Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

3 stars
85 West Court Avenue, 85 WEST COURT AVE, Memphis, TN 38103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
70 reviews
Weekend getaway with Family

Awesome, room big, very clean, a lot of amenities, close to everything downtown, See full review

  • YaYa Lynch
  • Sep 8, 2014
Great trip

Had been to New Orleans and wanted to stop in Memphis before heading home. I love SpringHill Suites... See full review

  • SueDoo
  • Jul 10, 2014
AAA 3 Diamond-rated hotel in heart of Memphis

SpringHill Suites, a AAA 3 Diamond-rated all-suites hotel, offers exceptional value and comfort in the heart of downtown "Blues City." Each spacious, two-room suite offers a home away from home, providing freedom from distractions if work is paramount. Families enjoy an outdoor pool and whirlpool, exercise room, and plenty of attractions nearby. The adjoining Kress Building offers 8,400 square feet of event space.

Highlights
  • Large, spacious suites
  • Unrivaled location in East Memphis
  • Exercise room with cardiovascular equipment and free weights
  • Outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • Free Wi-Fi access
Rooms

All 147 stylish suites are smoke-free, with open sleeping areas featuring several bedding options, a pantry with sink, microwave oven, and refrigerator. Work areas include large desk, free wireless and wired high-speed Internet access, and phones with voicemail and data ports. Amenities include hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room coffee/tea, cable television with in-room movies, daily housekeeping, and in- room safes.

Features

This seven-floor suite hotel offers convenient access to downtown Memphis. Guests enjoy sporting events at AutoZone Park and FedEx Forum, discover the sights and sounds of the entertainment district on Beale Street, and visit other points of interest, such as the Mud Island River Park, Peabody Place Museum, the Cook Convention Center, and the National Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Motel -- all less than a mile and a half away.

 

SpringHill Suites also serves as a launching pad for culinary adventures, with a number of top-notch restaurants and bars just a short walk away, including Cajun cuisine at Felicia Suzanne's, Japanese fare at Blue Fin, a truly international menu at Flight, burgers and beers at Huey's Pub, barbecue at either Rendevous or Neely's BBQ, and prime steaks at Mesquite Chophouse.

 

Fitness buffs take advantage of an exercise room with cardiovascular equipment and free weights, and receive complimentary passes to fitness classes at Well Worx Sporting Clubs around the corner from the hotel.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses, Memphis Area Transit Authority
Nearby attractions
  • Elvis Presley's estate, Graceland (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • The Memphis Zoo (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Pink Palace Museum and IMAX Theatre (6.2 mi/10 km)
Business
  • Adjoining Kress Building offers 8,400 square feet of event space
  • Eight meeting rooms; Kress Ballroom, covering 2,500 square feet, accommodates 150
  • Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access
  • Full-service business center with copier and facsimile machines
  • Messenger service available

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.146 -90.0529
Area served
Midtown
Nearby airports
Memphis International Airport, (MEM), 12.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 0.5 mi
  • Beale Street: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 4.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Libratink
Burbank, CA, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Great Memphis Hotel

When booking our first trip to Memphis to visit Graceland did a bit of research and decided to stay Downtown near Beale Street. Was very happy with our choice. The hotel is in a great location (about a 6 block walk to Beale Street). Super cute, spacious suite, great buffet breakfast. Like the other reviewers said if I went again I would request a room on the front side of the building though.. The backside is along the street where the trolleys run (very cute) so we heard the trolley noise a bit. Wasn't terrible but would have been better to have been on the other side of the hotel. Otherwise, a really great stay. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emrodd
Raleigh, NC
Apr 10, 2011

Great Location

Hotel was located in a great location. It was within walking distance to everything Memphis has to offer. The nightlife is right around the corner..at beale street. Great restaurants and lots of shopping. Graceland is a short 15 minute ride away. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. The hotel staff went out of there way to make your stay one of a kind. Had the best FULL BREAKFAST I have every seen at a hotel....it was AWESOME!! The only thing that was lacking was the valet parking. They seemed to take more time than usual to bring your car around. They did seema little under staffed though. All in all a great hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

To watch the walking of the ducks at the Peabody hotel you need to arrive at least by 10:15 am, it starts at 11am.

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
karrisue41
grand haven, mi
May 30, 2010

Springhill Suites

Went to a college graduation, hung out on beale street, rode the trolley

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Try to take the trolley instead of driving, this saves time, money and is quite fun

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia Beach, VA
Dec 23, 2010

Clean, comfortable & affordable

My husband and I were travelling cross-country and were hoping to tour around Memphis. It was so bitter cold though, that we ended up spending an entire day in the room - watching football, reading and napping. The room was very comfortable and we even had pizza delivered to our door! And the continental breakfast was the best of any we have had during our travels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel has a perfect location - across from a pretty park and far enough away from Beale Street that you don't hear a lot of commotion but you can walk, ride the trolley or take a horse-drawn carriage to get there.

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grubby
Kansas
Oct 17, 2011

Hockadoo!

We liked it fine and would return if the opportunity presented itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Music City Gal
Nashville, TN, USA
Jul 20, 2012

Walking in Memphis

This hotel is a perfect location if you are wanting to see the sights in Memphis. It is within walking distance to many wonderful restaurants and sights (Rendezvous, Hueys, Westy's, Kooky Knuck, Beale Street, The Peabody, and The Peanut Shoppe). If you are not up for walking, the trolley station is conveniently located outside the hotel. The rooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable. I liked having a refrigerator and a microwave in the room. The breakfast was much better than most hotels. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Westy's and get the Hot Fudge Pie (so worth the calories) and go to The Peanut Shoppe - it's just down a ways on the other side of the street from the hotel.

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Aug 10, 2011

Another nice stay

This was our second stay at the SpringHill Suites in a week's time. We enjoyed our stay enough as we passed through Memphis on our way to our destination, we decided to stay there again the next week as we passed through on our way back home. We actually had an even better experience this time in a room that was a bit larger and a bit more updated (included two flat-screen TVs - one each in the living area and bedroom rather than just one tube TV that could be swiveled to point to either area like the first room). The staff was very friendly - we were always greeted nicely whenever we passed any staff member. We also loved the location of this hotel. It backs up to Main Street which is closed to cars and runs trolleys and horse & carriages all along the street. A beautiful walk down to Beale Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Although the street address of this hotel is N. Main S, this street is not open to cars - so don't look to get to the hotel this way. Come into the downtown area on N. Front St. and turn on Court Ave to find the parking lot. The hotel shares this parking lot with the Sleep Inn located next door.

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kity Kat
kingman, az
Apr 7, 2014

Safe location

Good location, very close to Beale St, trolly right out front. Parking is rip off, use lot a little further down and pay only 5 bucks a day instead of 15 at hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

parking

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hoosier lady
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jun 30, 2013

really nice!

The hotel room was really big and nice. Close to lots of restaurants. There was a trolly right outside our room which ran all night that was a downside. There was two front staff ppl that was super nice. But that was it, the other staff I encountered did not feel very welcoming, no good mornings, no hello how are you. That just doesn't seem like good hospitality. ..hopefully it was just those certain crew as we only stayed one night. The valet men were very nice and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hueys downtown was very good!

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Aug 4, 2011

Nice stay

This was a nice hotel in a beautiful area. The only down side was trying to find where to park. (The hotel's street address is actually on a street that doesn't allow cars, and with all of the one way streets in downtown Memphis, it took awhile to figure out where to go to park.) Other than that issue, the hotel room was just as expected. Nothing fancy but a good basic, clean room. The free breakfast served the next morning was very nice with a great deal to offer. We plan to stay here again our next time through Memphis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked to Charlie Vous Rendezvous that evening. Although there was a 40 minute wait for a table, once seated - the food came very quick and was very good.

Back to menu Return to top