chophouse.

 

Fitness buffs take advantage of an exercise room with cardiovascular equipment and free weights, and receive complimentary passes to fitness classes at Well Worx Sporting Clubs around the corner from the hotel.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses, Memphis Area Transit Authority
Nearby attractions
  • Elvis Presley's estate, Graceland (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • The Memphis Zoo (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Pink Palace Museum and IMAX Theatre (6.2 mi/10 km)
Business
  • Adjoining Kress Building offers 8,400 square feet of event space
  • Eight meeting rooms; Kress Ballroom, covering 2,500 square feet, accommodates 150
  • Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access
  • Full-service business center with copier and facsimile machines
  • Messenger service available

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.146 -90.0529
Area served
Midtown
Nearby airports
Memphis International Airport, (MEM), 12.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 0.5 mi
  • Beale Street: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 4.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 70
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Little Rock
Aug 2, 2011

Thumbs Down!

We normally stay closer to Beale Street, but our usual hotel was booked. Since we were attending a concert on Mud Island, we chose Springhill Suites due to its proximity to the Island. I would not recommend it. The manager behind the registration desk was very arrogant and acted as if it was a bother to acknowledge our presence. The only exception was when we checked in. We are accustomed to a more customer-friendly attitude in a larger hotel. I guess you get what you pay for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Plate Cafe is a short walk from the hotel and has a wonderful breakfast.

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. BMax
Birmingham, AL, USA
Jan 16, 2012

anniversary getaway

The staff was excellent , breakfast was great. However the hotel rooms were not as clean as I would have liked. Something was on spilled on the bathroom floor and it was still there when I left. There was dust on the end tables in the sitting area & bedroom nightstands. My biggest disappointment was being on the trolley line side of the building. Even though I was on the 5th floor it seemed like I was sitting on the track! Another guest expressed the same sentiments as we were checking out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good eateries in close vicinity

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit mich
Jul 25, 2011

Weekend getaway

The room was nice and clean, trying to watch tv was difficult and it was not easy to operate the remote control, our key to the room didn't work well and I was very upset to arrive to find out that I had to pay $12 for parking. It would've been nice if hotel offered breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Memphis is the place to be

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bo Duke
Franklin, Ky
Apr 10, 2012

Left wanting better service!

Check in, I walked into the lobby and no one was at the check in desk I stood at the desk for about five minutes before anyone came to check me into the room. Not wanting to use valet parking seemed to be a sore spot because I was asked more than once and got a look when I responded, "No, I prefer to park myself." However the room was very nice wiith a wonderful view of the trolly and a small park. My wife and I had a good night out food and music on Beale St. We returned via the trolly getting off at the hotel - a great experience until we where accosted by two bums waiting near the hotel. One throwing his arm around me calling me big man and can he have money and such. When we entered the hotel he left of course. The hotel security was inside back turned to the door laughing it up with the desk clerk who was actually there. When we told them of the bums he went out maybe the next people who came in didnt have the same experience. Overall payed high price for a great view and good room - left wanting more from staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Caledonia, MS
Jan 17, 2010

Good Location

Stayed here because it is on the trolley line, but it is so close to the Orpheum and Beale St that we didn't even have to use the trolley. Rooms are clean and decent but I guess I was expecting something larger for a Suite. Not much room to move around. Would be great for a single person. But, I would book this again for price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Jul 6, 2011

GREAT Property with even better staff.

Such an amazing property - well located and refreshed - with great attentive staff. We arrived late - and needed to be directed to bbq and Beale Street. I suppose that everyone in Memphis has opinions - but I came with my starting list and learned even more form the Concierge and Front Desk staff. We walked a few blocks to Rendezvous and had amazing 'dry rub' bbq - ribs and brisket. Walked through the Peabody and then over to Beale Street on a carriage for a night of blues. GREAT fun....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The extra price is worth it to be able to stroll downtown....

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CyndiS
Dayton, KY, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Great Location

The hotel was very well kept, clean and accommodating. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. All attractions, for the most part, were within a short walk, in a good neighborhood. Beds were comfortable, rooms spacious and tidy. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can get free shuttle service to Graceland and Sun Studio at the Rock & Soul Museum next to the Fed Ex Forum. Shuttle arrives every hour or so.

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Jul 5, 2010

Slow elevators, but great service!

This hotel was neat, tidy and had exceptionally friendly staff. My only complaints were that the elevators were slow and breakfast was so popular there was often a wait to get what I wanted. The pool was clean and well maintained, it was in an excellent location and the area was quiet. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blues beotch
holland, mi
Oct 29, 2012

great place

very nice hotel with a very friendly staff that didn't always have thier hand out, like almost everywhere else in town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

beale street blues/rock is great

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
karrisue41
grand haven, mi
May 30, 2010

Springhill Suites

Went to a college graduation, hung out on beale street, rode the trolley

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Try to take the trolley instead of driving, this saves time, money and is quite fun

Back to menu Return to top