Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

3 stars
85 West Court Avenue, 85 WEST COURT AVE, Memphis, TN 38103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
105 reviews
Great trip

Had been to New Orleans and wanted to stop in Memphis before heading home. I love SpringHill Suites... See full review

  • SueDoo
  • Jul 10, 2014
Very happy

Very enjoyable with a well appointed room and great breakfast. Nice clean and quiet. See full review

  • Jaann
  • Jun 7, 2014
AAA 3 Diamond-rated hotel in heart of Memphis

SpringHill Suites, a AAA 3 Diamond-rated all-suites hotel, offers exceptional value and comfort in the heart of downtown "Blues City." Each spacious, two-room suite offers a home away from home, providing freedom from distractions if work is paramount. Families enjoy an outdoor pool and whirlpool, exercise room, and plenty of attractions nearby. The adjoining Kress Building offers 8,400 square feet of event space.

Highlights
  • Large, spacious suites
  • Unrivaled location in East Memphis
  • Exercise room with cardiovascular equipment and free weights
  • Outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • Free Wi-Fi access
Rooms

All 147 stylish suites are smoke-free, with open sleeping areas featuring several bedding options, a pantry with sink, microwave oven, and refrigerator. Work areas include large desk, free wireless and wired high-speed Internet access, and phones with voicemail and data ports. Amenities include hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room coffee/tea, cable television with in-room movies, daily housekeeping, and in- room safes.

Features

This seven-floor suite hotel offers convenient access to downtown Memphis. Guests enjoy sporting events at AutoZone Park and FedEx Forum, discover the sights and sounds of the entertainment district on Beale Street, and visit other points of interest, such as the Mud Island River Park, Peabody Place Museum, the Cook Convention Center, and the National Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Motel -- all less than a mile and a half away.

 

SpringHill Suites also serves as a launching pad for culinary adventures, with a number of top-notch restaurants and bars just a short walk away, including Cajun cuisine at Felicia Suzanne's, Japanese fare at Blue Fin, a truly international menu at Flight, burgers and beers at Huey's Pub, barbecue at either Rendevous or Neely's BBQ, and prime steaks at Mesquite Chophouse.

 

Fitness buffs take advantage of an exercise room with cardiovascular equipment and free weights, and receive complimentary passes to fitness classes at Well Worx Sporting Clubs around the corner from the hotel.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses, Memphis Area Transit Authority
Nearby attractions
  • Elvis Presley's estate, Graceland (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • The Memphis Zoo (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Pink Palace Museum and IMAX Theatre (6.2 mi/10 km)
Business
  • Adjoining Kress Building offers 8,400 square feet of event space
  • Eight meeting rooms; Kress Ballroom, covering 2,500 square feet, accommodates 150
  • Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access
  • Full-service business center with copier and facsimile machines
  • Messenger service available

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.146 -90.0529
Area served
Midtown
Nearby airports
Memphis International Airport, (MEM), 12.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 0.5 mi
  • Beale Street: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 4.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield VA
Jul 18, 2009

Not very good

Room had something that beeped ... no one could find it. Floor carpet was sticky. Very small TVs. Just not that great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield VA
Jul 18, 2009

Not very good

Room had something that beeped ... no one could find it. Floor carpet was sticky. Very small TVs. Just not that great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Little Rock
Aug 2, 2011

Thumbs Down!

We normally stay closer to Beale Street, but our usual hotel was booked. Since we were attending a concert on Mud Island, we chose Springhill Suites due to its proximity to the Island. I would not recommend it. The manager behind the registration desk was very arrogant and acted as if it was a bother to acknowledge our presence. The only exception was when we checked in. We are accustomed to a more customer-friendly attitude in a larger hotel. I guess you get what you pay for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Plate Cafe is a short walk from the hotel and has a wonderful breakfast.

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Oct 4, 2009

A Memphis Miss

The hotel is in a good location. The superlatives have to end there. I didn't get the room type I arranged for initially, and it took another staffer to urge the decision-maker/supervisor to activate the correct room number for our newly swiped key cards for the replacement room The air conditioner was extremely loud and the toilet also took a long, loud full 90 seconds to refill each flush. The continental breakfast was adequate. Staffers were friendly but seemed unconcerned about details. Sorry, I can't recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Beale St. was fun. Sun Studios and the Civil Rights Museum are well worth a visit.

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Oct 4, 2009

A Memphis Miss

The hotel is in a good location. The superlatives have to end there. I didn't get the room type I arranged for initially, and it took another staffer to urge the decision-maker/supervisor to activate the correct room number for our newly swiped key cards for the replacement room The air conditioner was extremely loud and the toilet also took a long, loud full 90 seconds to refill each flush. The continental breakfast was adequate. Staffers were friendly but seemed unconcerned about details. Sorry, I can't recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Beale St. was fun. Sun Studios and the Civil Rights Museum are well worth a visit.

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Matteson IL
Jun 1, 2009

The really bad

The hotel was horrible it was nothing like the pictures on the internet. Room didn't look clean everything was old small out of date TV's furnature looked like it came from a garage sale. We had to change rooms at midnight because the tub was stopped up. Hotel offered no compensation. I wanted to cry when I saw that room. It spoiled the last night of our trip. I stayed at other SpringHill Suites in other states and they were beautiful. I really thought it would look like the pictures. Bottom line I will never stay at the SpringHill Suites in Memphis again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Little Rock
Aug 2, 2011

Thumbs Down!

We normally stay closer to Beale Street, but our usual hotel was booked. Since we were attending a concert on Mud Island, we chose Springhill Suites due to its proximity to the Island. I would not recommend it. The manager behind the registration desk was very arrogant and acted as if it was a bother to acknowledge our presence. The only exception was when we checked in. We are accustomed to a more customer-friendly attitude in a larger hotel. I guess you get what you pay for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Plate Cafe is a short walk from the hotel and has a wonderful breakfast.

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Matteson IL
Jun 1, 2009

The really bad

The hotel was horrible it was nothing like the pictures on the internet. Room didn't look clean everything was old small out of date TV's furnature looked like it came from a garage sale. We had to change rooms at midnight because the tub was stopped up. Hotel offered no compensation. I wanted to cry when I saw that room. It spoiled the last night of our trip. I stayed at other SpringHill Suites in other states and they were beautiful. I really thought it would look like the pictures. Bottom line I will never stay at the SpringHill Suites in Memphis again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GPSMD
Business
Arhens, Greece
Jul 3, 2012

Business and Pleasure

Good location on main street, pretty close to most of sites one would like to see. However Main sreet Trolley passing every 15 min can get really annoying if you are trying to take some sleep. Air-conditioner too loud. Had to change room because in the first one it was intolerably loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Caprizzio Grill. Pricy bit good food.

Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Memphis Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Louis MO
Mar 7, 2010

Poor service upon arrival

Upon arrival, 4pm, our rooms were not ready. Staff stated that they were being cleaned. So we left and returned again at 5:30pm. At first, we were told that two were ready, and while some of us were checking in, the other came available. The stay ended up being pleasant, clean and met all other expectations. It was frustrating that we had a late start on the evening, we had planned to get ready for the evening at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate ribs at the Rendevous....excellent. We also ate at Blues City Cafe...also excellent. The trolley was right at hotel which made it very easy and quick to get to any restaurants and Beale Street

Back to menu Return to top